If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Sergeant wrote: »
    No that's not true at all. You're making up imaginary bogeymen and grandiose theories that don't exist in reality. It may be the case that there is no case to trial these guys on. Being a dickhead in a telephone conversation is not enough evidence to send someone to Mountjoy.

Of course being a dickhead on the phone isn't a crime, but if you think there's even a chance that no case exists against any of those bastards, you're totally deluded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Of course being a dickhead on the phone isn't a crime, but if you think there's even a chance that no case exists against any of those bastards, you're totally deluded.

Ya, but you cannot just go lifting people out of their bed and arresting them on a whim or a gut instinct. They tried that type of shít up in the North back in the 70's.

You need evidence. Lots of it. You need financial experts, computer specialists and auditors to root through multiple sources of information to find this evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Provided you don't wear sandals and comb your beard its a deal. :)

What time does Sergeant Bilko let ye go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,127 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

No that's not true at all. You're making up imaginary bogeymen and grandiose theories that don't exist in reality. It may be the case that there is no case to trial these guys on. Being a dickhead in a telephone conversation is not enough evidence to send someone to Mountjoy.

"No case to trial these guys on"???
    They ruined the country, they lied and cheated. They put properties they might have seized into their wives names. Why did Drumm etc flee the country? Some of them even had fecking tax rebates sent to them in the U.S.
    Every man, woman and child in the country are suffering because of these criminals.
    Maybe they'll sue me for calling them criminals :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

mikom wrote: »
    What time does Sergeant Bilko let ye go?

Haven't worked in the army in a number of years. Do 3 months work overseas a year now, and that more than pays for the time I spend at home.

Anyway, enough about me.

What course of action would you have the government take? Surely you agree allowing a proper investigation is better than just issuing out mob justice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Not going to lie, this doesn't sound very credible, at all.

Why all the mystery? What's the allegation?

I hope to be able to post everything shortly. My 'interview' tapes currently with the DPP for decision re next step. Whilst both my solicitor and I are confident that the DPP will determine that the allegations made by the bank official concerned are indeed absurd, nevertheless we have to still bear in mind that the matter is 'ongoing'.

My allegations relate to sharp practice in relation to procurement matters and relating to 'the manner in how certain contracts were awarded', 'strange' prevailing business relationships, awarding contracts to businesses which have links to criminal or terrorist organisations, turning a blind eye to unethical and illegal activities, the prevalence of which 'assists' towards 'controlling costs', complicity to human exploitations, complicity relating to breaches of legislations i.e. EU working time directive, minimum wage, etc, all of which are designed to assist in 'controlling costs', etc, etc, etc......

The banks, whether it is the middle level officials connected to same or CEO's collaboratively refuse to answer questions....... and si it goes on..... the never ending cycle of sharp practice and subterfuge..... all of which is endemic within the banking sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Haven't worked in the army in a number of years. Do 3 months work overseas a year now, and that more than pays for the time I spend at home.

Sounds right comfortable.
    A position many would love to be in.
    Make poking at the "lefties" easy I'd say.

What course of action would you have the government take? Surely you agree allowing a proper investigation is better than just issuing out mob justice?

It'll be a long time before you see this government issue out mob justice........ or any justice for that matter.
    There is a nest of snakes here intertwined between those in the dail now, those just left the dail, the bankers, the state broadcaster, and god knows who else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

whats all this jazz about people taking to the streets?

To demand what exactly? Them locked up and our money returned?

Only one of the above is remotely likely and i'm not wasting a day chanting for people to be locked up, i thought our taxpayers money already went to pay people to do that for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    To hear all the politicians now calling for an inquiry is laughable. No matter what party, they are all part of the big circle and don't really want the masses all riled up. "Lets keep this as calm as possible until the peasants move on or forget" is probably the aim and that's what will happen eventually.

This.
    What good will a toothless enquiry do? (Apart from taking God knows how many years, and ensuring that those implicated in wrongdoing are either dead, or beyond the statute of limitations!)

I don't know about anyone else - but I don't want a Public Enquiry. :mad:

I want to see criminal proceedings, and our newspapers can report on the Court cases, and save on the cost of an enquiry!

Why can't CAB get involved, and seize the assets of those who are found guilty?
    TheFOB wrote: »
    How about taking the initiative and bring the man in a car.

:eek:. I wonder would you say that to either the people on the scene who tried to help, or to the poor lads family?
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    By the way guys we don't want to p1ss off Bowe and Fitzgerald. According to many people in the financial sector they're exactly the type of high performance guys we need to keep paying huge salaries to or they'll take their talent elsewhere.

