If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

CianRyan wrote: »
    Oh jaysus, that's an expensive spill!

I am knowledged of individuals in teh trade so i can get it for half price ;)

cabb8ge wrote: »
    53.3689126084056 litres
    11.75526709436247 England gallons
    22.9684275 mpg

Not entirely sure what you did there exactly, but I'll take it! :pac:

Fair play, Cabb8ge! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Not entirely sure what you did there exactly, but I'll take it! :pac:

Fair play, Cabb8ge! :)

divide spend in € by cost per litre tells you number of litres
    divide number of litres by 4.54 to find number of gallons
    divide distance travel by number of gallons to find miles per gallon

I not use mpg until I in Ireland but the name Miles per Gallon tell me what it is and how to calculate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You could just do it the lazy way

http://www.fuel-economy.co.uk/calc.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Or do what i do and tape over the mpg readout and calculate your approximate mpg by how much carbon is stuck to your exhausts when you go to clean them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

so i have a 2005 focus 1.6tdci ghia hatchback !

and it must be the only one in this country with footwell lights, auto rear view dimming mirror, auto lights, auto wipers, sunglass holder, dual climate control, satellite navigation,Cruise control, Aux input, sun-visor lights with 6 cd changer etc.

lots of spec that i just cannot find in this country ! so UK plates for me for a few weeks !

so i have a 2005 focus 1.6tdci ghia !

and it must be the only one in this country with footwell lights, auto rear view dimming mirror, auto lights, auto wipers, sunglass holder, dual climate control, satellite navigation, Aux input, sun-visor lights with 6 cd changer etc.

lots of spec that i just cannot find in this country ! so UK plates for me for a few weeks !

fair play! do you have a 9-5 sump plug, copper washer and ptfe tape while your at it? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

fair play! do you have a 9-5 sump plug, copper washer and ptfe tape while your at it? :pac:

Check if the one in the astra is similar :P

Way ahead of you boss ;) it's not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

It never rains but it pours :rolleyes:

pulled up outside the local chipper on the way home today, went to pull off and the low oil pressure light came on, went home to investigate and found that cnuting sump plug fell off and fcuk knows where it is

so if anyone in my area has one of these id be very thankful

53.2929.jpg

That's a pain in the balls. On the positive side the engine looked like it needed a flush :o. I would of probably changed the oil and filter after 1000 miles myself.

Interslice wrote: »
    That's a pain in the balls. On the positive side the engine looked like it needed a flush :o. I would of probably changed the oil and filter after 1000 miles myself.

That reminds me, i need engine flush :pac: this is gona be a very expensive few weeks! I've to book my nct and stick on the new alloys, get gauges and a few other bits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Smaller profile tyre by the looks of it

Lady owner Derek :pac:

Booked my NCT for, wait for it, april! :pac: Backlogs much??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Dont touch it, DL reg so obviously driven off of the Slieve League cliffs in 2nd gear by boy racers etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Dont touch it, DL reg so obviously driven off of the Slieve League cliffs in 2nd gear by boy racers etc etc.

Wasn't planning to, it just caught my eye because of the rear

Not a story I'm happy with, but I'm sure ye'll love this (it being boards and all), but I was pulled in by ye olde Gardaí this evening, for fog lights being on.

I was coming out of a cul de sac and they drove by, I followed in their direction. They put the hazards on and pulled over. I went around them and they moved off again, with the blues on. I pulled in and they came up alongside me. I rolled down my front window and he looked in to me, with an exchange that went something like...

