Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Study of Radicalisation - 26 Irish Jihadis Fought in Syria

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Sadly it's going to take a major terrorist attack before the Irish realise their mistake of allowing Islamic extremism to flourish here.

Young Irish men are being radicalised and are flying out to fight in foreign wars that have absolutely zilch to do with this country. Alarm bells should be going off. How does this not strike the liberals as odd? And these headbangers support the building of a mosque/terrorist training camp in Clonskeagh?! I guess Bin Laden was right when he said that the Irish were ready for Islam. What the liberals fail to see is that they will be first up against the wall when Sharia Law takes hold here. Do you think that Islamic extremists will respect your hobby horses of gay rights and racial equality?

Are you a yank by any chance, mid west maybe? or texas, yes texas..... ye haaaaaaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Could you elaborate, me aul flower, if you'd be so kind.
    just re-read your post,deary

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

K-9 wrote: »
    Details of private messages can't be posted publicly.
    Spoilsport. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

Someone going to fight in Syria doesn't automatically make him an extremist.

It's the reason he's going there that does.

For example, the Shia rose up to depose Saddam after the first Gulf War, they were subsequently abandoned by the Int community and cruelly put down.

Their reasons were very different from certains individuals and groups who arrived over a decade later into the country with the intent to ferment civil war, chaos and decapitate foreigners on camera

• Site Banned Posts: 99 ✭✭Spanish Harlem

Are you a yank by any chance, mid west maybe? or texas, yes texas..... ye haaaaaaa

Where I'm from is irrelevant to the topic. Attack the post, not the poster. Most liberals don't know how to react when faced with an intelligent and articulate conservative, so they resort to ad hominem.

Let's flip the debate on it's head. If young Arabs were leaving Syria, Libya and Egypt in their droves to come to Ireland to fight in a domestic war, would you not think it strange? Some of the liberals here are bending over backwards to pretend that this is normal behaviour to watch your son run off to a war zone half way across the world for warped ideological reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Could you elaborate, me aul flower, if you'd be so kind.
    And these headbangers support the building of a mosque/terrorist training camp in Clonskeagh?!

Do I really need to explain to you why your post reads as paranoid and bigoted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Where I'm from is irrelevant to the topic. Attack the post, not the poster. Most liberals don't know how to react when faced with an intelligent and articulate conservative, so they resort to ad hominem.

Let's flip the debate on it's head. If young Arabs were leaving Syria, Libya and Egypt in their droves to come to Ireland to fight in a domestic war, would you not think it strange? Some of the liberals here are bending over backwards to pretend that this is normal behaviour to watch your son run off to a war zone half way across the world for warped ideological reasons.

Haha, ye nearly got me there cowboy..... yeeeeee haaaaaaaaaaaaa

Do I really need to explain to you why your post reads as paranoid and bigoted?

Yes. It's a discussion forum. Generally people explain their point of view.

Mosques have been shown to be breeding grounds for extremists and terrorism countless times. We already have young Irish lads strapping themselves with guns and running off to fight in a foreign civil war. This is not normal behaviour. The evidence is before you. Radicalisation has already happened in Ireland.
    East London Mosque

35-radicals-trained-terrorism-British-mosques-Guantanamo-files-reveal.html

Pardon me for not wanting similar incidents happening in Ireland.
    Any comment on Bin Laden's opinion of the Irish?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

your arguement is stupid and irrelevant because they're not doing that. and also plenty of u.s teenagers signed up to the iraqi/afghan to die in a war which had little to do with the security of their home country.they died in vain fighting for someone elses beliefs. you might not agree with these guys but a least they're fighting for what they believe in.

smurgen wrote: »
    you might not agree with these guys but a least they're fighting for what they believe in.

"You may not agree with the Nazis, but at least they died fighting for what they believed in - White Supremacy."

Do you not see how stupid your argument is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Mosques have been shown to be breeding grounds for extremists and terrorism countless times. We already have young Irish lads strapping themselves with guns and running off to fight in a foreign civil war. This is not normal behaviour. The evidence is before you. Radicalisation has already happened in Ireland.
    East London Mosque

Mosques in Ireland does not equal terrorism. To suggest that it does equals bigotry.

