Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2006 VW Passat problem- Fuel injector 2nd failure in 10 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

who are vosa?

They look after all the recalls for every manufacturer. If you think you have a problem that merits a recall send them the details, I send them all mine as I have that engine. I seen a good thread about it on vagdrivers.net.

they appear to be a UK government body, i would assume they would have no jurisdiction here in the Republic?

What kind of responses have you had Corkie?

they appear to be a UK government body, i would assume they would have no jurisdiction here in the Republic?

What kind of responses have you had Corkie?

They would have a certain amount of control because they are a german built car used all over the UK etc etc. They said they will come back to me on it.

It is a very serious fault which could leave you in the overtaking lane of a Motorway doing 120KPH with a stalled engine. Send them all your details.

will do, thanks for the info.

thats exactly what happened me today, car just died on the dual carriageway, the last time one failed the car just wouldnt start after work one day so no biggy, different story when the car loses all power on the road... i did speak briefly with someone from Audi Ireland today who was less than helpful but i will not let this rest

Its fairly scary allright. Mine failed in the middle of Limerick city at rush hour and I had fools blowing horns an all sorts.

Dont let it lie as its a common problem with the Siemens injector. There is good info over on www.vagdrivers.net on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Yeah, have a look over on VagDrivers, there's a long thread on there about it.

A lad I know has had it happen to his 07 Audi A4. First one went in January and it cost him a grand to get it sorted! 2 more went about a month ago and this time Audi coughed up the parts cost.

just having a gander there now thanks

last time one went i got one from a place in the UK a lot cheaper than what my local Audi wanted.. still cost me €360 plus the bolts and fitting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Yet more evidence about the high running costs associated with a modern diesel.
    It really is staggering.
    Best of luck OP.
    A friend of mine had them replaced on his A6 (07) but afaik, it was the 140 engine. Still....

cadaliac wrote: »
    It really is staggering.
    Best of luck OP.
    A friend of mine had them replaced on his A6 (07) but afaik, it was the 140 engine. Still....

Same Injector Cadillac. The only thing is some of the 140BHP engines used the Bosch injector which has no issues and the rest had the Siemens which were the problem. The newer CR engines dont have these problems at all.

Here is the link to contact them about it. The more people that contact them the better.

http://www.dft.gov.uk/vosa/apps/recalls/default.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Which cars does this affect?

I've had the same 07 Golf gt tdi in 3 times in the last 2 months (back under our warranty) and I've had to replace 3 injectors, the injector loom, and a set of glow-plugs. I also replaced the dmf last week too. The car just hates me!

My boss had to foot the bill under warranty of course and I know there's no chance of getting anything back from VW, but it'd be just interesting to know if this engine is one of the dodgy ones. Because I just know I haven't seen the last of this car.

Dean09 wrote: »

I've had the same 07 Golf gt tdi in 3 times in the last 2 months (back under our warranty) and I've had to replace 3 injectors, the injector loom, and a set of glow-plugs. I also replaced the dmf last week too. The car just hates me!

My boss had to foot the bill under warranty of course and I know there's no chance of getting anything back from VW, but it'd be just interesting to know if this engine is one of the dodgy ones. Because I just know I haven't seen the last of this car.

I would imagine so. Some mechanics say the biggest culprit is the wiring loom as that shorts the Injector.. Its a fair joke the price VW charge for the injector especially when you just throw the old one in the bin..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

-Corkie- wrote: »
    I would imagine so. Some mechanics say the biggest culprit is the wiring loom as that shorts the Injector.. Its a fair joke the price VW charge for the injector especially when you just throw the old one in the bin..:mad:

Yeah it really is a joke. As I said all the work was covered by my boss under warranty but I'd hate to be some poor person just out of warranty when all this starts acting up.

The car I'm talking about has also had a new instrument cluster fitted due to a faulty immobiliser and also both low and high pressure fuel pumps were replaced too.
    VAG are really gone downhill imo.

Its fairly pathetic allright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,254 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Dean09 wrote: »
    Common problem (though so far unacknowledged here as a known issue) with the 05-08 2.0 TDI 140 Bhp model Passat too so if your Golf is using the same engine as this then you may have a case.

Corkie: I didn't know some of these cars used Bosch injectors instead - any way to tell which is fitted as I live in fear of my own 2.0 Passat failing like this... but with 176k km done at mostly motorway speeds it seems to be holding up well so far anyway.

