If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Nobody has misappropriated any funds belonging to the EU.

The money has been stolen from the Irish taxpayer.

And no one gives two ****s or gives two ****s about where our billions in taxes are going?

What can we do? Wreck the place, what good will that cause. Cost us more money. Get more puppets in, make us feel like we are in control voting more of the same puppets in. Might aswell be the Germans or IMF running this place they are calling the shots anyway, it would save us money if we just told them to run the place and get them gangsters out of The Dail. They all have dirt on each other and they keep each other in there place. Makes me sick to think we are paying the price for comment such as , 'where did you pull that figure out of? Picked it out of me arse' or to that effect.

Might be funny reading it, but that's the reason we are all paying higher tax on our wages, USC, increased PRSI, higher motor tax, household charges, water charges, increase in public service levys, carbon tax and the rest, To pay for them fools only to mock us. The ****ing neck of them. When is this going to end? We are told we can't afford more Garda, hospitals etc, yet we have the money to keep private banks a float why? Because there's vested interests in them banks. Disgraceful carry on.

What makes it worse, is this attitude. If you don't like it , you know where the door is. As in if your not happy, fly off somewhere else then. Like someone in a job they don't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,791 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i'm sure you're all very clever but your words and wisdom are pi$$Ing up a down pipe here...let's row in with the protest....i'll have to look back and find the link ...there's a facebook page somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I think calm heads need to prevail in a situation like this.

The people calling for the streets to flow with blood and having bloated corpses of bankers floating down the liffey are exactly the reason why these protests won't work. Its lunatic ravings from that segment of society which makes it easy for decision makers to dismiss the protest as just a hodge-podge of ne'er do well socialists.

The way to go is where we can have a transparent and thorough investigation, so blame can be apportioned to the guilty parties, and with a meticulous investigation, hopefully the culprits will see some jail time. But I wouldn't go rushing in until all the i's have been dotted and the t's have been crossed. We don't want anyone getting off on a technicality.

Indeed.......
    Going forward we need to leverage our synergies if we're going to sunset that project by end of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

mikom wrote: »
    Indeed.......
    Going forward we need to leverage our synergies if we're going to sunset that project by end of play.

My god man, that's the worst blue sky thinking I've ever seen presented to all stakeholders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,199 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

msg11 wrote: »
    And no one gives two ****s or gives two ****s about where our billions in taxes are going?

What can we do? Wreck the place, what good will that cause. Cost us more money. Get more puppets in, make us feel like we are in control voting more of the same puppets in. Might aswell be the Germans or IMF running this place they are calling the shots anyway, it would save us money if we just told them to run the place and get them gangsters out of The Dail. They all have dirt on each other and they keep each other in there place. Makes me sick to think we are paying the price for comment such as , 'where did you pull that figure out of? Picked it out of me arse' or to that effect.

Might be funny reading it, but that's the reason we are all paying higher tax on our wages, USC, increased PRSI, higher motor tax, household charges, water charges, increase in public service levys, carbon tax and the rest, To pay for them fools only to mock us. The ****ing neck of them. When is this going to end? We are told we can't afford more Garda, hospitals etc, yet we have the money to keep private banks a float why? Because there's vested interests in them banks. Disgraceful carry on.

What makes it worse, is this attitude. If you don't like it , you know where the door is. As in if your not happy, fly off somewhere else then. Like someone in a job they don't like.

I have no idea why you quoted what iIsaid, which merely pointed out that Germany hasn't lost anything-in fact has actually gained-from what happened and then went off on that rant. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

look where calm heads have got us for the last 5 years

the elite needs a bloody big fright

Can you provide a list of who makes up the Elite, as opposed to the oppressed and downtrodden plain people of Ireland?

I've an Uncle who is a county councillor, and he also has a bad heart, so I don't want him getting a fright if he's lumped into this elite grouping.

My god man, that's the worst blue sky thinking I've ever seen presented to all stakeholders.