Hmm. How about taking it to prison? I'm sure there are a few high profile criminals in there who would benefit from their financial "expertise".:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

these people seem to be untouchable. are they still being paid/employeed by the state?

a tape or two involving Bertie is all we need now to really top this off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

these people seem to be untouchable. are they still being paid/employeed by the state?

a tape or two involving Bertie is all we need now to really top this off.

not a hope, far too sneaky and manipulative to be caught out within a mile of a tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

Bertie, the man who "didn't have a bank account" when he was minister for finance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

But it took a newspaper to break the story - finally. What have the Office of Corporate Whatsits been doing? What have the DPP been doing? Where are the Fraud Squad when you need them?

Fraud squad, What a laugh...
    Leiva wrote: »
    fúcking hell i have just listened to the next release of the Anglo recordings with Drumm etc.:mad:

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/abuse-the-bank-guarantee-dont-get-caught-david-drumm-29369275.html

Why oh why aint these guys being picked up this morning by the authorities.

The authorities are probably helping them out and advising them, I can just picture the Gardaí turning up at their houses and giving them advice on their own safety..
    Give that Garda a medal if true.

The only thing he will get is the sack...

I wonder how many of those big pension pay off boyos were rewarded not for their services to banking but to ensure their silence in future with regards to what they know from their time at whatever bank or state department they were employed ?

It seems odd that someone i.e. someone who was a 'pillar bank' Chief Executive can issue instructions to all bank staff regarding a ban to all staff regarding inappropriate use of bank computers i.e. social networking, eBay, Amazon, possibly even porn..... and then himself get caught inappropriately using his bank computer checking out his forthcoming bank trip related leisure activities (allegedly re prostitution websites which just happened to be at the same US location where he was due to visit)....... has to resign as a result , but with a fairly hefty pension package arrangement.

Now.... if one of the ordinary bank workers had been caught 'using his or her bank computer inappropriately, not necessarily re checking out his or her relaxation options, but even if visiting the likes of eBay or Amazon, and he or she was sacked as a result...... would they have received a generous pension package, or any pension package.

My guess is that they wouldn't.

Therefore if a) there was valid reason for parting company with the individual (CEO) concerned b) the bank could have, under the circumstances, sacked the individual as opposed to allowing him to 'resign' c) the bank didn't have to pay......... why do so unless there may otherwise have been some sort of reason to ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ya, but you cannot just go lifting people out of their bed and arresting them on a whim or a gut instinct. They tried that type of shít up in the North back in the 70's.

You need evidence. Lots of it. You need financial experts, computer specialists and auditors to root through multiple sources of information to find this evidence.

Four more years long enough to wait?

Will enough people die in that timespan? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Just when you thinking people couldnt sink any lower. I think the worst part of this is they didnt care that this would nearly bring the country to its knees.

Im not a fan of mob violence, but these guys deserve it. To die in the most painfull way possible.

While i doubt they will ever get touched, maybe just maybe they will get whats coming to them down a dark alley somenight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

When was the last time an auditor found anything , that their consultants could nae fix

Which is the problem

Consulting : if you're not part of the solution there's good money to be made in prolonging the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

I see that the two gentlemen involved are claiming that they didn't believe they were doing anything wrong.
    No doubt their solicitors have advised them to take this stance?
    But ...talk about smoking gun evidence!
    If the the legal system in this country fails to get a conviction in this case I fear the consequences.
    Well most criminals don't believe they're doing anything wrong. Frankly I don't give a **** what they believe. I hope there is a way to stop them fleeing the country and make them face up to the consequences of their actions.

Different Positions / Different Payback in this ‘we’re all in it together’ period of time

The article below appeared in the Irish Independent on 8th March of this year, in which reference is made to the murder by terrorists of an individual who had been ‘pocketing funds’.

A different position somewhat from when banksters ‘receive’ large amounts of money whilst relieving many ordinary men and women of theirs........ instead ‘they’ get rewarded........

Yep, a different position to those where senior bank officials ‘pocket funds’ (huge salaries and bonuses).

Obviously it would be wrong..... and awful.... if any banker was to meet such a fate..... and I think it is important that everyone should acknowledge that.

‘.....he had pocketed some of their funds’

TOM BRADY SECURITY EDITOR – 08 MARCH 2013

‘A LEADER of the New IRA alliance is believed to have ordered the pub car park hit on dissident terrorist Peter Butterly.
    Butterly (35), the former head of the Real IRA in the Louth region, had been sidelined by the alliance in the past few months because they suspected he had ‘’pocketed some of their funds’’.

Gardai are satisfied that the Armagh-based leader chose a Dublin northside unit to carry out the shooting.

Butterly was lured to his death after receiving a phone call to meet some of his former associates.

Gardai were last night continuing to question five men, two from Balbriggan and the others from Raheny, Tallaght and Blanchardstown, about the killing.’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,215 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Are these lads even listening to their electorate ?!?!?!

Brendan Howlin now in RTE on the news saying again that they are rushing through procedures to conclude and get started this parliamentary enquiry...

