Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Ul ptich 1 was the venue for todays match with ul and ucd in ptich 1 a wet heavy ptich.That ptich ,fair play to the ul staff,they had the ptich lined up perfectly,and in pristine ,mint condition,and were up since dawn to get it ready.
    Ul cantered home 1-23 to 2-5 aprox.

I had ran in the aera surronding it(fine aera ,lot of runners train there)in in the morning and it was heavy going,and cant be underestimated how wet it was.

Ul only went behind once ,and never were in any trouble.
    The majestic,full back line of paul flanagan clare,the superb jack sheehan,Cork and jack browne of limerick held the all star intercounty unit of 2012 kilkenny hero walter walsh,dublin star david tracey,and wexford jack guiney.
    Tom ryan of limerick was superb,reminds me so much of wayne sherlock.

I just said yesterday on the limerick thread how good I rate him,he was majestic,two super points,dominated the air and sweeped a load of loose ball and held wexfords sinnott very well.

.Conor ryan clare was immense at centre back.

Padraig walsh ul got the better of hes kilkenny mate cillian buckley and denis maher of tipp is a serious hurler.

Malone clare u21 last year had hes moments will get better.
    Podge collins got great points from play and he is superb and egan couldnt handle gm at all when he had him.

jason forde was superb ,and the best forward on show and is a fine talent .

,keane as a sub ,Mcdonnell and brennan the kilkenny lad I think were good for ucd.

Lohan is doing a good job with ul,but eoin brislane cant be understimated,hughely invovlved in the sideline with them has a big input.They are ucc bigesset threat and like I said yesterday ucc team that started yesterday wont do,have to play the strongest team.

I mainly went to this to see Jack sheehan of cork.He was immense,held jack guiney to a point from ball,cleaned him out with high ball,can hurl lef and right,brave and is teak tough.

Cathal keane got nothing of him or david treacy either.Him and guiney were ,not holding back ,and he isnt afraid of the rough stuff.Both were at it,both should of got a card,guiney didnt.

They took guiney of him ,but then put him on him again and he constantly niggled him,and nothing was done.Sheehan definetly can protect himself.He had to be subbed in the end and it was a good call by ul,as he was threading on thin ice in the end.

Thats was the only aera he needs to work on is discipilne.It is fine to protect yourself,but controlled aggression.That can be coached.

The rock,noel hickey,lohan,riche mccarthy ,tj ryan were all fearsome full backs,and gave as good as they got but they knew when to control it.

Its good to see he has cutting in him,you certainly dont want an altar boy at 3 at any level.
    Out of that ul back line he one of even two lads that never played intercounty at any grade,yet he was vocal,and constantly shouting at flanganan,conor ryan etc to hold there shape.

He didnt care regards reptuations he had a job to do he done it.I was over near the ul dugout at the end and when they subbed him,brislane,you could cleary see were chuffed with the lad.

Today is not a gurantee he is up to intercounty.But it showed he at a step up from club level,he can survive and compete at this level.
    Bigger test lie ahead but he should be at least on the radar with cork management and watched.This a lad with raw potential,cahalane and cadogan time is wasted on them.
    Sheehan could be a long term project but worth it.Now the question is does he even want to play it himself at that level.But he should be checked out.

One swallow never made a summer but he has held maurice shanahan already and a lot of neutrals were impressed with him.

Id like to see him on fast ground,as today was heavy ,and id like to judge the pace .What was noticeable,Guiney did drag him out ,a good bit from goal,he never got turned,uses he strength well and does what a full back most do,something brian murphy ,o neill and mcdonnell cant do is he stands upright and tall when hes man bears on goal and is good to use the shoulder.

Potential yes withoubt a doubt,loads of hurling ,i will watch him again.

Davyfitzgerald was an interesting spectator today.

Cork v tipp tommorrow in a challenge match ,at 7,is behind closed doors tommorrow I heard.

In championship I dont mind but sweet jesus ,its feburary ,a bit much.
    Apparently it was tipps call.I wouldnt be suprised if mcgeeney had an input.Sounds hes style.

Was never inclined to pay heed to Tipp people talking about their own team...

Its hard to know what tippereary will do.

Is the talent there,withoubt a doubt it is.
    Jason forde was unreal today,throw in bubbles dywer,and noel mcgrath,niall o meara,bonner etc,Corbett,they have forwards.

Denis maher was very good for ul today.

The doubt I have is the so called Messiah ,cometh the hour,cometh the man Mcgeeney.Greatly overrated and I cant fathom what he brings to tipp,bar pubilicty and media attention,and they woul do better off the radar.

Thats my doubt with them.They beat wexford,offaly,portumna 2-18 to 2-17 last week in challenges ,cathal kenny is meant to be flying for them.

There playing us in thurles at 7 ,but behind closed doors tommorrow.Championship fair enough ,but feburary in all honesty a bit much.

No doubt the geezer making a mark alright for all the wrong reasons.Apparently tipps call ,to have the game behind closed doors.A joke in fairness in februrary.

I would have tried to go to that,but that fiasco means it is no no.

Corks final and only 2nd match in the lead up to a div 2 final.Talk about being undercooked.Limerick had 3,and another one this weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

There'll be a lot of games off this weekend. Wouldn't be surprised if the Harty games today were cancelled, for example!

Blue Magic wrote: »
    There'll be a lot of games off this weekend. Wouldn't be surprised if the Harty games today were cancelled, for example!
    Both going ahead but im still dodgy about the game in cahir,wouldnt be suprised if cancelled the last minute.

I decided for that reason,not to do both games as with that weather very hard to make both.

Anyone at that be great we got updates.
    Im at hamilton,mallow im suprised is holding another game at 4 limerick waterford senior hurling challenge

And ladies play mayo there tommorrow then.
    3 games in 24 hours.

David Hanrahan (Douglas)
    Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
    Donncha O'Connor (Ballydesmond)
    Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
    Brian O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
    Cathal Vaughan (Iveleary)
    Colm O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
    John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
    Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
    Kevin O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh)
    John O'Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

Good subs bench for tommorrow

If the game is going well ,vaughan should get a half and deane should get a half also.

