Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

Interesting seminar on at rochestown park Monday night, jbm, Kingston, Nash and a few others speaking. If I'm around I might go.
    http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/01/24/cork-hurlers-will-offer-insight-training-preparation/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/rebel-ogs-app-liance-of-science-to-eradicate-burnout-in-players-256404.html
    A great idea,fair play to all involved.

It is just a shame that with the all science being used,common sense goes totally out the window when it comes dual stars at senior level in that burnout is a major factor at senior and dualism at senior increases that.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/criost-ri-may-act-after-refs-card-error-256406.html

Chriost ri are appealing the game with Dingle over the black card.I didn't think it had a huge bearing,but reading today there was still time left,and what makes it worse is how in name of jesus,a linesman that is on the kerry background team with Eammon fitzmaurice at senior ,where fitzmurice was the Dingle manager Wednesday was allowed officate as a linesman in the same game.

Ephie was right to complain ,and I hope they get a replay.The other linesman was a kerry man also.

Hamilton beat templemore in theMunster B football,through to the semi final,with most of the hurling team.
    What a week for them.James Mccarthy ,Haven has been doing coaching there.,super coach.

That is a good team for Saturday ,bar Mcdonnell at full back,but while in truthJBM, did not have much options he still had two.Mcdonnell for all he's hurling is not a full back,good enough to start for Cork anywhere from 2 to 9 bar 6 and 3.
    He lacks a presence for a central position as the main man to command an aera and command others.He has pace,hurling,and a super athlete he can play anywhere else.

Colm Spillane I hope starts ,with UCC,and it will be a good a test on Patrick horgan.Anyone wants to how  good full back is at any level and how the basic concepts of it are required and needed even   at school level,in that while its a level below,the fundamentals apply ,brave,honest,good under the high ball and a full back that plays the aera first and foremost and then  the ball.

Barry Fitzpatrick Ard scoil,Kevin Daly Dungarvan ,and  Michael  Mcsweeney of Hamilton are all strong,fine solid men ,and full backs by nature at schools.Mcsweeney and Daly gave an exibhition of full back play in the Harty Cup,both making vital blocks and putting there body on the line time and again,and plucking ball after ball out of the rky,and then made long raking clearances up field.They showed why a full back is the cornerstone of any team at any level thats wants to win.

Rochestown have John Cashman,Doon have Tom hayes,similar players.

My point is even at schools you must have solid reliable full backs.
    Intercounty senior hurling at the elite level is the highest level,so if a natural 3 is fundamental in schools,it has to be at Senior.
    All the schools full backs I mentioned,stand firm,don't allow the man beat them ,and protect there goal.That is there instinct,and they have been coached this from a young age.

Mcdonnell has not been a fullback.He was midfield as a minor.
    Yes you can convert some players to that role.The Rock was a half forward ,on the Mideltown CBS Harty Cup team,95 I think,he was strong under the high ball and hardy.
    Mclirney of Clare was the same.
    They were converted ,from ballwinning forwards to full back,as the quailtes they had as forwards were similar to what you needed at 3.They werent free scoring forwards.
    Mcdonnell as shown before and in the semifinal against Dublin doesnt stand tall and upright if he is taken on and is exposed for goals ,and is not dominant under high ball,and is too much like Shane O Neill,and Brian Murphy ,a super hurler with too much hurling and not enough discpline or organistion for a 3.

Eoin Keane a great talent at underage ,and Mark Ellis are better options ,i would feel for there saturday.Yes there is reservations with both but at least it something new.We know what Mcdonnell brings ,and does not bring to the table.

He will be made look poorer than what he is at 3.He may survive on Saturday,depending who is on him ,but others will cause him bother.
    Lehane if he starts there for UCC ,would actually suit Mcdonnell,in that he is super fast and has hurling to mark lehane.Lehane isnt an orthdox full forward .

Seamus Harnedy is unlikey to play ,if he did would have been a great test of mcdonnell,the type he is not suited to.Dan Mccormack may trouble him.Bud Hartnett will suit he's style.

