If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

New York Jets Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

phatkev wrote: »
    Fecking delighted
    https://twitter.com/nyjets/status/754052217624080385

Smart contract by the front office too, pay Mo now, pay Sheldon in 2 years, then pay Leo in 4-5 years when Mo's contract is over

Happy days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,740 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭phatkev

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

Fitz would be stupid to turn down that contract, He's a soon to be 34 year old QB with one winning season his whole career and no playoff appearances. He really needs to re-evaluate his value if he thinks he's worth more than that.

I'd also take that article with a pinch of salt, the front office has been running a tight ship since Macc and Bowles have come in and the majority of the things the beat writers (especially Manish and Cimini) are coming out with are nothing more than wild guesses.

1 / 12 fully guaranteed with 3 in performance incentives far superior for Fitz than the 3 / 24 with 15 guaranteed mooted. Good for him.

Well that shows just how bad Geno must be thought of by the front office anyway... the 1 year deal makes even less sense to me, that's a big push for success this year when I just don't think we have the strength/schedule for it. Roll on the season anyway!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    1 / 12 fully guaranteed with 3 in performance incentives far superior for Fitz than the 3 / 24 with 15 guaranteed mooted. Good for him.

Fitz definitely came out on top with this deal. The front office are going to have a situation next season either way, if Fitz turns around and has a decent season resulting in a playoff appearance we're going to have the same mess again next off season and if Fitz bombs(which I think is the more likely of the two) then its 12 million down the drain!

You do ye think gets cut/restructured to fund this deal? I'd be worried if I was Breno right now!

Fitz definitely came out on top with this deal. The front office are going to have a situation next season either way, if Fitz turns around and has a decent season resulting in a playoff appearance we're going to have the same mess again next off season and if Fitz bombs(which I think is the more likely of the two) then its 12 million down the drain!

You do ye think gets cut/restructured to fund this deal? I'd be worried if I was Breno right now!

I was thinking the same for him too but not too sure without looking at the cap hits...

In the unlikely situation he is good he'll still be another year older next year, he surely couldn't get another contract?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭Amerika

With the signing of Fitzpatrick at $12 million, the Jets need to now find over $7.5 million somewhere to come under this year's salary cap? Where will it come from?

Amerika wrote: »
    With the signing of Fitzpatrick at $12 million, the Jets need to now find over $7.5 million somewhere to come under this year's salary cap? Where will it come from?

So apparently what ever way the contract was drawn up he's cap hit will be over 2 years. It's all gone a bit over my head! So heres what people that know what they're talking about are saying
    This deal utilizes the complexity of the salary cap. Rather than getting bogged down with the nuances, here is the bottom line. Even though Fitzpatrick's contract is for one year, the cap hit will be spread out over two seasons. He will count $7 million against the cap this year and $5 million against the cap next year for the Jets.
    http://www.ganggreennation.com/2016/7/28/12317708/ryan-fitzpatricks-cap-hit-will-be-spread-over-two-seasons

So apparently what ever way the contract was drawn up he's cap hit will be over 2 years. It's all gone a bit over my head! So heres what people that know what they're talking about are saying

http://www.ganggreennation.com/2016/7/28/12317708/ryan-fitzpatricks-cap-hit-will-be-spread-over-two-seasons
    Makes sense since the base salary cap increases almost $11 million in 2017. But it puts a hurtin' on the Jets in 2017.

http://overthecap.com/salary-cap-space/

Being only 1.5 hours away from NYC, I get a lot of Jets coverage from the SNY cable TV channel with their 'Jets Nation' show.

Only 4 days of training camp but so far the defensive looks freakin’ terrifying. And that’s even without Revis, Wilkerson, and Richardson for the most part.

Jalin Marshall, the undrafted WR rookie out of Ohio State, is looking pretty good in training camp and might be a nice addition to the already deadly receiving corps of Brandon Marshall and Eric Decker.

It’s no secret the Jets needed improvement at the linebacker position. First round pick Darron Lee is looking pretty good as of now. Even if he doesn’t start, his lateral speed will help in 3rd down situations with the passes over the middle and especially to running backs.

I don’t see them keeping 4 QB’s on the roster. Smith seems to be insurance for Fitzpatrick and Hackenberg seems to be the future. Petty seems to still be having trouble making reads, so will he be moved to the practice squad or cut?

Cut and resigned to practice squad barring him being unable to find other suitors or there being some weird cap / contractual reason to keep him.

Jets put out their first depth chart.

http://www.ganggreennation.com/2016/8/8/12407774/jets-release-first-depth-chart-of-preseason

Looks like the Jets have a new rookie punter.

Jets put out their first depth chart.

http://www.ganggreennation.com/2016/8/8/12407774/jets-release-first-depth-chart-of-preseason

Looks like the Jets have a new rookie punter.

Good. Been rewatching some of our late games from last year, the ST was absolutely attrocious. Against the Cowboys they were easily gaining 20 yards more per punt than us. Also rewatching the games showed our reliance on Ivory big time, a lot will swing on our new RBs this year to take the pressure of fitz.

