Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How would you react to somebody 'starting on you' on a night out?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

SV wrote: »
    No. You weren't right. You should read what I actually read before jumping to conclusions.
    People who say what they'd do and that they'd beat them this way and that way and blah blah blah, yeah, they're internet warriors. They're saying they'd do things that not in a million years would they do, it's funny because the amount of people who say they're capable of this makes me wonder why there isn't an after hours vigilante crew.
    Most saying what they'd do to people have got about as close to fighting as playing a bit of tekken.

Ok, good for you. I would still bet any money that if someone started on you and you didn't think you could hold your own against them that you'd walk away with your tail between your legs.
    If you wouldn't then you're an idiot, plain and simple.

and you know this for a fact do you ? good man

Are you actually going to explain what you meant by calling me paranoid then?

why? are people starting to talk :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I first read ''how would you react to someone sharting on you on a night out'' :pac:

so, how would you react? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Did she come after ya :D?

No she was too busy picking herself off the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

dj jarvis wrote: »
    so, how would you react? :eek:

It could be another ''2 girls, one cup'' scenario!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I'd always just walk away or do as little as I could to get away without getting into a proper fight. It's just not worth fighting someone if you can avoid it - what do you possibly have to gain from the situation?

I had a girl try start on me at a gig a while back - the gig hadn't started yet, she was behind me and trying to push forward. I literally couldn't move forward for her as it was seriously crammed in front of me, but she kept shoving me anyway. I elbowed her without looking and she just went mental - one of her friends was holding her up so she could kick me in the back. But I'd paid good money to be there (we'd flown to England that morning) and didn't want to be thrown out, so in the end, I just decided to move a few rows back. Didn't even look at her cause it wouldn't have been worth missing the show (still pisses me off a bit though!).

More recently, a junkie grabbed me by the arm and tried to pull me away from my friends, demanding sexual favours (*shudder*). I just snapped my arm free with all the force I could muster, knocked him back and ran off - again, not worth it, he may have had a syringe or a knife for all I know.

I honestly can't see any benefits to getting into a fight if you can avoid it. Obviously, if someone won't back off, you have to retaliate to get away, but that's all I'll ever do. Because if you hit them back and cause damage, you'll be the one in prison, not them - even if they hit you first and provoked you - and no scumbag is worth that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

dj jarvis wrote: »
    why? are people starting to talk :rolleyes:

Congratulations, your internet hardman certificate is in the post.
    ARGH YOU'RE SO TOUGH. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Turns out, some people across the road saw it happen, got Garda attention and they were pretty quick to act on it.

The guy ended up getting 6 months for it.

In Ireland, now I know your bull****ting me

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Wrestle them

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If somebody starts on me inside a pub/club I would walk away and go straight to the barman/bouncer. A guy that I knew grabbed me by the throat in a nightclub before as I was walking out for a smoke. I went to the bouncer and told him what happened. As I was finishing off my smoke he was being marched out of the club by the bouncers :D

Outside of a pub/club is a different story. Thankfully it has never happened before to me. You are best off just running for hell, you are never going to achieve anything. I would rather somebody that I have never met in my life have a chuckle at me running away than me have a bloody nose.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Personally I would admire someone more for walking away in the OPs situation. I'd assume they had the capacity to think on their feet and realised that it wasn't worth risking taking on an opponent they knew nothing more about than the fact that he's the sort of person who hits randomners in the street. If it was my boyfriend I'd much prefer he prioritise coming home to me at the end of the night in one piece than asserting himself with some low life on the street.

Obviously sometimes there's no choice but to defend yourself but where there is a choice I say walk away from the possibility of being injured or killed every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

id nock dum bleedin ou i wud! Muppits.

lahalane wrote: »
    Is your pride more important than your physical well being?

Neither. If a wasp stings me when I am in the park I do not run after it to destroy it or exact revenge. It was just a mindless animal creature doing what mindless animal creatures do.

I see no difference in the scenario you described. Just a mindless animal being a mindless animal. Unless the situation calls for me to continue to defend myself then I consider the situation closed.