Unlikey to be involved after kildare next week ,they should get games.

Brian o driscoll ,is a super talent u21 also.
    When I see dorman,o driscoll,deane there ,there is plenty of talent ,i am suprised laoire is omitted ,but it is wise to get u21 lads involved before they go fully with u21 team.

Dorman ,and driscoll are versalite at half back or midfield.

I was right ,rochestown game just called of.I knew that wouldnt go ahead.At such a late stage ,a lot of people pissed of ,travelling already.
    Unplayable ptich,no lessons learned from the castlematyr fiacso with hamilton and dungarvan.

Mallow should have had both.If it takes a challenge match at 4 ,no reason couldnt take the both.

Gaa never seize to amaze me,complicate the most simple things.Always a drama .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,077 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Hard luck to Hamilton today, no doubt gutted for their run to finish as it did but when the dust settles all involved can look back with pride at what they have achieved.

Hard luck to Youghal also, beaten after a second half comeback came up just short.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Hamilton were beaten by 13 points but they were by no means beaten of the park.

They had to play against the wind in the 1st wind in the 1st half ,and that was not any wind,gale force,worst I witnessed.
    Also murt kennelly never played,a huge loss due to injury.That half back line had a teleopathetic understanding,murray ,him and o leary.

Once you got a lead in those conditons even against the wind in the second half you had a huge foothold in the game,as like I sahpd before hand,they needed to be in it with ten to go ,not chasing it.

They couldnt get out of there own half at all and with casey and ronan lynch lording it ,lynch at midfield,ard scoil got super points from distance and crehan got a good goal ,and michael cahalane was inside hes own half during that game ,and when he did win ball,he tried to run out ,and create space as they couldnt in the wind hit it long,and casey and lynch double teamed ,like I thought they would and he was crowded out.

Hamilton couldnt do much more with that wind and always an uphill task .The defence was heroic in that half,and they were under the cosh.

Second half ,ard scoil crucially got the 1st score and such was the wind,micheal sweeny thundered in to the game,as he played close to midfield as ard scoil coudnt get beyond half way.

Then the wind dramatcally calmed,such was that when hamilton got a lucky goal,goalie ard scoil dropped it,cant fault him with the weather -lynch got a super free and then a 65 that hamilton could barely hit it 30 yards such was the wind,that give them a breather and then when cahalane got a great point ,they got the goal.

A 65 from lynch,o leary,who had a great game,bravely tried to catch a ball going over ,but dropped it,a goal.

O leary cant be faulted.Brutal weather ,he was brave to go for it.He still carried the fight ,and hamilton were a credit,never gave up,kept going,and no shame loosing to an ard scoil team that have been here in the knockout stages the last 7 years,so there is a culture there.

Hamilton are still building,came a long way in two years.When cork county board had said they should join other reigons in cork to form a team,they rubbished that idea,and showed are well able to stand on there own two feet.

Cahalane got 3 points from play around and while it wasnt the heights of other games he couldnt be faulted,he was double marked and in such conditions very hard to make space.Ard scoil ,done there homework,credit due,when he won clean ball,he couldnt strike cleanly as had no space.

Horgan had a great battle with fitzpatrick,who was superb ,he is a serious operator the six mile bridge lad.

Alex morey had a great game,picking up breaks ,and contary to some myth thats there,he is very fast .In heavy going he showed a clean pair of heels at times and is very light.

Casey,o halloran,lynch ,morey,crehan were fantastic,while o leary,mcsweeney,murray,o donovan,cahalane never let the side down and were very good.

People think cahalane was poor,but that is by hes own high standards.He was still good,won a lot of ball.

The best man was for hamilton ,luke meade,he was superb,i mean awesome.He cleaned up at midfield,and great hands and constanly won a load of ball and is the complete midfielder.

He made the minor panel ,and is harty again next year .

Mcsweeney,callaghan,cahalane,horgan o leary are all gone.

However there in a munster b final friday against ballincollig,nothing against the mid cork team,i hope hammies win ,as most of this team play football.

Jack lyons valley rovers,cork panel ,is a doubt,and the valley rovers man is a key player.

Ard scoil,congrats and credit due,they were the better team,and won it in the 1st half when they had to and if rochestown dont win,id love them to win harty but also the Dr croke cup ,as they deserve an all ireland,and still play poor relation to rubgy ,in that they have yet to make that leap,i hope they do.

Doon rochestown was a shambles,to call a game off ,at throw in,no respect teams or fans that travelled.I said it this morning that game wouldnt go ahead and thats why I said I wouldnt try both ,as knew it wouldnt go ahead.

Cahir was a woeful choice of venue.
    Mallow held up well,but I feel for the cork ladies play mayo tommorrow on a ptich that had 3 games in incessant rain in 24 hours.It had waterford v limerick senior hurling challenge,same ptich after the harty cup.

Rochestown v doon mallow next week I would imagine.

SomeFool wrote: »
    At the end of the day,whether you like the character or not to me is irrelvant.Its not a celebrity contest ,or a popularity contest,but I judge him purely as a footballer.

He was superb ,and I would have him on any team,as he was a winner,had guts,balls,an edge and was a superb passer of the ball and not just a rough and rumble,to me he was a rough diamond,a pearl of a player and absoulte gem ,and as a cork man but again ,emotion aside,i would have him any day of the week and if we had a few paul galvins we would won more all irelands.

Had a superb attuide and yes he had bust up with o leary ,but both had a great respect and that rivarly was great for football.

I geuinely wish him nothing but the best and say he was a different breed of player to what kerry were known for but one they need to find if there to win the all ireland again.

Great is an overused worn out cliche in gaa,but paul galvin was truly a great ,player.

Football will miss him ,and I certainly will.

Hard luck to Hamilton today, no doubt gutted for their run to finish as it did but when the dust settles all involved can look back with pride at what they have achieved.

Hard luck to Youghal also, beaten after a second half comeback came up just short.

