If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Id prefer vigilantism to another enquiry that can't actually impose any sentence on those responsible for this.

David Drumm and his cronies are the worst kind of a díckhead you could find. I really hope some German official hears him singing their anthem and takes offence. Maybe if Germany pushed for a prosecution something might happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

awec wrote: »
    Who said it will make things worse?

He's trying to promote the idea of protests, and using a country that's even more messed up as ours as an example of why he thinks protests are good.

Protests in Ireland have been hijacked by unions, the loony left and student types. They are like the boy who cried wolf, they tried to whip up hysteria to the extent that people don't want anything to do with them any more.

hijacked? How do you hijack something that youve organised and bank rolled? They're the only people who had the balls to organise and stand up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

this happened under FF's watch, surely they want the less spoken about this the better?

I think they want to try get absolution of the mess they created by sticking the blame on someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

This is getting worse, I'm wondering if the Indo have the "Coup de Grace", for Thurs with Seanie calling Fingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Imagine everyone's phone recordings were made public, everyone has something to hide, just sayin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Imagine everyone's phone recordings were made public, everyone has something to hide, just sayin.

Yeah but not everyone caused near economic bankruptcy for their country, Just sayin:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Deedsie wrote: »
    Id prefer vigilantism to another enquiry that can't actually impose any sentence on those responsible for this.

David Drumm and his cronies are the worst kind of a díckhead you could find. I really hope some German official hears him singing their anthem and takes offence. Maybe if Germany pushed for a prosecution something might happen.
    Because as a country, we are too immature to actually deal with our own issues? This is an awfully childish mindset and is probably why little ever gets done. We are always giggling down the back, waiting for teacher to do somthing.
    Really? You really think that's a fair comparison here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Imagine everyone's phone recordings were made public, everyone has something to hide, just sayin.[/QUOTE

Is that you, Mr. Drum????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Excuse my ignorance and I haven't read all the posts here,but how come the telephone calls were recorded, Is this normal procedure in large corporations/banks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,169 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Standard procedure in the bank and they would have known about it.

They were either that arrogant or that thick.

Take your pick.

realies wrote: »
    Excuse my ignorance and I haven't read all the posts here,but how come the telephone calls were recorded, Is this normal procedure in large corporations/banks ?

Yes.

Banks record EVERYTHING and it's all saved in multiple copies, This is for security and also for customer service reasons. If you ring up the bank and claim someone said "blah blah blah" over the phone to you, they can get the playback tapes and hear the conversation that you had to see exactly what was said.

bumper234 wrote: »
    Yeah but not everyone caused near economic bankruptcy for their country, Just sayin:rolleyes:

Don't get me wrong I agree, I'm just pointing out the madness that would prevail if everything was to go public!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Because as a country, we are too immature to actually deal with our own issues? This is an awfully childish mindset and is probably why little ever gets done. We are always giggling down the back, waiting for teacher to do somthing.

Really? You really think that's a fair comparison here?

Childish my hat... It's my experience of how this country works. Give me an example of our government ever doing something proactive without outside influence.

I don't care if its teacher or principal or whoever. If the troika were over and they decided to enquire why prosecutions haven't happened in five years I would welcome that.

Don't get me wrong I agree, I'm just pointing out the madness that would prevail if everything was to go public!

If these guys were not so arrogant and thinking themselves untouchable then they would have known that EVERYTHING spoken over a phone in a bank is recorded. I am just sad that this didn't come out years ago and i can only hope with trepidation that they eventually end up slopping out in a cell in Mounjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

What's the point?

Our judiciary and political elite won't do anything about it and the population is sort of incapable of standing up for itself or just completely switched off.

Nothing will change and they'll probably elect FF.

I just want to emigrate. This place is depressing!

I mean seriously, why am I even paying tax to support this complete crapology and nobody seems to be willing to do anything to change it!

bumper234 wrote: »
    If these guys were not so arrogant and thinking themselves untouchable then they would have known that EVERYTHING spoken over a phone in a bank is recorded. I am just sad that this didn't come out years ago and i can only hope with trepidation that they eventually end up slopping out in a cell in Mounjoy.

I loom listening to him singing the German anthem was like something from the Simpsons.

SpaceTime wrote: »
    What's the point?

Our judiciary and political elite won't do anything about it and the population is sort of incapable of standing up for itself or just completely switched off.

Nothing will change and they'll probably elect FF.

I just want to emigrate. This place is depressing!

Because they are in bed with them, this country is a nation of mugs we just do as we are told and go along with it. Fighting Irish my arse:mad:

Its quite obvious that the system is so rotten that it will come up with every reason that it cant prosecute anyone for such matters but if you don't pay your TV licence its off to the clink!

Quite a disgusting country we have allowed our very aspirational Republic to become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,052 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Why don't people who are moaning here about nobody making a stand make a stand themselves.

Everybody seems to be blaming everybody else.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,755 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

alphabeat wrote: »
    I want to see these chaps hanging from lamposts , end of story ,
    The only trouble with these new tapes is now our paymasters the Germans will now want every Irish citizen hanging from lampposts.
    We can now whistle for every concession in the future. They will probably want to backtrack on existing concessions.
    I want Drumm and all the other Anglo gobshtes charged and locked up using special emergency powers.

