Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you hate about Irish people

• 01-08-2010 8:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭

I hate when Irish people say things like "sure everyone loves us" or "everyone wants to be Irish". No they dont and its fcukin embarrassing.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Whingers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

The begrudgery of course (aka The Irish Disease.)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Their habit of self-loathing.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭The_D_Man

When they think they have to live up to the stereotype of being alcoholics, especially when abroad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Yep, the constant fishing for compliments! You see it all the time in TV interviews of foreign stars: 'how are you enjoying Ireland?/ what do you think of Ireland?'

The person is forced into some trite compliment.

Cringe!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

The downright disgusting GREED!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

"ah shore t'will be grand".

:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

The whole Tayto eating, Wolfe Tone "song" singing, celtic jersey wearing goon you find in Oirish bars around the world.

Cringe inducing creatures.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

I hate absolutely nothing about Irish people.
    I do however hate people who are always whining about Irish people and compare them all the same:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 729 ✭✭✭crazy angel

begrudgery!

also, i hate that we are a nation of joe duffy calling, bleeding hearts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

The G.A.A crowd. I used to work in a bar and they were the worst crowd to deal with. I hated working Sundays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

They're accents, seen them up in bushmills today you should've heard them, first of all its not portbalintra its portbalintray... and secondly its not tree its three!

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

Irish play football by hands. GAA as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭edellc

the lack of individuality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Yep, the constant fishing for compliments! You see it all the time in TV interviews of foreign stars: 'how are you enjoying Ireland?/ what do you think of Ireland?'

The person is forced into some trite compliment.

Cringe!
    I know mate. Cringe is the right word.

edellc wrote: »
    the lack of individuality

Speak for yourself :D

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Tallaght Saint

The obsession with english football.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

i hate it when we go on the internet posting threads that put ourselves down and saying we're terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I hate the way that Irish people make ridiculous generalisations :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

The irish are famous for being pissed drunk and "having the craic".
    The french are famous for being up their own arses.
    The italians are famous for being pig ignorant and shouting a lot.
    The americans are famous for being stupid.
    The germans are famous for having no sense of humour.
    The russians are famous for being alcoholics.
    The argentinians are famous for the sleaze.
    And the list goes on...

Every bloody nation on the planet has stereotypical traits! Every single one, but that doesn't mean they apply to all in a country and you can't find a lot of good people in them.

I like being irish, and i hate these stupid threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭leinsterrugby

the underclass who resent anything those of us who are well off have.

i also hate the povs who support english soccer. it just looks embarassing to me.

i hate the mindset of those who follow gaa religiously

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭cowhands

Usually very unattractive looking people compaired to the rest of the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

i hate the mindset of those who follow gaa religiously

Says the lad called LeinsterRugby, how is following GAA any different to following rugby?

Wagon wrote: »
    The irish are famous for being pissed drunk and "having the craic".

:eek: Since when did yous say craic! That would sound funny in an irish accent.

cowhands wrote: »
    Usually very unattractive looking people compaired to the rest of the world.

Speak for yourself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭suomi

Nothing. Irish people are great. I'd love to be Irish too.

suomi wrote: »
    Nothing. Irish people are great. I'd love to be Irish too.

You really wouldn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I hate the way everyone assumes that being irish means you are a drunk. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

1. Begrudgery
    2. The 'It'll do' attitude
    3. The Political apathy that exists in the country.