Heard the result gutted for them but done cork proud with a munster title.Cody meant be leaving them .

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I spent many a game shouting and roaring at him - in particular with his battles with his buddy from across the border.
    Galvin was a complicated individual, who excelled on the pitch. On his day he was a majestic player, with a great engine and Kerry will be the poorer without him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

SomeFool wrote: »

A bit like how a little part of Kerry will miss Noel O'Leary.;) Galvin or no Galvin it's time for Cork to realise that they have a team that's just as good and probably better than Kerrys now.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Heard the result gutted for them but done cork proud with a munster title.Cody meant be leaving them .

Hard luck to the lad's.We put in a great shift in the second half but we gave the opposition too much of a lead in the first half.It's very disappointing because i just didn't see us losing this one but we won the county,the derby match with Ardmore and we won a provincial title.There was also the Youghal invasion of London when we played St Gabriels!Those lad's did the whole town proud.Between themselves and Seamus Harnedy down the road in Gortroe it's been a great few months for the community and please god they'll do well for themselves at senior level.Eocahill Abu!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

A bit like how a little part of Kerry will miss Noel O'Leary.;) Galvin or no Galvin it's time for Cork to realise that they have a team that's just as good and probably better than Kerrys now.

I believe we've had it for quite a while....just had the wrong person in charge!

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I believe we've had it for quite a while....just had the wrong person in charge!

Absoultey I hope that now is not the case and where kerry are crying out for a centre back and defenders we have such and way more quailty and depth at full and half back.

The worry is kerry have a game plan,a good coach and gets every last inch from them with lethal forwards that will score.

We have just as good as forwards ,in the making,my huge concern is where with kerry they will get fast ball is our management up to getting the best of the talent avaible and getting them to reach the potential.

Talent wise we have more than them but with such anproven set up ,and the way a second team blitzed us in a 20 minute spell in the mcgrath cup,i would be worried come june.Lessons hopefully will be learned.

I believe in july they are a serious threat to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Ruairi Deane is not U21 this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭lukin

Thought I was seeing things there but I believe I actually read some Cork people on here praising Paul Galvin? I must be mistaken.
    Just to clarify; this is a "man" who put his fingers in an opponents mouth and pulled down. Then he goes on The Late Late and makes a joke about it.
    And that's only one of his many misdemeanours on the field of play (we won't go into the ones off it).
    Our Association is none the poorer for his abscence. Good riddance.

[Brian o driscoll ,is a super talent u21 also.
    When I see dorman,o driscoll,deane there ,there is plenty of talent ,i am suprised laoire is omitted ,but it is wise to get u21 lads involved before they go fully with u21 team.
    ]

Never said deane was u21.Any post I made ,never mentioned he was this year.We know he is overage .I named a likey u21 team month ago,deane wasnt named.

Kiely ian maguire are likely at midfield for u21.

I mentioned dorman,o driscoll,deane as reference to the subs listed ,and the talent was there.Considering dorman and o driscoll are adapt at midfield as half back,my point is they were wise to be involved ,as will be u21 in a few weeks.

Deane should be starting tommorrow in an ideal word with walsh,and laoire as a sub.That didnt happen so ,unlikely laoire and deane be subs ,as dorman and o driscoll could and have played midfield in there careers,and provide cover in a few aeras.

O driscoll even played corner back,too talented for there though and not hes best position.

lukin wrote: »
    Thought I was seeing things there but I believe I actually read some Cork people on here praising Paul Galvin? I must be mistaken.
    Just to clarify; this is a "man" who put his fingers in an opponents mouth and pulled down. Then he goes on The Late Late and makes a joke about it.
    And that's only one of his many misdemeanours on the field of play (we won't go into the ones off it).

We have had no angels either in our day in any sport .

Would many people be friends with roy keane.No,but the majority would any day want him on there team.

He was a super player,and a winner at the end of the day.Noel o leary was no angel either,but like galvin two automatic starters.

Whatever about hes character of the field,as was a footballer deserves to be judged on the field of play and galvin was a superb player and the ultimate "team"man.

A lot of other great intercounty players ,on many a county have had there fair share of ugly moments.Not condoning it ,but very few snow whites out there.

If I was to pick one player in the morn to clone and have on the present cork team,Galvin ,as then you want to go to war ,and come out the other side and when the need is greatest to win dirty ball he is your man.

lukin wrote: »

The bold bit.....yes you did, if you think he was a crap footballer you must have had your head in the clouds for well over a decade.

The underlined bit.....you just proved to me that you indeed had your head in the clouds.

Best of luck to Cork two teams today,in equal measure to both men and women.
    Cork beat tipp in the hurling challenge last night,nash two goals.
    Thats just the medicine,for all those wanting a rule change.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Horse84

Best of luck to Cork two teams today,in equal measure to both men and women.
    Cork beat tipp in the hurling challenge last night,nash two goals.
    Thats just the medicine,for all those wanting a rule change.

Any other details on that match, lineups, scorers etc?

5 all cork v westmeath.
    Awful,absoultey awful are cork.It may seem harsh but I aint going to sit on the fence and say it is not when it is.

Westmeath ,are not great,we have no direction and sullivan getting cleaned out in what hes meant to be good at.

Big test now cuthbhert.Great man for doing interviews,another one during the week,how the game is simple.

He needs stop just talking and see what is in front of him.Gould is indecisive at 10 and we need two changes at there and midfield.Deane has to come on and donnacha also,

Cork won but this was awful in the 1st half,and westmeath a poor team ,should have been at least 3 ahead ,at half time.

They ran out of steam in the end,cork didnt make any great changes that changed it bar ,Doc ,coming on ,and he did make a difference with superb hodnett moving to 11.
    He was superb,made 7 points got two,1st league game ,made a statement,and is a young player ,unlike seasoned expierence players that couldnt do it against poor teams in the mcgrath cup.
    Hodnett has to start the next day,to gather momentum and belief.

