Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrasing Moments In Shops

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Last week in my local pharmacy.

Me "Hi, can I get a bottle of Benylin Dry cough bottle please?"

Pharmacist : "is it for yourself?"

Me "No, its for my girlfriend."

Pharmacist: "is she an adult?"

Me "ehhhhh what?!! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

SeaFields wrote: »
    Last week in my local pharmacy.

Me "Hi, can I get a bottle of Benylin Dry cough bottle please?"

Pharmacist : "is it for yourself?"

Me "No, its for my girlfriend."

Pharmacist: "is she an adult?"

Me "ehhhhh what?!! :confused:

You should have asked said "no, why, is this not suitable for a 12 year old?"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

You should have asked said "no, why, is this not suitable for a pregnant 12 year old?"

FYP :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

In line in Tesco and a man with a hunch on his back is at the next checkout.

My son: Daddy...
    Me: Shut up
    My son now pointing: But Daddy...
    Me: I said shut up
    My son: But he looks like Igor

Didn't know what to say. Another time he said a fat woman who was standing behind me had a huge ass!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Years ago while preparing for my junior cert, I went to s book shop to buy some "less stress more success" books.
    Anyway I ask the guy behind the counter for a number of different things and he goes down the back of the shop and shouts back up at me to ask what I want again.
    So I loudly shout back "less stress, more sex please"

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

Years ago when we were young, me and my brother were doing the food shopping in Dunnes with our mother.

I spotted a bargain trolley, one of the ones with all the cheap, nearly-out-of-date products in them, and told my brother go see what he could find.

So he's having a good rummage around when this woman comes along and is giving him some evil eyes....

Then she took the trolley off him and continued her shopping :o
    Still haven't stopped laughing about 10 years later!

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

Myself and my brother were in the takeaway one night and my brother asks the woman behind the counter if she had any chicken.. She said "yeah I've a couple of nice breasts here" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭JamieKCCO

I was in getting a take away one night after a lash of pints. I was after picking up this one in the club and we were, lets say, showing affection to each other while waiting for our food :o

Anyway, the one behind the counter turns around to us and practically shouts "Sorry, dya want condoms with that??"

Morto!

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

Work up after a serious session the night before and went for A breakfast roll at the local londis. Was paranoid cos I thought folk were laughing at me. Anyways got home, Plonked myself down on the couch and WTF, Was wearing one white runner and one black shoe...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

i was in the queue for the deli ordering rolls for myself and the flatmates and was on the phone looking for what they wanted, so was just repeating what they told me without thinking it through much.

deli staffer: so what do you want?
    me: can i get white roll with some lettuce, cheese and dolphin meat.
    deli staffer: errr we don't sell dolphin meat
    me: oh right. chicken then.

the flatmates heard it all through the phone and thought it was hialrious. it was kinda funny. maybe you had to be there.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Dark Artist

JamieKCCO wrote: »
    I was in getting a take away one night after a lash of pints. I was after picking up this one in the club and we were, lets say, showing affection to each other while waiting for our food :o

Anyway, the one behind the counter turns around to us and practically shouts "Sorry, dya want condoms with that??"

Morto!

This is an ad on TV. I can't tell if you're a troll or just one of those posters that thinks they can get away with posting jokes from Irish ads as if they were true stories on an Irish internet forum.

Might as well contribute another...
    Was in McDonalds yesterday and asked what flavor McFlurrys they had.
    "We have Oreos, M&Ms and McDonald's."

Bet those McDonald's flavored McFlurrys are all the rage these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭ollaetta

I see some middle aged woman(mid 30's)

Sorry for going off topic but :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

This is an ad on TV. I can't tell if you're a troll or just one of those posters that thinks they can get away with posting jokes from Irish ads as if they were true stories on an Irish internet forum

I'm pretty sure he was joking and wasn't posting it as a true story. Lighten up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

I was in ALDI one friday evening, as you would expect it was pretty busy and only 2 checkouts open (the usual ALDI thing) so I go to the shortest queue with my few bits and wait , as I'M waiting for a few mins I feel something touch my leg so I ignore it but then a few secs later I see some middle aged woman(mid 30's) on her knees picking up tampons all around me and beyond , the box must have bust open on her, poor woman.
    she had some look on her face and everybody looking at her feeling sorry for her mishap . funny in a way

hurr durr

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Was in Supermacs afew years ago, and forgot how to say "Smokey Bacon Burger" asked for a "Smakey Bocon Burger" the girls just looked at me blankly, have never had one since, I am afraid to ask for one.

