Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nokia N8 Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

deco nate wrote: »
    any know is thier a way to watch rte player?
    thanks,
    deco
    bump,anyone??
    cheers shadow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭shadowninty

any know is thier a way to watch rte player?
    thanks,
    deco

It needs Flash Player 10.1 (not available for old ARM proceessors like the N8's)send a request in to them :)
    (also they may put out a HTML5 sites for thir beloved iPhoners :rolleyes:

It needs Flash Player 10.1 (not available for old ARM proceessors like the N8's)send a request in to them :)
    (also they may put out a HTML5 sites for thir beloved iPhoners :rolleyes:
    cheers,but they say that flashlite4.1 = 10.1.
    rte use adobe :mad:(iphone and n8 dont use it for some reason,oh see something in common)
    but thanks for your answer my man:)

Raedwald wrote: »
    The fact that the phone's memory wont spell simple words and them keep in it's memory is really annoying me. All is always spelt with a capital A and refuses to change to a small one and Will is the same never with a small w as to be inputted into the phone every time. Argh!
    Didnt have this issue on C7 when I used T9
    N8 only issue? Hard Reset?
    Also the full Opera browser does not work either, have had to download the mini version.
    it works fine
    Hard Rest/Redownload

cheers,but they say that flashlite4.1 = 10.1.
    rte use adobe :mad:(iphone and n8 dont use it for some reason,oh see something in common)
    but thanks for your answer my man:)

4.1 cant give all the features of PC 10.1 due to the ARMv7 architechture
    This is why Froyo doesnt bring Flash 10.1 for devices such as the Galaxy 5

ah cheers,i thought it had to do with money,ie adobe want it.nokia/iphone wont
    pay it

kmart6 wrote: »
    If you researched the device at all you would have seen that there was a power issue wih a small percentage of N8's produced and that Nokia openly admitted it and said all devices will be replaced!

These things can happen with mass produced appliances.....its not ideal...but it happens!

there are so many parts in these devices
    One mistake and BOOM, all gone
    Its amazing how much damage these devices can take :eek:
    Didnt expect it from Nokia tho :/

feck it ill just use skyfire to watch rte player

They are ending Symbain support :(

will ye stop puttin a feckin downer on me buzz:p.
    its christmas,good news only please:o:p
    ye git:p

KrisW wrote: »
    Yeah.. I had a problem connecting to my neighbour's WLAN last weekend, so there is definitely something there.

There's supposed to be a firmware update in the next couple of weeks. Hoping it fixes these little problems. A full reset is not the solution for this kind of problem; a bit worried that it's being suggested as a first-line remedy.

If your phone is hacked delete C:\Private\10202BE9\Persists\CCCCC00.cre
    Íf not, hard reset

will ye stop puttin a feckin downer on me buzz:p.
    its christmas,good news only please:o:p
    ye git:p

QT UI update coming 2011Q3/4!!!!!!
    Enjoy the free RAM till then ;)

If your phone is hacked delete C:\Private\10202BE9\Persists\CCCCC00.cre
    Íf not, hard reset
    jisyus for someone that has a distaste for sybian,
    you know a lot bout it:)

rickyjb wrote: »
    I did this and it worked with the eircom router in my parents house but not at work. So out of 3 routers I've tried to connect to 1 worked, not great really is it?? I'd still say the problem is the N8... I don't think I should have to get a new wireless router just to connect my new mobile phone to the internet, I bet I wouldn't have a problem using the router with any other kind of phone that supports Wlan access.
    See answer above
    BE9
    Its a curse
    Other issues I've been having (minor enough but still annoying) is that opera mobile 10.1 regularly closes itself, usually when I'm inputting text with Swype (some kind of compatability issue here also?).
    Set Opera to use Opera keyboard
    And for some reason when I press snooze on the alarm it freezes the phone meaning the alarm doesn't go off again. Made me late for work 2 days last week!!:mad:
    recompile yourself and wait for JAF to support N8 :p

jisyus for someone that has a distaste for sybian,
    you know a lot bout it:)

There is a reason I dislike it :)
    ah the curse of a legacy OS :rolleyes:
    Sorry Mature OS :p

Sitec wrote: »
    Anyone elses N8 randomly restart itself sometimes?:(

Symbain does this when an app goes crazy or when you have a messed up BE9
    On Android it just kills your battery (supposedly changed to now autokill in 2.3)
    On iOS you WILL NEVER KNOW :eek:

There is a reason I dislike it :)
    ah the curse of a legacy OS :rolleyes:
    Sorry Mature OS :p
    so, what your sayin is...old people have no
    place in our new world,kill em all.
    there's notthing we can learn from them?
    lets learn from our own (new)mistakes??
    :pyou can learn a lot from an
    old person,you just need to ask.