He is an intelligent footballer,i said many times ,had to get chance,ideal at full or centre,links the play,and shows a want and attuide to get involved,constanly looking to get on the ball,and that cant be teached,it comes from inside.
    8 point win,is what you expect against a poor westmeath ,1st half was dismal,no excuse of a wind,and Kerry with a second string team in key aeras showed enough ,that we wont beat them in tralee.
    8 point win,should make me happy.What I saw today ,and cork talent wise are  much better,but lacked cohesive ,and a structure,and Cuthbhert and co were too slow on the sideline.

The ist half was same old,lateral,back and forth ,pr**king around with the ball.Where was the fast open game plan ,he talks about.Jesus hes barely in the door and he has done more interviews that warren gatland.Of course  oh yes ,he is very communicative ,top man.
    There comes a time when actions speak louder.He needs to act on the sideline.

The intent was there in the 1st games,westmeath played a sweeper and cork hadnt the key players to play hes fast style.

It is early ,but the constant picking of certain players and not giving others at the very last a  chance ,is a worry.Some have more lives than a cat at this stage.Others arent as lucky.

And this isnt just criticse for the sake of it,its for the good of cork football,as every cork fan wants ,cork to be all ireland winners.He said he would be ruthless.Four games in ,he hasnt shown it one bit
    They got to make changes for kildare.

It begs belief how andrew sullivan and mcloughlin lasted,clear as day favourites and get preferential treatment as they are constanly picked yet not taken off .Deane for Gould,at half  forward ten to go.What a joke.Management clearly dont fancy him.Deane in hes ten minutes,showed real intent,at pace to attack,and unlike sullivan when he hand passed ,it was at pace,to a man running on to it,not like sullivan,square lateral,slow passes.
    He kicked at least 3 woeful passes and then ,knew he couldnt kick ,so hand passed everything.

How in gods name can we get fast ball in to the forwards when our mifdield cant exceute the pass.Walsh wins ball,and is the main man,but passing aint the strong point.

Deane and laoire must be tried.If they dont do it,dorman and vaughan when the u21 is over or brian o driscoll who gave a peach of a 40 yard kick pass from half back.They have natural abiltity,o sullivan,lacks there ability.

Does cuthbhert watch any u21 matches,Dorman is not a corner back,got crucified,no discipline for there,too attack mined for it,he is a half back or midfield .At club he plays half back
    We needed a corner back,yet Galvin overlooked,when shields was injured.

Same old story,four games in,there is   a blinded loyalty to certain players ,that clearly arent up to it,sounds familar to counihan.

The cork team went 20 minutes without a score in the 1st half,management failed to react,and in the mcgrath cup ,blown away by kerry the 1st twenty and again no changes,bar rotating the forwards.Good idea,but he never reacted to getting a fast supply of ball in to them.

Mayo or dublin will rip us apart if that happens in the games .Talent is there,management is the worry.
    Your given all the pieces of the jigsaw,it is up to you to make it the master piece.Cuthbhert has in hes weak aeras unlike kerry have,real options and great talent yet some are being overlooked.

The best team must be picked.
    Kildare beat mayo ,beat cork in cork last year,have ryan ,a better manager than mcgeeney,will test us next week .
    No more soft games.
    Derry had a good draw with tyroyne.In fact cork are lucky,no away trips up the north.

Halloran very good
    Mcloughlin-westmeath knew he was a weak spot ,ist half played ball after ball down to giles.A few mistimed poor passes in to giles let him of the hook ,but when they did connect he beat mcloughlin to most balls.They had done there homework as giles even rotated in to the right corner .He isnt that highely rated,yet they knew mcloughlin was weak.James o donughe must be licking hes lips in anticaption
    Cadogan solid game.
    Shields fine game,always looking to attack and play at pace.
    Loughrey was in trouble with the superb sherry,got to grips ,and a fine point.

Clancys boys took time to settle,as indivuadls grew in to the game,but far too loose as unit,but an understanding takes time ,and both clancys and loughrey ,strong on the ball and good footballers.

Walsh outstanding ,3 great points,a trademark erratic pass but getting better .Hes natural position.

Kerrigan-poor attuide-rourke must start the next day.Kerrigan is waiting for it happen,rather than making it happen.Wont do at intercounty.Must work harder.
    -Collins done okay,worked hard,and always linking up.

Gould-not what we need as a 12.yes a trademark point,game over,the need wasnt at its greatest ,but too indecisive,and not a scoring half forward.Made a great block in the second half in defence,but not a forward.

Hurley was lethal when he got ball.
    Hodnett superb.
    Gouling,great points and we have the forwards.
    All them 3 showed a hunger and workrate on and of the ball.Any forward can have a bad day,but no excuse for a poor workrate.Kerrigan showed and Must learn from them.

Doc made a huge difference as a sub,and great leadership and showed for the ball..Deane ,far too late,he got game time,but done well ,and made a super catch back in hes own defence.And then again in defence,made a great run,laid of a great ball to goulding who set up hayes,but shot a poor wide.Again inconsistent.
    o rourke made use of the game time,industrious and great energy ,and Cork if they pick the right team ,would beat kildare.

The team for kildare will be interesting.If galvin ,and deane dont get games,it is clear as day cuthbhert doesnt rate them.

Dorman and brian o driscoll were good,and big u21 players.Dorman wasnt tested at the back as the game was over .

Again before any thinks im too harsh,watch that game on tg4,it should be on tuesday night late ,or tommorrow.And anyone that tells me that 2,9,and 12 were up to standard,well in all honesty ,nothing much can be said.I have no problem giving a team ,or manager time,to implement a new game plan,but when they clearly pick players not capable of that game time and time again ,that is the worry.

Very uninspired by today.A poor westmeath team fell away in the second half.Compare our display to kerry last night,in defeat ,they were miles ahead of us .

We always knew we had work to do.But we dont have to make it harder than what it was .As cuthbhert said he wont complicate things.Simple then ,watch the video of the game again ,
    and pick
    Hallorhan,shields if fit,cads,galvin,loughrey,clancy,clancy,walsh,deane/laoire,o rourke,hodnett,collins,goulding ,hurley,doc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

ShamoBuc wrote: »

As a Kerryman I'm going to be optimistic, I do think Cork have a better squad, but Kerry are blooding in a few and have the right man at the helm for it.

