If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Sergeant wrote: »
    Well it is when you've to investigate and find out who authorised and facilitated the fraud. You also need this thing called evidence.

Which they've had for over four years. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

It'll be another Moriarty tribunal fiasco, half the people will be dead before a report is published and then **** all will done anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

I hope you are not insinuating that Gerry or anyone he might have had the odd Guinness with might know something about disappearing Northern Bank, now Danske Bank, notes.

Incidentally, that robbery was actually 2 separate robberies committed on the same day. The first robbery, which was in the morning was so easy, and the missing money (which was in itself a significant amount) was so easy that the persons who were involved (probably with a bit of help from inside...... how else would they have known that the missing money hadn't been noted to be missing ? ?) came back that same evening for a second go, netting the lion's share on that occasion.

So there you go..... it was actually 2 robberies..... but probably less embarrassing for the bank concerned to simply refer to it in the singular.

Another example perhaps of incredible bank efficiencies !

And here's another 'thing'....... obviously no-one can state whether there was any form of inter bank collusion in the Northern Bank robbery...... the only person convicted of any sort of offence connected to the robbery was 'businessman' Ted Cunningham...... who implicated the head of a bank (Bank of Scotland, now HBOS (following the merger of BoS and the Halifax Building Society I believe), Cunningham having alleged that the bank boss referred to was 'the brains' behind the whole thing.

Which of course could not have any credibility in any circumstances as, as everybody knows, bankers don't do crime.... bankers don't do stuff like fraud, corruption and general sharp practice..... nooo siree uh uh !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,531 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Dear EU,
    I believe my country is corrupt. Can you please investigate? I believe they have misapropiated some of your funds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

mikom wrote: »
    I see the usual suspects are out throwing out terms like "lefties", "crusties", "hippies" etc. in the hopes of dividing opinion.
    Strangely the word "hairies" was not mentioned yet, but I'm sure the profferer of that term will be along as soon as his cash in transit duty is over.

If you keeled over on the street or were really badly stuck for food, who would be more likely to help : a crusty / hippie / leftie or a suited and booted banker yuppie ?

Personally, I'd be leaning towards the 'crusties'.

More 'irony'. As the topic of some 'entity' robbing a bank is being discussed....... that feckin' Danske Bank ad is all over my screen.

Dear EU,
    I believe my country is corrupt. Can you please investigate?

And you think the EU isn't?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Dear EU,
    I believe my country is corrupt. Can you please investigate?

You are asking the EU to investigate corruption, the same EU, that in living memory can't get its accounts signed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Seems like the Garda attempts at prosecutions were being blocked for some reason :rolleyes: so a lone Garda decided to sneak them to the Indo and Williams so that the public could decide for themselves.
    That's what was being hinted at on Joe Duffy.

Give that Garda a medal if true.

Dear EU,
    I believe my country is corrupt. Can you please investigate? I believe they have misapropiated some of your funds.

Dear EU, I know my country is corrupt. Can you please investigate ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

listermint wrote: »
    Its been 5 Years im sure your actually having a laugh at this stage. Nothing has come of it so far nothing. Has to be political pressure silencing anything thats been found or keeping the investigation away from precious people.

No, it's the fact that trying to discover a clear-cut case of fraud is tremendously complicated. It involves trawling through millions of transactions, phone records, email conversations, interviewing people, building a case and attempting to prosecute.

I'd like to see these lads go to prison, if a case is found against them.

Dear EU,

Nobody has misappropriated any funds belonging to the EU.

The money has been stolen from the Irish taxpayer.

Dear EU, I know my country is corrupt. Can you please investigate ?

Dear country, I believe my EU is corrupt. Please investigate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,531 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

You are asking the EU to investigate corruption, the same EU, that in living memory can't get its accounts signed off.
    we're doomed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Sergeant wrote: »
    No, it's the fact that trying to discover a clear-cut case of fraud is tremendously complicated. It involves trawling through millions of transactions, phone records, email conversations, interviewing people, building a case and attempting to prosecute.

I'd like to see these lads go to prison, if a case is found against them.

Well do it the Al Capone way. Find something else to get them on. They don't sound like the most honest people around I'm sure if you look hard enough you will find something to put them away for. The gaurds should pour though every inch of there lives. They did it with the McBreatys they can do it with real crooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Geomy wrote: »
    Could we end up seeing these bankers on trial in the Hague rather than an Irish court ?