And in related news, Tim Tebow, who last played in a NFL game for the NY Jets, has decided to try for for Major League Baseball. Good luck to him and I wish him success. I'm glad I had the chance in person to seem him play for the Jets. Tebow's is still my favorite jersey and I've got them all the way back to Testaverde, although Pennington was another favorite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭In Exile

hots wrote: »
    Good. Been rewatching some of our late games from last year, the ST was absolutely attrocious. Against the Cowboys they were easily gaining 20 yards more per punt than us. Also rewatching the games showed our reliance on Ivory big time, a lot will swing on our new RBs this year to take the pressure of fitz.

I'm delighted with Edwards. Based in Melbourne, I'm hoping we get extra tv time because of him!

For the life of me I can’t understand why the NFL allows CBS to get away with showing as minimal AFC games as it can. CBS has the AFC contract. On Sundays, my CBS affiliate usually only broadcasts one game, while Fox (NFC) always shows at least two games and sometimes three if an evening game is on the schedule. What’s worse is my CBS affiliate broadcast area extends to less than one hour away from NYC and they would rather show any other AFC team then the NY Jets. Thursday night is the Jets Preseason opener. Will CBS show it... No! Big Brother is on. I’ll have to tape the game on Friday when it is rebroadcast on the NFL Network during the day. I write CBS every year complaining about their refusal to show two NFL games on a Sunday, but so far all my letters have been ignored.

I guess I can always go to a sports bar and see the Jets games, but wouldn't be able to drive home legal if I did. And I refuse to pay extra for something I'm already paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Not far to go to see the Jets last night! Had been to Maryland last year to see Messi who didnt even play for his country!

I still cannot get my head around the location of FedEx Field a good distance from the city. Using public transport means the metro and then a mile walk. The team train in Richmond, Virginia a good 100 miles form the capital so there is some speculation that they will move back into a remodeled RFK Stadium even though the current stadium is less than 20 years old!

Anyway cheapest ticket available before kickoff was $36.30 for an upper deck seat but for that price for a friendly I had no intention of seeing my seat instead spending the first half in the lower bowl.

007.jpg

008.jpg

Good to see Revis intercepting early on on McCoy's opening drive.

Fitzpatrick's appearance was brief but he looked solid enough. Disappointed he didnt get more game time as Geno looked uninterested. McCoy looked energetic and his second throw for a TD was excellent.

Half time 14-2 down but then Petty found Sudfeld. Had a good view as changed seats!

013.jpg

015.jpg

FG brings it to 14-12 and then another great pass from Petty gets Andersen in for an inspirational TD. Ahead for the first time with less than 4 minutes.

With 36 seconds Sudfeld's brother on for McCoy throws a big one right to the back of the end zone. I had moved seats again to almost the front row and so missed the catch because of the angle but heard the damn cheers!

Naturally they go for 2 points and the same 2 repeat:

021.jpg

022.jpg

It was only one game but Petty did himself with no harm with a very impressive half. Looked comfortable in the pocket and has a great arm.

Pre season friendlies are exactly for this. Getting the kinks out so no panic yet. A lot of fumbles, dropped balls, and lack of urgency to be ironed out.

For the home side I had wanted to see Cousins and Norman but these are the games to be rested.

Giants game another chance to improve but important game is always the final friendly as this is as good as a regular season game with everybody fighting for an opening day slot.

Enjoyable night just a shame they couldnt hang on if for morale if anything else.

53,000 for a pre season friendly on a friday night is impressive.

023.jpg

Gawd awful ugly game, overall. More questions than answers on players. I think Petty won a spot on team with that performance. Can't see the Jets going with 4 QB's into the season. Also can't see them cutting their second round pick or putting him on the practice squad. Smith was severely lacking on his decision process and accuracy. Smith has the experience but Petty looks so much better and has a cannon for an arm. Is it time to Geno to go?

What should be done about the QB situation? Petty looks like he should be the backup, but has no NFL experience. Smith has the experience but is inconsistent at best. Hackenberg probably won’t get to play a down in the regular season. I think the Jets should have Hackenberg play the last two preseason games and let him get beaten up... Thus giving them injury cred with the NFL in order to put him on season-ending injured reserve. I know the NFL frowns on the practice and will investigate if they feel shenanigans are going on, but the Patriots have been using this strategy as a signature routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,917 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

What should be done about the QB situation? Petty looks like he should be the backup, but has no NFL experience. Smith has the experience but is inconsistent at best. Hackenberg probably won’t get to play a down in the regular season. I think the Jets should have Hackenberg play the last two preseason games and let him get beaten up... Thus giving them injury cred with the NFL in order to put him on season-ending injured reserve. I know the NFL frowns on the practice and will investigate if they feel shenanigans are going on, but the Patriots have been using this strategy as a signature routine.

When the dust settles, it'll be Geno. I do like your idea though dislike risking the guys life to game the system, but that's the NFL in a nutshell I suppose.

