Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Ya, the 05 X5 replaced it. There's a newer 131 X5 floating about too somewhere

Suppose to be national resource, touring units still

carzony wrote: »
    I was never a fan of those Bmw x5's myself. Very suitable for the role though and nice ground clearance on them. I'd say height would be a great advantage at times..

I also wondered why they never used mitsubishi pajeros.

Pejeros going by met, they got them not good reports

Our dog unit has few of them there grand but seriously need they Gucci cars back

• Registered Users Posts: 10,478 ✭✭✭✭guil

Ya, the 05 X5 replaced it. There's a newer 131 X5 floating about too somewhere

The newer X5 has been around Kildare the last few weeks. I was in Newbridge one day when it flew up the town with lights and sirens on, looked really good.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,644 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Hi gang.

I've just deleted a rake of posts that were either off topic, or were unduly personal in nature.

To those who took the time to report posts, we thank you, and our message is: We hear you.

Back on-topic, please and thanks.

-Shield.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Saw two RSU Volvos in the Spirit Motor Group garage in Sandyford. Seeing as they're not based in DMR, I imagine they're in from Wicklow/Wexford or the like?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

I am wondering whether this could be some form of ambulance for motor racing circuits, but anyway, some agency in London thinks a 2015 Audi TT is a good choice of vehicle for an ambulance

I'd say 'Medical Response' rather than the 'Emergency Ambulance' on the rear bumper , but like the 'Private Ambulance' ( Undertakers body carrier ) here, it's the wording required by law in the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

Capri wrote: »
    I'd say 'Medical Response' rather than the 'Emergency Ambulance' on the rear bumper , but like the 'Private Ambulance' ( Undertakers body carrier ) here, it's the wording required by law in the UK

Could be a rapid response car either.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I am wondering whether this could be some form of ambulance for motor racing circuits, but anyway, some agency in London thinks a 2015 Audi TT is a good choice of vehicle for an ambulance.

Its not from a Motor circuit as it would say rescue on it.

Looks like a private yoke that some agency has marked up. You never know tho what will come up over here these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭Terrontress

afatbollix wrote: »
    Its not from a Motor circuit as it would say rescue on it.

Looks like a private yoke that some agency has marked up. You never know tho what will come up over here these days.

Well then, I can only think that it is used to get expertise to the scene of an incident because you're not going to get much in the way of kit into that car. The only useful thing traveling in it will be the guys in the seats.

It's definitely private as I took the photo in London and London Ambulance tend to have their name prominently on their vehicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

ODEON123 wrote: »
    Leaked photos of new patrol cars for 2016!

Can't wait to see them stuck in the city at rush hour putting all the power to good use.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,644 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Mod note:

If posts on this thread disappear from time to time, it's because they were deleted by a Moderator.

-Shield.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Cool little lighting feature on the passat. I'd say most people would find that hard to spot.. must be sdu?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Cool little lighting feature on the passat. I'd say most people would find that hard to spot.. must be sdu?

Could be Army /Fire /.... as well, every Tom /Dick /Harry seems to be getting strobes , even PSV Limos have them now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

In the video of the major response,, given that it happened so close to Dublin Castle, could the Passat belong to Traffic Corp maybe?

Also, what is that dumper truck used by Dublin Fire Brigade? Just can't quiet make it out the writing on, looks like something response unit maybe? Never seen it before.

Sorry about the poor photo but this appears to be a Met Special Escort Group escort for a Luxembourgish dignitary. Duke or an elected official. The reason I say that is the Jag has a numberplate of 1LUX

Its for the Luxembourg ambassador. But must of someone more powerful as they usually don't get a escort.

In the video of the major response,, given that it happened so close to Dublin Castle, could the Passat belong to Traffic Corp maybe?

Also, what is that dumper truck used by Dublin Fire Brigade? Just can't quiet make it out the writing on, looks like something response unit maybe? Never seen it before.