The germans and the rest of the eu must be fairly p1ssed off at the crooks in our establishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nuremberg would be more fitting then the Hague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭sockpuppets

Dear country, I believe my EU is corrupt. Please investigate.

Dear Bono
    The world is corrupt, please save us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

i read the thread title as

The Anglo Irish Tapas

no es bueno

The germans and the rest of the eu must be fairly p1ssed off at the crooks in our establishment.

We just happen to be the ones who have taped them and released the tapes.

Who knows what kind of stuff was going on at other banks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Corruption, cronyism and lies as well as incompetence and self serving are all part of Ireland's politics from Student Unions up to the Taoiseach. It is also part of our banking culture and big business as well as the church. Even the top criminals. ALL do wrong and have the power to hide it.

Ireland seems to me to be a country where it is EASY to launder money. Banks and big business are so desperate for finance now they have lowered their standards. I'd be 99% certain that Anglo Irish Bank was a money laundery for Irish, UK and European gangsters mostly connected to the Jintos and other so-called Republicans that were facilitated by the 1998 Good Friday Agreement: them guys did not leave down their guns for nothing that you can be sure !!

Why would they care?

We're footing the bill.

The Irish taxpayer is borrowing money from German banks to pay back German banks' gambling losses.

They're laughing at us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

More 'irony'. As the topic of some 'entity' robbing a bank is being discussed....... that feckin' Danske Bank ad is all over my screen.

Jesus will you drop that **** you have already been told how to stop the pop ups. If they are annoying you that much block them or stay out of the thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

I think calm heads need to prevail in a situation like this.

The people calling for the streets to flow with blood and having bloated corpses of bankers floating down the liffey are exactly the reason why these protests won't work. Its lunatic ravings from that segment of society which makes it easy for decision makers to dismiss the protest as just a hodge-podge of ne'er do well socialists.

The way to go is where we can have a transparent and thorough investigation, so blame can be apportioned to the guilty parties, and with a meticulous investigation, hopefully the culprits will see some jail time. But I wouldn't go rushing in until all the i's have been dotted and the t's have been crossed. We don't want anyone getting off on a technicality.

Am Chile wrote: »
    Just because eirigo or the swp or whoever else turns up to attend a protest- it doesnt mean you are there to support them- after what has being revealed in the anglo tapes- some people are still making all sorts of excuses for not protesting.
    that's what i'm sayin....doesn't matter who turns up as long as there are sufficient numbers to cause a reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Wurzelbert

Standman wrote: »
    Any protest I've been at, whatever the issue, seems to be hijacked by gobshiite socialists with revolution on the brain. Puts a lot of people of I reckon.

yes, unfortunately the whole financial crisis - in ireland, elswehere in the eu and globally - has instilled the left with an extra dose of cockiness...and, sadly, leftists tend to make up the bulk of any such protest mob...not least because at 1pm on a weekday most “normal” people tend to be at work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,215 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The people calling for the streets to flow with blood and having bloated corpses of bankers floating down the liffey are exactly the reason why these protests won't work. Its lunatic ravings from that segment of society which makes it easy for decision makers to dismiss the protest as just a hodge-podge of ne'er do well socialists.

The way to go is where we can have a transparent and thorough investigation, so blame can be apportioned to the guilty parties, and with a meticulous investigation, hopefully the culprits will see some jail time. But I wouldn't go rushing in until all the i's have been dotted and the t's have been crossed. We don't want anyone getting off on a technicality.

Do you honestly think there will be a full complete investigation without the pressure from public perception ?

Come on man, Enda just wants a parliamentary banking enquiry so he can sweep stuff under the carpet and direct the investigation himself or under direction from smarter brains than his.

We need people on the streets to show how concerned we are. No one is calling for blood on the streets thats just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

look where calm heads have got us for the last 5 years

the elite needs a bloody big fright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Investigation my arse. Sure we've had one of those for the last 5 years and I don't buy the bull that it's too complicated to investigate. Any and all charges should be brought against these people.
    We know who's involved. We have paper trails. We even have recorded conversations. Why has the investigated not proceeded faster? It is even more worrying if the leak was from a frustrated investigative team, who is blocking them and why? Why was the best option for them to leak it to the press and not bring it to the courts?

I can speculate on a lot of the answers myself, in fact most of them are glaringly obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Problem is this has been going on since before I was born, and IMHO until we change the electoral system (First past the post works, brutal system ) , remove Dail approval for Garda superintendents, somehow change the rules to make journalists do their jobs.

There will never be any change