Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭Canyon86

annlewis wrote: »
    Fair play to ye that's brill news ! Delighted. Ive the requirements almost sorted. Almost ! The ecdl is thrownig mw off though. There's a few stages to that isn't there ?
    I could see why they might come into effect, to reduce numbers applying and that. It will show you're interested defo if you did all the bits required. Im not sure. No harm to have them done anyway cause they always look good on a cv :)

Oh well done, ya Im sure there is 7 stages, you can do them in fas centres around the place, and practice online im sure:)

Ya I ll keep plugging away neways I have a job to tie me over the next while so I have a plan B if the requirements are brought in.

It will be a seriously competitive process.
    Hows your fitness going?

redno.3 wrote: »
    Good stuff!

Correct I was badly advised and then I was well advised by somebody else!

I'm on board for the new campaign but just seeking clarity from the last one!

Does anyone know if the Garda Interview Solutions one day course is worth doing, would they have the new criteria for this upcoming campaign?

They seem like a new crowd mate,
    Try career services they do aptitude tests across the country I did one back in 2010 and found it excellent,.

Not much info there about garda interview solutions mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭annlewis

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Oh well done, ya Im sure there is 7 stages, you can do them in fas centres around the place, and practice online im sure:)

Ya I ll keep plugging away neways I have a job to tie me over the next while so I have a plan B if the requirements are brought in.

It will be a seriously competitive process.
    Hows your fitness going?

Great stuff. I'll pick something up re the ecdl shortly. One thing at a time.
    Fitness is flying. Been fit since the last drive and I've been fit since just incase we were ever called ye know. I run or walk every day with the dog so im grand. A good 5k every day :) keeps me ticking over. ......as I curently eat a double decker and a cuppa tea !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

If you can swim you should be fine id say it is one of the less likely ones to be introduced,

Id say driving and first aid would be the main ones most relevant if they were intoduced, imo

the school of thought on this is that you will be asked to swim a certain distance in a certain time during your fitness test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭redno.3

They seem like a new crowd mate,
    Try career services they do aptitude tests across the country I did one back in 2010 and found it excellent,.

Not much info there about garda interview solutions mate

Yeah sound, I did the career services course as well, found it really helpful and prepared me well for the first two stages, I will definitely be on to them again.

I'm sure they will have it updated for the new campaign because a lot has changed since the last one, the training program in templemoe has been revised so obviously the competition for it will have to change also.

Another ominous sign the panel will be discarded I reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 kdarragh

Does anyone know whether the driving requirement will be a full licence requirement??

The process to get a learner permit is expensive enough with the lessons.

I know a guy who failed the Reserve interview but he was told to obtain the requirements mentioned in above posts, and a Learner Permit.

I can see it being full licence, as that is the requirement with most other Police forces but if anyone has any other info that would be great.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Nobody knows, but I'd nearly put money on that being a requirement

Mr Simpson wrote: »

Do you reckon it'd be Full Licence or the Learner Permit??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭carzony

kdarragh wrote: »

Full license i'd say, You can't even drive a patrol car on a learner permit.. It's a very basic requirement IMO. If money is tight I think you can go to your local Obair or fas, they help with funding and stuff like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

kdarragh wrote: »

I reckon full. Learner permit isn't of much use to them imo.

Sound, Nice one pal.

The word from HQ is that for a new requirement to be introduced it would have to be introduced as a statutory instrument,

general feeling is that they haven t been introduced,

I know the dail are back today,

Also it has been mentioned that if they do the full license requirement and in turn the driving course as part of the student gardai training it might cause some conflict within exisiting members,

And also the extra cost issues eg getting specialised driving instructors in etc

just my two cents lads,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,730 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

WilcoOut wrote: »

So that has pretty much made it official that the panel will be dissolved, Minister makes it clear that the Commissioner has recommended this course of action.

Was always going to happen but very unfair none the less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Finally it's settled !

Well thats that then. Back to Stage 1.
    We knew his was going to happen. With this announcement then, the new campaign must be close :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

Do you think some will write to us and tell us or are we not worth the 60c stamp??

Sorry to hear to those on the panel the news that is coming through,

Hope ye drive on and make the next recruitment yer own!

Good luck to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭kojack

Letter arrived just now, sent by registered post. Back to stage 1 again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭kev-bt

Registered letters being sent out today informing us on the panel that we are gone! At least it finally draws a line under what we already knew and it means that the new competition is getting closer! Still Bull**** but cant be helped now!

Same as. Got the letter this morn. At least we were informed.
    Now that we are gone, the campaign can open up once again. Bit of a waste of time cause we are gonna be sitting in the cold hallway of the medical centre in only a few months again anyway... :) Good Luck to everyone once again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Dear john received today, I shall be using it to wipe my hole with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

It's a pure balls lads, at leased it's a closure anyway. People who can't apply this time who were hanging on to the chance the panel would be used can at leased fully move on. This is all good sign that the campaigne is on the horizon. About time, if you had told me in 2008 that there would be nothing till 2014 I'd have asked you are u well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Just got the letter this morning too. It does say, "the maximum number of persons to be admitted by reference to previous Garda Trainee competitions has been reached". Does this mean that some people from the panel have got in?

It is good to finally get some correspondence from them, I've moved on and won't be applying again. Best of luck to everyone who does though.

Devil08 wrote: »
    Dear john received today, I shall be using it to wipe my hole with

Ha ha! I will b lighting the fire with it this evening!

About 5 years too late!

It scares the sh#t out of me that these are the people running the country, backstabbers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Yogi Bear

Got my letter too this morning. Best of luck to all who are able to reapply. I'm gone over the age. Enjoy your time when you do get to Templemore, and all us Reserves will show you the ropes when ye do get released out to your stations.

Can the moderators please just close this thread now and start a new one when the new panel has been established!

Finally a bit of closure with the letter yesterday so no need for this thread in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

redno.3 wrote: »
    Can the moderators please just close this thread now and start a new one when the new panel has been established!

Finally a bit of closure with the letter yesterday so no need for this thread in my opinion!

What did the letter actually say?

mycro89 wrote: »
    What did the letter actually say?

It said the maximum number of applicants had been taken from the panel!

It said those who meet the requirements can reapply, before anyone says it, it's not a case of feeling sorry for ourselves but it could have been posted to us a couple of years ago!

We were never offered the position but we were never told it was officially being scrapped until yesterday even though we all knew it was going to happen!

Too long to keep us waiting in my opinion!