Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

MugMugs wrote: »
    A nice bit of The Lladro!

If any of you know what that is without googling then you're old too :)

Sadly I know what that is!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

pred racer wrote: »
    For Bubblewrap

Before

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t398/Edwharding/DSC_0053.jpg

After

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t398/Edwharding/DSC_0054.jpg

The workshop

http://i1057.photobucket.com/albums/t398/Edwharding/DSC_0055.jpg

I have 2 more quads (an eton 90 and a yamaha blaster) in various states of assembly, ill show you pics when they are finished

Ill post a video later of the predator running.

I was going to put the scorpion exhaust and the edelbrock carb on it for a proper sound, but with these on it, its pretty much unrideable except on a track:D

That Is CLASS!!!!! :) I wouldn't mind one of them. Your some cool dad. :cool: My dad only has a trooper, the skoda and a 165 massy. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

That Is CLASS!!!!! :) I wouldn't mind one of them. Your some cool dad. :cool: My dad only has a trooper, the skoda and a 165 massy. :(

That predator originally cost 9500 sterling to build, when I got it it had a 550 kit on it, but it was knocking so I took it off and put back on the 500 cylinder and piston.
    I sold the massey 35x recently:p
    There is a yamaha dt175(bored out to 200) in there somewhere too. Last time i rode it I cracked 3 ribs:eek: unfortunately I was still wearing the brace from a busted vertebrae, so I had to go to a different hospital to get the ribs treated:D

If youre ever in the north tipp area you can drop in for a spin!
    That goes for anyone btw;)

That predator originally cost 9500 sterling to build, when I got it it had a 550 kit on it, but it was knocking so I took it off and put back on the 500 cylinder and piston.
    I sold the massey 35x recently:p
    There is a yamaha dt175(bored out to 200) in there somewhere too. Last time i rode it I cracked 3 ribs:eek: unfortunately I was still wearing the brace from a busted vertebrae, so I had to go to a different hospital to get the ribs treated:D

If youre ever in the north tipp area you can drop in for a spin!
    That goes for anyone btw;)

Jaysus, you put a lot of work into it so, fair play to you. :)
    Ah nothing like the massy though! ;)

A different hospital? That was just back luck.

Gee, thanks. :) But your not up for adopting me? lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

This new pup we got is some craic, 8 month old boxer/chocolate lab rescue.

He looks like something from a Trocaire advert, won't last for long though :p

He likes my recaros too, and sitting on the parcelshelf the little fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Jaysus, you put a lot of work into it so, fair play to you. :)
    Ah nothing like the massy though! ;)

A different hospital? That was just back luck.

Gee, thanks. :) But your not up for adopting me? lol :p

Fraid not, 3 needy kids is enough;)

Lol! :D I can be your long lost son so! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Lol! :D I can be your long lost son so! :p

You can feck off! I'm his long lost son, so I can bunk at his house in Paris and make regular trips to Normandy! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

OK, this "son" sh!t is getting scary! Pred, I think you should run!

On another note, I got a few bits for the car from JKC in Coleraine, much cheaper than in ROI to my door. I got new alloy centre caps and new mats. It's the small things that make a big difference! I bloody well forgot to order wiper blades as the ones on it are fierce noisy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Funny that, JKC is usually where I order all my stuff from too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

I've used JKC for years now. Always spot on. And honestly, I'd bring my business to somebody, that wants it and does the work for it. Not like the local dealership, who couldn't care less.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    Same here. Used JKC for years now. Always spot on.

/M

GMcG is a legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

If i see another car for sale with on nct ill cry. Do people just not give a crap about their cars?

Also how believable is that Parkers.co.uk website for mpg figures?

What are 1.4 Opel Astra's like? 1996 5 door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

OK, this "son" sh!t is getting scary! Pred, I think you should run!

On another note, I got a few bits for the car from JKC in Coleraine, much cheaper than in ROI to my door. I got new alloy centre caps and new mats. It's the small things that make a big difference! I bloody well forgot to order wiper blades as the ones on it are fierce noisy.
    Funny that, JKC is usually where I order all my stuff from too.
    Marlow wrote: »
    I've used JKC for years now. Always spot on. And honestly, I'd bring my business to somebody, that wants it and does the work for it. Not like the local dealership, who couldn't care less.

/M

Always use JKC as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Just saw this on Joe.ieAmbulance%20pic.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I hope that's pot luck!

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    But sure it will fly through the NCT!

In some cases, it is worth the risk. If the seller is a genuine seller and is one of those people that fears for their life for an NCT, it could be just the case of a few bulbs and a tyre.

There's an easy way to find out if the car has went through a test and failed, and if the buyer is trying to hide that fact.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    But sure it will fly through the NCT!

Oh really you know the tester do you :P:P
    In some cases, it is worth the risk. If the seller is a genuine seller and is one of those people that fears for their life for an NCT, it could be just the case of a few bulbs and a tyre.

There's an easy way to find out if the car has went through a test and failed, and if the buyer is trying to hide that fact.

I dunno it is a risk I am not willing to take. Any car I have been interested in I have called up the nct centre to make sure it's in date for nct.

I have been looking at a boards favourite Octavia's, they seem to be got for good money. My Dad is in the trade himself and he is on the lookout for me to.

A the right car will come along eventually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I hope that's pot luck!

You'd wonder if they paid their 1k fee otherwise

MugMugs wrote: »
    You'd wonder if they paid their 1k fee otherwise

Nah, it was €350 in the "good old days" iirc.

Plus, Ambulances don't pay Vrt.

Fiona wrote: »
    If i see another car for sale with on nct ill cry. Do people just not give a crap about their cars?

Also how believable is that Parkers.co.uk website for mpg figures?

..... When buying I treat a valid nct as the practically worthless piece of paper it is, when selling I don't as most buyers overvalue it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

RoverJames wrote: »
    ..... When buying I treat a valid nct as the practically worthless piece of paper it is, when selling I don't as most buyers overvalue it.

Stupid and all as this sounds, some of the best cars I bought over the years had no NCT when I got them.

Just look at my 406, it was NCT'd when I bought it and look at all the work that's gone into it since.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

In discount tyres in blanch gettin the new exhaust fitted....

gollywog wrote: »

I hope you'll have a before and after video to show us ;)

Also, anyone know a tyre shop that will fit tyres supplied by the customer in Portlaoise? Conzy will be bringing me down 2 part-worn potenzas and I'd like to get them fitted on Saturday while at the meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dry out, I might chance washing the car if I have the time.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

gollywog wrote: »

Hope you brought a book with you. Those guys are great, but you'll be waiting a while. :D

I stopped at a petrol station this morning. I started filling my petrol. I noticed a bus driver of a bus eirenn bus. Filling the bus with green diesel. Is this normal? Or do they get dipped or what? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I stopped at a petrol station this morning. I started filling my petrol. I noticed a bus driver of a bus eirenn bus. Filling the bus with green diesel. Is this normal? Or do they get dipped or what? :eek:

That's interesting but I wouldn't be against them being allowed to do it if it saves the taxpayer (me) money. Thought they would fill in the depo though?

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    That's interesting but I wouldn't be against them being allowed to do it if it saves the taxpayer (me) money. Thought they would fill in the depo though?

Hmmm ya, I was thinking that.