Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2013- Mod Warning Post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Home advantage, unbeaten and Cratloe having dual concerns are in their favour.

Cratloe have had two weeks since the football however and a really potent forward line. I think Cratloe are a better team and think they might just shade it, though Walsh Park being a bit tight probably won't suit them. Be very interested to see how Mahony goes, assume he'll be moved off Conor Ryan out to wing forward. Would be suicide playing him center forward because he couldn't handle that physicality and he is probably the Gunners best player.

Brian O Sullivan will need to show the form he did the last day as well.

was thinking as much myself....am really interested to see how ballygunner go...as I do believe they havnt played at anything close to there potential this year....im hoping home advantage will help them shade it

cant really remember Waterford club teams losing routinely in walsh park over the years...will be a massive test as they day!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

was thinking as much myself....am really interested to see how ballygunner go...as I do believe they havnt played at anything close to there potential this year....im hoping home advantage will help them shade it

cant really remember Waterford club teams losing routinely in walsh park over the years...will be a massive test as they day!!

Ballygunner lost to Na Piarsaigh at home 3 years ago. Dunno when the last game in Waterford was before that.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,508 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Game live on tg4 anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭zetecescort

looks a desperate day for a game

Fairplay to Ballygunner for that second half performance. Some great displays, the pressure they had Cratloe under and they fighting in twos and threes was fantastic. Thought Paudie Mahony was brilliant up front, and Harley Barnes in midfield (he's only 22 is he not?)

Had Cratloe backed so happy with the result, but I have to see Diarmuid Kirwan is an absolute disgrace. Handing out yellows like confetti you knew somebody would be sent off, and Brian O Sullivans sending off is as soft as any I've seen.

A continuously desperate referee, and that's been clear as far back as 2004. How he keeps getting games I'll never understand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭Arnold Tanzarian

fairplay to ballygunnar, an absolute desperate day for a game and if the conditions were better i believe they would of won. I think the day thats it in it, it suited a team like cratloe who kept going for the football esque short passing style game and not once in the whole game did they lump it forward aimlessly , you have to give them credit for that. Conor Mcgrath is class , just sheer class! The sending off was very soft in fairness but felt coughlan could have been sent off in the first half for consistent fouling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Fairplay to Ballygunner for that second half performance. Some great displays, the pressure they had Cratloe under and they fighting in twos and threes was fantastic. Thought Paudie Mahony was brilliant up front, and Harley Barnes in midfield (he's only 22 is he not?)

Had Cratloe backed so happy with the result, but I have to see Diarmuid Kirwan is an absolute disgrace. Handing out yellows like confetti you knew somebody would be sent off, and Brian O Sullivans sending off is as soft as any I've seen.

A continuously desperate referee, and that's been clear as far back as 2004. How he keeps getting games I'll never understand.

It's not like ye to be so critical of referees! Have to agree the second yellow was soft. But as already posted, the BG FB treaded a fine line in the first half.

citykat wrote: »
    It's not like ye to be so critical of referees! Have to agree the second yellow was soft. But as already posted, the BG FB treaded a fine line in the first half.

Not really, he committed two fouls and to be honest I don't think the second was even a foul and Conor McGrath should have been left keep going. The first one was soft enough as well, as John Allen admitted. In fact, he made the point that most of the cards awarded in the game were soft which I'd agree with.

He's a brutal referee, and I don't think he is on the Inter-County circuit. He shouldn't be on the provincial club circuit either.

As I said, I had no reason to be favouring Ballygunner today but sick of looking at Kirwan at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Sliabh gCua1

culbaire wrote: »
    Looks like 1985 all over again! If true this will infuriate supporters further. People have had enough already. If the Co. Board allows this the clubs should rebel and vote out all the officers. Time for a coup?

If you are expecting some clubs to go against what they are told to do, you will have a long wait. Some of them if told 5+5 was 12 they would agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

just on the issue of the referee today yes the sending off was very harsh , but the big turning point in the game was cathal macs goal , i am sure he took 7 steps before kicking it in , cratloe were on the ropes at that stage and i dont think they scored afterwards?

there seems to be a lack of good referees around the place at the moment i think cathal mcalister is probably the worst i have seen but kerwin is'nt too great either

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Jarjohn

Just heard that Western Board proposing that Clashmore not be relegated to junior for next year as they would be too strong for it :eek:. Going to open some can of worms if that happens. Relegation should be relegation. I have nothing against Clashmore but they were not good enough this year and you cant make exceptions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thesultan

Anyone have the senior hurling panel at the moment?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

thesultan wrote: »
    Anyone have the senior hurling panel at the moment?
    Goalkeepers: SOK, Iggy and Darren Duggan/ Seanie Barry

Backs : Tadhg Bourke, Barry Coughlan, Noel Connors, Kevin Moran, Steven Daniels, Philip Mahony, Shane Fives, Darragh Fives, Brick, Shane Mac, Shane Bennett, Tom Devine, Paudie Prendergast

