Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Capri wrote: »

Better than having to wear a shirt and tie!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭kub

As per Sgt Bilko's post in the vehicle gallery.

http://youtu.be/83_vnAZJF_A

Proper use of all resources, a fine deterrent I think.

kub wrote: »
    As per Sgt Bilko's post in the vehicle gallery.

http://youtu.be/83_vnAZJF_A

Proper use of all resources, a fine deterrent I think.

They use the prison transport trucks for major events like protests that attract a certain type of protester. They had them for some high profile matches too. Prisoner gets picked up and dropped to station. Regular resources stay out where needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

They use the prison transport trucks for major events like protests that attract a certain type of protester. They had them for some high profile matches too. Prisoner gets picked up and dropped to station. Regular resources stay out where needed.

Was at Slane for Foo Fighters last May and they had about 4 prisoner transport trucks and a hape of paddywagons

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

D Trent wrote: »
    Was at Slane for Foo Fighters last May and they had about 4 prisoner transport trucks and a hape of paddywagons

Remember paddies day parked on o Connell street I think

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Great to see that scumbag in the video caught in the end.

Looks to have done some serious damage

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Seen it first hand.. He could have done some serious damage.. Looks like the Guard gave him a good slap aswell :)

Only in Clondalkin ha ......

Is there any sign of the new RSU fleet yet, i had assumed they would have been on the road well before the election, wherever i got that idea from, i just don't know ;)

Delivery this month is the rumour

POGAN wrote: »
    Delivery this month is the rumour

The way the political talk is going today i expect that the car transporter carrying these will get a traffic corp escort, seems they can't come soon enough.

Look at eru checkpoints today all in 07 land cruisers so the BMW 5 series will be good for them

Rsu is crying out for the Audis too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Look at eru checkpoints today all in 07 land cruisers so the BMW 5 series will be good for them

Rsu is crying out for the Audis too

RTE News report this evening showed video with a Range Rover with rear blue's.

The amount of 07 Mondeos still being used was suprising. If you look at the vid/pics on the news most of the cars parked up at checkpoints were mondeos.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Rebelkid

Thats also armoured if I remember rightly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Any guesses as what this new armed unit will be driving ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Rebelkid wrote: »
    Thats also armoured if I remember rightly.

You are correct, reinforced under chassis and run flats, built for purpose, unlike the hyundai's the traffic lads have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

You are correct, reinforced under chassis and run flats, built for purpose, unlike the hyundai's the traffic lads have

Appearance wise the i40 does look great I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,577 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Could the Range Rover be a hand me down from Lizzys visit or did she bring her own that time?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I think it was a Met RR It had English tax on the window but a Irish plate.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,577 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

afatbollix wrote: »
    I think it was a Met RR It had English tax on the window but a Irish plate.

As you said UK motor tax, the reg plate doesn't exist on the Irish fleet.

0004937f-970.jpg

That's the eru one not great yoke from what I heard

As you said UK motor tax, the reg plate doesn't exist on the Irish fleet.

0004937f-970.jpg

It's different one, It's different reg too! It's active enough around the dmr

Any guesses as what this new armed unit will be driving ?

Audi q7s and BMW 530 estate matching other Rsu new cars coming in soon as per the op Thor announcement

This isn't a new idea this has being on the cards since November,

That's the eru one not great yoke from what I heard
    Really? ERU from what I've seen have a huge fleet would I be correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Really? ERU from what I've seen have a huge fleet would I be correct?

Access the the SDU fleet which consists of a tens of different cars and other vehicles

Re RSU in Dublin more than likely Eastern Regional Support unit deployed in for ops over next couple days eru & SDU are only so big

Boaty wrote: »
    Access the the SDU fleet which consists of a tens of different cars and other vehicles
    Just curious would it of been cheaper for Garda management to increase numbers in ERU and within ERU Set aside full time armed patrols for the DMR. Seeing as they would have a large pool of vehicles.

Eru role is different and they are doing that at moment can't detail with more serious crime

Should have being marked arv patrols since 2008 in dmr

Talks of explanding eru and sdu now but Rsu is the way to go with marked armed response

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Terrontress

It's different one, It's different reg too! It's active enough around the dmr

Isn't the one we're seeing at present an older model that the Queen's one?