Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ze Bulli

achieve wrote: »
    Have decided to stop following this thread. I think another sub forum for nerds is required:)

I only want to have a nice vape, not go to Mars........

I sort of agree - this is like some sort of vaping sub-club. also maybe the name should be changed from repairable atty to repairing atty - as in most of the time seems to be spent tinkering with the things and blowtorches, metres of wire and mesh etc etc are required....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

glasso wrote: »
    I sort of agree - this is like some sort of vaping sub-club. also maybe the name should be changed from repairable atty to repairing atty - as in most of the time seems to be spent tinkering with the things and blowtorches, metres of wire and mesh etc etc are required....

This is a thread within a forum about a particular aspect of vaping.
    It's your choice whether you want to read or participate in it.
    Don't see how it affects the rest of the forum, never did before and no reason why it should now.

Just don't bother reading it if it annoys ya that much :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭alec76

The second repair drove me nuts getting it right, kept getting a hotspot on the bottom and multiple firing quickly probably killed my mod
    Very unfortunate.... Is there any warranty on this mod ?
    Couldn't find the time yet , my line still waiting for me......
    Mechanical mods will definitely forgive you all those hot spots and multiple firing....Although i would have E1 error code( short circuit protection) on my Provari rather than rocket launcher in my mouth .....

alec76 wrote: »
    Very unfortunate.... Is there any warranty on this mod ?
    Couldn't find the time yet , my line still waiting for me......
    Mechanical mods will definitely forgive you all those hot spots and multiple firing....Although i would have E1 error code( short circuit protection) on my Provari rather than rocket launcher in my mouth .....

Best to do it when ya have plenty of time on your hands Alec.

Will send him a message later and if he can do something for me, it's a decent little mod with a 3 Amp limit.

Users are saying use the Line on a mechanical mod then go onto Provari later.
    Or maybe do a repair at 1.5 Ohms and use it at 3.3v on the provari was another suggestion.

I have it at 1.9 Ohms now using the eGo battery, juice monster so it is lol

Have to see now if i get the box fixed or is it worth getting something suitable for it :rolleyes:

Looking forward to hearing how yas get on with it.

it's a decent little mod with a 3 Amp limit.
    That's right ....Amperage Limiting, Short Circuit Protection, u can't underestimate those safety features .....And the mechanical mod got .....NONE

• Registered Users Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Gryzor

derra wrote: »
    How's the Don working out for ya?

Working well, using it in mini mode pretty much all the time...
    alec76 wrote: »
    That's right ....Amperage Limiting, Short Circuit Protection, u can't underestimate those safety features .....And the mechanical mod got .....NONE

Doesn't putting in protected batteries add this sort of protection to mechanical mods??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

its putting alot of faith in the batterys circuitry though, and the type of batteries that need protection circuits are typically the potentially explosive ones

well I say potentially, but it's pretty rare. just.. a possibility.

Received the Line this morning, beautifully machined piece of kit. Looking forward to getting it going later :D

Hi - just wondering if anyone would have a bit of spare bits of wicking material from your Bulling - I want to try to use it in my imist. I can paypal to cover costs and postage. I looked at the german bulli site but not worth paying 7 euro postage just to get the wick stuff on it's own....

Gryzor wrote: »
    Received the Line this morning, beautifully machined piece of kit. Looking forward to getting it going later :D

Good stuff Gryzor, let us know how ya get on.

Hi - just wondering if anyone would have a bit of spare bits of wicking material from your Bulling - I want to try to use it in my imist. I can paypal to cover costs and postage. I looked at the german bulli site but not worth paying 7 euro postage just to get the wick stuff on it's own....

http://www.irishvapers.ie/accesories/165-wick-replacements-for-imist-atomizer.html

weren't in stock the other day....

I guess ya be tinkering with the things yourself now seeing that they have it in stock.

that was a tongue in cheek observation!

Don't knock it till you try it, your heading in the right direction now anyway.

Change wick and wire at your pleasure and your away in a hack at more or less whatever resistance you want to suit your needs.

Don't knock it till you try it, your heading in the right direction now anyway.

Change wick and wire at your pleasure and your away in a hack at more or less whatever resistance you want to suit your needs.

I may well end up getting one eventually alright - just having a look through this thread to get an idea of the thing it's difficult to make out what's going on sometimes! Think that I'll buy some bulli fibreglass to see how it works. That way I could reuse the metal part of the imist wick and just replace the thread material.

Yeah it's probably a bit confusing at this stage going through the thread but have a gander anyway. If ya see a repairable ya like the look of, ask about it here and get a couple of opinions.

I have a couple different types of wick here ya can try, send me a PM and i'll send it off on Monday to ya.

Done another repair on the Line and it's rockin' :D

Really starting to enjoy this atty now.

The way Scott does it in the video is ideal, wrap the wire around the small post first, then mesh then second post.
    This way makes the wire really tight, put something in the mesh sticking out a little bit when winding to keep it's shape.

May cut nic level from 6mg to 3mg on this atty, very effective nicotine delivery system :pac:

Struggling with this yoke lads, getting a hotspot on the bottom of the coil between the wick and the post, if i hold the button for longer than a couple of seconds, the wire pops. Wrapped around 4 coils at this stage, same result each time

Any ideas?? :(

Struggling with this yoke lads, getting a hotspot on the bottom of the coil between the wick and the post, if i hold the button for longer than a couple of seconds, the wire pops. Wrapped around 4 coils at this stage, same result each time

Any ideas?? :(

Don't smash it against the wall just yet, i bet you feel like doing that.