QUARTERBACKS

• Retained (4): Ryan Fitzpatrick, Geno Smith, Bryce Petty, Christian Hackenberg

• Cut: Nobody

RUNNING BACKS

• Retained (5): Bilal Powell, Matt Forte, Khiry Robinson, Dominique Williams, Julian Howsare (fullback)

• Cut: Antone Smith, Tommy Bohanon (fullback)

WIDE RECEIVERS

• Retained (6): Brandon Marshall, Eric Decker, Quincy Enunwa, Robby Anderson, Charone Peake, Jalin Marshall

• Cut: Jeremy Ross, Kenbrell Thompkins, Chandler Worthy

• PUP list: Devin Smith

TIGHT ENDS

• Retained (2): Kellen Davis, Brandon Bostick

• Cut: Zach Sudfeld, Wes Saxton, Jace Amaro

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN

• Retained (9): Nick Mangold, Ryan Clady, James Carpenter, Brian Winters, Ben Ijalana, Brandon Shell, Brent Qvale, Wesley Johnson, Dakota Dozier

• Cut: Mike Liedtke, Craig Watts

• PUP list: Breno Giacomini

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN

• Retained (6): Muhammad Wilkerson, Steve McLendon, Jarvis Jenkins, Deon Simon, Leonard Williams, Lawrence Thomas

• Cut: Claude Pelon, Tarow Barney

• Suspended for Week 1: Sheldon Richardson

LINEBACKERS

• Retained (9): David Harris, Erin Henderson, Lorenzo Mauldin, Jordan Jenkins, Darron Lee, Bruce Carter, Mike Catapano, Josh Martin, Julian Stanford

• Cut: Taiwan Jones, Trevor Reilly, Freddie Bishop

SAFETIES

• Retained (4): Calvin Pryor, Marcus Gilchrist, Rontez Miles, Ronald Martin

• Cut: Doug Middleton

CORNERBACKS

• Retained (5): Buster Skrine, Marcus Williams, Darrelle Revis, Juston Burris, Dexter McDougle

• Cut: Bryson Keeton, Kevin Short, Darryl Morris, Dee Milliner

SPECIAL TEAMS

• Retained (3): Nick Folk, Tanner Purdum, Lachlan Edwards

• Cut: Nobody

A look at the Jets final 53 man roster. A couple of surprise cuts including Milliner and Amaro. Surprised Jeremy Ross was cut too, he seemed a lot more assured as a return man than Jalin Marshall does. Keeping 4 QBs on the roster is ludicrous imo! There could also be some real issues at RT with Giacomini being out for the first 6 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭In Exile

A look at the Jets final 53 man roster. A couple of surprise cuts including Milliner and Amaro. Surprised Jeremy Ross was cut too, he seemed a lot more assured as a return man than Jalin Marshall does. Keeping 4 QBs on the roster is ludicrous imo! There could also be some real issues at RT with Giacomini being out for the first 6 weeks

I was surprised with Amaro, but I suppose it is good to see we aren't hanging onto these guys too long, if they are not up to it. Says a lot that we cut him, and hold onto Davis.

The 4 QBs is a big shock. They must really expect Geno to be able to step in if something happens to Fitz. I would have thought keeping the 3 would have been better, and should something happen to Fitz, then go down the FA veteran route.

In Exile wrote: »
    I was surprised with Amaro, but I suppose it is good to see we aren't hanging onto these guys too long, if they are not up to it. Says a lot that we cut him, and hold onto Davis.

I think the main reason Davis is still there is because he can block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

why 4 QB'S ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

why 4 QB'S ?

A result of drafting back to back developmental QBs

Fitz - Starter
    Geno - Cheap backup that many teams would be happy with
    Petty - Showed enough improvement in Camp to earn the 3rd spot. May see game time if we suck this year
    Hack - 2nd round pick, a 'Project' player so will get a chance to try and improve his mechanics. He's a 20 year project tbh, terrible draft pick.

FreeOSCAR wrote: »
    A result of drafting back to back developmental QBs

Fitz - Starter
    Geno - Cheap backup that many teams would be happy with
    Petty - Showed enough improvement in Camp to earn the 3rd spot. May see game time if we suck this year
    Hack - 2nd round pick, a 'Project' player so will get a chance to try and improve his mechanics. He's a 20 year project tbh, terrible draft pick.

To add to that, Petty also took a knock in the last game which meant Geno went to 0% chance of being traded/released. Hack remains to be seen, I still think he was a round too early but the Jets are still in the phase of draft until you hit the jackpot at the moment...

Now I think before the first game Petty will go on injured reserve because of his shoulder with the intention of bringing him back later in the year. That gives the Jets time to shop Smith to teams that might experience QB injuries early in the season and be willing to pay and are desperate. I don’t see Fitzpatrick coming back next year and the Jets might go after Drew Brees. Petty then become backup and Hackenberg at the number 3 spot and able to progress in his development without pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

What's the point in having a safety if he just stands in the middle doing nothing

The earlier missed FG halted all the momentum we had too