Theres no way of knowing unfortunatley what injector is used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,898 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Surely its on the parts system which is fitted when referenced against chassis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭crosshair1

As above
    The engine code (or vin) will determine which injector type is fitted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

What engine codes are we talking about presume BKP?

cadaliac wrote: »
    It really is staggering.
    Best of luck OP.

i hear ya, between injectors, DMF, DPF & VNT turbo issues i have had my fill.. back to 6 cylinder petrol for me!

i have had 10 year old + sh!tboxes that cost me €1,000 that never gave this kind of trouble..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

This is a known issue and known to me as my dads 07 2.0TDI Passaat has had two injectors go on him, one went on a motorway and left him stranded at a w/e.

As others have said there is lot on UK forums and VOSA were to do a report as it's common to Skoda,Audi and VW shared engines.

VW paid 70% of the cost as "goodwill gesture" and my dad the 30% I was about to go chase VW myself to get the remaining injectors done but he has sold on the car.

I was chatting to a friend of mine who is a mechanic about all the problems with the new diesels. He said the diesel its self is to blame for a lot of failures especially injectors and fuel pumps. Washed diesel being one of the main culprits.

Home heating boilers are also suffering a lot of problems of late and he was saying that loads of them have problems in certain areas which again points a finger at a supplier selling inferior fuel in the area.

Ok, got an update
    After my initial call yesterday I sent a strongly worded email to Audi Ireland and received what I would consider a very poor response..

As I originally imported the car from the UK myself about 15 months ago I said I would chance calling Audi UK and see if I could get anywhere.. and hey presto, they couldn’t have been nicer and more helpful, they recognized there is indeed a problem with these and agreed to cover the cost of replacing the faulty injector at a local dealer or if I can get the car to a Northern Ireland dealer they will cover the cost of replacing all four injectors. Recovery truck to the North €290, problem solved hopefully..

I was chatting to a friend of mine who is a mechanic about all the problems with the new diesels. He said the diesel its self is to blame for a lot of failures especially injectors and fuel pumps. Washed diesel being one of the main culprits.

Home heating boilers are also suffering a lot of problems of late and he was saying that loads of them have problems in certain areas which again points a finger at a supplier selling inferior fuel in the area.

I had heard this also but I only ever purchase my diesel in Topaz/Texaco which I would imagine is safe from this carry on...

Yes I would agree there shouldn't be an issue with diesel from the main suppliers. There is obviously an issue with the injectors in the newer VAG engines but injectors are becoming a common problem across all diesels which according to the lad I was talking to is at least partly down to poor quality/washed diesel.

Ok, got an update
    After my initial call yesterday I sent a strongly worded email to Audi Ireland and received what I would consider a very poor response..

As I originally imported the car from the UK myself about 15 months ago I said I would chance calling Audi UK and see if I could get anywhere.. and hey presto, they couldn’t have been nicer and more helpful, they recognized there is indeed a problem with these and agreed to cover the cost of replacing the faulty injector at a local dealer or if I can get the car to a Northern Ireland dealer they will cover the cost of replacing all four injectors. Recovery truck to the North €290, problem solved hopefully..
    Fair play OP... Just out of curiosity, what year/mileage is on the car?

Seems ridiculous that there can be such a difference between VAG Ireland and VAG UK - there should be a common policy for both. If it ever happens to mine (touches/bangs on the wooden desk) I'll be chasing VW Germany over it.

2006 75k, the last one let go at 55k... damn right, its simply not acceptable

my local Audi Ireland wanted €938 inc. vat for a new injector..

as a sidenote, when I had this problem last time around I sourced the new part from this crowd (www.dieseljones.co.uk) for €362 ex vat (I am vat registered), couldnt have been more helpful and easy to deal with

2006 75k
    Ah I probably wouldn't get much joy then.. same year but add another 1 before the 75k :o I'll still try it though if it ever happens

mickdw wrote: »
    crosshair1 wrote: »
    As above

I have tried this several times through different sources but have told its not possible to know. It sounds ridiculous TBH.

Great result OP I am delighted for you.

As above

I have tried this several times through different sources but have told its not possible to know. It sounds ridiculous TBH.

Great result OP I am delighted for you.
    As above

Cheers,
    Before I was offered redress by Audi UK I had contacted dieseljones about a new injector, they needed to know whether my car had the Bosch or Siemens units, I contacted my local Audi dealer and gave them my chassis number, they then gave me the part number and I called dieseljones back, they were then able to tell me my car had the Siemens units in it (more expensive than Bosch) also why the car won't start... I can give ye the part number when I am back in my office in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Is it only problematic on the PD 140 engines. I have the PD 130 engine, '04 A4. Saying that, if i get a problem like this I will be heading up North. My motor is a Uk import, so that might swing in my favour. Although the 162k miles on the clock might make them laugh.

P.S. Audi dealership on Boucher Road has moved, i forget the exact address, but if you call them they will give you the new address.