"You may not agree with the Nazis, but at least they died fighting for what they believed in - White Supremacy."

Do you not see how stupid your argument is?

Says the poster who's Godwinned the thread

• Registered Users Posts: 25,068 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

East London Mosque

I don't think he had much of an opinion on the Irish tbh. It was one of his advisers that suggested sending a 'message' to Ireland and urging people to convert to Islam.

A silly hair-brained idea (one of many thousands I'm sure) that proves very little indeed. The whole thing was based on the idea that because Ireland tends to be sympathetic to Palestinians, then they must also be sympathetic to extremism. Absolute nonsense of the highest order.. made worse only by those who believe it could ever amount to anything.

old hippy wrote: »
    Mosques in Ireland does not equal terrorism. To suggest that it does equals bigotry.

The onus is on you to explain your statements. No one else is going to do it for you. I've already provided evidence of British mosques sheltering and grooming terrorists. What makes you think Irish mosques will be any different? We have already seen Irish youngsters become brainwashed and head for Syria.
    Says the poster who's Godwinned the thread

Anything but engage in the debate. So we have to respect terrorists no matter how detestable their goals, simply because they're "fighting for what they believe in". I'll remember this line for the next Israel thread.

The onus is on you to explain your statements. No one else is going to do it for you. I've already provided evidence of British mosques sheltering and grooming terrorists. What makes you think Irish mosques will be any different? We have already seen Irish youngsters become brainwashed and head for Syria.

Anything but engage in the debate. So we have to respect terrorists no matter how detestable their goals, simply because they're "fighting for what they believe in". I'll remember this line for the next Israel thread.

What makes you think Irish mosques will be havens for terrorists?

Who respects terrorists? As for Palestinians defending themselves; I don't agree with shelling Israel but I don't agree that they are terrorists. You might as well call Israel terrorists on the basis of the actions of their Govt and IDF.

What has the nazis and Israel got to do with this, anyways? :confused:

What makes you think Irish mosques will be havens for terrorists?

As I've explained several times now, Irish children have run-off to fight in the Syrian civil war. They have been radicalised. The building of more mosques here will serve as a meeting point for like-minded individuals. We have already seen the same happened in the UK, Netherlands, France....etc
    Who respects terrorists? As for Palestinians defending themselves; I don't agree with shelling Israel but I don't agree that they are terrorists. You might as well call Israel terrorists on the basis of the actions of their Govt and IDF.

The Palestinians shelling Israel are not terrorists??? Wow. Your extremist view is at odds with that of the majority of the international community. Ahmadinejad may agree with you, though.
    What has the nazis and Israel got to do with this, anyways?

It served as a useful analogy.

As I've explained several times now, Irish children have run-off to fight in the Syrian civil war. They have been radicalised. The building of more mosques here will serve as a meeting point for like-minded individuals. We have already seen the same happened in the UK, Netherlands, France....etc

The Palestinians shelling Israel are not terrorists??? Wow. Your extremist view is at odds with that of the majority of the international community. Ahmadinejad may agree with you, though.

It served as a useful analogy.

"Ahmadinejad may agree with you, though"

I don't know Mr Ahmadinejad's personal views on the Palestinian situation and I'm not quite sure what Iran or Israel or the nazis have to do with the topic.

Your sensationalism isn't progressing your argument very far.

Regarding the mosques in Ireland, what's your solution then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

Most liberals don't know how to react when faced with an intelligent and articulate conservative
    Stop it! you'll make baby jesus cry!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

"Ahmadinejad may agree with you, though"

I don't know Mr Ahmadinejad's personal views on the Palestinian situation and I'm not quite sure what Iran or Israel or the nazis have to do with the topic.

Your sensationalism isn't progressing your argument very far.

Regarding the mosques in Ireland, what's your solution then?