It won't happen. There'll be an inquiry that will produce a report by 2053 and a gravy train where we pay legal council billions to tie each other in logical knots for at least 20 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭theUbiq

charlemont wrote: »
    As a people we have nobody to protect us from financial business or political fraud/corruption.. The Gardaí won't do it, The Army can't do it and the so-called Republicans IRA this/IRA that are too caught up in being assholes and criminals to do anything about it...So nothing will change unless we make it change..

Reckon the Guards will stop a couple of hundred of us from lynching these guys? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭derb12

My theory is that these tapes have been in the hands of the Garda fraud squad for a number of years.
    They have been through the contents with their legal team and have come to the conclusion that nothing on the tapes would stand up to legal scrutiny in a court of law.
    Some disgruntled fraud squad insider has decided to leak the tapes to the Indo some time over the last few months. The indo have bided their time (for whatever reason maybe all the saturation of G8/obama stuff in recent weeks, perhaps there were other big stories before that) and decided to hit play now.
    I wouldn't see anything wrong from the Indo side, fair play to them on an excellent scoop - but if my theory is right, it means that the prosecution channels have already been explored and abandoned.
    Sickeningly depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,474 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I can't express how much I want to hurt those smarmy gits :mad: How can we stand by after this and let these guys get away with it :mad::mad:

I just don't understand how this is not evidence enough to arrest them???

An inquiry? Lol, please, we won't see a report from that for another 20 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,465 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Well this is a storm in a teacup really. None of this is new information at all. What did we think these yahoo bankers were going to be like?

The NTMA pulled the plug on using Anglo for holding deposits long before the bailout, over a year before if I'm not mistaken. They knew something was seriously wrong.

Merril-Lynch told the dept of finance that Anglo was a basketcase and to stay well clear of it. They knew something was seriously wrong.

Dept of finance officials recommended that Anglo be left of the list of guaranteed banks. They knew something was serious wrong.

Yet come the final hour, Lenihan, Cowen and the cabinet decided they knew better than everyone else and added Anglo to the list. This was against ALL advice given to them. Never mind investigating these 2 boyo's, I want to know who and why Anglo's name got on that bank guarantee. That's the bigger story and one which is being lost in the noise.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Announcement

This is an announcement by the Society of Blood Sucking Parasites (Ireland Chapter)

We, the SOBSP, wish to make it clear to every Irish citizen that we are unconnected to any or all of the Irish banks and as far as we aware none of our esteemed members have any connection with any or all of the Irish banks.

It is for reasons of reputational preservation that we make this announcement, as our members do not wish to be associated in any way with the conduct of many within the Irish banking sector, neither would we wish for any Irish citizen to think that any of our esteemed members may have lowered our standards to those of the Irish banking industry.

Robyn Banks (Chief Executive, SOBSP, Ireland Chapter)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

What should happen is a petition should be created asking Finna Gael to put these criminals in prison for a long time, im sure virtually 100% of the population would support it. What should also be on the petition is if they refuse to do this then they will not the a vote from that person in the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nah you can't petition someone into jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

awec wrote: »
    Aye, cause Greece is a real beacon of where we want to be right now. :rolleyes:

Oh ffs seriously. If people dont have the balls too protest fair enough but I wish people would stop using excuses and sinde remarks about people who balls to protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Maybe this is 'ironic', but when I read this thread a friggin' ad for Danske Bank is often displayed....... thread about the appalling conduct of a bank accompanied with an ad for a bank which many in Ireland are none too happy with. Fact: In Denmark, Danske Bank, a Danish bank, had to pull a television ad after pressure from social networking savvy protestors, after the schiesters misappropriated images of anti bank protestors (Occupy Wall Street protestors) and superimposed dollar bills over their mouths (was the message money will shut everybody up). Danske Bank's 'NEW NORMAL' ads show a huge factory with thousands of identically dressed and identically 'demeanoured' clones in a production line setting...... the NEW NORMAL, a type of 'normal' which may be becoming 'normal' for so many..... production line work scenarios on poverty wages. Danske Bank's top cheeses in UK & Ireland, Gerry Mallon, appeared at a re-launch of the book 'Hillsborough - The Truth', the definitive book about the Hillsborough football disaster in which 96 men, women and children died, by Professor Phil Scratton, the Belfast event sponsored by Mr Mallon's organisation. At the event Mallon alluded to how important the truth blah blah blah came out..... which of course it did, via the 2012 Independent Hillsborough Enquiry, and it transpired that police had falsified and 'amended' statements, etc. At the event Prof Scratton referred to how the rights of ordinary people were being trampled upon by the interests of others with their own agendas, agendas which could not be reconciled with the rights and interests of 'the ordinary plebs' being trampled on. So.... we had a situation where a bank chief (of UK and Ireland) alluded to his understanding of the importance of the sort of principles like openness, transparency, what is right (as opposed to wrong), common decency, etc....... yet try to get the fecker answer questions relating to the conduct of his own organisation and his subordinates..... that's a different thing altogether, and a position which is illustrative of yet more hypocrisy and double standards in a banking sector which is drowning in hypocrisy and double standards. the 'New Normal'....... more the 'New More Up Yours Ordinary Plebs of Ireland (and UK)'. Now where have we heard and experienced this sort of 'thing' before ? Answer: Everywhere there is / are a bank / banks involved.