Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2012: General Discussion Thread

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    The lack of punishment consistency in Formula 1 is catasprophic. Schumacher gets a 10 place grid penalty (which took into account his previous shunt with Senna earlier in the year) for rear ending Vergne.

Grosjean rear ends Webber and gets a 10 second stop and go. Simply silly. Yes, Michael didn't remain in the race after his shunt two weeks ago but the difference in the sanctions is extreme.

They're seen as roughly equal sanctions in different circumstances and Grosjean's in this case cost him way more than 10 spots.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭recyclebin

I see Hamilton is involved in another twitter blunder. Just how dumb is he? I'm kinda glad he is leaving Mclaren now. Maybe he can help win the constructors this year for Mclaren but after that I don't really care how well or badly he does at Mercedes.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/f1-lewis-hamilton-redfaced-after-accusing-teammate-button-of-unfollowing-on-twitter-3252546.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

In his first year or two people defended his stupid crap by saying he's young and immature, but I think it's clear by now that he's just a tool. Would love to meet Button in a bar and find out what he really thinks of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

recyclebin wrote: »
    I see Hamilton is involved in another twitter blunder. Just how dumb is he? I'm kinda glad he is leaving Mclaren now. Maybe he can help win the constructors this year for Mclaren but after that I don't really care how well or badly he does at Mercedes.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/f1-lewis-hamilton-redfaced-after-accusing-teammate-button-of-unfollowing-on-twitter-3252546.html

Thats pretty embarrassing, I think he needs to stay the hell away from Twitter.
    Would love to meet Button in a bar and find out what he really thinks of him.

I suspect the relationship is nowhere near as close as is made out, I doubt there's much in house bickering etc, I'd say its just more a case of they don't spend a second more together than they have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

In his first year or two people defended his stupid crap by saying he's young and immature, but I think it's clear by now that he's just a tool. Would love to meet Button in a bar and find out what he really thinks of him.

Shame on you ..for insulting tools worldwide, they're somewhat useful!

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

I wouldn't mind having a pint with Kimi and Webber, I don't know if I could put up with Button's cheesiness but I woulnd't exclude him from the table if he was in the same pub

• Registered Users Posts: 15,513 ✭✭✭✭vectra

brownacid wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind having a pint with Kimi and Webber, I don't know if I could put up with Button's cheesiness but I woulnd't exclude him from the table if he was in the same pub

Now that would be some night :P

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭duke916

imagine havin a night out with hamilton!

1. glass of warm milk before bed
    2. teeth brushed, quick toilet visit (as to not wet the bed!) and popped into fluffy mclaren pyjama's
    3. tucked in by 'daddy' hamilton with personal racing car duvet cover
    4. lights out by 8pm (although small lamp left on to keep 'dicky dark' at bay)
    5. sang to sleep by nicole whats her face
    6. waking up at midnight with a headache after being sung to sleep by said nicole whats her face
    7. up bright and early for ready brek and a half glass of orange juice

Job done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

duke916 wrote: »
    imagine havin a night out with hamilton!

1. glass of warm milk before bed
    2. teeth brushed, quick toilet visit (as to not wet the bed!) and popped into fluffy mclaren pyjama's
    3. tucked in by 'daddy' hamilton with personal racing car duvet cover
    4. lights out by 8pm (although small lamp left on to keep 'dicky dark' at bay)
    5. sang to sleep by nicole whats her face
    6. waking up at midnight with a headache after being sung to sleep by said nicole whats her face
    7. up bright and early for ready brek and a half glass of orange juice

Job done!

Ok.

Fan or no fan of Lewis Hamilton, he has a social life that most people can only dream of. Internet forum posters included :pac:

EnterNow wrote: »
    I suspect the relationship is nowhere near as close as is made out, I doubt there's much in house bickering etc, I'd say its just more a case of they don't spend a second more together than they have to.
    Can you blame Jenson? :pac:
    Fan or no fan of Lewsi Hamilton, he has a social life that most people can only dream of. Internet forum posters included :pac:
    When he won the title he said he'd be out partying all night. While he was going out with Nicole Scherzinger.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭duke916

depends on what your type of night out is.

id prefer to go on a 3 day bender with kimi, go through a years supply of vodka and women and come home napalmed, than stand there with lewis looking pretty, checking myself out in the mirror to see how i can make all my shiny bits look more shiny all night long whilst sipping a dry martini. two completely different people with two completely different personalities.

during races, kimi hardly says a word. commentators always taking this p1ss out of his bland facial expressions and conversation whereas lewis loves the limelight. always stuck to the camera and cant get enough of it. in all the years of watching f1, i never seen any driver wear 'bling' in their ears until he came along and i thought to myself 'twat'. I was hoping he wasnt goin to bring the 'gangsta-rappa-muthafúcka image into f1 and all was well until ...he goes and makes the most stupidest comment after the monaco grand prix last year quoted as to why he was penalised 'was it because im black'. Straight away I lost all respect for this balloon. good driver but a clown.

After this recent Twitter blunder, no :)
    When he won the title he said he'd be out partying all night. While he was going out with Nicole Scherzinger.

