Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you react to somebody 'starting on you' on a night out?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Can honestly say I've never had anyone try to harass me in real life to provoke a reaction - I kinda feel left out :(

Same with me. I've never been in any sort of serious fight before.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Not the fighting type but one time I was in a chippers after a good night out with friends, seen this girl I know that lives in the same estate as me, she had had a few drinks and was leaning on the counter to keep her upright, I just went over to her to see was she alright and just to say hi in general, conversation lasted less than a minute, she said she was fine and I was like "ok grand, have a good one" and left to join my friends who were waiting outside.

I got outside the door and her skanger of a boyfriend got in my face over talking to his girlfriend, pretty much threatened me. I standing there gobsmacked said "Dude I know her, she is from my estate I was making sure she was alright, ask her if you want" He then says "I don't give a f**k stay away from her or ill kick the head off ya" Pissed me right off. Didn't want to be a statistic of drunken brawls so I just left it. It bugged me for a while afterwards, brought my anger back from secondary school as I had a rough time in school from the same types of people, I thinking "those days are over and I am passed that" and then this prick gets in my face over nothing.

Got my own back on him a few weeks later when I keyed his car for him twice, 2 nasty thick scratches I left on his car. I decided to get my own back in a spiteful way this time. Felt the urge to do it one day when I seen him driving around, jobless skangers shouldn't be allowed on the road. Damn it felt good!

How has nobody called you scumbag for this? He was wrong to threaten you, obviously - but you're the real **** head in this situation. FACT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

How has nobody called you scumbag for this? He was wrong to threaten you, obviously - but you're the real **** head in this situation. FACT

It's justifiable in this situation me thinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

Firstly: I'd say a good 80% of the people who say they'd have stood up to him and kicked the **** out of him etc etc would react very differently if it actually happened.

Secondly: most of the time it's ****ing retarded to get in a fight with knackers who *are looking for a fight*. They don't start fights on the street if they're **** at it. They probably f*cking grew up doing this and even if you do 'win' the fight they're not going to let you away with it. People who attack others on the streets very often don't have a great sense of morality and justice. Odds are their friends will jump in or they'll just take out a knife.

It's just a bit thick, if provoked I'd just try avoid dodgy, city centre violence with deranged knackers. You hear far too many stories of people getting killed or seriously injured in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,293 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Can honestly say I've never had anyone try to harass me in real life to provoke a reaction - I kinda feel left out :(

Online games on the other hand....

/RAGE!

You are a lucky man, there are very few people that haven't come across some drunk knobjockey looking for trouble at some point in their nightclub going days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

The scummer deserved it. Human-implemented karma

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Two Tone from Limehouse

lahalane wrote: »
    A while ago I was walking out of the nightclub and as I was passing some lads in tracksuits outside, one of them hit me in the back of the head. I kept walking without looking back and there was no follow up.

As drunk as I was I thought that it was the only was to avoid confrontation in the scenario. I would have gained nothing by turning around to deal with him.

Obviously if he had continued his assault I would have had to be forced to defend myself but luckily it came to nothing.

What would you have done in a situation like that?

Is your pride more important than your physical well being?

Would you care if people considered you to be a 'pussy'?

If you think I was a pussy in that situation then you will feel clarified of your opinion when you read post 66 in this thread.

Group of lads? I would have done what you did. However, I would not let it rest. I know it could be hard to find him again, but I'd really do my best to find him and exact some retribution. It would eat me up until I got him, but then again I'm a vindictive c??t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

People who randomly attack other people are generally not in a sober thinking state of mind. Play the hero with your part time kickboxing classes, krav maga or whatever else and it's within the realm of possibility you'll come to in hospital having been stabbed or set on by a bunch of knacker buddies. You might come out on top once, or a few times but eventually you will end up seriously worse for wear. The kind of person that "starts" on other people for little to no reason doesn't give a fck about fairness, you're a fool to engage them in any way. Don't give them the satisfaction of treating them as deserving of a reaction. Second point is that if things go extremely well for you (you dole out of a serious kicking), you are very drunk and the law turn up to see you lamping some lad...well, don't be surprised if garda murphy doesn't buy your version of events and escorts you off in the back of the patrol car. Is all that stress worth it for your parents or OH?

All this respect talk is complete shyte. Hard to have respect whilst missing a few teeth and banged up on an assault charge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

As I'm no longer in my teens, nor 20s - I tend to avoid confrontation. I'll leave that to the testosterone squad.

The last time someone threatened to stove my head in was another expat, oddly enough. He'd been on the scrounge from passers by, was racially abusive towards one guy who refused him and then called me something derogatory when I refused him. He then made some stupid comment to which I replied in an equally stupid fashion to "eff off". That's when he grabbed the brick and I scarpered into my local...

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

these are scummers - they will not stop at hitting a woman either - so women should NEVER get involved - no matter what - it escalates the situation WAY further. i've seen group brawls in the street where women jump in to defend or diffuse the situation and end up on the ground themselves after being punched, thrown around like ragdolls and eventually crying and dragging themselves up off the ground.

not worth it at all. walk away at all costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭spiderman1885

The scummer deserved it. Human-implemented karma

Threatening someone = scummer
    Keying someone's car = scummer

Simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭heretochat

What about threatening someone with a set of car keys??

heretochat wrote: »
    What about threatening someone with a set of car keys??