If we can use this year to have players like Jonathan Lyne, Crowley - who already looks to have stepped up, small sample of matches this year granted, but if you get a player like Tommy Walsh back and players with a bit more experience under their belt then we'll be a good match for you.

Hopefully some good battles ahead

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭corkrobinhood

Cork won but this was awful in the 1st half,and westmeath a poor team ,should have been at least 3 ahead ,at half time.

They ran out of steam in the end,cork didnt make any great changes that changed it bar ,Doc ,coming on ,and he did make a difference with superb hodnett moving to 11.
    He was superb,made 7 points got two,1st league game ,made a statement,and is a young player ,unlike seasoned expierence players that couldnt do it against poor teams in the mcgrath cup.

He is an intelligent footballer,i said many times ,had to get chance,ideal at full or centre,links the play,and shows a want and attuide to get involved,constanly looking to get on the ball,and that cant be teached,it comes from inside.
    8 point win,is what you expect against a poor westmeath ,1st half was dismal,no excuse of a wind,and Kerry with a second string team in key aeras showed enough ,that we wont beat them in tralee.
    8 point win,should make me happy.What I saw today ,and cork talent wise are much better,but lacked cohesive ,and a structure,and Cuthbhert and co were too slow on the sideline.

The ist half was same old,lateral,back and forth ,pr**king around with the ball.Where was the fast open game plan ,he talks about.Jesus hes barely in the door and he has done more interviews that warren gatland.Of course oh yes ,he is very communicative ,top man.

The intent was there in the 1st games,westmeath played a sweeper and cork hadnt the key players to play hes fast style.

It is early ,but the constant picking of certain players and not giving others at the very last a chance ,is a worry.Some have more lives than a cat at this stage.Others arent as lucky.

And this isnt just criticse for the sake of it,its for the good of cork football,as every cork fan wants ,cork to be all ireland winners.He said he would be ruthless.Four games in ,he hasnt shown it one bit

It begs belief how andrew sullivan and mcloughlin lasted,clear as day favourites and get preferential treatment as they are constanly picked yet not taken off .Deane for Gould,at half forward ten to go.What a joke.Management clearly dont fancy him.Deane in hes ten minutes,showed real intent,at pace to attack,and unlike sullivan when he hand passed ,it was at pace,to a man running on to it,not like sullivan,square lateral,slow passes.
    He kicked at least 3 woeful passes and then ,knew he couldnt kick ,so hand passed everything.

How in gods name can we get fast ball in to the forwards when our mifdield cant exceute the pass.Walsh wins ball,and is the main man,but passing aint the strong point.

Deane and laoire must be tried.If they dont do it,dorman and vaughan when the u21 is over or brian o driscoll who gave a peach of a 40 yard kick pass from half back.They have natural abiltity,o sullivan,lacks there ability.

Does cuthbhert watch any u21 matches,Dorman is not a corner back,got crucified,no discipline for there,too attack mined for it,he is a half back or midfield .At club he plays half back

Same old story,four games in,there is a blinded loyalty to certain players ,that clearly arent up to it,sounds familar to counihan.

The cork team went 20 minutes without a score in the 1st half,management failed to react,and in the mcgrath cup ,blown away by kerry the 1st twenty and again no changes,bar rotating the forwards.Good idea,but he never reacted to getting a fast supply of ball in to them.

Mayo or dublin will rip us apart if that happens in the games .Talent is there,management is the worry.
    Your given all the pieces of the jigsaw,it is up to you to make it the master piece.Cuthbhert has in hes weak aeras unlike kerry have,real options and great talent yet some are being overlooked.

Kildare beat mayo ,beat cork in cork last year,have ryan ,a better manager than mcgeeney,will test us next week .
    No more soft games.
    Derry had a good draw with tyroyne.In fact cork are lucky,no away trips up the north.

Halloran very good
    Mcloughlin-westmeath knew he was a weak spot ,ist half played ball after ball down to giles.A few mistimed poor passes in to giles let him of the hook ,but when they did connect he beat mcloughlin to most balls.They had done there homework as giles even rotated in to the right corner .He isnt that highely rated,yet they knew mcloughlin was weak.James o donughe must be licking hes lips in anticaption
    Cadogan solid game.

Clancys boys took time to settle,as indivuadls grew in to the game,but far too loose as unit,but an understanding takes time ,and both clancys and loughrey ,strong on the ball and good footballers.

Walsh outstanding ,3 great points,a trademark erratic pass but getting better .Hes natural position.

Kerrigan-poor attuide-rourke must start the next day.Kerrigan is waiting for it happen,rather than making it happen.Wont do at intercounty.Must work harder.

Gould-not what we need as a 12.yes a trademark point,game over,the need wasnt at its greatest ,but too indecisive,and not a scoring half forward.Made a great block in the second half in defence,but not a forward.

Hodnett superb.
    All them 3 showed a hunger and workrate on and of the ball.Any forward can have a bad day,but no excuse for a poor workrate.Kerrigan showed and Must learn from them.

Doc made a huge difference as a sub,and great leadership and showed for the ball..Deane ,far too late,he got game time,but done well ,and made a super catch back in hes own defence.And then again in defence,made a great run,laid of a great ball to goulding who set up hayes,but shot a poor wide.Again inconsistent.
    o rourke made use of the game time,industrious and great energy ,and Cork if they pick the right team ,would beat kildare.

The team for kildare will be interesting.If galvin ,and deane dont get games,it is clear as day cuthbhert doesnt rate them.

Dorman and brian o driscoll were good,and big u21 players.Dorman wasnt tested at the back as the game was over .

Again before any thinks im too harsh,watch that game on tg4,it should be on tuesday night late ,or tommorrow.And anyone that tells me that 2,9,and 12 were up to standard,well in all honesty ,nothing much can be said.I have no problem giving a team ,or manager time,to implement a new game plan,but when they clearly pick players not capable of that game time and time again ,that is the worry.