I'd say he's had more parties, women, & playboy antics than all of us here put together...much the same of most of the other drivers. And if he hasn't...shame on him! Is Hamilton thought of to be a bit of a prude or does he just not engage in the after parties/socialising etc?

duke916 wrote: »
    i never seen any driver wear 'bling' in their ears until he came along and i thought to myself 'twat'. I was hoping he wasnt goin to bring the 'gangsta-rappa-muthafúcka image into f1 and all was well until ...he goes and makes the most stupidest comment after the monaco grand prix last year quoted as to why he was penalised 'was it because im black'. Straight away I lost all respect for this balloon. good driver but a clown.

You don't like men wearing earings, or quoting comedy sketches. I'll never understand this type of judging mentality to be honest. Drivers are obliged to do media work by the way, as is Kimi, but Kimi doesn't enjoy it, Lewis doesn't seem bothered by it and it comes across on screen. Big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

I love it though as if the twitter blunder wasn't stupid enough,

he follows it with this on Perez!
    "I saw him coming and I have a championship to fight for and he doesn't, " said Hamilton.

http://www1.skysports.com/formula-1/news/20876/8147687/Hamilton-u-turns-on-Button-disrespect-

hoodwinked wrote: »

http://www1.skysports.com/formula-1/news/20876/8147687/Hamilton-u-turns-on-Button-disrespect-

That whole Perez thing looked to me as if Perez was taking avoiding action to avoid crashing into Hamilton. The error happened on the previous corner, & he struggled getting in line for the next, narrowly avoiding Hamilton. Great driving I thought, & he did Hamilton a bit of a favour.

Hamilton needs to get off Twitter. Now.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,296 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That whole Perez thing looked to me as if Perez was taking avoiding action to avoid crashing into Hamilton. The error happened on the previous corner, & he struggled getting in line for the next, narrowly avoiding Hamilton. Great driving I thought, & he did Hamilton a bit of a favour.

Hamilton needs to get off Twitter. Now.
    I agree. Seems to me that he had to wait a half second before he could nail the brakes as thr car was unsettled from the previous corner. He was then left with little option but to be in trouble down the outside.

As for Hamilton on twitter. You have to wonder what he is up to. Can he really be as stupid as this makes him appear.
    I genuinely am beginning to think that all was not too rosey with him at McLaren. He really is giving off the 'world is against him vibe'.

He's talking about the first maneuver which Perez did where Hamilton moved out of the way to let Sergio past, that's a non story.

But still,

you don't follow a stupid tweet with a comment like that, was there really any need to try and deflect his error onto a non story as you say?

He really does seem to be coming across more and more as an idiot the team has had to keep in line all this time,

But still,

you don't follow a stupid tweet with a comment like that, was there really any need to try and deflect his error onto a non story as you say?

He really does seem to be coming across more and more as an idiot the team has had to keep in line all this time,

It was a crazy maneuver by Perez, he's not wrong. But I agree with you that he's not doing himself any favors by drawing more attention to himself. My only thought about the JB tweet was that he might of been after a few whiskeys,even then there is no defending it. I doubt Mercedes will be very impressed by all this either, it's not exactly confidence inspiring.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

I thought Perez pass on Hamilton was a trademark Hamilton overtake. Stick the car up the inside and let the other guy worry about getting out of the way. Foolish comment from Hamilton.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Nigel Mansell would have been the same if he had Twitter back in the day:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Up early to see Joe Saward has posted a very interesting blog about pay drivers, prize money and the choices for teams next year.

http://joesaward.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/the-value-or-lack-of-it-of-f1-pay-drivers/

I doubt Mercedes will be very impressed by all this either, it's not exactly confidence inspiring.

yeah im getting the picture that previously McLaren would have been on the phone straight away telling him to remove it and telling him what to say to the press,

where now he's leaving i think its more of a McLaren saying "go on do what you want make an ass out of yourself"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,777 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

It was a crazy maneuver by Perez, he's not wrong. But I agree with you that he's not doing himself any favors by drawing more attention to himself. My only thought about the JB tweet was that he might of been after a few whiskeys,even then there is no defending it. I doubt Mercedes will be very impressed by all this either, it's not exactly confidence inspiring.

I don't think they will put up with that kind of behaviour from Lewis. He's a superb driver, but sometimes he needs a kick up the bum when he does stuff like he did on twitter recently.
    yeah im getting the picture that previously McLaren would have been on the phone straight away telling him to remove it and telling him what to say to the press,

where now he's leaving i think its more of a McLaren saying "go on do what you want make an ass out of yourself"

I'd say Lewis and McLaren will be happy to see the back of each other when the season ends.

I wonder was it Lewis' dad who kept him on track. Every since they've parted ways, nothing has really gone right for Lewis with stupid thing after stupid thing. Remember the wheelspinning in Australia & the police?

Also, you never see his brother at the races anymore, he used to be always there & the three of them would be celebrating together etc

That's because he races himself. He races in the Renault Clio cup in the UK, the times overlap a lot of weekends.

Ah yeah, I'd forgotten that. Is he known to be competitive? Fair play to him, I know there's unlimited backing behind him now from his big brother, but still, if he holds his own then credit where its due.
    LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I for one am glad, seeing his dads smug face every 5 minutes used to really annoy me.

Smugness? Or pride? I know if it was my son winning at top level racing, I'd be damned proud :)

Ah yeah, I'd forgotten that. Is he known to be competitive?

Erm...He's a nice lad :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,777 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I wonder was it Lewis' dad who kept him on track. Every since they've parted ways, nothing has really gone right for Lewis with stupid thing after stupid thing. Remember the wheelspinning in Australia & the police?

I agree. I also think when Ron stepped down as team principal, that affected Lewis too.