Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You are not a f*cking DJ. You’re an overpaid, untalented, cake-throwing c*nt.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Zascar wrote: »
    Fear and Loathing, .

****e

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Human traffic is a great movie, as is "Go" - I thought It's all gone Pete Tong was shyte thoguh, the lead actor was a horribly bad stereotype badly done.

Love all the drug movies. Blow, Dazed and Confused, Fear and Loathing, Spun, Cocaine Cowboys, Cheech and Chong....
    Go is a great movie, but yeah, terribly American...."Any body fancy an Extasy tab?!"

Never seen Fear and Loathing but read the book and thought it was sh1te tbh.
    jtsuited wrote: »
    huh??? you do realise that was deliberate yeah?
    Think that's why he said "badly done"

I haven't seen Pete Tong, but the look of it never appealed to me, although Paul (not Peter) Kaye is an absolute legend. Doesn't come much funnier and subversive than Denis Pennis.

Human Traffic is an odd one. I liked it, but the whole 'spirit of the rave' etc. thing that goes on in it is a bit offputting.
    The 'disillusionment with society so therefore we go mental at the weekends' idea is sort of nauseating to me. I guess that's one of the differences between back then and now politically regarding dance music.

Back then, people seemed to have genuinely believed in something hedonistic, utopian, and revolutionary.

Nowadays we just realise that the drugs just mangle your brain into romanticising that kind of nonsense.
    You're glossing over a lot of history there though. Dance Music came out of very dark times so it was always going looked upon with romantic spectacles. But yeah, constant drug abuse inevitably doesn't end well. Funnily a lot of the most loved up hedonistic types that I know from back then are some of the narkiest feckers you're ever likely to meet when you catch them on a bad day. Ohh the irony!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Funnily a lot of the most loved up hedonistic types that I know from back then are some of the narkiest feckers you're ever likely to meet when you catch them on a bad day. Ohh the irony!

made me chuckle:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

baz if you like paul kaye, you've got see it's all gone....

trust me. not at all the way it seems. it's very deliberately marketed as some sort of 'kevin and perry go large' sh1te take on the industry but there's actually a scathing satire bubbling underneath (like a lot of Kaye's work imo).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

fear and loathing is the most godawfully over-rated film ever. I've read a lot of Thompson's stuff, and that movie is really just a dumbed down 'crazy' caper aimed at idiots who think drugs are cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭ianuss

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

After playing a show in Paris, Richie Hawtin's hotel room was broken into and several pieces of gear used in his live show were stolen. He's offering a €2500 reward for any information leading to the return of the equipment. He released the following statement on his facebook:
    "On Friday night someone broke into my hotel room at Hotel Costes in Paris and stole my iPod and 2 x Plastikman Live iPads (serial #GB01723UZ38 and #GB0129CAZ3A) and my Plastikman Live show Apple Macbook Pro 17" laptop (serial #C02CK0GXDC7C). I am asking everyone to keep their ears and eyes open for any information about these very important and personal items. I'm offering a 2500 € reward for any information that leads to the return of the equipment. Please email me at x@m-nus.com. If found/returned I will NOT prosecute any one involved as I would just like to have my equipment returned."

He seems pretty adamant to get it back, offering a reward and promising no prosecuton. No backup's I'm guessing!!! Doh!

After playing a show in Paris, Richie Hawtin's hotel room was broken into and several pieces of gear used in his live show were stolen. He's offering a €2500 reward for any information leading to the return of the equipment. He released the following statement on his facebook:

He seems pretty adamant to get it back, offering a reward and promising no prosecuton. No backup's I'm guessing!!! Doh!

He's kinda opening himself up to being robbed again. He's basically saying that if you nick his gear he'll pay you a couple of grand to get it back.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Diego Smartly

fear and loathing is the most godawfully over-rated film ever. I've read a lot of Thompson's stuff, and that movie is really just a dumbed down 'crazy' caper aimed at idiots who think drugs are cool.

Did you fell the same way about the book? Like if it wasn't made into a film and there was just the book would you fell the same?

I've done both and really enjoyed them. I think you can see it as just a crazy caper or you can try go deeper with the whole American dream stuff.

What'd you think of his other stuff? I've just started Rum Dairy's.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭francois

Did you fell the same way about the book? Like if it wasn't made into a film and there was just the book would you fell the same?

I've done both and really enjoyed them. I think you can see it as just a crazy caper or you can try go deeper with the whole American dream stuff.

What'd you think of his other stuff? I've just started Rum Dairy's.

The great shark hunt has a great cross section of his work, starting with the earlier stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Looking for a bit of (preferably freeware) that will allow me to do a basic up-gain and EQing of a AC3 audio.

The gist is I've a 4 and a half minute VOB (student film) that I just need to EQ out some of the hiss and up the gain on certain parts of it a little bit.

Can I edit the VOB natively or what would be best to demux/remux the audio and video files?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

• Registered Users Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭milltown

Must have the sickest of his porn on them Macs!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Lads what do you generally spend on a wedding present if I am getting vouchers for a shop on their wedding list? I have a wedding this weekend, I totally did not even expect to be invited - I used to be good mates with the girl but have not seen her in about a year and a half. Unsure as to how much to spend, is there a general guideline?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Can of worms there Zascar!

