Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

...for President!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Would it have such a dramatic impact on your life or how Ireland is viewed if a sock with eyes became president?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Would it have such a dramatic impact on your life or how Ireland is viewed if a sock with eyes became president?

Well, we have a sock with eyes for Taoiseach, so probably not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He'd be great at speeches - but he'd have to employ someone else to write the humorous sections. :p
    :(

Pisssst... Thats you out of a job then too! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭TheRiddler

I've made this point on another thread... but think it merits a thread of its own.

Seamus Heaney for President.

Cool.

Yo these threads be all duplicatin and sh!t can't any you bitches work the search function for real

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Inanimate Carbon Rod for President!

Aldebaran wrote: »
    ...Otherwise known as Ron Jeremy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Everyone for president.

Well, we have a sock with eyes for Taoiseach, so probably not.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfWEPu0w-7w&feature=fvst

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Do we really need a president?

Is it not just a pointless token job?

Is it not just a fairly big waste of money to pay his/her wages and for the upkeep of the massive gaff in the phoenix park,not to mention paying to fly him/her all over the world aswell?

If we must insist on having one,we should just hold a raffle with every Irish citizens name in a hat,and whoever's name gets picked gets elected!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Earthhorse wrote: »
    If it'll stop him writing poetry, I'm all for it.

And if it stops him reading it out loud on national tv and radio then even better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Do we really need a president?

Is it not just a pointless token job?

Is it not just a fairly big waste of money to pay his/her wages and for the upkeep of the massive gaff in the phoenix park,not to mention paying to fly him/her all over the world aswell?

If we must insist on having one,we should just hold a raffle with every Irish citizens name in a hat,and whoever's name gets picked gets elected!

If it's just a " pointless token job " as you call it, why has it taken 90 years to become a pointless token job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Biggins wrote: »
    ...Otherwise known as Ron Jeremy.

You'd hardly call him inanimate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Heaney? Not a chance, he'd make us read his godawful poetry. Pure torture, reading an Irish poet's moany whinges. Pet hate of mine, having to like Irish authors just because they're Irish. I know he's won the Nobel prize, but come on, the Bookeresque psuedoart most Irish authors spew from their keyboards is just too much.

Biggins for president.

Well the only part that moves ...is ...his appendage!

(Good job I didn't say "cock")

RMD wrote: »
    Micheal O Múircheartaigh
    George Hook
    Bertie Ahern.

1 corrupt fúck and 2 culchies, quite a selection. I love how this country is a prime example of taking the piss out of politics :pac:
    With fairness, with Cowen on the drink, someone at least is trying to put the piss back into politics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

if he ran for it, which i highly doubt, he would without question get my vote.

a more pure, down to earth gentleman you would never meet. what a representative he would be. shame his age is against him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

flahavaj wrote: »
    I think its a no-brainer to make him president.

I would agree but not in the same way you mean.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Aldebaran wrote: »

In Rod we Trust

• Registered Users Posts: 24,487 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Dustin for president

I said that in the politics section.
    I don't think they were too impressed. :pac:

Works for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Banji

Witty and original!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

In.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

This thread is truly truly truly mediocre

karlog wrote: »
    This thread is truly truly truly mediocre
    Give it time, it will suck more. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Biggins wrote: »
    I said that in the politics section.
    I don't think they were too impressed. :pac:
    ah they have no sense of humour over there.

Oh no, I've failed After Hours highest of thread standards! Ah well, off to stick two inanimate carbon rods up my nose and head-butt a desk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Inanimate carbon rod for president!

Carbon rods ?
    This thread sucks buckyballs.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭AnonymousPrime

I'd call most of him inanimate