I'd say "that's not a key, this is a key" and produce the chubb ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

pundy wrote: »
    these are scummers - they will not stop at hitting a woman either - so women should NEVER get involved - no matter what - it escalates the situation WAY further. i've seen group brawls in the street where women jump in to defend or diffuse the situation and end up on the ground themselves after being punched, thrown around like ragdolls and eventually crying and dragging themselves up off the ground.

not worth it at all. walk away at all costs.

What if you're started on by a woman? know someone who got glassed by a girl years ago, he didn't think twice about knocking her out there and then, not a bit of sympathy for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I've never got myself into that kind of situation. Probably because I've never gone to nightclubs. If someone attempted to start any kind of fight with me, I'd walk away. And if that didn't work, I'd run. I have a huge aversion to violent or aggressive situations.

RayM wrote: »
    I've never got myself into that kind of situation. Probably because I've never gone to nightclubs. If someone attempted to start any kind of fight with me, I'd walk away. And if that didn't work, I'd run. I have a huge aversion to violent or aggressive situations.

It's not just nightclubs. And not all nightclubs cater to the crowd who think smashing someone's face is a great night out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Are you kidding man? I get threatened and embarrassed in front of my friends by some wannabe pikey, and in turn ruining the night out for me after I made sure HIS girlfriend was alright, and I'm the scummer for making his day suck in turn? Karma never gets f**kers like him, so I gave my own.

He deserved what he got, FACT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

If they started me on me I'd finish them :cool:

Or finish them off - sucky sucky:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

I've never got myself into that kind of situation. Probably because I've never gone to nightclubs.

Neither of the incidents I was involved in happened in nightclubs. In fact, most of the stories in this thread did not happen in nightclubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I'd start off by giving him a flying kick to the nose,then do a roundhouse kick in the teeth.While he's saying "Owww" I would footsweep him and then give him a karate chop to the solarplexus. As I walk away I would say something witty or pertinent like "You are the weakest link,goodbye"or "Game over,punk!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

crockholm wrote: »
    I'd start off by giving him a flying kick to the nose,then do a roundhouse kick in the teeth.While he's saying "Owww" I would footsweep him and then give him a karate chop to the solarplexus. As I walk away I would say something witty or pertinent like "You are the weakest link,goodbye"or "Game over,punk!"

Hahaha. The Weakest Link bit. Sensational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

lahalane wrote: »
    Neither of the incidents I was involved in happened in nightclubs. In fact, most of the stories in this thread did not happen in nightclubs.

The incident you recounted in the first post in this thread happened as you were walking out of a nightclub.

I meant to add that I very rarely go to pubs either. Most incidents involving people randomly looking for trouble seem to involve drink. If you don't drink, you generally tend to find yourself cosseted from that kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

crockholm wrote: »

unless he shot you while you were flying through the air there at the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

The incident you recounted in the first post in this thread happened as you were walking out of a nightclub.

I meant to add that I very rarely go to pubs either. Most incidents involving people randomly looking for trouble seem to involve drink. If you don't drink, you generally tend to find yourself cosseted from that kind of thing.

Funnily enough, if I had stayed in the nightclub I wouldn't have gotten hit. The nightclub would have been my safe haven :)

A lot of the guys I've witnessed starting trouble were outside in the streets. True, it's usually at night time, on a weekend, when people are out drinking but they're not preyed upon because they are drinking. They're just there. If you were out on a night out and weren't drinking you would be just as likely to get a slap as anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,643 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

A reformed seasoned fighter once told me, run away and don't give a **** what anyone else thinks about it. i must say i've been lucky i've never had anyone shape up to me in a nightclub or a pub( so far). the only real bit of trouble i've ever had was on a train with a ning- nong several years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Flip him off and walk away

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

crazygeryy wrote: »
    unless he shot you while you were flying through the air there at the start.

Shhhhhhh...............don't be giving him ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Am about to go face the carnage of the Junior Cert disco and collect my son. Earlier when I was dropping him off a mini bus pulled up and a load of 15yr olds off their faces got off the bus. One of them fell against my car he was so pi^^ed. While I wait for my son if I see a fight I am wading in and bating all round me coz someone needs to put manners on some of those wee scrotes.

So if am not back online later........its been nice knowing you all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Simple answer is: It depends

I think the OP did the only logical thing. What are you going to do, turn around and take on 5 lads, regardless of their (or your) size and fighting ability? You're not just going to come out of that without a visit to the hospital.

I don't get into trouble at all, never have. I've a good sense of danger, and that's a thing well worth cultivating if you want to have a trouble free night.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Hang on, that's not quite true. These incidents often involve drink, yes, but I don't think it makes any difference whether the victim (for lack of a better word - the person being started on) was drinking. Most scumbags looking for a fight don't care if you've been drinking or not. They've probably been drinking themselves, but it's not like they only threaten people who are also drunk. I don't drink (but I do go out) and I've been started on several times.

If you never go out to pubs or nightclubs, then yes, you probably will avoid a lot of it. But random violence doesn't only happen after dark. A skanger girl spat on me and my friends and threatened to shove my head through a railing in broad daylight once cause I didn't have the 50c she asked for, and I've seen plenty of fights on the Luas in the middle of the day.