Very uninspired by today.A poor westmeath team fell away in the second half.Compare our display to kerry last night,in defeat ,they were miles ahead of us .

We always knew we had work to do.But we dont have to make it harder than what it was .As cuthbhert said he wont complicate things.Simple then ,watch the video of the game again ,
    and pick
    Hallorhan,shields if fit,cads,galvin,loughrey,clancy,clancy,walsh,deane/laoire,o rourke,hodnett,collins,goulding ,hurley,doc

Thats what i'd consider your first proper assessment of the Cork team in the last few weeks.Well said :)

Bar you judgement of Cadogan who I thought was very loose at times,a mile of his man,and Tomas Clancy from Fermoy who was nowhere near his man again when they ran at us in the first half,the rest of your players ratings i'd agree with.

First half was awful,frustrating football to watch,the second was an improvement,not the finished article but an improvement none the less.

I'm not a fan of Galvins but I do think he now deserves a chance next week,I just fear against that Kildare team he could be roasted and that may be the end of him before he even starts to find his feet. Time will tell,but he deserves his chance.

Deane and O Rourke have to start,Fintan has to be dropped,Andrew didnt do much wrong today (well ok he did kick a few aimless passes,then again so did most of the team :D ) but what he did he did at a pedestrian pace,drop him.Same with Kerrigan,hes shockingly lazy. Drop him.

Roll on the Kidare game,if Cork play the same next week as they did today we'll be beaten,simple as that.

Fair point with clancy he was wide open at times but ,that is down to an understanding between all 3 in the half back line,takes time to develop ,telephaty and cohesion with the 3.All have talents,the balance is key.

Loughrey has a bad habit do,he tends to run in to cul de sacs or delay the pass,watch him compared to jack caffery,tomas o shea,dessie moyne etc,always at full titlt,head up right looking ahead,never boxed in,always looking for the pass.An automatic starter.

Today he was done for overcarrying.A super player ,but even cococran held the hurley wrong,o grady rectified it.Thats where good coaching comes in.

That can be coached.Watched clare lads train tuesday in the hurling,and mulqueen was constantly telling them to look ahead when running through and look for the pass.By the end of the session they were.

Ciaran sullivan eoin sexton ,two great attacking wing backs should identify that,that is part of there ,dna ,you dont need to be a tactial genuis to spot it.constant repition of the right method in training is the only way to eradicte that in matches.

In time that unit could work but give it 3 games,judge then.If not we have the world of options ,kevin crowley,dorman,brian o driscoll watch this guy dominate u21,a cameo but similar cathal casey debut cameo,against galway ,in 90 final ,with an audicous side step ,michael flattley would dream of.And flately didnt have to hold a hurley or control a stiothar at the same time.
    Cahalane ,to rejoin.We have options,just balance.You wouldnt have 3 riches mccaws in the all black back row.

Any unit must have "balance".

I agree with galvin but my point is ,must be given a chance and a fair crack.Mcloughin has had bout ten games.A cat only has 9 lives.
    Whatever happens against kildare,give galvin 3 games in a row.

Worst he is as bad as mcoughlin.He is better than him.Awful and cruel to watch a lad playing at a level he cant and being exposed.

Gould- It said it all week.No excuse,for playing him there.Poor poor management call.
    This week ,cuthbhert, should stay away from doing interviews,and telling us about hes degree in sports science ,and hes new techinques.Credit due,and geuinely fair play for getting it.And it is good and was a gread read I admit,but now is a time for action on the field.

All well and good at the start to get people to buy in,but it wears thin,and doesnt have much effect when he picks same players again and again.And ,i dont buy this give him time.Yes ,time to develop a game plan,and I dont expect ,an all ireland in 2014, but jesus what I want from is him and hes co men, is them to read a game ,and give every lad a fair chance.And I have no problem with making mistakes.It is when the same mistakes become a habit is a worry for championship.He has lots of talent ,kerry would crave for.If they had our talent at half back,and two of our forwards they would win an all ireland.We are going 5 games in now.

Not one change in that ist half.The concern is did they not see the problems,or just didnt know how to rectify them.

If we had played mayo,kildare,donegal(div 2),tyrone.derry we were in dire trouble.

The team will tell us have we a chance against kildare,saw that game now,jesus they were good today.

Andrew sullivan,superb attuide,and honest but as you said lacking in what we need.
    If he doesnt pick the right team,we could be in real trouble.
    We have real talent,forwards kildare would crave,they have a manager that knows how to get the best out of them.I wouldnt want ryan at cork but he has a record our lads dont.

paul mcstay said on rte sport ,we were great ,and we will be a serious team.Jesus what match was he watching.Yes he said the talent was there.I said that for the last year.

Management ??d???early yet but no signs of positivity.Like I said,not one have real expierence.There in at the deep end,as they got to learn fast against,buckley,horan,ryan,o neill,gavin,fitzmaurice,harte etc.

And the dualism ,now hits home next week.For the fan club that lauded it as great give it a chance,id love to know what they make of walsh and cadogan very likely  being unavailble for a crucial game ,as jbm wants them, next weekend,as cork have a final challenge matchin the lead up to div 1b play of final with limerick on the 15th.And they havent played hurling yet.And they  need a game for their touch.

if shields is out injured,now the fun starts.Clancy has to go to 3,mcloughlin starts ,galvin in the other corner.

Even if shields starts ,he goes to 3,mcloughlin likey to start by cuthbhert.

Sullivan will start ,walsh out.Today was a great chance lost to play deane for next week.

Me,i would be brave,laoire and deane .I get this feeling he is a radical,conserative manager .In fairness ,the team he picked -hints that.

Kerrigan has the talent ,but getting ,at the stage hes in a comfort zone.He thinks hes a certain starter.Drop him,not even a sub.It could be the making of him.

Cuthbhert said last week he was ruthless.Time to show that.I wouldnt release cadogan,let walsh go,but lay down own the law ,such is problems at the back,cads must start.As big a week off the field as on it.A statement of intent most be made,cork football has two much talent to play poor relation to hurling.