It says Hazmat response unit on the side. Was this a spillage or a bomb scare I didn't hear about it in the news.

afatbollix wrote: »
    It says Hazmat response unit on the side. Was this a spillage or a bomb scare I didn't hear about it in the news.

It looks like the incident of a white powder being sent to G.L.E.N.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/suspicious-package-delivered-to-gay-and-lesbian-equality-network-682623.html

The Passat could also belong to a fire officer as they can have warning equipment fitted to their private vehicles.

foreign wrote: »
    It looks like the incident of a white powder being sent to G.L.E.N.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/suspicious-package-delivered-to-gay-and-lesbian-equality-network-682623.html

The Passat could also belong to a fire officer as they can have warning equipment fitted to their private vehicles.

I'm gonna guess and say it belongs to the Gardai. The way the rear lights flash seems a bit to subtle for a fire officers car, I would have thought it'd need to be more noticiable for a fire officer. It seems like the light were added to allow the car to blend in as much as possible.

It could be, I haven't seen it around the DMR before that video. But a fire officer may not want obvious warning lights on their car either.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97529173&postcount=1881

I'm sure it's still like that for some stations!

Jesus that Yaris looks awful with the plain white boot. I think there the most basic looking patrol cars i've ever seen. Just shows AGS were driving unsuitable/cheap cars even in the early 00's when money was no issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Jesus that Yaris looks awful with the plain white boot. I think there the most basic looking patrol cars i've ever seen. Just shows AGS were driving unsuitable/cheap cars even in the early 00's when money was no issue.

They still have a few punto and yaris 00 03 etc.

I had a plain white 00 punto a few years ago. I got a lend of it for the weekend as I was without a car. My friend swore it was ex garda, It had a big hole cut out in the dash for radios or whatever..

It was a heap and had very high mileage so it could be possible..

Strange to see a little Opel van :) I would have thought the little Transit courier or even connect would have been a better purchase?

Pogan, Wasn't there similar little Fiat vans bought last year?

Strange to see a little Opel van :) I would have thought the little Transit courier or even connect would have been a better purchase?

Pogan, Wasn't there similar little Fiat vans bought last year?

Honestly I wouldn't buy mini vans see how bad the connect are not used only reason they are bought is for the mileage

Fiat PO/traffic/ dog unit but I still wouldn't be buying a lot them

Not many of these i want to see these replace transit 2008s

I had a plain white 00 punto a few years ago. I got a lend of it for the weekend as I was without a car. My friend swore it was ex garda, It had a big hole cut out in the dash for radios or whatever..

It was a heap and had very high mileage so it could be possible..

Saw 08 unmarked Astra on blues on the quay in Dublin on Wednesday

POGAN wrote: »
    Saw 08 unmarked Astra on blues on the quay in Dublin on Wednesday

There's a few of those astras around believe it or not. I seen a yellowy one in Tallaght not so long ago. Only reason I spotted it was because of the very noticable ariel and little blue lights in the back window.

In relation to the vans, I also don't think there a good investment. Those opel combo have very small engines 1.4 - 1.6 CDTI not great for daily driving/regular.

Didnt I read AGS are finished buying large vans?

Just on this, saw a land rover discovery today with red strobes in the rear cluster and Amber strobes in the front. It was a works vehicle.

Didnt I read AGS are finished buying large vans?

Where did you read that? I've heard differently.

foreign wrote: »
    Where did you read that? I've heard differently.

I read it on here I think. No big vans seemed to have been bought in the last while so it could be true... Given the huge mileage expected on the vans I'm sure they last a while..

Foreign: Read through my posts and can't find where I read they are finished buying big vans. I referenced it a good few times but not sure where I originally got that info from ;(

The ol different colour strobes are getting very popular among people outside of the emergency services not sure that's a good thing.

Is there anything illegal about using red led's for normal work vehicles? I thought they were only allowed use amber?