Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New York Jets Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

franglan wrote: »
    Vick has had one 16 game season since being drafted so Geno will see action either way. I was pissed the night the jets drafted Geno, think the jets will be looking for another QB this time next year.

I'll be a bit of a lone voice here as I highly rated Geno last year coming out. I think that if ye can provide him with some talent on offense, Decker is a good start, that he can be a success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭franglan

HigginsJ wrote: »
    I'll be a bit of a lone voice here as I highly rated Geno last year coming out. I think that if ye can provide him with some talent on offense, Decker is a good start, that he can be a success

Looking at Geno coming out his issues for me were staring down his options too much and accuracy. Think his accuracy will always let him down, the interception total last year was abismal. At times there were times where he needed to throw it away but kept the play alive, threw it out and got intercepted. Maybe he irons out some of these errors in season two- the last couple of games were definitely a positive just concerned that some of this negetive traits will still be there this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Looking at Geno coming out his issues for me were staring down his options too much and accuracy. Think his accuracy will always let him down, the interception total last year was abismal. At times there were times where he needed to throw it away but kept the play alive, threw it out and got intercepted. Maybe he irons out some of these errors in season two- the last couple of games were definitely a positive just concerned that some of this negetive traits will still be there this year.

I would take that on board but I would look at the positives. I think he has the ability to become a solid QB but he certainly does have to get better @ reading the game.

If I were a Jets fan he would give me hope. They need more than Decker though. Hill is looking like a bust at this point which is a shame. What do ye have at TE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

HigginsJ wrote: »
    . What do ye have at TE?

Jeff Cumberland:o

Ive being reading that they are looking at the possibility of trading for DeSean Jackson which would be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

I'm happy with Geno & Vick competing for the number 1 QB position.
    Vick knows Marty's O to a tee so (injury issues aside) I think its the right move.

Mark's salary was too big and his time with us was up after that debacle in Tennessee 2 years ago. He gave us some great memories all the same.

People are making way too big of an issue about our Offense. We will be fine.

Our running game was top 10 and I think Ivory will push on next year.
    Decker, Kerley, David Nelson will be solid receivers and if where to trade for Desean Jackon and pick up someone like Ebron or Marquise Lee in the draft we will be fine.

The Secondary is the big issue - It will come back to haunt us next season.

FreeOSCAR wrote: »

The Secondary is the big issue - It will come back to haunt us next season.

I can see the 1st round pick being used on Justin Gilbert or Darqueze Dennard. and even if it was Milliner and Walls as the two starters i don't think it can be much worse than last year!

ah man imagine along with Decker and Kerley/Nelson we picked up Jackson and Ebron/Amaro that would be one way to help out Geno!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭corner back 2

Disgusted with singing Vick. As one poster said on TOJ we signed a washed up dog killer that nobody else wanted. And now talks of signing Desean Jackson. More character issues that the team doesnt need. I thought Idzik didnt sign players with character issues. Loads of good WRs available in the draft without paying big money to Jackson.

phatkev wrote: »
    Jeff Cumberland:o

Cumbie!!! Just about a starter at TE plus they got Sudfeld who was cut by the Patriots who had a slight hole to fill at TE! Would love to see the Jets draft Sammy Watkins to compliment Decker as I don't see him thriving as the only number 1 and 2 receiver on the team.

Disgusted with singing Vick. As one poster said on TOJ we signed a washed up dog killer that nobody else wanted. And now talks of signing Desean Jackson. More character issues that the team doesnt need. I thought Idzik didnt sign players with character issues. Loads of good WRs available in the draft without paying big money to Jackson.

I understand your points on the Jackson (particularly the massive contract) thing but give over with the Vick stuff.

Chap served his time and hasn't put a foot wrong since his release. He was a leader in the Eagles locker room and the fact that Jeff Laurie himself gave some goodbye comments on him speaks volumes.

As I said - Injuries aside it's a decent pick up - It's a one year deal aimed at pushing Geno. For the first time in a good few years we have a decent 2 horse race at the QB position. If Geno isn't able to handle the pressure of Vick breeding down his neck then he doesn't deserve the starters job anyways.

Not worried about the dog thing anymore even though I think someone who was involved in that has to be lacking something mentally. The fact that very few teams if any showed seroius interest speaks volumes. He is a broken down interception machine. A solid reliable backup was called for. I don't care that he knows Martys system. His legs were his biggest asset and they are not up to the job anymore. I will end my rant before I start on the possibilities of Vick in NY and the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Could be quite interesting if Jackson ends up with you lads. Decker and Jackson ranked top five on the deep ball last year, no QB's except Wilson and Manning were more accurate on the deep ball than Geno last year (per Pete Damilatis of PFF). It would certainly make for an interesting combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,166 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well seeing as Michael Vick is now a jet. I wish him well and while I don't think he should be allowed forget what he went to jail for, he has served his time and deserved a second chance which the eagles gave him.