Garda: You were driving behind us there, and we couldn't see a thing! You have fog lights on there... and sure, there's no fog.
    Me: Ah, right. Sorry about that so. I usually use them around the housing estates and such.
    Garda: Why would you do a thing like that?
    Me: Ah you know yourself. Increased visibility is better for everyone. Lots of kids out in the evenings cycling off paths and such into the roads. Extra lights helps them see me coming and they light up the road a fair bit better for me too, especially directly in front of me.
    Garda: Well that's all well and good, but we were blinded with you coming up behind us there. Couldn't see anything
    Me: Really? That's mad, cos I'd be generally well clued into the car and I don't think the fogs aim that high. Like, I've driven in front of it, and towards it, a fair few times in other cars and I've never really had any issue (which is true).
    Garda: Well it must be your headlights so. You'll need to get that alignment sorted. Far too high.
    Me: It's funny you say that, cos they were actually too low. Just got them aligned there about 2-3 weeks ago, when it got it's NCT done.
    Garda: It's because of the extra height you'd have (I drive an SUV, they were in an estate car).
    Me: Well I could be wrong, but there's legal manufacturing requirements is there not? Not allowed to have your headlights above a certain height or the bulb has to be faced lower to compensate?
    Garda: Well, look, I'm just telling you for your own benefit.
    Me: Ah, don't get me wrong; I do appreciate the thought.
    Garda: Take it handy, so.
    Me: Goodnight lads.

There couldn't have been a more pointless exchange. I know a lot of the Gardaí in the town and a couple I'd be fairly friendly with (and also recognised the driver of the patrol car that stopped me). Always go out of my way to do them a good turn and such, so I appreciate they do a difficult job (and one I'd like to do myself, in all honesty), so I'm no Garda-basher or such, but what a load of shite. In an almost satirical fashion: I wasn't out of the estate two minutes (still driving behind the Garda car) and I was blinded by a parked car with it's full beams on, a boy racer with his irritating yellow fog lights and a car coming towards me with only one head light. Yet I get pulled :rolleyes:

I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they were actually looking for someone a bit more sinister around the estate, and the fog lights were a cheap excuse to pull me in to see who I was or if i was overly nervous or such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Shouldn't have had your fogs on...

Actually glad thy pulled you for it, unfortunately the message seems to have not made any real impact.

So if they were in a traffic corps estate, then I'd guess it was laden and therefore lower than a regular would be. I have this issue in my own car as well and I can tell you. That when any MPV or jeep is behind me their headlights go straight into my rear view mirror. It can be blinding so add your fogs and they probably were getting quite a bit of lighting up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Tbh - I don't completely buy this idea of avoiding a DL reg car just because its from Donegal.

Better to judge the actual car in front of you - on its merits - or lack of them as the case might be.

Better to have a DL reg in immaculate condition - then a C or a D reg that's wrecked - imo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

Not a story I'm happy with, but I'm sure ye'll love this (it being boards and all), but I was pulled in by ye olde Gardaí this evening, for fog lights being on.

I was coming out of a cul de sac and they drove by, I followed in their direction. They put the hazards on and pulled over. I went around them and they moved off again, with the blues on. I pulled in and they came up alongside me. I rolled down my front window and he looked in to me, with an exchange that went something like...

Garda: You were driving behind us there, and we couldn't see a thing! You have fog lights on there... and sure, there's no fog.
    Me: Ah, right. Sorry about that so. I usually use them around the housing estates and such.
    Garda: Why would you do a thing like that?
    Me: Ah you know yourself. Increased visibility is better for everyone. Lots of kids out in the evenings cycling off paths and such into the roads. Extra lights helps them see me coming and they light up the road a fair bit better for me too, especially directly in front of me.
    Garda: Well that's all well and good, but we were blinded with you coming up behind us there. Couldn't see anything
    Me: Really? That's mad, cos I'd be generally well clued into the car and I don't think the fogs aim that high. Like, I've driven in front of it, and towards it, a fair few times in other cars and I've never really had any issue (which is true).
    Garda: Well it must be your headlights so. You'll need to get that alignment sorted. Far too high.
    Me: It's funny you say that, cos they were actually too low. Just got them aligned there about 2-3 weeks ago, when it got it's NCT done.
    Garda: It's because of the extra height you'd have (I drive an SUV, they were in an estate car).
    Me: Well I could be wrong, but there's legal manufacturing requirements is there not? Not allowed to have your headlights above a certain height or the bulb has to be faced lower to compensate?
    Garda: Well, look, I'm just telling you for your own benefit.
    Me: Ah, don't get me wrong; I do appreciate the thought.
    Garda: Take it handy, so.
    Me: Goodnight lads.

