If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

I am pie wrote: »
    In German. Right....I don't think I'll try and unpick the madness which google translate usually throws up for translations and I reckon you won't find to many German speakers on AH. A handful maybe.

don’t worry, no real news in there anyway, just a german perspective of the whole thing…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

jprender wrote: »
    Jobs for the boys. And it suited the Govt at the time for it not to be enforced.

Which is why there will be no prosecutions, too many questions raised. It was the financial regulators job to enforce regulation. It's too late after not enforcing regulation to look for prosecutions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Wurzelbert wrote: »
    don’t worry, no real news in there anyway, just a german perspective of the whole thing…

Can I ask something please?

What is the german perspective on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I don't think it makes the Irish people look bad. It looks like we were duped but I think these guys will be vilified across Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

You don't think that Sean Quinn thought taking out a massive loan to buy shares in Anglo was a good way to make a quick buck?

The lads in Anglo were total cowboys, but that doesn't change the fact that Sean Quinn gambled his company's money and lost. He also acted in the exact same way as the rest of them, transferring his assets to family members and selling off assets in shady deals in Russia and the Ukraine.
    No, I don't. I think he pretty much did as he was told on pains of his loans being called in. Thing is, he was dancing with the devil anyway, so he ended up skewered regardless. BTW, would any of ye not hide some assets if you were faced with everything you had worked for being stripped from you?? No? Go on, go on, go. Pull the other one, it has bells on.

For the average guy in the street, including me, these guys who will be "villified" (yeah, please) will just fall under some nebulous group name of "bloody bankers". No individuals will be remembered, no-one will be singled out. In a year or two, apart from seanie and fingers, TAPITS will struggle to remember a single name. It will be chalked up to "them Bankers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Same as ours basically judging by the article. It just talks about what was said in the conversation really. The comments under the article were more interesting.

not really that much different from everybody else’s perspective…the only real difference is that the germans reading it are the ones directly insulted by those bankers and also the ones footing much of the bill…

another german article in the f.a.z. (frankfurter allgemeine zeitung), one of germany’s most reputable newspapers… www.faz.net/aktuell/wirtschaft/verraeterische-telefonmitschnitte-irische-pleitebanker-haben-den-staat-betrogen-12244082.html

again nothing in there we do not know already…

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

One of the most depressing aspects of this whole episode is it will give FF supporters a bit of ammo for their self-delusion. They'll be able to point to this and say "See!! It was all the bankers fault. The two poor aul Brians were tricked by those shifty bastards!"

Then Fine Gael will get no credit for making the tough calls and getting this country back on track, instead they'll be vilified and FF will be back and thus the cycle of Irish voter idiocy will continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,023 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I have been annoyed by many things over the last 5 years since the nation crashed and burned, but for some reason this last few days I have found particularly annoying and hard to take.

When we think about all the pain this great nation has suffered with emigration, massive dole queues, a generation with no future, increasing taxes, cuts being made to the blind, the handicapped, the disabled, schools, hospitals etc etc etc all because of people like those in charge of Anglo, who will all lead a comfortable life.

And the worst thing of all, not a single one of them will ever spend any time in prison for all this. We may say we are going to do this and that, and have this inquiry and that investigation, but no-one will go to prison. You can take that to the bank.

If only this was a few hundred years ago, then we could take these people out and give them the justice they deserve.

Its a sad time to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,931 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

One of the most depressing aspects of this whole episode is it will give FF supporters a bit of ammo for their self-delusion. They'll be able to point to this and say "See!! It was all the bankers fault. The two poor aul Brians were tricked by those shifty bastards!"

Then Fine Gael will get no credit for making the tough calls and getting this country back on track, instead they'll be vilified and FF will be back and thus the cycle of Irish voter idiocy will continue.

32 pages ago I made very much the same point http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85236281&postcount=280

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,163 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

NIMAN wrote: »
    I have been annoyed by many things over the last 5 years since the nation crashed and burned, but for some reason this last few days I have found particularly annoying and hard to take.

When we think about all the pain this great nation has suffered with emigration, massive dole queues, a generation with no future, increasing taxes, cuts being made to the blind, the handicapped, the disabled, schools, hospitals etc etc etc all because of people like those in charge of Anglo, who will all lead a comfortable life.