I downloaded swype the other day, which is class, but it takes an age to load when i turn the screen sideways to use it. The phone really cant handle switching keyboards very well, which is VERY noticeable for the average user.

Btw, surely if things appear quicker then they ARE quicker??
    Most OS's hide this with fancy effects
    Still a 680mhz ARMv7
    Do you compare a P4 with an i3?

so, what your sayin is...old people have no
    place in our new world,kill em all.
    there's notthing we can learn from them?
    lets learn from our own (new)mistakes??
    :pyou can learn a lot from an
    old person,you just need to ask.

All old people do is quietly rot in the corner, shrinking, and getting the odd knee transplant :p
    Notice the comparison? ;)

(I love old people, cept when I have to touch them :p)

I spent about 3 hours last night unsuccessfully trying to use my N8 with my wireless router at home (BT Voyager 2110). It will connect but when I try to use the internet I get "Invalid Server Name" - is there anything I can do?? I even went to the trouble of specifying all the IPv4 parameters such as the IP address, default gateway, subnet mask etc. as recommended on a Nokia forum but still no joy. Has anyone else had the same problem, is it my router (which works fine with 2 laptops) or is it the N8?

Symbain bug
    Usually only occurs with big public networks
    Probably no point hard resetting

As far as I can see, the delays in Symbian^3 handsets were to largely allow them to ship with the Qt runtime libraries that will underpin future Nokia handset applications.

Qt (pronounced "cute", but don't hold that against them, it's probably less silly in Norwegian) is a common set of features that application developers can use to build their apps. Nokia make sure that these Qt features are provided on both Symbian and Meego handsets, and look the same on both OSes, so the upshot is that developers won't have to care whether the underlying system is Meego or Symbian, unless they're doing something very hardware specific. As a bonus, with a one-time (but big) download, a lot of Series60 handsets can run Qt apps too.

erm no, that had NOTHING to do with the delay
    Nokia couldnt even put the QT libs in the firmware, had to put hem in C (whereas I had the same libs in my first public 5530 CFW 6 months ago) due to their beloved POS "smart"installer

And while I had huge overblown hopes for it initially, ultimately, its buggy, and willl put Symbain in the same RAM and CPU usage class as Android 2.x

All old people do is quietly rot in the corner, shrinking, and getting the odd knee transplant :p
    Notice the comparison? ;)

(I love old people, cept when I have to touch them :p)
    how about a multitask test?ie how many can run,over i phone/n8/ios..ect
    that way we will see if ram/cpu is really as big a factor as you say it is,an not
    the os that runs it?

Apparently, Ovi Suite for Mac is "coming soon", but it has been for years. Honestly, there's not much you actually need it for.

They moved development to QT, so this should increase the possiblity of a Mac version :)

how about a multitask test?ie how many can run,over i phone/n8/ios..ect
    that way we will see if ram/cpu is really as big a factor as you say it is,an not
    the os that runs it?

iOS freezes apps, and continues certain tasks (downloading, audio+streaming etc), quite clever
    Android continues running the appp, then savestates it after awhile, then eventually closes it (probably the form best suited of mobile devices)
    Symbain keeps apps running in the background till it crashes/runs out of RAM, quite brutish

Symbain is deffo the most RAM efficient (as in least use), thanks to Symbain C++
    But I have yet to see a Symbain QT app that uses less then 9mb RAM

vasch_ro wrote: »
    any one having issues with the ovi social app ? keeps telling me to uninstall and reinstall to no success

Install the new updated version

glad to hear/know that you know that ios does not do multi
    taskin,fair play my man.test past;):p:)

+1 did it my self tonight,if it fails just back out an do it again,i
    had to do it that way

for java apps go to app manager - installed app press and hold on the app go to suite settings and change the connection to whatever you want.

Make sure you dont install too many apps or app manager wont open ;)

plus no need to uninstall,just dl it

glad to hear/know that you know that ios does not do multi
    taskin,fair play my man.test past;):p:)

I used to be an iOS hater, but with iOS4 it is very much an impressive smartphone OS, and not just a dumb pretty thing
    TBH, I havent found a situation where full multitasking is needed, but if there are, lets hope Apple adds more API's for it