Keane is brave,hard ,tough,and only for a bad injury would have rattled it but it remains to be seen how that set him back.He deserves a chance,but at 3 and it is interestingy if he is a centre back.
    Him and Ellis are better options than Mcdonnell or Cadogan or Cahalane .

Like I said last year,it is impossible to win an All Ireland without a Natural 3.Yes we came close ,but were brutally exposed in the replay.The warning signs were there all year ,Clare were the only ones ruthless to attack that aera.
    No Cork team in the last 40 years won an All Ireland with out a formidable presence at 3.

Corner backs,are fine Shane O  Neill ,and Killan Murphy wont let the side down(very good in knowlan park).Murphy is top quailty,may not start in May,but that is not a reflection on him,he is up against top top corner backs,we can only play 2.
    Half back line is not great .Ellis and Keane ,could be exposed.Are they better than Joyce at 6,no they are not.The worry so early now,is they don't see joyce as a centre back.Eliis does not have the pace for a wing back,yes he could get away with that at centre back,but he doesn't have the speed of hurling for that posistion.
    Egan needs to find he's form,the talent is there.He needs consistency.What is strange,is the best half back in Cork at club last year,worth a go at 3,is not even on the Cork panel,in Jamie Nagle
    Stephen White has been around since 2008,is brave,honest etc,but we know what he brings and does not.
    Lacks the speed of Hurling against faster teams like Clare and Kilkenny,and hits poor clearances at times.He has aggression and bite ,but Nagle has those attriubtes in abundance but way more hurling.

Willam Egan got sent off during the week in Dublin,and is not at a crucial cross roads in he's career with Cork,in that potential and talent is not enough for a player in he's 4th year on the Senior stage,he must start delivering constantly good performances,which he has the talent to do so .As that famous line from the poem,Invictus states

"I am the master of my fate",
    that applies to Egan with Cork.
    Midfield ,is Lorchan and Haughney.Lorcan is fine for Saturday but isnt a partner for Kearney later on.Kearney is certain to start in May.
    Haughney,has super hands,wristy like a flyweight in boxing,and hasunreal hurling.

Has he the bite,aggression,doggness,and steel for Galvin of Clare or Lester Ryan of Kilkenny is the question.???Give him he's chance and we will see.

That remains to be seen and Rob O Shea if UCC ,play him there who I rate,and has a bit of cut about him ,is a good test for him.O Shea with Coughlan and the sub Sugrue were the pick of cork at u21 tead last year against Tipp.

Lawton deserves a chance.
    Cian Mac, I would not start him.What can he tell us that we do not already know.He is fine in heavy ground,dry fast ground ,not mobile or fast enough,at best a 20 min sub,howerver a better sub than what we had last year.

Michael Sullivan,im a huge fan,super strength,good in the air,a worker,grafter and a super engine ,he never got a sustained run of games,give him a few and judge him then.Would have been an option last year before Walsh,Cahalane came in the picture ,but now not a starting half forward as the lads ahead of him,with Harnedy  can score,he can be erratic,but I would love to see him at midfield,could be the perfect foil for the attacking Kearney.And he is brave and gutsy,loves the rough and rumble.Done very well against Noel Mcgrath,2011 u21 and against Limerick in the epic final.

Coughlan is a  super player and suited to the modern game ,with a full league be unreal for Cork ,but not a corner forward,better at half,but serious competiton there and thats good.A great bite and cut to him.
    Hogsy unreal,needs to play like last year,and he will be fine.
    Moylan super as a sub in the all ireland final,a replicate of Paudie Sul,bags of hurling,brave and knows where the  goals are.

A good team,we dont know what UCC will start,with a game against Clare on Sunday ,and they start the defence of there Fitzgibbon cup ,on Thursday,but im hoping for a big test,but that is unlike to happen ,and Cork should win .Impossible to say for certain what they may start and that will decide the winning margin.