And the worst thing of all, not a single one of them will ever spend any time in prison for all this. We may say we are going to do this and that, and have this inquiry and that investigation, but no-one will go to prison. You can take that to the bank.

If only this was a few hundred years ago, then we could take these people out and give them the justice they deserve.

Its a sad time to be Irish.

Thank God Ruari Quinn decided to reverse the cuts to the Special Needs children and their schooling hours.
    Have to give them credit for this. Hope they do the same with the SNA provisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

These people are vermin.

But why did they tape their conversations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,163 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    These people are vermin.

All calls to banks are taped it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,931 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    These people are vermin.

Standard practice in banking for all calls on internal systems to be recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

the recordings today were even worse.
    How did it take so long for the release of this to the public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,444 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Some one mentioned earlier on RTE that the calls may have been taped as part of the Bank system to avoid trading and foreign dealing mistakes, so the Bank could have back-up proof of the trading and dealing conversations between it's staff and the customers/other traders and dealers to avoid losses at the bank, however ironic that now sound's in this case.

another interesting article regarding the whole banking mess and – who knows – maybe also the anglo irish disaster…

www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/04/15/bankers-cocaine-habit-financial-crisis-_n_3083491.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,444 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Katunga wrote: »
    The prime suspect/s for the leak is pissed-off Gardai and /or Prosecution lawyers. Some-how I suspect that the journalists will defend their sources to an extreme level in this case. with full moral back-up from Joe Soap Public. We (even the Press barons not liking too much press freedom) all wait for more revelations :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Katunga wrote: »

To be honest, I didn't listen to any recordings and I don't think I will.

Are there more tapes available? I read somewhere that there will be more.

Will we be drip fed bits and pieces for the next couple more of weeks. I'd prefer it if they would get it over and done with all in one go instead of dragging it out.

aloyisious wrote: »
    The prime suspect/s for the leak is pissed-off Gardai and /or Prosecution lawyers. Some-how I suspect that the journalists will defend their sources to an extreme level in this case. with full moral back-up from Joe Soap Public. We (even the Press barons not liking too much press freedom) all wait for more revelations :D

BUT the question is --
    Who was blocking the Garda from doing their job and why?
    There seems to be people trying to prevent the truth from coming out by putting obstacles in the Garda's way and preventing them investigating and prosecuting the culprits if that leak rumour is true. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

aloyisious wrote: »
    Some one mentioned earlier on RTE that the calls may have been taped as part of the Bank system to avoid trading and foreign dealing mistakes, so the Bank could have back-up proof of the trading and dealing conversations between it's staff and the customers/other traders and dealers to avoid losses at the bank, however ironic that now sound's in this case.

That is fair enough but like all criminals their eventual stupidity brings them down.

Why not have this conversation in a pub or on their mobile phones? Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Has there been any indication of more conversations to be released?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭TheFOB

To be honest, I didn't listen to any recordings and I don't think I will.

Are there more tapes available? I read somewhere that there will be more.

Will we be drip fed bits and pieces for the next couple more of weeks. I'd prefer it if they would get it over and done with all in one go instead of dragging it out.

No I hope it goes on for a few more days - focus the minds of the people a bit.

I think RTÉ again did a poor job reporting the story on the 9pm news. They only played one clip. Where was the clip between Peter and John boasting about being civil servents. Also why do RTE send their political correspondants out to stand like muppets outside the Dail or the courts at 9 o'clock. It is obvious they were sitting in RTE studios at 8pm writing their piece, hopped in a car to the Dail, recorded a 1 min piece with Eileen Dunne, hopped in the car and back to the studio to fill in their expense claims.

SeaFields wrote: »
    Has there been any indication of more conversations to be released?

Loads more according to Fionnan Sheehan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 HandsomeJonny

Guys. I've translated the Spiegel Article into English http://www.spiegel.de/wirtschaft/soziales/topmanager-von-irischer-bank-sang-deutschland-ueber-alles-a-907790.html

They jeeringly mocked Customers as "****ing Germans" and sang the first Stanza of the German Song. The now published telephone conversations between Top managers of the bankrupt Anglo Irish Bank reveal the arrogance of the Bank Managers even shortly before the collapse of their institution

Dublin. It sounds like a conversation that you would hear down the pub but it actually took place between the former head of the soon to be bankrupt Anglo Irish Bank, David Drumm und one of his top managers John Bowe at the end of 2008. They insult the "****ing Germans", throw around harsh expressions and ridicule their controllers. Finally Bowe begins to sing Deutschland Deutschland über alles, the politically incorrect first line of the German Song. Drumm hardly seems to be able to contain his laughter(You hear it intermittently).

