Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Yakult wrote: »
    Its one horrible website. Why change the simplicity of it? Thats what made it good. Going down the route of bebo imo.

I should go away now and design steal a new website exactly like Facebook circa 2008. I bet it would do better once people realize how **** it has become and liked the older layout better.

FB back then was awful. I only joined it because my mate in Australia had quit bebo, but tbh it was only around late 2009 that Ireland caught up with Facebook (by which time it had become alot more user friendly than Bebo).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭im invisible

WindSock wrote: »
    The Facebook status updates over the last few pages are real crap :(
    you can say that again....

although I am going to steal this one
    Did you know people are getting paid to mention products in their Facebook statuses?

That's as crazy as the discounts at Dave's Furniture Emporium...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,358 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Yeah Amazon are good at using Amazon data and how they make suggestions, that's welcome
    Amazon with Amazon info, Tesco with Tesco info, no problem at all with that

But no way in hell should facebook be showing what you are buying from other sites, especially since it's friends and family who will be seeing. I understand facebook need advertising and sure so do boards.ie, that's grand but this is a step too far
    Christ, imagine you were an insecure teenager and buying LGBT books and that came up on your profile. Some will be strong but others may be destroyed if that got around

I don't have a facebook account but I'm pretty sure its not automatic, you probably have to tick a box a checkout.
    Alternativley use a different email address.

EarlERizer wrote: »
    Never signed up with bebo or farcebook so don't really know what all the fuss is about but I'm guessing it's along the line of what Google has done since buying YouTube which has resulted in many users closing and/or deleting their accounts in favour of a new site (Zippcast) along the lines of the 'old' style of YT.

Me,I still like to buy my books in a book store,my clothes from a clothes shop etc etc,I like meeting up with friends and talking about whats been happening since last seeing them or just sharing the info we want each other to know about.........and I only use my phone when it rings or if I need to make a call.

Life is easier that way,nice n simple!

p.s. I love seeing the posts where people start with lines like "I have a farcebook account but....." is there a stigma attached to having an account these days?

Oops!, you forgot slap someone across the head 8 times with a hurley when they cut you up.!!!:)
    Your old skool,.....i know.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

EarlERizer wrote: »
    Never signed up with bebo or farcebook so don't really know what all the fuss is about but I'm guessing it's along the line of what Google has done since buying YouTube which has resulted in many users closing and/or deleting their accounts in favour of a new site (Zippcast) along the lines of the 'old' style of YT.

Me,I still like to buy my books in a book store,my clothes from a clothes shop etc etc,I like meeting up with friends and talking about whats been happening since last seeing them or just sharing the info we want each other to know about.........and I only use my phone when it rings or if I need to make a call.

Life is easier that way,nice n simple!

p.s. I love seeing the posts where people start with lines like "I have a farcebook account but....." is there a stigma attached to having an account these days?

Ironically, this sounds exactly like a cut-and-paste "things were better in the old days" facebook status update. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭milltown

40-something year old cousin of mine posts regular updates about enjoying a glass of "vino rouge".
    I swear he only does it to annoy me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Am I the only person in the world who thinks the timeline is a nice, smart little design?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

aesthetically yes it is nice, but facebook have drifted away from an actual timeline. This 2 column lark makes finding the post you want somewhat difficult

• Registered Users Posts: 8,091 ✭✭✭batistuta9

miralize wrote: »
    aesthetically yes it is nice, but facebook have drifted away from an actual timeline. This 2 column lark makes finding the post you want somewhat difficult

are the not staggered in the order they were posted? unless you make them larger, taking up the whole page

staggered example if you don't know what i meant
    10:47______
    ______10:30
    02:35______

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

nope. Posts can be side by side. Even still its not very good for skimming :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

miralize wrote: »
    nope. Posts can be side by side. Even still its not very good for skimming :rolleyes:

They're still ordered by time. I don't see the problem?

Personally, I much prefer timeline. I think it's far better than the old pages. I'm not sure why everyone is whinging about it. But then people seem to do that everytime Facebook makes a change.