One must drill down to see past the lefties, so that cool heads prevail.
    Stay frosty, guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭listermint

look where calm heads have got us for the last 5 years

the elite needs a bloody big fright

MANIFESTO INCOMING

""Fine Gael will ensure that rogue bankers are pursued for their crimes
    and that the full rigours of the law will apply to them, and the courts will have the powers necessary to
    impose appropriate fines and jail sentences. We will enact a new consolidated and reformed anti-corruption
    law to punish white collar crime and end the impunity from consequences for corporate behaviour that
    has threatened the economy. We will ensure that the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement has
    sufficient resources to tackle White Collar Crime"

-Fine Gael election manifesto, February 2011.

Sure weve ticked all the boxes... wait no wait... we havent got any of it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Indeed.......

All I'm saying is, I think that we should let natural justice run its course and at the end of the process the guilty parties will hopefully see the inside of a jail cell.

I'm just not a fan of knee-jerk reactions and calls for violence favoured by some.

listermint wrote: »
    MANIFESTO INCOMING

""Fine Gael will ensure that rogue bankers are pursued for their crimes
    and that the full rigours of the law will apply to them, and the courts will have the powers necessary to
    impose appropriate fines and jail sentences. We will enact a new consolidated and reformed anti-corruption
    law to punish white collar crime and end the impunity from consequences for corporate behaviour that
    has threatened the economy. We will ensure that the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement has
    sufficient resources to tackle White Collar Crime"

-Fine Gael election manifesto, February 2011.

Sure weve ticked all the boxes... wait no wait... we havent got any of it...

Was that part of the "5 lie plan"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,672 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Sergeant wrote: »
    Well it is when you've to investigate and find out who authorised and facilitated the fraud. You also need this thing called evidence.

The only problem with the need for evidence is that the people at the centre of this "advised" on the sort, type and extent of the powers that would be needed to sort out and stop the type of banking "problem" that occurred in the banks. Ergo, there were no new laws that could have declared their activities criminal, and what legal restraints that existed, were loosened on the advice of the self-same people. These people also know that they can use the courts to deal with and stop any retro-active criminal charges being brought against them under new laws for offences committed in the past.

Edit... Maybe the tapes might piss off Angela and others within the EU for them to make criminal cases against the tapees within the EU itself, so that if they "strayed" outside national sovereign space, they could be arrested and tried within any other EU country other than our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

I can't post the details here (matter ongoing) but.... here's my scenario. I started to shine a light onto sharp practice involving a number of banks. They didn't like it. They refused to answer questions...... they continue to refuse to answer questions. A number of banks are standing shoulder to shoulder and collectively (or collaboratively) taking the same party line..... which is to say nothing, answer nothing. To me this is collusion between the banks concerned.

Then they started to threaten me with legal action if I didn't withdraw my allegations and issue an apology (in November 2012 I was threatened with a letter from a fairly big firm of solicitors acting on behalf of a top Irish banker that if I didn't withdraw my allegations and apologise in writing within one week, 'the full weight of the law would be brought to bear upon me'.

I didn't and I won't..... as the allegations I have made are accurate and factual.

No action i.e. the actions threatened and assured would be instigated ensued.

My original allegations, etc remain..... my position has not changed.

Then, as I was advised would occur by others, absurd allegations were made against me (the allegations being 'harassment'). This was an attempt to silence me via totally inappropriate and absurd allegations...... we don't appreciate your valid questioning, we don't wish to answer your valid questions, therefore we will attempt to silence you via alternative means.

Police were 'used' to 'serve' what turned out to be a flawed document, the policeman who was assigned with the task of serving the document on me himself engaging in issuing threats and intimidation against me, in connection to which an official complaint has been made.

A different police officer took over, who, with no proper reason or supporting evidence, arrested me.

My laptop was seized 'as evidence' as it was on/from my laptop that I had compiled and forwarded my communications from.

I was taken to a police station where I had DNA material, fingerprints and mugshots taken.

I was treated like a criminal even though I have never been in trouble, have a clean record and to all intents and purposes, an a model citizen.

