Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v2.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Who is yer man on the end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Daly showing herself up for the populist hypocrite she is.. Could you imagine if it had been one of the FG front benchers that had been found guilty of tax evasion.. ?? Double standards..

She speaks with such authority, but says nothing of substance... Reminds me of Mary Wilson..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I wish there was an Irish version of Spitting Image on air now, the 'Technical Group' would be a very easy target. Ming, Clare Daly, Mick Wallace and their buddies - it would be like shooting fish in a barrel.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I can't understand how any TD living in Dublin could be claiming over €1,000 per month in genuine travel expenses. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Daly showing herself up for the populist hypocrite she is.. Could you imagine if it had been one of the FG front benchers that had been found guilty of tax evasion.. ?? Double standards..

She speaks with such authority, but says nothing of substance... Reminds me of Mary Wilson..

In fairness she is right about the Technical Group...it isn't a party of similar ideology. You can't criticise it in that context....that's nonsense

Happyman42 wrote: »
    In fairness she is right about the Technical Group...it isn't a party of similar ideology. You can't criticise it in that context....that's nonsense

My point is not about their differences in ideology. My point is that if this was a member of the FF / FG or Labour party, there is no way that she would not be milking the situation for all the votes she could get... She is not barking out her about this, simply because it is one of the people that she has aligned herself with for speaking rights reasons..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I think Enda Kenny is probably more popular than Jesus Christ in this country at the moment.

My point is not about their differences in ideology. My point is that if this was a member of the FF / FG or Labour party, there is no way that she would not be milking the situation for all the votes she could get... She is not barking out her about this, simply because it is one of the people that she has aligned herself with for speaking rights reasons..

I thought she made her separation from and views about Wallace quite clear. On the subject of the expenses I also think she is right to a degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Skid wrote: »
    I wish there was an Irish version of Spitting Image on air now, the 'Technical Group' would be a very easy target. Ming, Clare Daly, Mick Wallace and their buddies - it would be like shooting fish in a barrel.

http://www.youtube.com/user/cutbacks2010?feature=watch

That's something similar.

clared97.jpg

I cant find that picture they are talking about .. above is the best I can do... The cheek of Mary O'Rourke, complaining about Labour / FG trying to clean up FF's mess... Sickening that she STILL pulls so much money from the state, as well as being paid for these nixers...

I'm gonna have to turn this off, it's putting me in bad form.. :(

Happyman42 wrote: »

It will be a problem for the Socialist Party at the next Election, they are rarely referred to by name anymore, usually just referred to as members of the Technical Group. There is confusion as to their identity. They don't help themselves by also being part of a 'United Left Alliance'

They need a clear identity - and they should also insist that the Opinion Poll research companies stop lumping them in with 'others'.

Eoin was very quick to say he's not an economist just there.

Can't blame him really.

A few years ago everyone on this programme was claiming to be one.

Jesus Christ.... Thanks to Mary O'Rourke and the FF party for initially calling the fire brigade after they had burned the building down...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,499 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is Mary O'Rourke seriously that brainwashed or is she attempting to brainwash :rolleyes:

Skid wrote: »
    It will be a problem for the Socialist Party at the next Election, they are rarely referred to by name anymore, usually just referred to as members of the Technical Group. There is confusion as to their identity. They don't help themselves by also being part of a 'United Left Alliance'

They need a clear identity - and they should also insist that the Opinion Poll research companies stop lumping them in with 'others'.

The ULA would only need two more TDs next time around to make a group with the same speaking rights as the technical group.

The media has been what, Pat? :eek:

Careful Pat :D

That's about 2/3 of the Mooney Show filled for tomorrow anyway..

Saved by the bell there Pat !

That's about 2/3 of the Mooney Show filled for tomorrow anyway..

I just remembered, the lawn needs mowing.

and I don't have a lawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

The arrogance of Pat Rabitte is unbelievable. being in power with FG has already engrained in him the swaggering smugness of the blueshirts.
    hope he gets his well deserved come-uppance in the next election.
    would be interesting if VB now dedicates a show to Pat and his wifes famous (infamous) dealings on that "field" in county Galway...!!!

FG to make a big announcement tomorrow, maybe something about the household charge. They'll need something to deflect from the "Taoiseach is a homophobe" story.

Kurz wrote: »
    FG to make a big announcement tomorrow, maybe something about the household charge. They'll need something to deflect from the "Taoiseach is a homophobe" story.

Most Fine Gael voters would share the Taoiseach's opinion on gay marriage.

washman3 wrote: »

would be interesting if VB now dedicates a show to Pat and his wifes famous (infamous) dealings on that "field" in county Galway...!!!

What's that about? Source?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

That was Gilmore.

Twas indeed. That field is a puck of a sliotar away from where I live.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,349 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The arrogance of Pat Rabitte is unbelievable. being in power with FG has already engrained in him the swaggering smugness of the blueshirts.
    hope he gets his well deserved come-uppance in the next election.

I'd thank your post 10 times if I could. I was just coming on to make this very point. The arrogance of the guy last night was unbelievable.
    Next he will be like those models on the Loreal ads telling us "because I'm worth it".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

That was Gilmore.

APOLOGIES... that was Gilmore.
    But we did'nt see his old buddy Pat question it at the time
    Lets hope Vincent grills him on it sometime.
    Gilmore has become another guy with breath-taking arrogance.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Seeing loads of wrinkles watching this on tv3.ie/live :p

I just heard on the radio coming home that Joe Higgins, Clare Daly and Joan Collins are gonna have to pay back the expenses they spent travelling to places outside their constituencies to protest against the household charge.. :D:D