Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EA Sports UFC - Game

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭3wayswitch

sheehy83 wrote: »
    You're some gowl man! Enjoy it, post up your thoughts if you can peel yourself away!

Also, The PSN store shows the file size as 16Gb's

Ha! :p

Maybe the 16GB refers to installed size, cause I only downloaded that 3GB file and I'm playing the game now :D

edit: The 3GB just allows you to start playing the game with a limited selection of fighters while the rest of the game downloads in the background :( Hopefully should have it all in the next hour or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Downloading right now :). Didn't realise the European release wasn't till Friday.
    3wayswitch wrote: »
    Game is downloading now, woo!. It only appears to be 3GB which seems bizarrely small :confused:

The PS4 will allow you play a slimmed down version of the game while downloading the full game in the background.

If you press Options and then Information on the UFC icon on the main PS4 menu you will see how much of the download has completed

Few fights in so far. Initial impressions are great, I enjoyed the demo but the game is a lot better on the higher difficultly levels. It's also great to finally be able to choose Dublin,Ireland as your fighters hometown. Kinda annoyed I've made plans to go out later now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 29,580 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Lads what are yer PSN ID's? I'll give ye an add for a fight at the weekend!

Scotty was on Twitch last night fighting people online as himself, class stuff!

BqXqC4DCQAEZvF8.png

• Registered Users Posts: 39,153 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Just got a free copy of this from EA. Better buy a PS4 I suppose.

Mellor wrote: »
    Just got a free copy of this from EA. Better buy a PS4 I suppose.

Class! How did you manage that? I'm seeing EA give away copies left right and center on twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,153 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Class! How did you manage that? I'm seeing EA give away copies left right and center on twitter.
    There's a MMA event at the weekend, coincides with the release if the game so EA gave 10 copies to the guys involved. I got lucky.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I got my review copy today but the World Cup has been quite rude regarding my free time.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,154 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Mine is on the way to Parcel Motel. I'll have it either tonight or tomorrow night :)

Gonna ring Xtravision later see if they will give it to me tonight but I highly doubt it.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,910 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Gonna ring Xtravision later see if they will give it to me tonight but I highly doubt it.

Let us know what they say. I was going to try this with my local store but the phone has been engaged all day

Oh also, if you bought it on PSN in Europe, pre-download has started for people and will be open to play 1am Friday.

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Let us know what they say. I was going to try this with my local store but the phone has been engaged all day

No joy, they will be open at 10am tomorrow and as well as the Bruce Lee pack, if you preordered you will also be getting an Anderson Silva DVD. How bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭jarain

Oh also, if you bought it on PSN in Europe, pre-download has started for people and will be open to play 1am Friday.

Preloading now, looking forward to it, - If any is looking for a game over the weekend add me on PSN - maxiburke

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭MarkJD

If only tesco did the PS4 games might get to a 24hr one and grab it after midnight? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,837 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

MarkJD wrote: »
    If only tesco did the PS4 games might get to a 24hr one and grab it after midnight? :)

Some of them do, doubt it'd be on sale at midnight though

• Registered Users Posts: 27,910 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

No joy, they will be open at 10am tomorrow and as well as the Bruce Lee pack, if you preordered you will also be getting an Anderson Silva DVD. How bad.

Thanks for that man. I've no pre-order but I'm hoping they will get a few in tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭tomhalloween

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Mine is on the way to Parcel Motel. I'll have it either tonight or tomorrow night :)

Did you buy on amazon?

So I've had this a few days now and for the most part I love it. Career mode is great and a lot tougher than UFC 3. Currently I'm 17-3 but quite a few of those fights I would have lost had I not managed to pull off a third round submission. The control scheme is also a lot better, in UFC 3 I was a stand-up guy cause I always got destroyed on the ground but in this I have no problem standing, fighting in the clinch or on the ground. There are also some lovely little details, for example if you are fighting on the undercard the arena is mostly empty seats which I thought was a nice touch.

That being said there are larger details they seemed to miss. Not being able to touch gloves seems like a glaring omission. Also not being able to finish fights with leg kicks or by doctor stoppage is kinda lame. That being said the game is ridiculously fun and I've barely been able to put it down the last three days.

After a few days of it myself and I'm enjoying it much more than the last UFC game. My 4 fight losing streak is a problem though and can see Dana cutting me soon lol

What difficulty did ye use in career mode?

I started again on normal and I'm still getting destroyed on submissions. Caught with a couple of KO's also

What difficulty did ye use in career mode?

Playing on hard. I think on Pro some submission specialists like Nate Diaz would be next to impossible to defeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

lertsnim wrote: »
    I started again on normal and I'm still getting destroyed on submissions. Caught with a couple of KO's also
    3wayswitch wrote: »
    Playing on hard. I think on Pro some submission specialists like Nate Diaz would be next to impossible to defeat.

Pro tip for myself: Keep the fight standing at all costs :P

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Pro tip for myself: Keep the fight standing at all costs :P

Ha. Its not so bad, but for the few opponents you may face who have a 90+ submission rating, if you don't have a comparable submission defense rating they can end the fight pretty fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,154 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Did you buy on amazon?

I did indeed

So did I but there is no tracking on my order. Hopefully it arrives with Parcel Motel today.

I did indeed
    So did I but there is no tracking on my order. Hopefully it arrives with Parcel Motel today.