The recording of several telephone conversations between Drumm and Bowe at the climax of the Irish Banking Crisis has been published by the newspaper "Irish Independant". It is a terrifying indication of the mistreatment some top bankers still dealt their customers, bosses and politicians even after the outbreak of the Financial Crisis they caused. In the meantime Ireland's Taoiseach Enda Kenny has an announced an inquiry which should explain why the Bankers received a huge amount of help from the state in spite of the obviously hopeless situation the banks found themselves in.

When the recordings were being made the Irish government had just announced a guarantee for the financial institutions of the country. This was to prevent the complete collapse of the inflated banking sector und the welfare system(I can't think of a better translation of volkswirtschaft). The financial crisis catapulted the up until that point prosperous country into a several year long recession and debt crisis.

Numbers pulled from the arse.

With the "Scheißdeutschen" the Top Managers mean German savers who placed their money in anglo after the guarantee. It was however already clear to the bank chiefs at that point that the instituion would become a billion euro grave. "The 7 billion that Anglo received from the State budget will be paid back when we have the money, therefore never" said Bowe in the telephone conversation with another worken. The sum had nothing to do with the actual capital needs of the bank and was pulled from the arse.

Das sei aber egal: Drumm und Bowe kalkulierten ohnehin, dass der Staat nach einer Hilfszahlung immer tiefer in die Bankenrettung rutschen und Geld nachlegen würde. Sie lachen deshalb über die Furcht ihrer Regulierer, sie könnten die Staatsgarantie missbrauchen: Natürlich würden sie das tun, aber sich dabei eben nicht erwischen lassen. "Wir werden natürlich nichts offensichtlich Rechtswidriges tun, aber (...) wir müssen das Scheißgeld reinbekommen", sagt Drumm zu Bowe.

The didn't matter. Drumm and Bowe calculated that after one payment the state would slide deeper into saving the bank and would make a follow up payment. The laughed about the fears of there regulator that they counld abuse the state guarantee. Of course they would do that but not get caught red handen. "Of course we won't do anything obviously illegal but we must get the ****ing money in said Drumm to Bowe".

Ihr Institut retteten sie so nicht mehr: Die einst drittgrößte Bank des Landes wurde im Januar 2009, wenige Monate nach den Telefonaten, verstaatlicht und ein Jahr später abgewickelt. Drumm, der im Zuge der Verstaatlichung entlassen wurde, klagte später über die "Hexenjagd" gegen ihn.

They didn't save their institute though. The once third largest Bank in Ireland was nationalised in January 2009 just a few months after the calls and was liquidated a year later. Drumm who was released from his position after nationalised later complained about the witch hunt for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

BUT the question is --
    Who was blocking the Garda from doing their job and why?
    There seems to be people trying to prevent the truth from coming out by putting obstacles in the Garda's way and preventing them investigating and prosecuting the culprits if that leak rumour is true. Why?

That, my friend, is the question we need answering indeed. Considering most of this information has been in the hands of the DPP / AGS for several years and nothing has been done with it.

We can only hope that the person (hero) that's handed over these tapes will have given some indication as to why they've done so, hopefully leading to some investigative journalism or at least revelations of this information.

If it does turn out there are people actively hampering these investigations personally I think that calls for a full blown lynch party and I'm not talking figuratively either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

......und the welfare system(I can't think of a better translation of volkswirtschaft).

It can be translated as just economy (national or domestic economy) AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

Does anybody know the answer to these basic questions:

1) Where were/are these tapes kept, and how come they are only coming to light now?

2) If it is common knowledge that financial institutions record phone conversations - as we are all informed each time we talk on the phone to an insurance company, etc, for example - why has it taken five years for journalists or other investigators to come across a basic source like these conversations? Something very fundamental doesn't fit here.

3) If Anglo-Irish recorded their phonecalls, are there similar recordings of Michael Fingleton and the Irish Nationwide fraudsters? What about Eugene Sheehy and the AIB fraudsters? If there is...

Anybody?

dissed doc wrote: »
    It can be translated as just economy (national or domestic economy) AFAIK.

yep