We lost to kildare last year with eoin o mahony at 3,and kildare tore through us.Once bitten twice shy.
    We need cads next week.
    Fair play to kissane and clare,first win ,delighted for him.Saw them train 4 times,he doing great work with them.

First time in the role(done a bit with arigeen rangers I think last year)a good learning curve for him.

Two points in the bag,but was always expected at home to the weakest team in the division.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Absoultey I hope that now is not the case and where kerry are crying out for a centre back and defenders we have such and way more quailty and depth at full and half back.

The worry is kerry have a game plan,a good coach and gets every last inch from them with lethal forwards that will score.

We have just as good as forwards ,in the making,my huge concern is where with kerry they will get fast ball is our management up to getting the best of the talent avaible and getting them to reach the potential.

Talent wise we have more than them but with such anproven set up ,and the way a second team blitzed us in a 20 minute spell in the mcgrath cup,i would be worried come june.Lessons hopefully will be learned.

I believe in july they are a serious threat to us.

Really? Care to go into a bit more detail there?

Kudos for the post on Galvin by the way, not blinkered anyway to be fair to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

Fair point with clancy he was wide open at times but ,that is down to an understanding between all 3 in the half back line,takes time to develop ,telephaty and cohesion with the 3.All have talents,the balance is key.

Loughrey has a bad habit do,he tends to run in to cul de sacs or delay the pass,watch him compared to jack caffery,tomas o shea,dessie moyne etc,always at full titlt,head up right looking ahead,never boxed in,always looking for the pass.An automatic starter.

Today he was done for overcarrying.A super player ,but even cococran held the hurley wrong,o grady rectified it.Thats where good coaching comes in.

That can be coached.Watched clare lads train tuesday in the hurling,and mulqueen was constantly telling them to look ahead when running through and look for the pass.By the end of the session they were.

Ciaran sullivan eoin sexton ,two great attacking wing backs should identify that,that is part of there ,dna ,you dont need to be a tactial genuis to spot it.constant repition of the right method in training is the only way to eradicte that in matches.

In time that unit could work but give it 3 games,judge then.If not we have the world of options ,kevin crowley,dorman,brian o driscoll watch this guy dominate u21,a cameo but similar cathal casey debut cameo,against galway ,in 90 final ,with an audicous side step ,michael flattley would dream of.And flately didnt have to hold a hurley or control a stiothar at the same time.
    Cahalane ,to rejoin.We have options,just balance.You wouldnt have 3 riches mccaws in the all black back row.

Any unit must have "balance".

I agree with galvin but my point is ,must be given a chance and a fair crack.Mcloughin has had bout ten games.A cat only has 9 lives.
    Whatever happens against kildare,give galvin 3 games in a row.

Worst he is as bad as mcoughlin.He is better than him.Awful and cruel to watch a lad playing at a level he cant and being exposed.

Gould- It said it all week.No excuse,for playing him there.Poor poor management call.
    This week ,cuthbhert, should stay away from doing interviews,and telling us about hes degree in sports science ,and hes new techinques.Credit due,and geuinely fair play for getting it.And it is good and was a gread read I admit,but now is a time for action on the field.

All well and good at the start to get people to buy in,but it wears thin,and doesnt have much effect when he picks same players again and again.And ,i dont buy this give him time.Yes ,time to develop a game plan,and I dont expect ,an all ireland in 2014, but jesus what I want from is him and hes co men, is them to read a game ,and give every lad a fair chance.And I have no problem with making mistakes.It is when the same mistakes become a habit is a worry for championship.He has lots of talent ,kerry would crave for.If they had our talent at half back,and two of our forwards they would win an all ireland.We are going 5 games in now.

Not one change in that ist half.The concern is did they not see the problems,or just didnt know how to rectify them.

If we had played mayo,kildare,donegal(div 2),tyrone.derry we were in dire trouble.

The team will tell us have we a chance against kildare,saw that game now,jesus they were good today.

Andrew sullivan,superb attuide,and honest but as you said lacking in what we need.
    If he doesnt pick the right team,we could be in real trouble.
    We have real talent,forwards kildare would crave,they have a manager that knows how to get the best out of them.I wouldnt want ryan at cork but he has a record our lads dont.

paul mcstay said on rte sport ,we were great ,and we will be a serious team.Jesus what match was he watching.Yes he said the talent was there.I said that for the last year.

Management ??d???early yet but no signs of positivity.Like I said,not one have real expierence.There in at the deep end,as they got to learn fast against,buckley,horan,ryan,o neill,gavin,fitzmaurice,harte etc.

And the dualism ,now hits home next week.For the fan club that lauded it as great give it a chance,id love to know what they make of walsh and cadogan very likely  being unavailble for a crucial game ,as jbm wants them, next weekend,as cork have a final challenge matchin the lead up to div 1b play of final with limerick on the 15th.And they havent played hurling yet.And they  need a game for their touch.

if shields is out injured,now the fun starts.Clancy has to go to 3,mcloughlin starts ,galvin in the other corner.

Even if shields starts ,he goes to 3,mcloughlin likey to start by cuthbhert.

Sullivan will start ,walsh out.Today was a great chance lost to play deane for next week.

Me,i would be brave,laoire and deane .I get this feeling he is a radical,conserative manager .In fairness ,the team he picked -hints that.

Kerrigan has the talent ,but getting ,at the stage hes in a comfort zone.He thinks hes a certain starter.Drop him,not even a sub.It could be the making of him.

Cuthbhert said last week he was ruthless.Time to show that.I wouldnt release cadogan,let walsh go,but lay down own the law ,such is problems at the back,cads must start.As big a week off the field as on it.A statement of intent most be made,cork football has two much talent to play poor relation to hurling.

We lost to kildare last year with eoin o mahony at 3,and kildare tore through us.Once bitten twice shy.
    We need cads next week.
    Fair play to kissane and clare,first win ,delighted for him.Saw them train 4 times,he doing great work with them.

First time in the role(done a bit with arigeen rangers I think last year)a good learning curve for him.