A friend of mine has really bad eye sight, he isnt allowed to drive even with Glasses, we were in a pub one night and we were just about to leave, he turned around and grabbed this blond girl wearing a black dress from behind, they both get a shock, she turns around, he replies "Sorry, I thought you were my coat"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Boscoirl wrote: »
    Was in Supermacs afew years ago, and forgot how to say "Smokey Bacon Burger" asked for a "Smakey Bocon Burger"

Similar, few of us out for a meal, the brother in law who hadn't being getting any for a while asked the waitress for stiffy toffee pudding instead of the usual variety,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I posted this in one of the 'most retarded thing you've done' threads.

On tills in work one day I was being distracted by my friend next to me telling me a story. I turned around to the queue and instead of calling next, roared 'DO YOU HAVE A CLUBCARD?' at them. It was mortifying as there was a lot of staff and managers around me and a HUGE queue. I often mixed up what I was saying..saying thanks at the wrong time etc. but nothing like that. Everybody roaring laughing at me, purple in the face ughh.

Very often I'm trying to do something while serving customers and forget what stage we're at. A customer is packing bags and when they finish I mean to ask for payment and I say Hello.

Another one was when a customer at the tills went back to get milk. I ran into the canteen for a glass of water and came back forgetting I had been serving someone and started packing out a pallet. A few mins later I saw a queue at my till and went to investigate... poor woman was standing there with the milk in her hand.

Just after having about 11 cans of bulmer's me and my friends decided to go to the local shop (a londis) for some food and i was dying for a piss. Friend directs me to a backroom. I enter and the door automatically shut so i couldn't find the light since it was pitch dark in there. I unzipped my jeans and started to piss when i hear the noise of it hitting off plastic. The piss lasted what felt like hours. Once i left i heard my feet hitting the puddle of piss. I run out of the shop (which is right beside my housing estate) and i didn't go back for 4 weeks. No one ever noticed ;)

Another member of staff caught someone taking a piss in a supermarket warehouse after they wouldn't let him use the toilets. They marched him through the shop with his trousers down.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭phill106

Another member of staff caught someone taking a piss in a supermarket warehouse after they wouldn't let him use the toilets. They marched him through the shop with his trousers down.

I think the customer could probably sue them for that...
    Kicking him out fine, but let the man pull his pants up!

phill106 wrote: »
    I think the customer could probably sue them for that...
    Kicking him out fine, but let the man pull his pants up!

Strangely he didn't try. There was no one stopping him. In another store someone tried to piss against the entrance for the same reason and he was held by security and arrested for indecent exposure. Don't know if it went to court. Quite shocking what people do sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

My friend asked a customer "would he like a bag" with his shopping...

and he replied, "No Thanks, I'm married to one".

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Went to the petrol station the other day, filled up the car, went to pay and I forgot my wallet.

The guy was pretty sound, made me leave my phone and I went off and got my wallet.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

In the local shop on a Sunday morning
    The buzy body shopkeeper asked me sheepishly "would I like to buy a copy of the parish newsletter ". ?

A bit taken aback I asked
    " why ? Can Fr pat not pay for his own trip to Thailand "

Pointing out the window she says
    " Ohh I hear Thailand is lovely "

I answered
    " yeah I heard the ping pong season is fantastic . And what the fook are ya pointing at ". ?

A voice from behind said
    " my car I believe "

Ahh howya fr pat

ollaetta wrote: »
    Did you not get the memo? we only live until 60 these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

I was in HMV in London when I was 13 years old and decided to buy a DVD, it was a twelves. When I went to the counter they refused to serve me without I.d. I didn't take the rejection well and could just feel tears welling up in my eyes. My sister who had just turned fifteen had to buy it for me, still remember feeling like such a loser :P

Did anyone else ever find themselves in a situation where you turned up to collect dirty holiday snaps from a local film developer?

Once I gave my name, their face changed pretty fast. Thank god for digital cameras these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

smash wrote: »
    ollaetta wrote: »
    Did you not get the memo? we only live until 60 these days.

We live until about 80 so middle aged should be the middle third, about 27 - 54.

Gauss wrote: »
    We live until about 80 so middle aged should be the middle third, about 27 - 54.
    I better hurry up and have that crisis and buy that Porsche!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

I was working security in a big city centre store when a fairly dishevelled looking old man came in. He came straight up to me and asked, "sorry son where could I find the socks?". I pointed him in the right direction and radioed the person working the CCTV to keep an eye on him. The call came back a minute later that he had just selected some socks and was paying at the till. No problems there.

A further minute passed and I got another call to escort the gentleman out of the store. Not knowing what happened I headed to the escalator, only to see him on his way down already.

"Thanks for that son", he said, as he passed me going to the door. It was only at that point that I realised he indeed didn't have any socks on. The reason I noticed was that the poor man had scuttered himself, it had run down his leg, filled up the space in his shoes and was overflowing and dribbling onto the ground.

There was a trail from the cash register two floors up right out onto the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

In the states we used to have "dares" to go into a shop and just buy a porno mag and some toilet paper ...

I never had the balls to do it, one of the other lads did so a few times ... didn't give a fucck