Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amiko Alien 2 Triple Tuner Combobox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Slevster

It's in plugins under other, if it's not there it's already installed, press red and see if it's listed as a plugin to remove. It's named spark7162_dvfd_support

Thanks. Got it.
    Didn't change the out put to the display as I had hoped. Doesn't really make any odds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

championc wrote: »

When using the Spark plugin route (which is far simpler and straight forward)

Really? Doing it the other way saves you even having to switch to spark, and if you're not bothered about backing up your E2 image through spark then it's every bit as handy.

At the end of the day it's a matter of preference for the end user.

It's good to let people know that there are options out there for loading an E2 image if they don't want to be jumping from one side of the box to the next.

Got the rte tuned in lads thanks!

Now I can't get it to record, it works perfectly in spark.

Spark formats and creates the required folders, but in Hyperion 4 it doesn't do anything to create the required folders, so in the record folder in system it doesn't allow you to search the hdd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭same ol sh1te

Got the rte tuned in lads thanks!

Now I can't get it to record, it works perfectly in spark.

Spark formats and creates the required folders, but in Hyperion 4 it doesn't do anything to create the required folders, so in the record folder in system it doesn't allow you to search the hdd.

You need to create a directory on your hdd called movie, recordings will save there. You can easily do it over telnet
    cd /hdd
    mkdir movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭championc

hallo dare wrote: »
    Really? Doing it the other way saves you even having to switch to spark, and if you're not bothered about backing up your E2 image through spark then it's every bit as handy.

At the end of the day it's a matter of preference for the end user.

It's good to let people know that there are options out there for loading an E2 image if they don't want to be jumping from one side of the box to the next.

When it comes to flashing images, nothing lights up the thread more (across the whole 300 pages) as peoples' "attempts" to flash from the USB via the front panel. Many people went through a half dozen different USB sticks without success whereas flashing via Spark plugin ALWAYS works first time. It seems to only like Kingston sticks and I dare say, there will be some out there who had difficulty with them.

Replies of advice about using the front panel method nearly always leads to a half dozen back and forth messages in the thread

So for any new folks on here, my advice is, flash Enigma images via the plugins menu in Spark. And if your Spark does not have the plugin, you'll find the "plugin" folder in my downloads and you simply copy this folder to the root of any USB stick and insert into the running Spark and you will be prompted to install the plugins.

championc wrote: »

So for any new folks on here, my advice is, flash Enigma images via the plugins menu in Spark. And if your Spark does not have the plugin, you'll find the "plugin" folder in my downloads and you simply copy this folder to the root of any USB stick and insert into the running Spark and you will be prompted to install the plugins.

Yep, certainly worked for me this way, though I ftp's the plugins over.

I got the recording working, but I notice when recording it can be very laggy flicking through menus. Anyone noticed this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭same ol sh1te

I got the recording working, but I notice when recording it can be very laggy flicking through menus. Anyone noticed this ?

Do a hdd speedtest in spark, could be your drive is too slow

Damn, fecking hard drive is dead, everything just kept freezing and eventually heard clicking and I plugged it into the pc and checked with crystaldisk, dead, or almost.

Talk about luck, found a 320 GB, dead also. Bloody heck !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭FlexMcMurphy

USB Hard drives aren't all that expensive. Several people on this thread use the Samsung M3 1TB with the Alien2.

Flex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

USB Hard drives aren't all that expensive. Several people on this thread use the Samsung M3 1TB with the Alien2.

Flex

Shop around I got mine on Amazon delivered for 45 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 jondav

is it just me i am using two differant open pli images on two differant boxes one icecrypt 3700 similar to amiko alien ,i find that every day i have to do a reeboot on boxes to get machibne back up and runnig again as its frozen in morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭Gerry Wicklow

Sounds like a problem with something running during the night such as Crossepg. I use Hyperion4, a flavour of OpenPLI, and never had it hang yet.

With Hyperion 4, the RTE channels take either forever to come on or I get an error "tune failed" anyone know what's going on ?

When this happens the rest of the system is painfully slow until I can get it to change to a sat channel, then it's fine again.

I'm thinking I may try a different image.

With Hyperion 4

When this happens the rest of the system is painfully slow until I can get it to change to a sat channel, then it's fine again.

Think it's just one of those things with this image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

With Hyperion 4, the RTE channels take either forever to come on or I get an error "tune failed" anyone know what's going on ?

It's not as quick as openarp but I wouldn't describe it as painfully slow, it would only go painfully slow for me if I lost signal. Are you sure your picking up a strong signal?

Fresh Pots wrote: »
    It's not as quick as openarp but I wouldn't describe it as painfully slow, it would only go painfully slow for me if I lost signal. Are you sure your picking up a strong signal?