Midfield : Shane O' Sullivan, Eddie Barrett, David O'Sullivan, Mark O'Brien

Forwards : Pauric Mahony, Brian O'Sullivan, Colin Dunford, Jamie Barron, Jake Dillon, Maurice Shanahan, Brian O'Halloran, Mikey Kearney Stephen Bennett, Gavin O'Brien, Ryan Donnelly, Aussie Gleeson, Cormac Curran, DJ Foran, Martin O'Neill,

haven't heard anything about Colm Roche yet, I know Patrick Curran said no to a call up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thesultan

Shane Roche I heard got a call up. Young Bennett will hardly be going with him doing the leaving

• Registered Users Posts: 8,519 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Jarjohn wrote: »
    Just heard that Western Board proposing that Clashmore not be relegated to junior for next year as they would be too strong for it :eek:. Going to open some can of worms if that happens. Relegation should be relegation. I have nothing against Clashmore but they were not good enough this year and you cant make exceptions.

Thats a mad proposal alright if true. If they are too strong well let them win it and get back up the regular route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Slobbery

thesultan wrote: »
    Shane Roche I heard got a call up. Young Bennett will hardly be going with him doing the leaving

Trying to think of other hurlers who played intercounty hurling in recent times either before their leaving cert or that summer.

Andrew O Shaugnessy is one definite, playing the in 2003 (?) the year Waterford beat Limerick after a replay (the first game was not televised at the last minute due to health and safety reasons), I have it in my head that another Limerick player played that day who was also doing his leaving cert but cant remember correctly.

Seamus Hickey would have been close enough too, I remember he played against Cork in 2006(?) it could have been the year Richie Bennis came on board as manager half-way through the year - I hadnt heard of Hickey before but he had a great game on Ben O'Connor and I think Hickey was in Flannans at the time.

Ken McGrath may have been another? made his debut at 17.

Eoin Kelly played with Tipp in 2000 after winning an All-Ireland with St Kierans earlier that year.

I remember Brian O'Halloran played in 2010, coming on against Cork in the Munster final replay, the year he did his leaving cert.

Eugene O'Neill and Eugene Cloonan and Diarmuid O Sullivan must have been close

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

Slobbery wrote: »
    I have it in my head that another Limerick player played that day who was also doing his leaving cert but cant remember correctly.

Pa Kirby

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭coopdog85

Trying to think of other hurlers who played intercounty hurling in recent times either before their leaving cert or that summer.

Andrew O Shaugnessy is one definite, playing the in 2003 (?) the year Waterford beat Limerick after a replay (the first game was not televised at the last minute due to health and safety reasons), I have it in my head that another Limerick player played that day who was also doing his leaving cert but cant remember correctly.

Seamus Hickey would have been close enough too, I remember he played against Cork in 2006(?) it could have been the year Richie Bennis came on board as manager half-way through the year - I hadnt heard of Hickey before but he had a great game on Ben O'Connor and I think Hickey was in Flannans at the time.

Eoin Kelly played with Tipp in 2000 after winning an All-Ireland with St Kierans earlier that year.

I remember Brian O'Halloran played in 2010, coming on against Cork in the Munster final replay, the year he did his leaving cert.

Shaughs played against Waterford the day before his leaving cert as far as I can remember. He started it on the Wednesday, did exams Wed, Thurs & Fri. Went training on the Friday & was named in the 15 to play on the Sunday & went back in on the Monday morning. Mad situation to be in for a youngfella.

Brian O'Halloran had just finished his leaving cert when he joined the panel in 2010. Came on & got a crucial score in the replay & started against Tipp in the All Ireland semi a few days before he got his results. Amazing situation for lads so young to be involved in.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Hickey had just finished his Leaving Cert afaik, his debut was in the quarter-final, which would have been early August, I think.

Declan Hannon waited till his Leaving Cert was done in 2011 and joined up with the panel then. Missed the game against Waterford, but was probably our best player at the time tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Miall108

Didnt Darren Sweetnam do it for Cork too

Miall108 wrote: »
    Didnt Darren Sweetnam do it for Cork too

Didn't realise he had

Big loss to cork, imagine himself and Aidan walsh midfield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Deise Hurler

Ken McGrath was 18 and had just completed first year in WIT when he made his championship debut in 1996.

Conor Lehane in 2011 had just completed the leaving when he made his debut.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭shoddy14

A letter sent out on behalf of the western board.