Its generally a good idea to keep an eye on what goes on in the mosques. Especially ones that are financed by the demonic Saudi Arabia - http://www.channel4.com/programmes/dispatches/articles/lessons-in-hate-and-violence-feature

What do you suggest? Infiltrating the Irish Muslim community? Not allowing them a place of worship?

The coppers keeping an eye on them. As I said.

The goons in montrose produced a documentary style programme last year where ian o doherty hung out with moderate muslims. Moderate muslims that openly admitted that they would kill anyone who slighted allah. Moderate muslim women who openly admitted that they hated homosexuals.

This was a pravda puff piece trying to show the moderates in a favourable light - imagine if they investigated the hardliners!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭opinionated3

actually infiltration may not be such a bad idea. if they are simply saying their daily prayers etc then we don't have a problem. if they invite extremist preachers over then we clearly do. simples

The coppers keeping an eye on them. As I said.

The goons in montrose produced a documentary style programme last year where ian o doherty hung out with moderate muslims. Moderate muslims that openly admitted that they would kill anyone who slighted allah. Moderate muslim women who openly admitted that they hated homosexuals.

This was a pravda puff piece trying to show the moderates in a favourable light - imagine if they investigated the hardliners!

I think your idea of moderates and mine are quite different. My Muslim friends and co-workers in Dublin were nothing like what you describe. Anecdotage, I realise but I think it's called for to play down the hysteria and scaremongering that inevitably raises its ugly head on these kind of threads.

RTE called them moderate muslims. What would you know about muslims in Dublin? You told me that you havent lived here in years and that its too close minded for ya! Yet you stick up for the most backward and close minded religion of all. In another thread you said you would rather die than see Ireland become less multicultural - and you dont even live here. Odd stuff, man.

The documentary is probably available on the RTE player.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

RTE called them moderate muslims. What would you know about muslims in Dublin? You told me that you havent lived here in years and that its too close minded for ya! Yet you stick up for the most backward and close minded religion of all. In another thread you said you would rather die than see Ireland become less multicultural - and you dont even live here. Odd stuff, man.

RTE,a right wing driven and catholic cult following service provider.Not a surprise really.

I told you in a pm that I find London doesn't have the same mean spirited streak we see from some folk here. And you told me that I wasn't Irish because one of my parents isn't. And that you were glad I wasn't in your country, meddling in your affairs.

Now that we've got that out in the open; I stick up for people who are unjustly demonised by the likes of you at every given opportunity. I can care about Ireland, even if I don't live here anymore. I'm as Irish as you are.

I have worked and socialised with friends and colleagues back home who happen to be Muslim. They are not the backward and closed stereotypes you seek to promote. They are individuals.

:o
    pmcmahon wrote: »
    RTE,a right wing driven and catholic cult following service provider.Not a surprise really.

RTE is right wing? Here is another lad that doesnt even live in Ireland telling us whats what lol.

Rte never upsets the apple cart when it comes to the multicult.

I suppose rte made the lad who claimed that if he became aware of a terrorist muslim plot, he would not alert the authorities - as a muslim could never tell on a brother.

Are channel 4 right wing too?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

RTE is right wing? Here is another lad that doesnt even live in Ireland telling us whats what lol.

Rte never upsets the apple cart when it comes to the multicult.

I suppose rte made the lad who claimed that if he became aware of a terrorist muslim plot, he would not alert the authorities - as a muslim could never tell on a brother.

Are channel 4 right wing too?

I really should change my location.I do live in Ireland.You're not worth the argument.

Here is another lad that doesnt even live in Ireland telling us whats what lol.

You don't live in Saudi Arabia and yet you described it as "demonic" a few posts back.

What's your point, caller?

Ok for you to have views on the rest of the world but how dare an Irish person who lives in another country have a view on Ireland?

You don't live in Saudi Arabia and yet you described it as "demonic" a few posts back.

What's your point, caller?

Ok for you to have views on the rest of the world but how dare an Irish person who lives in another country have a view on Ireland?

Am I posting on a saudi arabian messgae board and waxing lyrical about the benefits of them accepting Christianity in their country?

Saudi Arabia is a demonic country. I cant wait for us to wean ourselves off the black gold.