Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Pause at 25,go to full screen,recognise that there's about 3foot left of my camera shot.I don't drive a cinquecento.It is impossible to fit a car in my lane while the bus is impeding it.

I watched the video once again then.

At 0:21 you can see a merc in front of you being on the most left side of your lane (his left wheel are just about to touch the white line). At this stage there is still more than half a metre between his right side to the centre line.

Then when you see the bus going into your lane later, it's not taking more than about 20cm of it.

So assuming your car is the same width as the merc in front of you, then there still should be about 30cm gap between you and the bus if you sticked to the left side of your lane. Mirror would take another 15, but there still would be 15cm left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

CiniO wrote: »
    IMHO bus driver intentions were quite clear. He moved over to pass a parked car. He wouldn't have done it if he knew he's not going to fit.

Are you wearing your bus/truck/large vehicle cap when you say that ? It's also not just bus drivers, I've been forced on many occasions to avoid cars who think it's ok to drive out in to the opposite lane to pass a parked vehicle without so much as slowing down or an indicator and forcing me - who has right of way ! - to stop or swerve left to avoid hitting them. Aren't we meant to treat all obstacles in the same way ? Aren't we meant to give way to traffic with right of way ? I.E. wait till the way is clear before moving forward or crossing to the other lane ?

Ken

ZENER wrote: »
    Are you wearing your bus/truck/large vehicle cap when you say that ? It's also not just bus drivers, I've been forced on many occasions to avoid cars who think it's ok to drive out in to the opposite lane to pass a parked vehicle without so much as slowing down or an indicator and forcing me - who has right of way ! - to stop or swerve left to avoid hitting them. Aren't we meant to treat all obstacles in the same way ? Aren't we meant to give way to traffic with right of way ? I.E. wait till the way is clear before moving forward or crossing to the other lane ?

Ken

Hard not to agree with you.
    I see it very often (probably too often) when driver passing obstacle is forcing oncoming driver to stop or slow down.
    I also see very often that drivers very often stop to allow oncoming drinver to pass an obstacle, which might not necesserily be a good thing.
    F.e. I driver, see obstacle and someone oncoming, so I slow down and wait, only to find out that oncoming driver is stopping to let me go first.
    It would be way easier for me if the actually just kept driving, but what can I do.
    That's how it is in the west of Ireland. People are sometimes just too courteous.

But returning to the topic, when I see someone oncoming with obstacle to pass, and I have space on my left to move that we can all fit together, then I do move. There's no problem about it.

OP seems to be annoyed that bus forced him to move, while IMO he didn't.
    It would be quite tight, but they would still fit.
    And in fact I think bus driver hoped that OP will not mind moving a bit to the left, as it was obvious he will have to pass the obstacle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I watched the video once again then.

At 0:21 you can see a merc in front of you being on the most left side of your lane (his left wheel are just about to touch the white line). At this stage there is still more than half a metre between his right side to the centre line.

Then when you see the bus going into your lane later, it's not taking more than about 20cm of it.

So assuming your car is the same width as the merc in front of you, then there still should be about 30cm gap between you and the bus if you sticked to the left side of your lane. Mirror would take another 15, but there still would be 15cm left.

Jesus,buy yourself a measuring tape.If the bus had've come (this is being hypothetical now) at 0:21 there would've been a crash.The bus has the width and a half of it's tyres across the boundary where there are cars coming in the opposite direction.

And for the sake of your argument,I'd like to be able to drive in my lane knowing that i wouldn't have a bus going 15cm beside me at the other direction. :rolleyes:

Hard not to agree with you.
    I see it very often (probably too often) when driver passing obstacle is forcing oncoming driver to stop or slow down.
    I also see very often that drivers very often stop to allow oncoming drinver to pass an obstacle, which might not necesserily be a good thing.
    F.e. I driver, see obstacle and someone oncoming, so I slow down and wait, only to find out that oncoming driver is stopping to let me go first.
    It would be way easier for me if the actually just kept driving, but what can I do.
    That's how it is in the west of Ireland. People are sometimes just too courteous.

But returning to the topic, when I see someone oncoming with obstacle to pass, and I have space on my left to move that we can all fit together, then I do move. There's no problem about it.

OP seems to be annoyed that bus forced him to move, while IMO he didn't.
    It would be quite tight, but they would still fit.
    And in fact I think bus driver hoped that OP will not mind moving a bit to the left, as it was obvious he will have to pass the obstacle.

No,there was a bus coming up the bus lane from my rear and a car pulling over in the left.If i had've pushed to the far left i would've been impeding the bus and been stuck behind the slowing merc.It wasn't just the case of me being an arsehole and not pulling to the left.

Jesus,buy yourself a measuring tape.If the bus had've come (this is being hypothetical now) at 0:21 there would've been a crash.The bus has the width and a half of it's tyres across the boundary where there are cars coming in the opposite direction.

I said I believe that bus driver knew what he was doing.
    He wouldn't have done it if it was to cause a crash.
    And for the sake of your argument,I'd like to be able to drive in my lane knowing that i wouldn't have a bus going 15cm beside me at the other direction. :rolleyes:

What can I say?
    I mentioned before that I drive buses on narrow roads, where I have to be outside the centre line.
    I pass hundreds of cars every day, and I'm sure some of them think the same as you - that they would like to be able to drive on their own lane without meeting a bus coming towards them sticking 30cm on their lane.
    But no matter how much they want it, this can't be achieved.

Just start anticipating what's happening around you when you are driving, and all will be OK.

As you see there wasn't any crash or dangerous situation.
    You moved slightly to the left to leave some more space, and everyone were happy (except from you - but I see we can't change that).