It is impossible to preview the game ,with any accuracy as to do so in any game you must analayse the strength and weakness of your opponent.That opponent UCC, team could start two different teams such is the pick they have.

Only two forwards are in the subs with Cork,Michael Cahalane and Luke O  Farell.I can't wait to see Cahalane in a Cork shirt ,im suprised with a Harty Cup Semi final  a week later he is there.I pray to god he does not get injured absoultey vital for Hamilton against Ard Scoil in the Harty Cup semifinal.They are far from a one man team,but Cahalane is there main man,in that he has played schools senior for Hamiliton be it in A or B competitions and he has a wealth of expierence that is vital to them as Ard Scoil have huge expierence in there squad.

I would hope ,he just gets ten minutes and no more,an introduction more or less.He played at such an intensity Wednesday and he then played I think in the Munster B ,in Hamilon super win against Templemore ,he hardly needs 3 games in 4 days,with a Harty game next week,the biggest game in the School History.Fair play to there win today,James Mccarthy done coaching with them,it helped.

Speaking of Ard Scoil they played a very good,great workout for both teams ,against the Cork Minors last night on a cold damp eveining.They had all the big guns,Morey,Galvin,O Hallorhan,,Mike Casey corner back senior Na Piarsaigh v Portumna soon, and Clare likey  u21 Barry Fitzpatrick etc.

There taking the Harty game with Hamitlon seriously,as from what I could tell, I think,English,O Brien and Brown were there.

Cork had a lot of the 45 panel missing for various reasons,club games ,etc but gave great account of themselves,won around 3-16 to 13 points in a great game.Ard Scoil have an eye on the Harty Cup,but they will be happy with the workout.

Biliy Dunne was maganifcent .2-1,a joy to behold with Eoghan Kinery superb. from play,won loads of clean aerial ball ,and strong running ,and like I said 4 months ago ,when I saw him at the u17 All Ireland,this guy from killeagh St Itas is a serious ,prospect,loads of hurling,similar to Seamus Harnedy,the way he plays..He scored some lovely points.He is strong,fast ,mobile,works so hard and is very brave.

Darren Casey was superb ,like he was against Doon last week in the Harty cup at midfield,and Browne on both the football panel as well,had a great game.Diramuid Buckley at left half back,was very good,and got a good goal also.

This was a Cork team with loads missing yet the hurling and touch in heavy rain was super ,and this team played super intelligent hurling.We have lovely hurlers and always had in Cork .We have an abundance of super goalkeepers at all levels.Dalton was superb,and Patrick Collins u21 keeper last year is minor this year also and probably the starting keeper,but Dalton is some keeper.

Like I said ,Cork with Ring and Landers would be superbly trained and a serious team.They are that ,and when a lot of other come back ,they have the makings of a very good side.There is some super talent at cork at underage.A lot of lads that played tonight are underage next year once they dont change the age limit at minor,and whatever happens this year,I am extremely confident Landers and Ring will deliver an All ireland Minor to Cork before there term is up.You see unlike other teams where you hope they do well,this set up ,I have a belief ,and confidence in the set up,because as a whole ,with management and talent availble ,it is as good as anything else where in the Country.

I have seen Limerick minors train many times with Wallis and Cregan ,and saw them in challenge matches,particulary against Mary 1,where they annilhated them .They are a serious test away from home for Cork,and have around 10 of last years team,should we meet in the semifinal,but I have seen nothing between both squads to suggest Cork can't win ,or Limerick are ahead of us in preparation.
    They cut there panel last week I believe.If that game materilases between the Treaty and Rebel County,it is a Must see for any Hurling fan,as it has the makings of a thriller.Watching young lads play,there is always a freedom of spirit an elgance to their play.

The Cork Minor team is just 4 months in but have done super work ,and they will get better.A tough job to cut that panel to around 30 or whatever they decide ,when it is done next week as they are some talent on that panel,and its hard to predict what it will be.

