Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facts of life you've found to be true

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

Probably said already but youth is wasted on the young!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

vixdname wrote: »
    Not necessarily true, I've met some incredibly stupid older people in my time, not because they're old but just because they were stupid their whole life and didnt improve with age
    And in other news, not every cloud has a silver lining.

QFT

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Come to think of it, I don't think I've ever seen a cloud with a lining. They're usually pretty wispy around the edges.

aaaaand unsubscribes from thread.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

andrew wrote: »
    Come to think of it, I don't think I've ever seen a cloud with a lining. They're usually pretty wispy around the edges.

Not always. Sometimes they'd be similar to a Type 2 or Type 3 on the Bristol Scale.

When you get a Type 7 that's what's known as rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

The rich keep on getting richer
    Look up Eike Batista.

Net worth about 200 million dollars (still obscenely wealthy, obviously) but he was worth 32 billion about 18 months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

osarusan wrote: »
    Look up Eike Batista.

Net worth about 200 million dollars (still obscenely wealthy, obviously) but he was worth 32 billion about 18 months ago.

Dear God - even though that's still rich, losing THAT much money in less than 2 years would be enough to send you off the deep end? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Dear God - even though that's still rich, losing THAT much money in less than 2 years would be enough to send you off the deep end? :eek:
    He got jarred and fell asleep on the couch - it rolled down the back of the cushions. The eejit just hasn't copped it yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭UpTheLilies

A cockroach will live nine days without it's head, before it starves to death.

I'm the same, I don't think I could live without head for nine days!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 King Hearts

People listen and follow the person who sounds the most sure of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

People are not looking at you as much as you think they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Lucena wrote: »

Politicians can live for a long time without their heads, with all the bad decisions they make throughout their job.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,167 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Lucena wrote: »

I went to see the last post of this thread and thought you meant something completely different. :D

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 King Hearts

Never outshine your master.

I went to see the last post of this thread and thought you meant something completely different. :D

I did! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

10 per cent of people are dishonest .
    IF you use drugs ,eg hash it effects your health ,and relationships.
    TRY and avoid useless expensive habits,
    eg smoking ,using drugs,, its not cool ,its just pointless ,stupid.Bad for your health.
    IF your friends are drinking too much,or using drugs ,maybe its time to find new friends.
    its up to you to decide what you want,
    You cant have everything,
    save for a house, apartment,deposit ,if you want one.
    there,s no point in putting money into pension,when you are 20 years old living in a rental flat.
    Dont, put all your money into 1 thing,one company
    eg bank shares , shares in ibm,etc
    SAVE AT least 20 per cent of your wage ,if you do not have a mortgage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Statistics that people just throw out there are inaccurate.

Drink/drugs in moderation are not necessarily bad for a person's health/relationships/personality, apart from smoke, which could cause lung cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    People are not looking at you as much as you think they are.

Jaysus I didn't think they were looking at me...'till now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

People listen and follow the person who sounds the most sure of himself.

Very true.

Now listen to me, The Wire is the most over rated show in TV history

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Jaysus I didn't think they were looking at me...'till now.

I'm watching you.....................lol

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Very true.

Now listen to me, The Wire is the most over rated show in TV history

Lies, lies, god damn lies!! I don't know what to believe any more.
    You probably don't even have a bigwun:mad:

Lies, lies, god damn lies!! I don't know what to believe any more.
    You probably don't even have a bigwun:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

That what doesn't kill you will make you stronger.

That a mistake a lesson to be learned and you must make them to grow.

That worrying is useless.

That no-one is perfect.

That no-one knows you better than you know yourself.

That your health is your wealth.

That over confidence is a sign of lack of confidence

That anyone who bullies another is a coward

That the problem lies with the bully not the bullied

That greed is the route of all the bad things that happen in the world.

That if some-one can't accept you as you are they are not worth your time or tears

No man is worth being miserable over

Family is everything, friends will come and go but blood remains forever.

One I learnt today; traffic at 5pm in Dublin city with 9 days to Christmas can make a grown man (almost) weep

• Registered Users Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Time heals all....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Time wounds all heals.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Power corrupts.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Skommando

Never trust anyone, and like the more difficult facts in life, it usually it has to be leaned the hard way by experience.