What wire are you using?
    I'm using Kanthal A .20, i believe anything less will make it more likely to pop.
    Have not tried it yet with Nichrome .20 which is thinner wire.
    Has to be wrapped tight around the posts, should not be able to move it easily up or down the posts.

Check the resistance of the setup before firing up as well.
    I'm getting 1.9 0hms, Looking at 3 turns on one side and 4 on the other.

I've had a couple pop on me as well. Gotta make sure the coil is fairly neat with sufficient space so that it doesnt touch off itself crossing over to the post.
    Don't have the bottom turn close to the base, should be up clear from that.

When ya manage to wire it up and ya get a hotspot but stays in tact, just fiddle around a bit, push the post out a bit or in, hit gently off the wire with a pin, burn some juice on it.

Stick with it.

Handy gadget if ya have a mechanical mod device on the list or meets requirements.

Evolv Kick

http://www.evolvapor.com/kick/

Convert your Megalodon into something like the Darwin.

Don't smash it against the wall just yet, i bet you feel like doing that.

What wire are you using?
    I'm using Kanthal A .20, i believe anything less will make it more likely to pop.
    Have not tried it yet with Nichrome .20 which is thinner wire.
    Has to be wrapped tight around the posts, should not be able to move it easily up or down the posts.

Check the resistance of the setup before firing up as well.
    I'm getting 1.9 0hms, Looking at 3 turns on one side and 4 on the other.

I've had a couple pop on me as well. Gotta make sure the coil is fairly neat with sufficient space so that it doesnt touch off itself crossing over to the post.
    Don't have the bottom turn close to the base, should be up clear from that.

When ya manage to wire it up and ya get a hotspot but stays in tact, just fiddle around a bit, push the post out a bit or in, hit gently off the wire with a pin, burn some juice on it.

Stick with it.

Did a new wick this morning, got up and running! Just about though, resistance is 1.6, 3\4 turns. All i can use is an ego battery, anything else glows at the bottom post after a second or two....provari E1's.

Wire is Kanthal D, .2mm. Kanthal A is better i think??

Edit (Some time later) After a bit of fiddling with the where the wire wraps around the post, got rid of the hotspots. Provari likes it now aswell...finally :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

You could use some wick from an old ego-w or something. Works well when its done on the ego-c and the iMist is the same set up from what I can see?

Did a new wick this morning, got up and running! Just about though, resistance is 1.6, 3\4 turns. All i can use is an ego battery, anything else glows at the bottom post after a second or two....provari E1's.

Wire is Kanthal D, .2mm. Kanthal A is better i think??

The difference between the two is that Kanthal A1 can take a higher temp than the D.
    I just got it as they were all buying it for the Line.

It is a bit of a pain to set up but the more ya do it the more ya will get used it.

Ya may just have to read the Line thread on UKVapers and pick up a few tips.

Poke at the wire etc, slight movements can cause the hotspot to go away as well.

Alec and Gryzor
    Got some wick from Heavens Gifts that i was gonna send yas but don't think i will bother.
    It's 1mm and looks same as Bulli wick, but this stuff is stronger and does'nt seem to wick as well.
    I softened it with a yellow flame off the lighter and that helps a bit.
    6 turns of Nichcrome @ 1.8 on the eGo and it works but does'nt seem to soak in the juice as well, the coil heats up fairly quickly. (dripping)

Will try it later and see if it's alright with the cartridge but don't wanna vape the Bulli that way again.

Like a fool i got a load of it, cheap but probably no use to me now unless it softens up and wicks better :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Bubba9

Alec and Gryzor
    Got some wick from Heavens Gifts that i was gonna send yas but don't think i will bother.
    It's 1mm and looks same as Bulli wick, but this stuff is stronger and does'nt seem to wick as well.
    I softened it with a yellow flame off the lighter and that helps a bit.
    6 turns of Nichcrome @ 1.8 on the eGo and it works but does'nt seem to soak in the juice as well, the coil heats up fairly quickly. (dripping)

Will try it later and see if it's alright with the cartridge but don't wanna vape the Bulli that way again.

Like a fool i got a load of it, cheap but probably no use to me now unless it softens up and wicks better :rolleyes:

I have the same HG wick and was trying for ages to rewick an Ego-C atty with it....didn't work. Green Hornet gave me a tip of soaking it in alcohol so I made up a wick, put it vodka for an hour or so, dried it out and it works even better than the original. Maybe this might work for you.

Bubba9 wrote: »
    I have the same HG wick and was trying for ages to rewick an Ego-C atty with it....didn't work. Green Hornet gave me a tip of soaking it in alcohol so I made up a wick, put it vodka for an hour or so, dried it out and it works even better than the original. Maybe this might work for you.

Cheers Bubba, will give that a try so.

Hopefully it softens the wick as it's too stiff and hard, fecking fibreglass on viagra compared to the Bulli wick.

Then i'm thinking was it treated with some sort of mad chemical:confused:

I dunno what to do ... lost ... spent few hours trying to set up the line.. No luck... No matter how many turns of wire i did ( nichrome 0.2, kanthal d 0.20 , kanthal d 0.16 )-- multimeter and provari showing resistance 1-1.2 ohms

194271.jpg

194272.jpg

faulty atty , i presume ?

no, atty is fine... ( checked it with the regular wick on )
    mesh wasn't oxidized properly.... i guess . I leave it for now ....
    missed Arsenal- Spurs game :(

Any luck yet Alec?

Here is mine on a eGo battery @ 1.9 Ohms