That team was missing a load,yet the hurling touch ,and speed of play was good,as was the cohesion and understanding and team play amongst them.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Cork footballers playing Dublin tomorrow on a challenge match, somewhere in Dublin I think.

Yeah there is a load on ,at the moment.U21 team play Galway in LIT,minors played Beara tonight .

A lot of cork teams tommorrow with Youghal and Clyda and Cork hurlers.No shortage of games .

It's been confirmed that the rock will be in charge if cork u-16 hurlers this year with ger Cunningham as has already been said taking the u-15's. Both very good appointments there.

Rebel Og Academy 2014 Appointments

The Rebel Og Academy, which oversees programmes for Cork GAA Development squads and regional panels from U13 to U17, incorporating an extensive development programme for all youth players in Cork, is pleased to announce the following appointments.
    Three-time All Ireland winner Diarmuid O’Sullivan of Cloyne has been ratified as the Cork U16 hurling manager for 2014. Having served Cork with distinction from his debut in 1997 to his final appearance with Cork in 2008, his experience at all levels will be of huge benefit to the young players under his care. Former Cork Senior and current Midleton CBS coach Ronan Dwane of Aghada will also be involved.
    Meanwhile, former Cork football captain Derek Kavanagh, a key member of Conor Counihan’s All Ireland football winning side in 2010 has been appointed as manager of the Cork U15 footballers for 2014. A winner of eight county titles with the famed Nemo Rangers, he is expected to bring a wealth of knowledge to the programme.
    Also, former Cork hurling legend Ger Cunningham of St. Finbarr’s, has come on board as U15 hurling manager for the coming season. A three-time All Ireland and four-time All Star winner, he comes with extensive inter-county sideline experience also and will oversee a group of emerging coaches, who will take charge of the Tony Forrestal winners from 2013. These include Noel Furlong of Carrigtwohill and Declan Fitzgerald of Buttevant, who are also currently coaching the UCC and UL Fresher hurling teams, respectively.
    There are a number of appointments yet to finalised. These are Under 16 football and at Under 14 level. The full list of squad mentors will be announced at the official launch of the year’s programme at the Mardyke Arena on February 5th next.
    Finally, appointments are also being made at U17 in both football and hurling, with both squads now operating under the respective Minor inter-county team managements.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Success not a certainty but good to see former players with experience of winning All Irelands and the demands of modern GAA involved.

Ucc team today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Whats the story with Shane O Donnell?

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭webels

Cork 2:19 ucc 1:14 (moylan got corks first goal horgan 2nd)

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭North Cork Star

Good outing today by both Cork Hurlers and UCC!
    Players to watch out for throughout the spring: Paul Haughney midfield, hurled very well and scored 3 nice points. Eoin Keane, hurled well in the half backline, could get himself out of trouble easily when in possession. Michael O'Sullivan, then hurled very well, worked tirelessly and set up scores, win frees as well as scoring two points himself. Rob O'Shea, Colm Spillane, Daniel Roche, Barry Lawton and Brian Murray also hurled a fair share of ball throughout the game.

A good outing is right. It was never going to be a shootout with that wind there, some unreal gusts there at times.
    I'd be very slow to over analyse today at all but what was said above with the players named if agree with. Who was very effective today from the word go was cian mac. Caught and broke the world of ball and had a very good player in paudi pender in trouble. Took some nice points in the second half and and generally made the right choice in possession. Showed good encouragement to mickey sull and and Lawton outside him which was very good to see. Jimmy made a point of going out to him when he called him ashore late on and congratulating him.That said, I'd expect him to do well in that heavy ground. His hurling was never in question but he just doesn't have the mobility on hard fast ground. Still an option off the bench for me.

Very impressed with haughney today finished the game stronger than he started it and got some lovely scores. He's def put his hand up. Mickey sull likewise, seems to be able to have that ability to break a tackle and is a good direct runner, caused the ucc defence a lot of trouble late on, he did well and with Harnedy and Cronin possibly missing for the limerick game, he's an option.