NO ONE wants this, people want prosecutions.

Wasting dail time with people that have no skills or no power to question anybody in relation to this matter is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Different Positions / Different Payback in this ‘we’re all in it together’ period of time

The article below appeared in the Irish Independent on 8th March of this year, in which reference is made to the murder by terrorists of an individual who had been ‘pocketing funds’.

A different position somewhat from when banksters ‘receive’ large amounts of money whilst relieving many ordinary men and women of theirs........ instead ‘they’ get rewarded........

Yep, a different position to those where senior bank officials ‘pocket funds’ (huge salaries and bonuses).

Obviously it would be wrong..... and awful.... if any banker was to meet such a fate..... and I think it is important that everyone should acknowledge that.

‘.....he had pocketed some of their funds’

TOM BRADY SECURITY EDITOR – 08 MARCH 2013

‘A LEADER of the New IRA alliance is believed to have ordered the pub car park hit on dissident terrorist Peter Butterly.
    Butterly (35), the former head of the Real IRA in the Louth region, had been sidelined by the alliance in the past few months because they suspected he had ‘’pocketed some of their funds’’.

Gardai are satisfied that the Armagh-based leader chose a Dublin northside unit to carry out the shooting.

Butterly was lured to his death after receiving a phone call to meet some of his former associates.

Gardai were last night continuing to question five men, two from Balbriggan and the others from Raheny, Tallaght and Blanchardstown, about the killing.’

What point are you trying to make here?

That a few of us should befriend bowe and fitzgerald, lure them somewhere and kill them?

Absurd post if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,127 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

listermint wrote: »
    Are these lads even listening to their electorate ?!?!?!

Brendan Howlin now in RTE on the news saying again that they are rushing through procedures to conclude and get started this parliamentary enquiry...

NO ONE wants this, people want prosecutions.

Wasting dail time with people that have no skills or no power to question anybody in relation to this matter is ridiculous

They have no intention of doing anything of consequence.
    It might incriminate some of their own.
    Didn't Hogan get his mortgages from Michael Fingleton in Irish Nationwide. Nationwide as bad as Anglo. Too close to those being investigated.
    This is just more political deflecting. Do something but do nothing.
    http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/nationwides-soft-loan-to-hogan-26873373.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Some of these guys got huge bonuses. This was for doing their job in a legal way. If what they did is fraudulent, is there no way of clawing back some of that? I mean, they do it to gangsters - when they can prove it's from the proceeds of crime. There is a paper trail in the bonus business, so this should make it easier to prove. Or is "who you know" coming to the fore again? Sergeant said earlier that it is hard to get such evidence. I disagree. If something is over-hyped, that means that it is misleading. Why would they mislead unless it put money in their pockets. That is cheating. I think cheating is a crime, Sergeant. If you obfuscate or otherwise during police questioning, that is a crime. Wasting police time? No? At least it is with an ODC. This is just a few that spring to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

What is wrong with muppet boy Enda calling for an enquiry. The clueless d1ck. An enquiry is going to do nothing. It's just going to be another tribunal to fill up the pockets of their solicitor mates. Enda Kenny became t-shock in Febuary of 2011. He only had 2 and half years to for an enquiry and he's done sweet fcuk all since gaining office just prancing looking pretty for his friends in the EU. An enquiry is going to be all smoke and mirrors just to look as if they are doing something about this 'scandal'.

edit: Just read tayto lovers post above. Political deflecting and that's all an enquiry is going to be.

Keyzer wrote: »
    What point are you trying to make here?

That a few of us should befriend bowe and fitzgerald, lure them somewhere and kill them?

Absurd post if you ask me.

Don't be 'absurd' Keyzer...... of course I would not advocate such action...... even from ordinary decent normally law abiding folks.

Some might...... I wouldn't...... that's not to say I wouldn't be too upset if any of the those feckers 'of dubious integrity and ethics' happened to be in an aeroplane which crashed due to a genuine accident..... or they accidentally drove off a road and over a cliff after suffering a tyre blow out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I sincerly hope the leaking of this information will not jepodise a court case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Could someone point to an actual law and the relevant legislation that has been breached..so that people can then go to their local Garda station and complain about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

snubbleste wrote: »
    Could someone point to an actual law and the relevant legislation that has been breached..so that people can then go to their local Garda station and complain about it.

Best available bet is "fraudulent trading" (7 years max), but the Gardai don't deal with that, it's an ODCE one afaik.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

We always knew we lived in a banana republic but this further bangs it home

These people just laughed at everybody like it was a fiver they were putting on a horse

Enda then saying his hoping to bring forward an enquiry...ah hello nothing new here enda..we had the fooking tapes all along and now you decide to bring forward an enquiry..lol

Banana republic we should rename ourselves