Thankfully - so far at least - any situation that has called for this has come off well for me and - rather unfortunately for the assailant who tried it on. Mainly due to a combination of the facts that A) I am at least combat trained and B) I tend to be orders of magnitude more sober on nights out than the type of people who start fights on me since I drink little or nothing these days when not at home.

Either of which would likely be enough for me to come out victorious but taken together tend to result in a comedy that leaves the other party as bruised mentally as physically.

I do understand that many people have a "pride" issue here and feel they need to turn back and retreive their manhood or masculinity or some such. Especially if it happened with their girlfriend or partner or whatever watching. They have to "save face" or whatever phrase.

It is - I have to admit - a mentality I neither share - nor really understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

lahalane wrote: »
    A while ago I was walking out of the nightclub and as I was passing some lads in tracksuits outside, one of them hit me in the back of the head. I kept walking without looking back and there was no follow up.

As drunk as I was I thought that it was the only was to avoid confrontation in the scenario. I would have gained nothing by turning around to deal with him.

Obviously if he had continued his assault I would have had to be forced to defend myself but luckily it came to nothing.

What would you have done in a situation like that?

Is your pride more important than your physical well being?

Would you care if people considered you to be a 'pussy'?

If you think I was a pussy in that situation then you will feel clarified of your opinion when you read post 66 in this thread.

:D ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Fair play to op i think in the situation he did the right thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

bumper234 wrote: »
    Fair play to op i think in the situation he did the right thing.

as someone who used to have friends who did the kind of thing these guys did, believe me when i say this is the greatest encouragement these thugs could have ever got.

hit someone and they don't even ask why you did it.

It's an invite to use human punching bags.

can't believe he apologised to another guy who broke his nose and then invited him into his house :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

old_aussie wrote: »
    In Ireland, now I know your bull****ting me

No, I was there in the court room when he was sentenced. None of that suspended crap you get these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Hoop66

By reacting, you are giving the scumbags what they want.

By ignoring them, you are spoiling their "fun".

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭copperhead

i would have turned around stared him in the eyes ,
    pulled out my portable bus timetable and started reading it in the style of bosco.
    then i would have pulled out my casio calculator and started hitting the buttons furiously while humming ride of the valkyries really loud, turned around licked the nearest wall, pulled out a few of my eyebrow hairs and ate them while still starring at him, then i would have asked him if he's sure he wants to do this :eek:.

or more than likely kept walking :D fair play op

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

I work out regularly and am pretty strong, out of my group of friends I'd be the one expected to know what I'm at in an incident like this. But I know i'd get my ass handed to me by 99% of scumbags out there. They know the dirty tricks and have been in fifty times the confrontations I have. It's all about experience.

And despite my furious anger from being clattered over the head like the OP, if they kept walking, so would I.

I think the above quote rings true the most from a personal point of view.

I have been in a few fights in my life, luckily nothing too major. When I was a skinny teenager, I used to from time to time encounter situations like the above and I was always very much in two minds what to do. Now that I am older and a lot bulkier, this (touch wood) doesn't seem to happen any more. Now I would like to imagine this is the result of me looking more confident, more physically athletic and more fearsome, nevertheless the mundane reality is that I don't go out as much compared to when I was 18 or so and when I do, I go home at 2-3 am, as opposed to 5-6 am. Which undoubtedly minimises the chances of something like this occurring.

Now I would like to think should something like this happen, I'd pull out all my best street moves, challenge the leader to a 1 on 1 fight, hit him a carefully placed blow, see all his minions skulk away in defeat. Unfortunately, as Voodoomelon says above, my rationale would kick in, I'd realise that one I am outnumbered and two they almost certainly have more street fight experience than me. The fight or flight syndrome does kick in and any practical fighting techniques will probably become a blur at this point. I'd also be too 'gentle' in actual fights, too content to let the other person get up if I knocked him down etc, which on the street, where rules go out the window and you can be attacked by multiple opponents, could literally be fatal.