In the course of the interview it was discovered that the 'evidence' on which the police had arrested me was, instead of 'evidences' from an unquantified and un-named bar one named individual from Danske Bank number of bank officials, was a statement by the Danske Bank official concerned which was riddles with untruths and highly inappropriate inuendo, and certainly not something which could be considered to be reliable evidence on any level.

After moreorless destroying the credibility of the absurd charge which was made against me and establishing the many flaws in the statement which had served as the basis for my arrest, I was released without charge and my laptop handed back to me.

I am presently pursuing whether the bank official in question can be charged with attempting to pervert the course of justice or at the very least, with wasting police time.

This is how the banks operate.... they try to silence dissent, even if they have to resort to using unethical means to do so.

They refuse to provide answers to valid questions..... they intimidate...... and where possible, they engage 'friends' within the state, in my case the police, in pursuit of their agenda.

And sometimes it backfires on them.......

My original allegations remain...... nothing has changed on that front.

During the

I can't post the details here (matter ongoing) but.... here's my scenario. I started to shine a light onto sharp practice involving a number of banks. They didn't like it. They refused to answer questions...... they continue to refuse to answer questions. A number of banks are standing shoulder to shoulder and collectively (or collaboratively) taking the same party line..... which is to say nothing, answer nothing. To me this is collusion between the banks concerned.

Then they started to threaten me with legal action if I didn't withdraw my allegations and issue an apology (in November 2012 I was threatened with a letter from a fairly big firm of solicitors acting on behalf of a top Irish banker that if I didn't withdraw my allegations and apologise in writing within one week, 'the full weight of the law would be brought to bear upon me'.

I didn't and I won't..... as the allegations I have made are accurate and factual.

Then, as I was advised would occur by others, absurd allegations were made against me (the allegations being 'harassment'). This was an attempt to silence me via totally inappropriate and absurd allegations...... we don't appreciate your valid questioning, we don't wish to answer your valid questions, therefore we will attempt to silence you via alternative means.

Police were 'used' to 'serve' what turned out to be a flawed document, the policeman who was assigned with the task of serving the document on me himself engaging in issuing threats and intimidation against me, in connection to which an official complaint has been made.

A different police officer took over, who, with no proper reason or supporting evidence, arrested me.

My laptop was seized 'as evidence' as it was on/from my laptop that I had compiled and forwarded my communications from.

I was taken to a police station where I had DNA material, fingerprints and mugshots taken.

I was treated like a criminal even though I have never been in trouble, have a clean record and to all intents and purposes, an a model citizen.

In the course of the interview it was discovered that the 'evidence' on which the police had arrested me was, instead of 'evidences' from an unquantified and un-named bar one named individual from Danske Bank number of bank officials, was a statement by the Danske Bank official concerned which was riddles with untruths and highly inappropriate inuendo, and certainly not something which could be considered to be reliable evidence on any level.

After moreorless destroying the credibility of the absurd charge which was made against me and establishing the many flaws in the statement which had served as the basis for my arrest, I was released without charge and my laptop handed back to me.

I am presently pursuing whether the bank official in question can be charged with attempting to pervert the course of justice or at the very least, with wasting police time.

This is how the banks operate.... they try to silence dissent, even if they have to resort to using unethical means to do so.

They refuse to provide answers to valid questions..... they intimidate...... and where possible, they engage 'friends' within the state, in my case the police, in pursuit of their agenda.

During the

Not going to lie, this doesn't sound very credible, at all.

Why all the mystery? What's the allegation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,981 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

During the

Oh jaysus, you're not Tom Darcy are you??

• Administrators Posts: 55,667 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Bambi wrote: »
    If the Irish Farmers Association, the orange order and IBEC dragged Seanie Fitz into your garden for a public dressing down you'd still find an excuse to draw the curtains and turn up the telly.

The unions , the students or any other assorted bearded lefties didn't turn you into a pussy. Truth is that most people in this country have no spine when it comes to sticking their head over the parapet.

Very emotive, but of course a lot of crap.

Can you explain to the group how protesting is an indication of having spine and not being a pussy? Do you think standing at a picket is an act of bravery? :confused:

Let's not wade into the realms of nonsense, hopefully these two are brought to justice but the lack of protest action to date has absolutely nothing to do with spine or bravery or any other such rubbish the serial-protester types use to try and make themselves feel useful and relevant.