Yep signal is strong, had to go to the attic with a proper antenna after RTE changed to saorview, the signal dropped, (the gits) always worked from rabbits ears.

Anyway Seems to be a problem with RTE 1 only, RTE 1 HD is gone, tried retune twice.

Anyone else loose RTE 1 HD from Mount Leinster ?

The image isn't slow other than when it says "tune failed".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

Yep signal is strong, had to go to the attic with a proper antenna after RTE changed to saorview, the signal dropped, (the gits) always worked from rabbits ears.

Anyway Seems to be a problem with RTE 1 only, RTE 1 HD is gone, tried retune twice.

Anyone else loose RTE 1 HD from Mount Leinster ?

The image isn't slow other than when it says "tune failed".

Sounds like a signal issue with mux2. When it says tune failed check your signal strength. Maybe the aerial needs a slight realignment.

Or have you checked to see if birds are sitting on the aerial when the interference happens? It's not the same I know but that used to cause picture breakup for me on a sat dish.

Fresh Pots wrote: »
    Sounds like a signal issue with mux2. When it says tune failed check your signal strength. Maybe the aerial needs a slight realignment.

No don't think so this is the first time I've had issues, all the other channels are fine bar 1 and 1HD, in fact after rescan I'm seeing SSU ?

Oh that's weird, I had to do a full scan to pick up RTE 1 again. The last few times I tried by scanning the frequency from Mt Leinster.

I got streaming to the Ipad working brilliantly, this Alien II box is just amazing for the price !!!

Herself can watch corrie on the TV and I can watch something else on the Ipad, just amazing !

You can watch a recording on the Ipad too, while one Ch is recording, herself watch corrie ! haven't tried watching a recording yet.

I'm using Blackbox pro on the Ipad, worth every penny !

Now wouldn't the sky channels be so cool ? ;)

Thanks again lads for all the help !

Oh that's weird, I had to do a full scan to pick up RTE 1 again. The last few times I tried by scanning the frequency from Mt Leinster.

You have to scan two separate frequencies to get all the Saorview channels. If you search the thread there are lots of instructions on what to do. And your aerial may not be pointing the right way exactly.

Flex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Scoobydoo 2

Also as you were having trouble with your HDD make sure that cross EPG is saving to your hard drive and not system memory as I believe this can slow the system down
    You could also try changing from the sky skin to the default Pkt and see if things improve

Also as you were having trouble with your HDD make sure that cross EPG is saving to your hard drive and not system memory as I believe this can slow the system down

Unfortunately that has nothing to do with this issue on this image.

But as you said, maybe changing the skin would help, but then again, the sky skin is "wife" friendly. ☺

Unfortunately that has nothing to do with this issue on this image.

But as you said, maybe changing the skin would help, but then again, the sky skin is "wife" friendly. ☺

Any truth to another one I read
    Which was that the image should be flashed twice ?

Any truth to another one I read
    Which was that the image should be flashed twice ?

Didn't see that one. Worth a shot. Good find by you if that sorts it!

cant post links but its on page 127
    Credit to flex and PogMo hope he does not mind me copying it here

There are loads of different enigma2 images:

The Satstation forum is a good source for info on both Spark and Enigma2 in a way that's well organised. They have a downloads section with various enigma2 firmwares to try out.

Open-ARP is another enigma2 firmware people seem to be impressed with.

PKTeam Hyperion has gotten some positive feedback in this thread the last few days.

This is where you can get the latest HDMU version.

I remember PogMoThoin mentioning before that it's a good idea to flash the same image twice and that might help to improve lagginess. I've tried HDMU 10780 and Open ARP from 31st March and I can't say either were especially laggy on channel change but yes HDMU 10780 can be slow when navigating around the Menu system... this was not the case in ARP.

Try a re-flash first.

Flex

Cheers for the credit Scoobydoo2 but that's kinda old knowledge by now.. I doubt re-flashing makes any difference. This case is more likely to do with signal strength on PKT4 and tuning in the RTE1 HD Mux.

Flex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Zardoz

I remember PogMoThoin mentioning before that it's a good idea to flash the same image twice and that might help to improve lagginess. I've tried HDMU 10780 and Open ARP from 31st March and I can't say either were especially laggy on channel change but yes HDMU 10780 can be slow when navigating around the Menu system... this was not the case in ARP.

Try a re-flash first.

Flex

No need to reflash image twice when using the Spark plugin to update E2.
    Btw HDMU 10780 was released in March 2013 ,thats a really old version .
    Try my newer Backup from March 2014 ,its very fast.