I am sure that my pride would be hurt by walking away...especially if I was with a girl, but at the end of the day fights generally do not end well. You will take a beating and possibly get stabbed or something along those lines, which clearly doesn't help your cause in any way. Or in the likely event that you win, they press charges, they get seriously hurt unexpectedly (hitting their head on pavement etc) and in my case at least, I would feel a lot of post-combat regret that this was not how I was brought up. (ie hurting others).

Yes it may seem cowardly, but as others have said, life is too fragile to get involved in something that does not really concern you. Let them have a laugh for ten seconds, it's not going to change anyone's life for better or worse.

As an afterthought, confrontation can sometimes be a good thing, especially if it's in a social circle or at work where someone is belittling you unnecessarily. But on the street? Far too great a risk IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I've never been in a physical fight, or am not one that would go around looking for trouble. I'm pretty shy usually, until someone grabs me or starts on me for no reason.
    The incident that springs to mind for me was one evening myself and a friend were walking back from her house, walking towards this bridge, where there was this rough out knacker standing on top of it, roaring down the bridge at her boyfriend who was standing across the road. Myself and my friend kept our heads down and walked passed her. She started shouting at him "did he want a go on them pair of slappers too?" She said what!!! I turned around and was like sorry who did you just call a slapper? She got all up into my face, her boyfriend came across with his bag of cans to try and get her to walk away, but she thought she was the big one, giving it all that. Turns out, it's all she was good for was mouthing, because she certainly couldn't back up anything she had threatened to do.

I know the bigger thing to do is ignore and walk away but I think having the last word is an illness!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

I know the bigger thing to do is ignore and walk away but I think having the last word is an illness!

It can be a fatal illness!

MadsL wrote: »
    I turn around...

It's John, my 6' 11" Nigerian bouncer who was behind me the whole time. :D

Were the two of you on a revolving platform of some kind?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭con___manx1

my friend and his girlfriend were started on by 3 guys one night a few years ago. the two of them were just walking up the road eating there chips having a chat. they never spoke too there attackers before. 1 of the guys just walked up behind my friend and hit him a kick in the leg for no reason at all.i was taking a wiz across the road so the scum bags thought my friend was alone. they started hitting my friend so I ran up behind the instigator and hit him a flying kick in the back. It was a dirty thing to do but I felt it was well warranted. he flew across the road but that made it even 2 on 2. nothing happened after that. pure chicken ****s.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

Best option is to walk away I've found as a lot of the time someone starting something will have alot of friends waiting to jump in.

I remember one time standing up for a friend who got hit for no reason and suddenly was surrounded by 5 lads.

Luckily a few of my mates arrived fairly sharpish and stopped a guy from kicking me straight in the face after I'd been knocked on the ground.

Had to walk away from getting a punch for no reason out in town a couple of times.

It's frustrating when you've taken a punch and they're shouting crap at you for not fighting back. Still though if it means keeping all of your teeth I'd take the ego bruising any day.

Fair play to the OP I reckon in this case.

If any one feels like taking a look at dickheads and people starting fights getting their comeuppance just look at some of the links on reddits justiceporn section. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

What I'd like to do...

What I'd probably do...

...complete with sound effects. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Leftist wrote: »
    can't believe he apologised to another guy who broke his nose and then invited him into his house :confused:

To save myself from breaking more than my nose. Worked a treat.
    Why, what would you have done in either situation?

Six scumbags (at least) versus you and a friend.

Scumbag who has been in jail for stabbing people breaks your nose and follows you home.

You live in the same small town as these people too and will see them again. How do you resolve the issue?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Can honestly say I've never had anyone try to harass me in real life to provoke a reaction - I kinda feel left out :(

Online games on the other hand....

/RAGE!

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭loubeelou

Happened to me once. Sister and I were out having a quiet drink when some lunatic started shouting at us that we were laughing at her and that she was going to kill us. We promtly shat our pants and left the pub!

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭heretochat

loubeelou wrote: »
    Happened to me once. Sister and I were out having a quiet drink when some lunatic started shouting at us that we were laughing at her and that she was going to kill us. We promtly shat our pants and left the pub!

Better to leave after doing that rather than being ejected...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler