Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New York Jets Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

phatkev wrote: »
    Rex knows he's out. Why would he want to lose on purpose & help Jets in draft? Same with Geno. Why would he lose for Jets to draft a QB? Just as a matter of interest you would ye take if the Jets had the #2 pick as opposed to the #6

Oh completely, don't blame them and even as a fan, against logic, I still enjoyed looking for glimmers of hope from some of the players in a win. I'm no College ball expert (or NFL/anything for that matter) but from reading around Mariotta is the hot one to go for and there's no chance of him slipping to 6, that'll mean either trading up or going for a QB outside of the 2 big ones.

Saying that I'd almost prefer us to stay away from the draft than trade up, and instead bring in a QB from FA or on a trade. I think there's so little confidence in Geno or Vick that the pressure to hit the ground from the off would be massive on a rookie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

the way I see it neither Mariotta or Winston are a top 5 pick, and if I had to spend a top 5 pick on QB i would take Winston. But sure look its only December, this time last year Bridgewater was a definite top 5 pick and Bortles wasn't even considered a first round pick on some boards, a lot will happen between now and April. Right now i would love to see the Jets take Brandon Scherff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

the way I see it neither Mariotta or Winston are a top 5 pick, and if I had to spend a top 5 pick on QB i would take Winston. But sure look its only December, this time last year Bridgewater was a definite top 5 pick and Bortles wasn't even considered a first round pick on some boards, a lot will happen between now and April. Right now i would love to see the Jets take Brandon Scherff

Amari Cooper please and either move up in late in the first or wait till we are near the top in the second and take whichever QB rises over the next months there.

Once it's not another D player again I won't mind as much. Hopefully it's not Idzik picking either.

yeah i think he'll be gone, would be nice though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭franglan

Would take Mariota but he'll be gone by the time the Jets are on the clock. Naturally enough we'll draft Winston, the bright lights, a historical train-wreck of a team and a character with a very dubious past should go hand in hand. Sad thing about it is that there are very few options for the Jets at QB, take a punt on RGIII or Bradford? Two different types of rehabilitation - think I would take Bradford if given the option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

franglan wrote: »
    Would take Mariota but he'll be gone by the time the Jets are on the clock. Naturally enough we'll draft Winston, the bright lights, a historical train-wreck of a team and a character with a very dubious past should go hand in hand. Sad thing about it is that there are very few options for the Jets at QB, take a punt on RGIII or Bradford? Two different types of rehabilitation - think I would take Bradford if given the option.

I think that is the one thing people seem to be missing. Unless we completely overhaul that OL, then a rookie QB is going to be a waste.

I love Harvin, he is my man crush for as long as he is in the league, but he is too expensive.

I'd take Cooper in the first round and then OL help in the 2nd

In Exile wrote: »
    I think that is the one thing people seem to be missing. Unless we completely overhaul that OL, then a rookie QB is going to be a waste.

Yes this times a hundred, so many Jets fans fail to see this

Totally agree on the offensive line. You look at the amount of draft picks we had last year (particularly in the mid-rounds) we could have done something to draft for the future in this area. Instead we pissed away picks on wide receivers in what felt like a fire sale. Never mind QB, look at the CB position we need to pick something up there early in my opinion. So many holes presently, the Jets won't be in contention next year either me thinks.

Yes this times a hundred, so many Jets fans fail to see this

It's a massive problem, I'd have OL problems way ahead of WR too, Geno is poor but he doesn't get blessed with a strong pocket very often... Was dreading it also when Mangold took the knock the other night, without him the OL is lacking any real quality imo.

Forgetting Brickashaw there but the others are such poor quality it puts way too much pressure on himself and Mangold.

Brick has been fairly bad this year too, Everson Griffen tore him to sherds last week. Although Aboushi and Winters haven't showed any real consistency, they're both young and with a bit more playing time/experience could become more than serviceable guards! Dalton Freeman is also getting a lot of praise from coaches and Mangold, so could be one to look at for the future. Willie Colon has been an absolute dumpster fire this year, Big Vlad didnt even give away as many penalties as him and Giacomini has been less than convincing in pass protection. But yeah Mangold has played out of his skin this year, future Jets ROH right there! Seeing him rush of the bench minus a helmet to back up Geno when Casey sucker punched him is why he should be every Jet fans favorite player!

My Hero
    Screenshot2014-12-16at130751.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

I don't think the O-Line is as bas a people are making out. We certainly need depth but no way should we be picking this high up in the draft unless we part ways with D'Brick.

There have been some terrible games this year and our pass blocking could improve but you don't have the 2nd best Run game in the league with a bad O-Line.

In general, we have looked much better since Brian Winters went on IR. He's terrible, a flag magnet and should be a replacement at most.

Others...

Mangold - Has been brilliant, had a Pro Bowl year
    Breno - Good pickup - Adds fire to us, not the worst RT out there
    Aboushi - Has been solid, will be a starter for us for the next few seasons.
    Willi Colon - Again, bit of a flag magnet but a respected guy. Should be replaced next season with a mid-round pick or a Free Agent signing
    D'Brick - This is the tough one, he's not playing close to his salary. I'd be willing to give him one more year to see if he can rebound back. In 2012 he had a bad year only to rebound back in 2013, let's hope it happens again.

Hopefully Dakota Dozier who was practcially redshirted can show improvement and step up like Oday did this year.

The only team (save for a trade) I think we need to worry about in picking Cooper ahead of us is Oakland. They have the Bills and Broncos (Reserves) left
    on the schedule, I can see them picking up a win there which would propel them ahead of us I think....

FreeOSCAR wrote: »
    There have been some terrible games this year and our pass blocking could improve but you don't have the 2nd best Run game in the league with a bad O-Line.
    Yeah the run game has been good but how many of those yards have came from Ivory after contact, how many have come for Geno or Vick having to improvise because they've been rushed out of the pocket, how many have come from sweeps and reverses? and ultimately as seen in the Fins game you can rush for over 200 yards, but if you cant give the QB time to throw your going to lose.

Anytime the Jets have faced good pass rushing teams this year the offense has just tanked.Take the two Bills games, the line was so bad in both games that the Bills only had to send 3 or 4 pass rushers each time and they still kept getting to Geno and Vick. Same with the Chargers game Geno was constantly under pressure without the Chargers even have to blitz. the Jets put up a magnificent 60 yards passing in that game. I dont care how respected Colon is, he has been one of the worst lineman this year(I've lost count of how many drives he's stopped due to false starts or holding penalties) and it worries me that the Jets never gave Dozier a chance to see how he could do.

A lose to the Pats is always tough to take, but heres a pics that will keep me smiling for a while

Screenshot2014-12-21at192810.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Pegasusbridge

Great performance. Probably a bit too little too late to save Rex but a great game none the less. Loved the fake punt.

just in form work so didnt see any of the game. what was up with Geno's numbers did the Fins just not bother with a secondary or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Having missed the Patriots game due to an entertaining night with a female meaning getting up too late to make the journey out to the Meadowlands Christmas in Miami meant a chance to make up but to go to my first away game!

In the days leading up to the game I had kept an eye on various sites for tickets with the cheapest tickets coming in around $40 but decided to wing it on game day.

For those who havent been to the stadium it is around 15 miles north of the city in an area that could be diplomatically described as economically deprived! Like some stadia over here built out in the middle of nowhere there is very little in terms of facilities nearby.

Anyway despite leaving my hotel at 11.30 relying on public transport meant not arriving at the stadium until 1.30. So I queue for about 10 minutes at the ticket office only to find out that the cheapest tickets on sale were $125. No chance no thank you!

Some dodgy looking touts around were charging laughable amounts considering the game was now approaching half time. (When are touts not dodgy looking?!) Then some guy on a golf cart drove up and handed out freebies to some fans about 20 yards away and I just missed out!

I then asked one tout how much was he now charging and he said $90 but got him down to $40 for a ticketmaster printout. So by the time I get to my seat it was half time! Before this had a good walk around in the heat and the atmosphere was boisterous. Which can also mean half the fans were **** faced! The stall I was in for pizza actually ran out and the wait was 10 minutes. Incredible the amount of money being spent overall. As an example a large can of beer was $13:o

My seat turned out to be great being about 6 rows from the back on the halfway line. And crucially in the part of the stadium that was in the shade. Basically the view you would have watching it on tv.

As I walked in Dolphins had scored a TD to take the lead 17-14 at half time and so the first major action was a home team record for longest rushing TD running from his own end zone. Rex went nuts at this stage on the sideline!

Then almost immediately the Decker TD from a great pass by Smith. Game back on. After 2 field goals Quigley then passed on a fake punt for a great gain which left the home fans bemused and embarrassed!

Tannehill got sacked as much as Sanchez as the Jets cantered home with ease.

Sorry to have missed Vick's brief appearance but a really enjoyable day studying Smith. I thought he was composed and slick but in his best performance for this local boy could be also his last in green. It might have been a rubber game but good to see Rex sign off with a win.

Strolled outside after and saw Rex board the bus. Some fans thought he might come over but guess he was fried at that stage.

While the season was the worst in a while the 2 performances against the Patriots could have and maybe should have yielded 2 wins but the final stats dont lie. Dont think anyone can complain about Rex's departure despite his almost universal popularity around the club. Overall the failure to get a strong consistent QB hampered his reign.

Decker TD:

321.jpg

My seat:

322.jpg

Rex leaves:

337.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭corner back 2

Did anyone buy tickets for London game yet? Got two for section 219 front row. Hotel booked also and just the flights to book now. Really looking forward to it now that we have new coach and new GM, and hopefully we will have a new quarterback as well.

Waiting for general sale tickets on Monday to get a ticket myself, looking forward to it!

Teflon Terry has finally been given his marching orders from the Jets! Today is a great day:D:D

Just got my Jets tickets for October :) Got on as they went on General sale so managed to get on the halfway line and 1 row back from the more expensive seats in the top tier...

Have done behind the goal (low in Croke park for the college ball last year) and in the corner (top of the MetLife last season against Raiders) so will be nice to get the side on view this time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭spursman11

Missed the chance today for tickets on Oct 4th.is it possible to buy these in United states also.?

Hopefully we can get this thread going again with a discussion on who you hope the Jets take at no. 6. i think Mariota should be taken if he is still on the board. He cant be any worse than Geno and he has a much higher ceiling. I know he is far from the finished article but given the Jets history of passing on some major talents in years gone by I think now is the time to take the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

Hopefully we can get this thread going again with a discussion on who you hope the Jets take at no. 6. i think Mariota should be taken if he is still on the board. He cant be any worse than Geno and he has a much higher ceiling. I know he is far from the finished article but given the Jets history of passing on some major talents in years gone by I think now is the time to take the chance.

I'm actually not so sure. I think it all depends on what another team would be willing to part with to take our pick.

There was talk last week that Philly could offer up to 4 picks in exchange for Mariota.
    To me, that would be impossible to turn down. However, I don't see him falling that far. I think if anyone, Washington will take a trade. They need some help after that f*ck up trade for RGIII a few years ago.

I'd be shocked if a QB fell as far as us.

Not sold on Winston or Mariota at 6. Probably a little bit extreme but I think with Winston's very checkered off field stuff he is un-draftable until at least the second half of the first round. I would not be having him as a franchise QB with his off the field digressions particularly in a part time/full time circus like NY. Money is not going to change him in a positive way me thinks. I'm slightly torn on Mariota because if you ask yourself the question --> who gives you the best chance of winning in week 8 of next season Geno or Mariota? I think the answer is Mariota but I would rather bring in a veteran free agent and a rookie QB to put pressure on Geno. Then you could re-access the position in a years time. Geno is not the answer but I think you could trade out of 6, get more picks possibly even in the first round and go for the best CB in the draft along with a first round WR or someone potentially like Vic Beasley.

Can't see either of them falling and if they do we'd be mad not to trade down imo. Too many holes in the team to give a rookie QB a platform to succeed.

I'd love to see white/cooper if we do keep the 6 pick, allows up to ditch Harvin, have 2 elite WRs with Kerley in the slot and maybe a late pick/FA as the WR4.

Would hope to see some OL investment and probably look to FA for CBs too.

Might be able to pick up a quick and tricky HB to pair with Ivory for the year too, general consensus seems to be that there's plenty of running talent in the draft atm, if not spiller seems to be a popular rumour.

I'm really not sold on Mariota, I think if a team comes looking for a trade I think they have to take it. If they go with Mariota he should sit a full year on the bench so he can learn how to be an NFL quarterback(both parties will benefit from it in the long run). imo the Jets need to take the "best player available" strategy instead of reaching for players based on need. I'm really liking Randy Gregory, he would fill in nicely at OLB and would be the type of elite edge rusher we've lacked in resent years. White or Copper would go down nicely as well! Its really unfair to say but Vic Beasley screams Vernon Gholston at me.

Free agency should be interesting, they have plenty of money to spend. I think number 1 priority should be at Guard or Corner back, also need to add depth at MLB and Safety

Good to see so many interested in the Jets! Still find it hard to figure how people can think Geno or any other free agent is a better bet than Mariota. i know he doesnt come from a pro system but his potential is huge. It may be the only chance of a franchise quarterback for the forseeable future. I was against Vick last season and the free agent crop is no better this year. Also there is no college quarterback coming next year worth waiting for. To be honest I dont care if he is a bust I would prefer not to die wondering or see him succeed with someone else while we are stuck with Geno, Hoyer or McCown.

The only thing is I don't think even the best qb could come to us and succeed right now, I think we need a year or 2 to get a solid base and let the new system bed in before we go looking for that franchise qb for the long term...

agree with this 100%.
    Although Geno has looked anything but consistent, Id like to see him given a chance in Chan Gaileys offense. Use the draft to surround him with players that can help him improve his game.
    The idea of forcing a QB pick when there isn't a franchise QB available to us would be a waste of a top 6 pick. The wrong pick for the right reason is still the wrong pick.