All I'm saying is, I think that we should let natural justice run its course and at the end of the process the guilty parties will hopefully see the inside of a jail cell.

I'm just not a fan of knee-jerk reactions and calls for violence favoured by some.

True; we'd be best to bring our A game, our core competencies, if we are to work this holistic, cradle-to-grave approach to justice.
    I'm sure we'll hit the ground running.
    Let's do lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Formalhaut

Peaceful democratic protest - or even a little strategic rioting - is not a knee-jerk reaction. Your belief in due process is touching, if a little naive.

The political classes in this country need a kick up the arse occasionally to keep them honest. Due process has not worked or we wouldn't be in this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

True; we'd be best to bring our A game, our core competencies, if we are to work this holistic, cradle-to-grave approach to justice.
    Let's do lunch

Is this the plan, moving forward? It's really a game of two halves, the first half and the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,661 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I bet you would be if Fianna Fail were still in power. What you and Sergeant don't seem to want is trouble for Enda & Co.
    There were many tribunals before which took many years and made many solicitors and barristers rich. They had no powers whatsoever and we would have been better off if they never took place.
    The Banking crisis took place prior to 2008 (5 years ago) !!!
    How many have we seen been sentenced to jail since ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭DuckHook

Can we talk about this Offline?

Let's do lunch

Provided you don't wear sandals and comb your beard its a deal. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

Trying to put words into peoples mouths are we? having looked over this thread I havent seen any calls for violence on this thread.

I bet you would be if Fianna Fail were still in power. What you and Sergeant don't seem to want is trouble for Enda & Co.
    There were many tribunals before which took many years and made many solicitors and barristers rich. They had no powers whatsoever and we would have been better off if they never took place.

Padraig Nally, Garlic man, and a busload of TV licence protesters.
    That's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,199 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Well, we haven't even seen anyone in the dock yet, so..... :mad:

I guess we just differ in our faith in the system. I still have confidence that the people can be brought to justice in a fair and impartial trial. I think the law should apply equally to everyone, not differently to the executives at Anglo because their alleged fraud was so grand in scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I guess we just differ in our faith in the system. I still have confidence that the people can be brought to justice in a fair and impartial trial. I think the law should apply equally to everyone, not differently to the executives at Anglo because their alleged fraud was so grand in scale.

Well after 5 years, do you not feel that the investigation may be being stiffled. As in the guards are having to look in the basket before they kick it over.

Something is amiss.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

No that's not true at all. You're making up imaginary bogeymen and grandiose theories that don't exist in reality. It may be the case that there is no case to trial these guys on. Being a dickhead in a telephone conversation is not enough evidence to send someone to Mountjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,610 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Not really related to the issue of this thread, but its just been revealed that ratings agencies (S&P / Moodys) accepted bribes in exchange for giving higher ratings just before the financial collapse.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/the-last-mystery-of-the-financial-crisis-154447818.html?page=all
    But we know now that it was no accident. What happened to the ratings agencies during the financial crisis, and what is likely still happening within their walls, is a phenomenon as old as business itself. Given a choice between money and integrity, they took the money. Which wouldn't be quite so bad if they weren't in the integrity business.

Just goes to show the level of corruption in the financial world. And nothing will ever change that.

Am Chile wrote: »
    Trying to put words into peoples mouths are we? having looked over this thread I havent seen any calls for violence on this thread.
    may their blood run in rivers down the streets. give them a show trial and then dragged outside and riddled with bullets - it's the only language these bastards understand.

listermint wrote: »
    Well after 5 years, do you not feel that the investigation may be being stiffled. As in the guards are having to look in the basket before they kick it over.

Something is amiss.....

I agree with you. It is taking a long time.

However, I've never investigated a case of business malpractice on a scale this huge before. I'd imagine its very meticulous and thorough work. There are probably literally stacks of accounts to trawl through, global transactions to follow, etc. Its slow and painstaking work I'm sure.