I said I believe that bus driver knew what he was doing.
    He wouldn't have done it if it was to cause a crash.

What can I say?
    I mentioned before that I drive buses on narrow roads, where I have to be outside the centre line.
    I pass hundreds of cars every day, and I'm sure some of them think the same as you - that they would like to be able to drive on their own lane without meeting a bus coming towards them sticking 30cm on their lane.
    But no matter how much they want it, this can't be achieved.

Just start anticipating what's happening around you when you are driving, and all will be OK.

As you see there wasn't any crash or dangerous situation.
    You moved slightly to the left to leave some more space, and everyone were happy (except from you - but I see we can't change that).
    Jaysus i give up.So basically not giving the right of way is grand once the driver has his intentions?.

the bus was far more than 30cm in my lane,he forced me to pull into a bus lane occupied by a bus to my rear and a car slowing down.

Jaysus i give up.So basically not giving the right of way is grand once the driver has his intentions?.
    No it's not grand.
    But it's not the end of the world either.

the bus was far more than 30cm in my lane,he forced me to pull into a bus lane occupied by a bus to my rear and a car slowing down.

See, from what I can see on your video is that bus was less than 30cm in your lane. So he didn't force you into bus lane, as you might have well stayed on your lane and still fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Nothing spectacular but all on the same day around the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭josip

Mirror would take another 15, but there still would be 15cm left.

Judging a 15cm gap at a combined closing speed of possibly 100kmh? It would seem to be more appropriate for the Nurburgring than suburban Dublin.

josip wrote: »
    Judging a 15cm gap at a combined closing speed of possibly 100kmh? It would seem to be more appropriate for the Nurburgring than suburban Dublin.

I have to face it every days as roads in my region are so narrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭josip

I have to face it every days as roads in my region are so narrow.

I grew up in the country as well and didn't/don't have a problem with 15cm gaps.
    But when the gap is as low as 15cm the combined passing speed was more like 40mph and both drivers were well aware of what the gap was going to be in advance due to the nature of the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Captured this morning , Gardai in Lucan not stopping for an amber light at pedestrian crossing.

That would be an €80 fine and two points for you or me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

That can't be right, 2 points for an amber...

rocky wrote: »
    That can't be right, 2 points for an amber...

AFAIK it is. The offense is "Failure to obey traffic lights" .

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Licensed%20Drivers/Penalty%20Points%20Chart1.pdf

red means no go, amber means stop if safe.

rocky wrote: »
    red means no go, amber means stop if safe.

Looked perfectly safe to stop though IMO. They actually accelerated to get through it.

I'd take my chances with a judge.

I was told here on this forum many times, that gards don't need to obey any rules of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

They do, they have to obey the same rules we do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

That's your point of view.
    My point of view is that if you kept on the left side of your lane (but stayed on it) you would pass with the bus no problems.

Irrelevant. The bus driver crossed the white line into oncoming traffic. Even 3 foot of free space (let alone 15 cm) wouldn't save him from prosecution in the event of a collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

I was told here on this forum many times, that gards don't need to obey any rules of the road.

There is a clause around that. Even on blues they need to proceed in a manner that is safe to do so at. And when not on blues, they have to respect all traffic laws. They upholdthe law, they arn't above it.

But yeah, absolute power corrupts absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Definite pattern on here.

1. Video is posted.
    2. OP is told he is in the wrong.
    3. Argument develops.
    4. Video is posted....

______

Fwiw, the bus driver above was in the wrong, imo. Simples. Crossed white line into oncoming traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I don't see a post that says the OP was wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Barrel

Tallon wrote: »
    I don't see a post that says the OP was wrong

Almost everytime a video is posted the OP is told "the blank is because of him / he should have done this that and the other / your driving is blank / yada yada yada

Another one today on my way home. Silver Mercedes blind to whats going on around him. Road goes from 80 to 120 kmh but he does not accelerate. He decides to come into the lane I am in without looking.

Feckin Mercedes drivers :rolleyes:

Strituck wrote: »

Another one today on my way home. Silver Mercedes blind to whats going on around him. Road goes from 80 to 120 kmh but he does not accelerate. He decides to come into the lane I am in without looking.

I'd say he either wasn't looking in the mirrors, or asssumed he has a right to change a lane even if you were there. Whichever option there definitely was something wrong with him.

But on the other hand, you started undertaking, so here you go - you didn't need to wait long for an effect.
    Feckin Mercedes drivers :rolleyes:

Irrelevant. The bus driver crossed the white line into oncoming traffic. Even 3 foot of free space (let alone 15 cm) wouldn't save him from prosecution in the event of a collision.

Wide vehicles are allowed to cross the white line (either broken or continuous) if they are too wide to fit in their lane.

I'm not saying this applies to that case, as he was passing a parked car, but don't assume automatically that if bus or truck is outside the middle line, then he is automatically at fault, because he is fully allowed to cross those lines if needed.

Tallon wrote: »
    They do, they have to obey the same rules we do
    ironclaw wrote: »
    There is a clause around that. Even on blues they need to proceed in a manner that is safe to do so at. And when not on blues, they have to respect all traffic laws. They upholdthe law, they arn't above it.

But yeah, absolute power corrupts absolutely.

I can not find it at the moment, but I think it was earlier this year, when in other post I was told by plenty of other boardsies that gards don't need to obey the traffic rules, and someone provided a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭scoobydoobie

I can not find it at the moment, but I think it was earlier this year, when in other post I was told by plenty of other boardsies that gards don't need to obey the traffic rules, and someone provided a link.

I think that might have been in a thread were a collision between a squad car and another car in abbey st turned the other car over.