What beer are we drinking this week ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Didn't wait long to crack open one of the cans.

Ah jaysus lads, it's a fecking phenomenal beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'm going to buy a few for Xmas, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Grayditch wrote: »
    I'm going to buy a few for Xmas, I think.

You'd want to get a shake on, they only got 40 cases.

I ordered 4 cans and some Stone and others there. My Xmas stash is already ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ciaran76

6 purchased and ready to drink. Might have 1 can tonight! Treat myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

matrim wrote: »
    Looks like Drinkstore are out of the new Porterhouse Devils acre or at least it's not showing on the site :(
    McHugh's have it in stock ;)

http://www.mchughs.ie/porterhouse-devils-halfacre-33cl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

So placed my drinkstore order. Highlights include

Porterhouse Barrel Aged Celebration Stout
    To Øl Black Ball Porter
    Nøgne Ø Dark Horizon Edition #4
    Brown Paper Bag Project, Doxie Blonde Wheat Ale
    Kinnegar Rustbucket
    Kinnegar Long Tongue Pumpkin and Ginger
    Founders Breakfast Stout
    Founders Backwoods
    One of each of the Stone Brewing range
    Birra Del Borgo My Antonia
    Modus Hopperandi

A couple of Galway Bay Burried at Sea, Blacks Pale Ale and Dungarvan Coffee and Oatmeal as stocking fillers too ;) I'm pretty sure I've enough beer to do me all of Christmas and probably up to February or March.

The Nogne O is the only really expensive one but I really wanted to try it and it will probably be my dessert beer on Christmas day while relaxing after dinner and watching Doctor Who

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,868 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Having a Modus Hoperandi at the moment.
    What a beer! Well worth it for €2 a can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Looks like my Christmas order is ready for pick up. Only had a few of them before. Let me know if I'm missing anything obvious that should be on it, feel free to slate awful choices, let me know if anything is especially to be savoured and not accidentally given away to someone that's finished their last Carlsberg etc...

James Boag's Premium
    ROCHEFORT (10)
    Sierra Nevada Bigfoot
    Porterhouse Hophead Irish Pale Ale
    Schneider Weisse Tap 5 Meine Hopfenweisse
    BrewDog, Mikkeller 'I Hardcore You'
    Nøgne Ø Sunturnbrew
    BrewDog Fake Lager
    Founders Backwoods Bastard
    Eight Degrees 'Back To Black Series' Aztec Stout
    Stone Brewing Ruination IPA
    Birra Del Borgo My Antonia
    Nøgne Ø #100
    Carlow Brewing O'Hara's Double IPA
    Trouble Brewing Dark Arts Porter
    Fullers ESB
    Kinnegar Brewing 'Special' Long Tongue Pumpkin Ginger Rye Ale
    Gouden Carolus Cuvee Van De Keize Blue

8 Degrees Aztec Stout on draught....

Eh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭upforit101

Just in at Drinkstore....
    Kinsale Black IPA MINI KEG!! :eek::eek:

http://www.drinkstore.ie/Blacks-Kinsale-Black-IPA-Mini-keg-5L-Blacks-Kinsale-Black-IPA/

Ugh drank too much homebrew + Modus last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭snowblind

The Devils Halfacre is 3.39 in Baggot Street Wines. Picked up 6 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Just finished a 8 Degrees Zeus Black IPA in Bowes. It's good, but odd to look at. Seems very flat but probably not much different from most IPAs in that regard?

Having a Howling Gale now while debating whether or not to try the O'Haras Double IPA. Everything I've heard would suggest not to bother...

I think the O'Haras DIPA is very good.
    Never had a problem with it.

Currently having a White Gypsy Yule Ol. I hope my taste buds are dulled due to my head cold because there ain't a lot going on in this beer.
    Smells good but the flavour just isn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,449 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Drinking a Stone IPA to celebrate the arrival of my Brewbot backer reward.

285316.jpg

285311.jpg

and from the other night the Kinnegar Long tongue with my true batch brew kit

285312.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Modus Hoperandi is verrrrrrry nice! Very similar to SN Torpedo imo. I picked up 5 earlier, and I'd pick up more but my Christmas order is already ridiculous.

I'm having a Birra Del Borgo My Antonia at the moment. Hmmm, can't make up my mind on this, lots of hops, quite sweet without being heavy like a DIPA, but there's a lingering chalky bitterness that I sometimes get from US beers. Jury's out on this one.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Having my first Mikkeller Beer Geek Breakfast. I'm enjoying it a lot. The coffee is very obvious, but in a good way.

Last night I had a Sierra Nevada porter. That was also lovely.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I'm having a Birra Del Borgo My Antonia at the moment.

I stuck one onto my drinkstore order this week.
    Last night I had a Sierra Nevada porter. That was also lovely.

I like it a lot. Wherever there is SN Porter, they usually have Anchor Porter, though and I end up leaning towards that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,891 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Had a Greene King IPA with dinner. Meh....

Just tried one for the first time.

Ridiculously bland. Will not buy again.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Meant to post this yesterday but here's my Christmas stock:

IMG_20131218_195527.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ciaran76

↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑↑

Your xmas stash is almost identical to mine except I dont have the Jameson stout / Yule O or the Louder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭noby

Clearing out the beer cupboard before the holidays. Will be cracking open these two at lunchtime:

11462818285_4d731fb5fe.jpg

And possibly one or two more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Heroditas wrote: »
    I think the O'Haras DIPA is very good.
    Never had a problem with it.

I passed it up last night. Went for a 'Black Sheep Ale' next which was fine if you like that sort of thing I guess but I wouldn't be ordering another. Will go for the O'Haras next time.

Nothing wrong with O'Haras DIPA, its just not a DIPA in the American style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

It's a DIPA in the O'Hara's style.

Double Irish Pale Ale, so :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Andre Salmon

I finally tried of foam & fury today.
    I thought it was a nice hoppy beer, great mouthfeel (that's what struck me the most)
    I wasn't blown away though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

I finally tried of foam & fury today.
    I thought it was a nice hoppy beer, great mouthfeel (that's what struck me the most)
    I wasn't blown away though

I thought it was very good but not especially amazing. Perhaps it's because it's an Irish beer broadly in the American DIPA style. Such things are relatively uncommon in these parts, hence the wave of praise. It's great to see local breweries doing new things and, again, in this case, the results were great.