Also can we get back on topic please?! I wanna see all the funny statuses not everyone talking about how great they because they don't use facebook

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Facebook is like Justin Bieber, hipsters or Jedward. It may be annoying, but its not as bad as the constant whining about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Pintrest is going to be the next big thing. Rinse and repeat

It's the exact same as tumblr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Are there any more dumb Facebook updates or is this going to be a whinge thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,091 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Thanks to my 12 real friends for the birthday wishes.
    you know who you are

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

It worked because it was simple.

It is now buggy and complicated.

Bebo was buggy and comlicated.

Bebo be dead.

Facebook is becomming bebo and will be next and the next simple online site will destroy it.

Pintrest is going to be the next big thing. Rinse and repeat

Bebo was a blip on the internet, fb will be around for a lot longer than bebo

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

mikemac1 wrote: »
    That's way out of line
    I could throw in some AH post about buying porn from amazon but I was more thinking of what about buying books about suicide, depression or self confidence or something very personal.

And facebook and the people on your profile get to see what you bought? :eek:

There's a simple way to avoid it - don't be a stupid pleb who allows companies to access your data and account.

There is a big warning "X company wants to access your account"....so people cannot say they didn't see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭facemelter

how many teenage girl does it take to screw in a light bulb ?
    two , one to screw in the lightbulb and the other to take 500 pictures and post in on fb

• Registered Users Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭mojesius

Confab wrote: »
    Are there any more dumb Facebook updates or is this going to be a whinge thread?

Here, here.

This was from a Facebook friend who went from being annoying, to annoying and pregnant, to an annoying mother all within a year. For anonymity's sake, the unfortunate child's name has been changed to 'Tom'

'Oh no...Tom just found something far more interesting then his duck to play with in the bath'

Why would you do this to your child?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Someone on my friends list just tagged themselves at a crematorium. WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Someone on my friends list just tagged themselves at a crematorium. WTF?

BURN!

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

mojesius wrote: »
    This was from a Facebook friend who went from being annoying, to annoying and pregnant, to an annoying mother all within a year.

When someone gets pregnant chances are they'll have the baby within the year ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Am I the only person in the world who thinks the timeline is a nice, smart little design?

yes, its so much nicer than the previous layout, dunno what peoples problem is with it

• Registered Users Posts: 5 SuperTorRainer

brummytom wrote: »
    Any status that says,

'Goodnight Everyone!' or words to that effect. Just fuck off

Exactly, can't stand them ones.

I have seen instances of married couples sharing the one Fb profile as well. Which is pretty damn pathetic.

Yeah I have an old friend who shares his profile with his wife. Generally a nice bloke and I'm sure she's a sweetheart as I've never met her but that's so lame. You know there's no way any of his friends can message him about anything out of sorts. G A Y.

tan11ie wrote: »
    "Happy birthday John Joe hope you have a lovely day, love you loads xxx"

Like fecking John Joe dosen't even have a facebook account he's only five FFS!!!!!!

Totally agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

I have a friend who is banned from Facebook because his girlfriend is jealous/insecure and controls his every move. At least having them not in your face is better than the one profile couples or the 2 accounts but one paranoid controller posting sickening insecure very public i love yous on both...
    I have seen instances of married couples sharing the one Fb profile as well. Which is pretty damn pathetic.

Couples who share one email address and have no other email to be contacted at.

e.g maryandpat@sadmail . com

really pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

psychward wrote: »
    I have a friend who is banned from Facebook because his girlfriend is jealous/insecure and controls his every move. At least having them not in your face is better than the one profile couples or the 2 accounts but one paranoid controller posting sickening insecure very public i love yous on both...

Couples who share one email address and have no other email to be contacted at.

e.g maryandpat@sadmail . com

really pisses me off.
    It's a bit disturbing that. Two people merging into a single identity. Like something from a horror film or smt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Friend of mine posted a status giving out being clamped. One of the replies read "craic level zero".
    The moment I read it, I didn't know which was sadder, this fcuking stupid comment or me wasting my life on FB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭im invisible

Ah, your minus craic, hav a laf, wud ja