A word on eoin Keane lastly, I'll admit, I haven't seen a whole pile of the guy before today at all. At first I thought he started the game very well, big strong lad, not afraid of it and dealt well with rob o Shea early on but I dunno does he just look out of place at wing back maybe? Where's his natural position for Finbarr's? His recovery speed seems to be poor on first viewing but that's only on first viewing.

One final thing does someone know who the last 2 subs were, 23 and 24 not on the team sheet,I didn't catch the announcer.

Best of luck to Youghal and Clyda Rovers tomorrow. Would be great to have both in Croke Park in two weeks time.

Have just seen on facebook that the Youghal game is off

A good win today for Cork hurlers ,in truth never any doubt,and UCC understandably didnt play Lehane,Harnedy ,Prendergast,Bud etc.

Mcdonnell did not start and was not a big loss ,at full,shane o neill went there,and again like in the replayed all ireland final,and against Galway in the league,he is not good under the high ball,and was badly at fault of a super goal by Griffin,o neill mistimed hes move for the ball.

Colm spillane I thought well for UCC ,has aggression ,and is fast and he showed why he must get games in the league,and good under the high ball.

Eoin keane was very good,tough ,and teak,and you can only go around him,not through him,hence no way,like I said yesterday he is a half back.He would be absoultely roasted by ,damien hayes ,John O Dywer ,Tonly Kelly,etc on a dry day at half back.Hpn heavy going he struggled at times.As a full back he is worth a go,as he will give you a physical prescence ,and is good in the air-brave ,and has undestanding of full back play and he has a lack of pace,but with two fast corner backs he wont be as exposed,and would give us a physical prescence.
    Is he the answer at 3,needs more games but him and spillane are better long term options than wasting time on cadogan and cahalane.

I would start him or spillane at 3 for limerick.The rock never had great pace,but had a good reading of the game,keane has that.Only for injury,he would be a starter.Can he get that form back?time will tell,today he done enough to get more game,but not as a half back.

Ellis is the same, at full back if anywhere is the place to play him,but like I said not as good as keane in potential.

Haugney,by god,some hands,blessed by the lord jesus,lightening fast and 3 good points ,done what was expected,but with the greatest respect,murray and roche who played under age for cork,and who wouldnt be known for steel,or toughness,didnt test him in that regard and he remains to be tested,against tough,steel players,and I would start him against limerick,and hopefully limerick will show us plenty of timber and it will test us,he done all that was asked of today ,but want to see him against better men.Hurling isnt a doubt,attuide,i want to see,and a steely resolve.
    cian mac did do very well,but I said that last night ,he would.If every day was like today he would be an automatic starter,but it wont,and in a scorching thurles or croke park ,he wont have the pace for clare or most teams.As a sub,maybee,but he is unlikely to last a fast flowing ,high tempo game.Todays pace was slower and he thrived as he has and always had plenty of hurling.

O shea at half forward,very good and was tough ,and relishes the tough stuff.For me he must get a chance at midfield,haughney 3 points gets him the start for limerick,but o shea is a good sub.He is an intelligent hurler and moves the ball fast .

I said I rate Michael sul,and today showed why.He is tough,fast,some engine ,brave and can win aeral ball,but is sturdy in ,that he is strong as an ox.

If harnedy is out for limerick,start him at half forward,but he is not a realistic half forward in may,as lehane,harnedy,walsh,cahalane are all better in they do everything he does,but they score which he cant.

But when harnedy is fit,he with o shea,and haugney are options at midfield.Sullivan is consistent,he always gives a hundred per cent ,and has super stamina,and it begs belief and I said it many a time,how cussen and naughton were used ahead of him last year .
    He has it for intercounty.I don't rate guys and say they are good unless they are good,and he is good.

Horgan got a super goaland lead the attack well.Today he showed a good attuide.
    Moylan like I said will get goals,and that was a great reaction goal.
    We have depth we didnt have last year up front.Thats great as the starting 6 have to play better than last year to stast,subs better than the starting 6 to start.Thats good for cork.Lawton done very good

A good workout,and I heard ,not confirmed yet,we have a challenge match next weekend then Limerick in two weeks.