There couldn't have been a more pointless exchange. I know a lot of the Gardaí in the town and a couple I'd be fairly friendly with (and also recognised the driver of the patrol car that stopped me). Always go out of my way to do them a good turn and such, so I appreciate they do a difficult job (and one I'd like to do myself, in all honesty), so I'm no Garda-basher or such, but what a load of shite. In an almost satirical fashion: I wasn't out of the estate two minutes (still driving behind the Garda car) and I was blinded by a parked car with it's full beams on, a boy racer with his irritating yellow fog lights and a car coming towards me with only one head light. Yet I get pulled :rolleyes:

I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they were actually looking for someone a bit more sinister around the estate, and the fog lights were a cheap excuse to pull me in to see who I was or if i was overly nervous or such.

Id have fined you or whatever they could do you for.

Shouldnt have had your fog lights on. The guard didnt need a debate, just for you to switch them off and go on your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,669 ✭✭✭✭vectra

dar83 wrote: »
    Shouldn't have had your fogs on...

Actually glad thy pulled you for it, unfortunately the message seems to have not made any real impact.

So if they were in a traffic corps estate, then I'd guess it was laden and therefore lower than a regular would be. I have this issue in my own car as well and I can tell you. That when any MPV or jeep is behind me their headlights go straight into my rear view mirror. It can be blinding so add your fogs and they probably were getting quite a bit of lighting up.

Maybe he (KKV) should have insisted on them going to a weighbridge to ensure their car was not overloaded and therefore it would have been them breaking the law and being the cause of the blinding issue. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I hate this shot about fog lights, the only time fogs have ever been an issue for me is when it's been pissing out and there's a lot of water on the road. They reflect up and it's a little irritating.
    The rest of the time is makes no difference, lowered car or standard ad does gives extra visibility to the kirb, for pot holes etc.

It's also handy in a country where %90 of the drivers only have one light working. Turn on the fogs and they no longer look like motor bikes.

It seems almost fashionable to get Burt hurt about fog light these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

To be honest mine are always on, never have anyone say anything or flash or anything.
    They are no brighter than the dims on my car anyway!
    I'll take that point about it raining actually Cian, keep them off during them times, I can see how they'd reflect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

CianRyan wrote: »

It's also handy in a country where %90 of the drivers only have one light working. Turn on the fogs and they no longer look like motor bikes.

Yeah that's the fix alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

It's not a fix bit when people go around for about 6 months with only one functioning bulb it helps to see what is really coming at you at night.

Most only ever seen to get bulbs when they fail the test!

Never said it's a fix but I'd rather see the fogs and know it's a car on a dark country road rather than only see one light, presume it's a bike and not give enough berth.

Just as they 55W not mean they same brightness, how you measure the brightness? Fog light lens concentrate light to penetrate fog close to car and low down to prevent fog reflecting light back on driver, only use in fog, end of story, simple rule.

Good driver not make presumptions cian, expect the worst etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Got my Legend back after a week of driving an 83 Fiesta. Pure bliss.

11538021785_8442508068_c.jpg

cabb8ge wrote: »
    Just as they 55W not mean they same brightness, how you measure the brightness? Fog light lens concentrate light to penetrate fog close to car and low down to prevent fog reflecting light back on driver, only use in fog, end of story, simple rule.

Good driver not make presumptions cian, expect the worst etc etc

I always do but no everyone is a good driver, so it helps to show what you are.

If your bulb goes while on route home some night, would just just drive around with one light looking like a motor bike or throw on the fogs so bad drivers can see how wide you are?

As you said, they concentrate the light down low as to not shine back at other drivers, so what's your concern?

It low down so not to reflect back at driver of car they on, in fog oncoming cars not inconvenienced due to the fog inhibiting the light from them. When no fog they very bright for oncoming cars, which is why they not to be used unless there is fog, it very simple, no fog , no fog lights.

Parking light show how wide car is btw.