Two points in the bag,but was always expected at home to the weakest team in the division.

8 point win,should make me happy.What I saw today ,and cork talent wise are  much better,but lacked cohesive ,and a structure,and Cuthbhert and co were too slow on the sideline.

The ist half was same old,lateral,back and forth ,pr**king around with the ball.Where was the fast open game plan ,he talks about.Jesus hes barely in the door and he has done more interviews that warren gatland.Of course  oh yes ,he is very communicative ,top man.

It is early ,but the constant picking of certain players and not giving others at the very last a  chance ,is a worry.Some have more lives than a cat at this stage.Others arent as lucky.

It begs belief how andrew sullivan and mcloughlin lasted,clear as day favourites and get preferential treatment as they are constanly picked yet not taken off .Deane for Gould,at half  forward ten to go.What a joke.Management clearly dont fancy him.Deane in hes ten minutes,showed real intent,at pace to attack,and unlike sullivan when he hand passed ,it was at pace,to a man running on to it,not like sullivan,square lateral,slow passes.

Same old story,four games in,there is   a blinded loyalty to certain players ,that clearly arent up to it,sounds familar to counihan.

No more soft games.

Halloran very good
    Cadogan solid game.

Hodnett superb.

and pick

We get it, you dont rate McLoughlin but there is no need to continually post on here critiscing him. I dont believe that he is up to the mark either but he's being picked so either he's doing well in training or else the manager doesnt have a clue. But there is no need for your constant critisicm of the guy

also, your player comments in your second post has him down as being fortunate to pick up some stray passes its as if the guy cant do anything right for you. You also have Cadogan down as having a solid game yet IMO Glennon had him in all sorts of trouble and won the world of ball off of him. You cant have it both ways.

All in all, just layoff the critisicim of McLoughlin it comes across as very petty. If he is as bad as you think they he will be exposed and replaced.

Ah lad stop ffs ,i judge him as a footballer,and many yesterday were unimpressed by him.Whats petty is people like you that run with the hare and chase with the hound,you think hes poor,you say nothing,yet when he has bad a game against kerry,people like you are fast to critcise him.Id be some hypercrite if I said he was good,when he wasnt .
    And I was not the only one that said he was poor.I judge every player purely on the field of play.

Even you ,will surely give me that,judge them only on the field of play.I dont pick out players for the sake of it.
    Paul kerrigan im a huge fan ,but he isnt doing it and I said like the other poster He should be dropped.I dont do emotion,like I said many a time.

You do know 15 players make up a team???so when I judge a team for each game ,i judge each and everyone.What do you want fans to do?

Not judge mcloughlin ,or say he was good when he wasnt .You know too well lad,im not the only one that judge him as poor.AGAIN lovely lad,purely as a footballer I judge.So if he starts against kildare,what do you want me to do,exclude him in my judgement .Again players ,are entiled to be judged on the field of play.

This is not a wtich hunt lad,just judge the team picked.Even a poster who disagreed with me regards him,many times said he wouldnt start him the next day .You thinks it just me.Its not.Grow up ,man with respect.The last thing any cork fan ,wants is a repeat of kieran o connor in 2009.

I keep saying the same things as he is picked on the team.Whats petty is people like you ,oh we cant judge a player.Grow up ,lad,kilkenny or kerry do it all the time on there thread.This isnt kids level.Many times at schools level,i give a view on a games,i never single out young lads,others do,and say they were very poor.Why,as its schools ,there is a limit.Ask anyone here ,i dont focus on or say any one is very poor.

But this is senior intercounty football.
    Cadogan lost a few balls but wasnt roasted.Have you ever seen him roasted in championship,hardly.
    And tell me who is better than cadogan at 3.See when I criticise a player,i also know there is a better option to come in like in mcloughlins case.Thats my point ,we have better options at corner back.

Please tell me who is better at 3 than cadogan???remember now jamie sul, are out ,and we struggled at full back last year at u21 level,as cahalane or dorman are not full backs.

You make a rubbish view that a manager may see something in training,and picks him and that justfies it,yet on the field of play ,he is not up to it.Please enlighten me is there All irelands for training teams.

Who are you trying to kid.Naughton was the best athlete ,and still is ,the fastest cork hurler at present.I watched him train many times,superb,touch,pace you name it.Always the 1st man in most sprints.
    Come championship he couldnt do it.He was dropped this year.Enlighten me to why that was??

I saw mark o sullivan ,newmarket 99,one of the most naturally gifted forwards ever do things in training,most couldnt dream off.In championship ,in big games,consistenly he couldnt do it.
    Compare him to podsie o mahony,ballincollig,less talented but a super player and vastly underated,not anything great training but always delivered on match days.
    To a point training is an indicator,dont forget the ultimeate test,the lithmus test for any player is on match day.

Simple doing it training and match days is worlds apart unless your clare or kilkenny.The cork football training isnt like that yet

Your the man with all the answers,dualism was fine.Tell me what your team is for kildare.Shields could be out also .Cadogan and walsh are out.

Your happy go lucky attuide with respect I dont buy it ,ah hes poor ,hes picked again but sure luck ,leave the lad,he may  do okay and managers know what there doing??

Tell me what gives you such confidence in the current management that fans cant question a decision ??
    Cause if you give me that reason,i could share your optisim.

I dont do fairytales in lad in elite sport,i like to base opionions on realism.

You tried to convince me before Liam shorten was intercounty .You then tried to tell me there is no better players not on the panel.I give you specfic examples ,and those never got same chances some got.You seem to have the view this is the best we got.

Thats your opinion and your entiled to it .But as time proves there is talent in cork.

And I am close to the mark when I say he got ten games.
    Your wrong to assume he has a bad game,management wont pick him.What did counihan do?with certain players.

Didnt you say here before,be honest,mcloughlin in tralee was poor ,last year yet he still starts.
    Gould in 7 years,isnt a half forward?
    Thats not me,most cork fans are of the same view.Yet he is continually picked there,as yesterday showed.
    Sorry now lad,but your view doesnt hold up with the current evidence.