Joyce done okay ,at corner back which is not.
    My team for limerick
    Nash .o neill,keane,sul or brian murphy or killan or mcdonnell(all are fine)

Mcloughlin,joyce Egan (or spillane)

Kearney ,haughney (if not up to it ,o shea as sub )

Lehane,Sullivan(if harnedy is out)Walsh

Moylan ,Cronin(keep mccarthy honest)horgan

Tommorrow is a huge day for Clyda ,and fitzgerald is a huge loss,but the weather is hail stones,and heavy rain,and as the west is notourious for,a gale force wind may be there.
    That will suit clyda down to the ground.,as they dont have any ,not even one marquee forward ,that can get five or six points from play,that all teams have ,but they are a team,and every player is essential to them.It is the sum of the parts that get them there winning total.

For that to happen,clyda must keep kilteragh to below 13 points or so as they wont win a shoout ,and despite the critics cant play open football,if they do,they will be beaten out the gate.English knows that,and he will play to there strengths and win or loose they wont leave anything on that field.
    O shea,carey,kissane,hanlon,buckley(struggling with an injury,heavy conditions will test him)mullanes all have to and I believe they will,have big games,and the blanket 12 man defence with heavy wintry conditions will suit them,and kissane will love that,and hes endurance,strength and stamina,where he wont be exposed for a lack of pace in days like that ,will give them a great chance.

Numbers mean nothing tommorrow,as clyda will have 12 backs,and kissane drive and energy is key ,and if clyda win,expect him to get a point.

Clyda have to keep this low scoring,and unlike against miltown malably,cant chase the game,as with mike macsweeney ,7 goals out of there 11 in 8 games for kilteragh and mayo minor ,Conroy ,1-3 in the all ireland minor final ,can exploit space and score ,but once clyda keep there shape, and space is kept confined ,they will get frustrated,and if that happens as kilteragh are used to free flowing football,may panic and clyda who have heart,fight,and eypierence and know how to win a close game,dont have any big stars like kilteragh ,but are a team in every word and that maybe,just get them over the line.

Its a big ask against a team that played senior for over 10 years,and mayo club football is strong,but they may do it.It is a close call,if fitzgerald was there ,i would say clyda,as midfield is key ,and macsweeney and conroy as lethal as they are ,cant score ,unless they get quailty ball.

Best of luck to clyda ,win or loose,they have already done cork proud.

Youghal game is meant to be called off.In a way good news,at least I may make that the next day,as it was hard to choose between that and the football ,and I was undecided as both teams have big games.

Mcloughlin and galvin made the league panel it said in the paper for the cork footballers.Delighted,for galvin,he deserves a chance.
    Mcloughlin is a strange call by management.Against kerry last sunday,he was exposed on a number of occasions .

Great to see the hurlers back in action,and hopefully it will be a long summer.They have there games with laois away and limerick at home ,telvised live by setanta ireland.

Horse84 wrote: »
    A good outing is right. It was never going to be a shootout with that wind there, some unreal gusts there at times.
    I'd be very slow to over analyse today at all but what was said above with the players named if agree with. Who was very effective today from the word go was cian mac. Caught and broke the world of ball and had a very good player in paudi pender in trouble. Took some nice points in the second half and and generally made the right choice in possession. Showed good encouragement to mickey sull and and Lawton outside him which was very good to see. Jimmy made a point of going out to him when he called him ashore late on and congratulating him.That said, I'd expect him to do well in that heavy ground. His hurling was never in question but he just doesn't have the mobility on hard fast ground. Still an option off the bench for me.

Very impressed with haughney today finished the game stronger than he started it and got some lovely scores. He's def put his hand up. Mickey sull likewise, seems to be able to have that ability to break a tackle and is a good direct runner, caused the ucc defence a lot of trouble late on, he did well and with Harnedy and Cronin possibly missing for the limerick game, he's an option.