Please Note at our Recent Board meeting a discussion took place
    re the composition of junior and intermediate hurling championship
    The current Status quo is as follows
    junior premier 5 teams geraldines,st marys,kilgobinet, colligan(clashmore/Kinsalebeg recently relegated)
    junior senior attached 7 teams fourmilewater, lismore, cappaquin,ballyduff,dungarvan, tallow( Abbeyside Recently relegated)
    Junior Intermediate Attached 10 or 11teams Depending on affilations
    The Officer Board Have been working on trying to get more teams back to junior premier but over the last 2 years
    fourmilewater 2013 abbeyside 2014 have been relegated to senior attached so we find ourselves in this situation
    therefore the board have put forward the following proposal which would be for a 2 year trial period and would need to go to co convention as a motion to change the structure and would require 2/3rds majority
    Proposal as follows
    We Would Have 2 junior Hurling Championships instead of 3
    Junior A Would Consist of 10 Teams
    4 Junior Premier and 6 Junior Senior Attached Teams
    St Marys,Geraldines,colligan,kilgobinet, Fourmilewater,tallow,lismore,dungarvan ballyduff, abbeyside
    2 Groups of 5, 2 junior premier teams in each group and 3 senior attached teams,
    none of the junior premier teams would meet the senior attached teams until 2 rounds of senior hurling championship
    is played Example 1st round senior hurling no junior fixtures, 2nd round the 2 junior premier teams in each group
    will play each other, This gives Junior Premier clubs more games and more competition which they have been looking
    for
    Junior B would be the junior intermediate attached teams including cappaquin the officer board feel it would be unfair to put cappaquins 2nd team into senior attached as they didnt qualify for knockout stages of intermediate attached last year
    As regards intermediate Championship we would be proposing clashmore/kinsalebeg would maintain ther intermediate status as we would consider them too strong for junior A Grade We would be flexible on the relegation issue if we would relegate 1 or 2 teams for this year and will listen to the opinion of our clubs
    I would ask clubs to discuss this propositon and give it careful consideration as we believe it is the best way going forward for the junior championship,if any club has any query or observations please pass them on to us we as officers are the custodions of these championships and want to pass them on to the people coming behind us in good shape
    and also protect the future of divisional boards

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Cornerstoner

shoddy14 wrote: »
    A letter sent out on behalf of the western board.

Please Note at our Recent Board meeting a discussion took place
    re the composition of junior and intermediate hurling championship
    The current Status quo is as follows
    junior premier 5 teams geraldines,st marys,kilgobinet, colligan(clashmore/Kinsalebeg recently relegated)
    junior senior attached 7 teams fourmilewater, lismore, cappaquin,ballyduff,dungarvan, tallow( Abbeyside Recently relegated)
    Junior Intermediate Attached 10 or 11teams Depending on affilations
    The Officer Board Have been working on trying to get more teams back to junior premier but over the last 2 years
    fourmilewater 2013 abbeyside 2014 have been relegated to senior attached so we find ourselves in this situation
    therefore the board have put forward the following proposal which would be for a 2 year trial period and would need to go to co convention as a motion to change the structure and would require 2/3rds majority
    Proposal as follows
    We Would Have 2 junior Hurling Championships instead of 3
    Junior A Would Consist of 10 Teams
    4 Junior Premier and 6 Junior Senior Attached Teams
    St Marys,Geraldines,colligan,kilgobinet, Fourmilewater,tallow,lismore,dungarvan ballyduff, abbeyside
    2 Groups of 5, 2 junior premier teams in each group and 3 senior attached teams,
    none of the junior premier teams would meet the senior attached teams until 2 rounds of senior hurling championship
    is played Example 1st round senior hurling no junior fixtures, 2nd round the 2 junior premier teams in each group
    will play each other, This gives Junior Premier clubs more games and more competition which they have been looking
    for
    Junior B would be the junior intermediate attached teams including cappaquin the officer board feel it would be unfair to put cappaquins 2nd team into senior attached as they didnt qualify for knockout stages of intermediate attached last year
    As regards intermediate Championship we would be proposing clashmore/kinsalebeg would maintain ther intermediate status as we would consider them too strong for junior A Grade We would be flexible on the relegation issue if we would relegate 1 or 2 teams for this year and will listen to the opinion of our clubs
    I would ask clubs to discuss this propositon and give it careful consideration as we believe it is the best way going forward for the junior championship,if any club has any query or observations please pass them on to us we as officers are the custodions of these championships and want to pass them on to the people coming behind us in good shape
    and also protect the future of divisional boards

That is a joke. Clashmore have to be relegated and promoted like every other team. Can't make exceptions based on "being to string for Junior A", if they were they wouldn't have got relegated!! Why doesn't the western board just chose what clubs they want in each division altogether, they are a disgrace and the lot of them should be gotten rid of

I doubt that part of the proposal will be accepted, but I hope the restructuring does go through and I hope that this doesn't but a halt to it.

It's a joke having three different Junior competitions and it means that the standard is definitely lowered.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Some farce if this Clashmore thing comes off. Some cheek in fairness but then its just aswell they've nobody in a place of authority or people would be smelling a rat!!!!

cul beag wrote: »
    Some farce if this Clashmore thing comes off. Some cheek in fairness but then its just aswell they've nobody in a place of authority or people would be smelling a rat!!!!

Is it just the Chairman that is leaving or is the County Secretary going too?

Ken McGrath was 18 and had just completed first year in WIT when he made his championship debut in 1996.

Conor Lehane in 2011 had just completed the leaving when he made his debut.

You are right he was 18, he played senior before U21 was the thing with him.
    First time I saw him was coming on against Tipp in fermoy in a minor game in 1994. We won with a last minute free from Dave bennett.

It's fair to say it was clear to see 16 year old Ken would not stand back from anything!

He scored a beautiful point on his debut

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Is it just the Chairman that is leaving or is the County Secretary going too?

Chairman definitely gone im not sure about the secretary. The Troika couldn't solve the mess left behind them!

The Nire 1-07 to 0-03 up at half time. Full value according to Live95.