He may not have been great last year or the year before but he is clearly talented. I also have respect with how he handled losing his spot to nick foles last year. He helped instead of hindered foles to have a great year last year.

Also, his signing helps the jets as he knows the system being used by Marty inside and out and if nothing else can help geno with the system. That can only help geno.

Lady yere under rating Vick he's still got serious wheels (quicker than most robs in the league) and the only time he had int issues was when andy tried to make him a pocket passer and when our o-line was terrible take it from a guy that's watched all his games since he came back to the league he's a big upgrade for ye

Also given the Ryan's family's distaste for offense he can perform better than most in an off the cuff offense ala randal Cunningham under buddy Ryan

With regards locker room issues there will be none the guy did some horrible stuff and there's no forgetting that but he's been an angel since he's come back not only have we not herd a peep from him but he's been doing lots of work in the community.

I'm sad to see him go but we just didn't have room on the roster for him he will start day one or he will mentor geno without a word to the media it's win win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

Not sure if there are any Jets fans out there but a pretty good showing today, apart from the penalties early on and some sloppiness towards the end there were plenty of good signs. Nevermind the lack of CBs, the defense held up well and Geno looked strong (for Geno).

Defense saved the Jets blushes! Raiders were so bad yet our offense kept them right in it. yeah apart from his INT and fumble Geno was pretty solid and had an 82% pass completion, just cant seem to get it done in the redzone

We gave them a hiding on both sides of the ball.....except the score. Plenty of positives today but indeed some reasons to worry. Geno was accurate but some mental mistakes that won't stand up against teams not named the Raiders.

Running game looked great.
    D-Line was brilliant (as usual) - Mo Wilk being a beast once again
    Double A is dynamic player, was a great 7th round pick he was.
    Good proper debut by Pryor.
    Decker with a good start, BS, OPI call by him.

Oh oh oh...And the Pats lost :D How did Revis play?

BqjIa4yCYAAuDdB.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭con1982

Anywhere I can watch highlights of the game (aside from NFL gamepass)? Will Eurosport have their own roundup show?

Brady got the absolute piss beaten out of him, Cant wait for the front 7 to have a go at their o-line

also there run defense was dirt! so thats another thing to look forward to

Screenshot2014-09-07at211308.png

FreeOSCAR wrote: »
    Double A is dynamic player, was a great 7th round pick he was.

best player on the pitch, and to think Ed Reed was brought in to play ahead of him last year:rolleyes:

Antonio Allen was immense today. Somebody had a strong word with Geno about extending plays because he took a couple of heavy hits scrambling in the first half. The options with Vick (especially the flea-flicker to Decker) were interesting. Decent win for the jets, should have been out of sight long before the end though.

A The options with Vick (especially the flea-flicker to Decker) were interesting.

Mornhinweg needs to give up the gimmick plays, they just dont work! the worst one was on the play Geno fumbled when Vick was lined up in the slot. they brought in DEcker, Amaro and Johnson in the offseason, use them ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Terrible game. Raiders were horrible but I didn't expect anything less. I think you guys will be around 8-8 for the season.

yeah the Jets should of had the win in the bag much earlier. I was expecting a lot more from you're D-line, there was basically zero pressure on Geno all game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

phatkev wrote: »
    yeah the Jets should of had the win in the bag much earlier. I was expecting a lot more from you're D-line, there was basically zero pressure on Geno all game

Our D-line is passed it. Moore and Mack had some success as few times but we didn't blitx often enough. The massive holes Smith had to run into was extremely frustrating as well.

Screenshot2014-09-08at164006.png

God damn penalties

Really shows how anaemic the Raiders offense is. Thought Carr looked poised and did fine for his first outing. Thought Jones-Drew looked fat. A sore Green Bay team will be a more difficult assignment!

Thought I'd resurrect this thread so all the other Jets fans out there can share in the misery. Desperately disappointed with the season so far and nothing to look forward to but a high draft pick next year. Rex has to go even we get four or five wins from the remaining games. I realise that Idzik has made mistakes but dont think we should fire him now despite Cimini (ESPN) constantly blaming him and no one else. Despite being very thin at corner back the Jets have come close to beating some very good teams and the coaching staff has much to answer in these games. Also Vick is not the answer as he will turn the ball over as often as Geno.