A word on eoin Keane lastly, I'll admit, I haven't seen a whole pile of the guy before today at all. At first I thought he started the game very well, big strong lad, not afraid of it and dealt well with rob o Shea early on but I dunno does he just look out of place at wing back maybe? Where's his natural position for Finbarr's? His recovery speed seems to be poor on first viewing but that's only on first viewing.

One final thing does someone know who the last 2 subs were, 23 and 24 not on the team sheet,I didn't catch the announcer.
    Two midelton players aidan ryan at half forward ,and seamus o farell.

Not likely to make it ,much better ahead of them.Ryan isnt a half forward ,naturally ,and was and is a super half back,played a few game with cork a few years ago.

Is he likey to start ahead of harnedy,walsh lehane,lawton,cahalane,sullivan,i doubt it.Was in america ,and before he left should have got more game at half back a few years ago .

If cork are to play him ,then half back,unlikely as he plays club at halfforward.

Great news with Rock,and Cunningham,and while it was not official until now ,it is not new,in that this has been known for the last week or so.

Cork hurling now have cunningham at u15,rock u16,u17 is under the control of the minor set up but will have coaches, and as the minors we have ring and landers,and at senior ,jbm ,and between ucc and cit at college level,we have cody,pat mulchay ,casey,cunnighham,grainger ,enright ,we have great coaches at most levels .

Cody is meant to be leaving youghal ,and is a huge loss.A super coach.

Kavanagh is a great appointment in the football.

Whats the story with Shane O Donnell?

He is a sub for ucc ,against clare in the bridge tommorrow at 2(with the weather warning and the forceast, and seen as the youghal game just a few miles away in the gaelic grounds postponed,it may not go ahead)i would think he will get game time,as
    (a)davy will want to see him up against he young lads,to test them ,and he will want to view all hes players
    (b)ucc play wit thursday,they will want him to get game time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Jesus Christ it's Kiltane

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

UCC panel for today. Programme is useless as there's 10 changes to the starting team. 8 All ireland starters on the Clare team. Shane O'Donnell off the bench for UCC for the second half. 1-10 Clare. 1-03 UCC at half time

Be6OyzPIAAAYtaZ.jpg:large

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Boots234

Clyda were beaten 2-9 to 9 points

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

And a UCC selection were bate 2-28 to 1-04

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Any accounts from games today?

closeline wrote: »
    Any accounts from games today?

At the Clyda game, they were beaten by 6 points,a team that doesnt concede many goals,just one all year ,it let in two that cost them,two in five minutes,and against the wind ,a huge wind in the 1st half wind ,they were doing well.The 1st goal was poor defending,Carey got beaten,the second was a super goal ,hard to stop.

Clyda had an even share of possesion ,but once it became over a 13 point total to win the game,it was over,as they don't have a maquee forward.

Buckley and I said it last night ,he would struggle to last the game with hes injury ,he had to go off after 20 minutes and Clyda do not have depth and Fitzgerald was a huge loss also.

They as they do when they were even 12 points down,neve gave up,and brought it down to 6 points and they gave it everything and they left nothing on the field.

Thats a fine Mayo club team,they are senior bar words,in they are that good,and I expect and hope they win it outright
    Clyda done themselves,and Cork proud,and they now have a break ,till Skibbereen in the 1st round of the Senior Championship.Today is Padraig Mullane's last game I would say,what a stalwart, for the club and Clyda ,I would say will miss him.

Kissane missed a penalty,played a great, game and he got a point like. I said he would,but it baffles me why he took the penalty.He was with the greatest respect ,never the most natural kicker and it is not he'strong point,and he went for power in the kick when you should place it.

Mullane or James Murphy were much better options and fair enough he wanted to take it,but some one else should have taken it.It did not cost them the match,but it would have given them some hope with 10 minutes to go.

Clyda didnt play worse than other games they played or very poorly,they just met a better team that took there goal chances and goals win games and they were not going to chase this team.