In general, I think it's about 100 per person. If you know them well and are flush, then maybe more. If you don't know them so well, or are out of work, then less.

Am interested to hear what the opinions are on that though

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I heard only this morning that if you get a last minute invite to a wedding from someone you havnt seen in a good while they are only trying to make up the numbers of the booking they made for the meal because they have had a few cancellations.......€20 dunnes voucher:D

Cynical, but very believable.

So... Zascar... when did you get this invitation? :D

I got it about a month ago or so I think. Not really last minute really

I was thinking about 100 myself but was hoping it might be less. I'm going with a friend and she suggested 100 per couple, so 50 each, but I'd feel a bit scabby really.. I'll probably never really see her much after this anyway, I've never even met the husband. Hmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I got it about a month ago or so I think. Not really last minute really

I was thinking about 100 myself but was hoping it might be less. I'm going with a friend and she suggested 100 per couple, so 50 each, but I'd feel a bit scabby really.. I'll probably never really see her much after this anyway, I've never even met the husband. Hmmm

You could offer to bang out a set of pounding Techno for free aswell as the €50.......good deal;)

I think it's come down a bit - if you're going with someone 150 would be more than enough, from the sounds of it.

150 will prob mean 100 from you and 50 from her though? :D

Is Mise that's a great idea. Pounding techno no, but classic house maybe! Might being my gear and piss off the hire DJ by taking over haha

joker77 wrote: »
    Can of worms there Zascar!

In general, I think it's about 100 per person. If you know them well and are flush, then maybe more. If you don't know them so well, or are out of work, then less.

Am interested to hear what the opinions are on that though
    Yeah that’d be about right. I’ve been to a lot of weddings over the last few years and I’d normally give €100 if I was going on my own or €150 if I was bringing a guest. It’s normally just to cover the cost of the meal tbh. Although if I really didn’t know the couple that well, apart from asking why the fvck am I being invited?!?!, I wouldn’t be too bothered about breaking the bank and €100 between 2 isn’t being scabby if you don’t know them that well. Obviously if you know the couple really well you could give more….if you could afford it of course.

The one thing that p1sses me off though is when you go to someone’s wedding and get them a gift and they can’t even be ársed to send you a thank you card. :mad:

Haha. Yeah, a friend did this at his wedding. Anybody that got an invite a week or two beforehand was just getting an invite to make up the numbers. Getting an invite a month beforehand normally means you were on the A list. :D

Lads if anyone is with O2 and locked into a contract, but wants to get the iPhone in a few weeks, check this out:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66676461
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2010/0625/1224273259551.html

Also works with Vodafone apparently.

Lads if anyone is with O2 and locked into a contract, but wants to get the iPhone in a few weeks, check this out:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66676461
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2010/0625/1224273259551.html

Also works with Vodafone apparently.
    Ahem.....that's soooooo last week. ;)

Ahaha good on ya! I'm already out of contract so its no use to me but its fantastic for some people...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭milltown

joker77 wrote: »
    I think it's come down a bit - if you're going with someone 150 would be more than enough, from the sounds of it.

I'd agree with Joker.
    Giving cash can be a tough one to judge alright. Depending on where the wedding is on, €100 mightn't cover the cost of your dinner. Then again, nobody (I hope) goes to the trouble of getting married hoping to break even!
    If there's a wedding list it might mean more to them if you got them something(s) to the value of €100 to €150. I know from experience that you're more likely to look at something at home and think "so and so got us that for our wedding", rather than "we bought that with the readies he stuck in the envelope that went into the big box of envelopes on the big day".

They know how to throw a send off party in Mayo!! :D

118583.jpg

A mate of mine is leaving Dell today.... here's the mail he sent to the entire company yesterday before leaving work:
    Sent: 01 July 2010 17:06
    To: IE_EBU_Sales_Internal; IE_EBU_Sales_External; Uk CA Cherrywood Internal Sales Reps; Channel_All_UK; Channel_All_Ireland; EMEA OEM Internal
    Subject:

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I would like to say a big thank you to every person I have had the pleasure to work with and all the friends I have made in Dell over the last six years. I wish everyone the best for the future.

Dell is such a rewarding place to work that I wouldn’t be surprised if exactly the same tight-knit team of Managers, TSRS, ISRS and ASRS were here this time next year. I think it speaks volumes about a company and more specifically the Large Enterprise department here in Dell, that each and every employee is secure and happy in their role. I know I struggled to find any reason to leave but an exciting opportunity has presented itself and I have decided to move on.

As I leave Dell to embark on a new chapter in my life I feel compelled to offer some lasting piece of advice to the friends I leave behind. You may have no control over policies, you may be nothing more to the company than an operational expense, they may cap your commission, tell you what you can and cannot wear, make your colleagues redundant, and they might even be miserable enough not to pay for a Christmas party… …just don’t let the bastards grind you down!

It’s been emotional.

xxxxxxxxx
    Ex-Dell | Large Enterprise