They went down with dignity,grace and showed a lot of heart and. Ned English deserves great credit,he got every last inch out of that team.

UCC look like they have only eyes for Thursday and the Fitzgibbon Cup.ULand Tippeary in the hurling was called off,and the Youghal game is refixed for next Saturday.

Cork Senior Football Manager Brian Cuthbert has named his panel for the upcoming Allianz Leagues, while the team to play Westmeath on Sunday will be named tomorrow (Tuesday) evening.

In addition to the main panel, eight U21s have been identified as developing players. They have been with the panel at various stages throughout the winter and it is envisaged that they will continue to work with the squad and the back-room team throughout the League.

Cork Senior Football Panel for Allianz Leagues 2014
    Michael Shields (Capt.) - St. Finbarr's
    Ken O'Halloran - Bishopstown
    David Hanrahan - Douglas
    Eoin Cadogan - Douglas
    Tomás Clancy - Fermoy
    John McLoughlin - Kanturk
    Damien Cahalane - Castlehaven
    Noel Galvin - Ballincollig
    Jamie O'Sullivan - Bishopstown
    James Loughrey - Mallow
    Alan Cronin - Nemo Rangers
    Tom Clancy - Clonakilty
    Kevin O'Driscoll - Tadhg MacCárthaigh
    Micheal O Laoire - Naomh Abán
    Andrew O'Sullivan - Castletownbere
    Aidan Walsh- Kanturk
    Ruairi Deane - Bantry Blues
    Fintan Goold - Macroom
    Barry O'Driscoll - Nemo Rangers
    John O'Rourke - Carbery Rangers
    Colm O'Driscoll - Tadhg MacCárthaigh
    Donncha O'Connor - Ballydesmond
    Dónal Og Hodnett - O'Donovan Rossa
    Paddy Kelly - Ballincollig
    Colm O'Neill - Ballyclough
    Daniel Goulding - Éire Óg
    Brian Hurley - Castlehaven
    Paul Kerrigan - Nemo Rangers
    Mark Collins - Castlehaven
    John Hayes - Carbery Rangers

U21 Development Players
    Conor Dorman - Bishopstown
    Brian O'Driscoll - Tadhg MacCárthaigh
    Ian Maguire - St. Finbarr's
    Cathal Vaughan - Iveleary
    Alan Cadogan - Douglas
    Dan MacEoin - Ilen Rovers
    Mark Sugrue - Bandon
    Kevin Crowley - Millstreet

Ruairi Deane is on it excellent news.
    Ray carey did not make it,and that is a correct call.John Mcloughlin should not be there,Gould is very lucky,he must justify the faith in him.
    Barry O driscoll ,and colm o driscoll did not do enough in the games I saw.
    So much for being ruthless,he has only dropped Sheehan it seems,as Carey was not on it .Sheehan was not cut out for intercounty,like I said a month ago.
    Cork beat Dublin in a challenge match the weekend 2-13 to 1-11 in Dublin,Goulding and Hodnett with the goals.
    A big weekend for Cork GAA,Youghal are playing Saturday,Cork v Westmeath,Rochestown v Doon in the Harty Cup,and Hamilton v Ard scoil in the Harty Cup.(i done a preview of that in the harty cup thread) all playing.

HARTY CUP SEMI-FINALS & OTHER POST-PRIMARY FIXTURES 2014
    Harty Cup Semi Finals - Saturday February 1st
    St. Francis College Rochestown V Doon @ Cahir, 12:30pm
    Ard Scoil Ris V Hamilton HS Bandon @ Mallow, 3:30pm

How long would it take to go to Mallow from Cahir does anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭corkrobinhood

Why is Ray Carey not on it?

Delighted Ruari Deane is in there,i'd agree on Barry O Driscoll,i'd give Colm another try,hes far tougher than Barry anyway.

I'd have McLoughlin before Galvin,but again I'd like to see how both do in a tight league game.

The forwards available are scary,the backs scare me :D