What beer are we drinking this week ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Slightly off topic but I had an auchentoshan 3 wood after dinner in mulligans, like warm caramel in the mouth, smooth, sweet, ****ing awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Sometimes I just read this thread to reminisce about drinking, as I have been 2 years off of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Sometimes I just read this thread to reminisce about drinking, as I have been 2 years off of it.

Fair play to you mate. Speaking as somebody who's intimately known a few addicts, your doing right by yourself and everybody who loves you. Keep strong;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Slightly off topic but I had an auchentoshan 3 wood after dinner in mulligans, like warm caramel in the mouth, smooth, sweet, ****ing awesome

Lovely stuff. Got a bottle for a friend then helped him drink it:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Thanks very much Jack. Always good for me to be told I'm doing the right thing. It's greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

I do wonder who is behind the gimmick laden, pretty professional looking McGargles.

I mean to appear on the scene ready to go with bottles, kegs, branded glasses and ceramic tankards, could any true start-up Irish Craft Brewer come to market with that set-up?

The beer is also a bit meh. I had a two bottles each (330ml) of the "IPA" and the Red Ale last night. The IPA, for someone like me who is a bit of a hop-avoider, was grand. It's a Pale Ale, not an IPA. If you come to this expecting a proper IPA, then lower your expectations.

The Red is equally meh. Best thing I can say about it is that it's tastier than Smithwick's.

The other offering is a fairly generic pilsner.

I do like the ceramic tankard though, it's nice to drink from it. Won't be going back for more of the beers though.

I had a Black Pitts Porter too, and it was the best of the five bottles I drank last night. It's actually not a bad representation of the style, but I'm suspicious of the 5 Lamps beers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,043 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

nøgne ø kriek of telemark

What did you think of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭osaurus

Had some of Stone's stuff this past week. Very very nice stuff, their pale ale is very sessionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,886 ✭✭✭Heroditas

I do wonder who is behind the gimmick laden, pretty professional looking McGargles.

I mean to appear on the scene ready to go with bottles, kegs, branded glasses and ceramic tankards, could any true start-up Irish Craft Brewer come to market with that set-up?

Yeah they seem to have a lot of stuff already lined up for merchandising.
    The official Rye River company name has only existed for a couple of months but from looking at the website, they have San Miguel as one of their brands. Ate they the Irish distributor for it? If so, they may have already had some capital to hand and also the know-how when it comes to merchandising and marketing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Saying here it's brewed by Thomas Hardy burtonwood.

http://www.ratebeer.com/brewers/thomas-hardy-burtonwood/348/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭blueshed

The beer is also a bit meh. I had a two bottles each (330ml) of the "IPA" and the Red Ale last night. The IPA, for someone like me who is a bit of a hop-avoider, was grand. It's a Pale Ale, not an IPA. If you come to this expecting a proper IPA, then lower your expectations.

The Red is equally meh. Best thing I can say about it is that it's tastier than Smithwick's.

I do like the ceramic tankard though, it's nice to drink from it. Won't be going back for more of the beers though.

I had a Black Pitts Porter too, and it was the best of the five bottles I drank last night. It's actually not a bad representation of the style, but I'm suspicious of the 5 Lamps beers too.

was in an off licence last week and the owner was telling me about this new beer from Kildare he had and i should try it, he was not that happy when i told him it is brewed in England and not great.

was in city centre yesterday and had 2 pts of Sweetmans porter which i really enjoyed.
    i was sitting beside the craft taps and in 70mins they only sold 4 pts of there own beer, my 2 porters and 2 red ales to two scottish lads.

blueshed wrote: »
    was in city centre yesterday and had 2 pts of Sweetmans porter which i really enjoyed.
    Euro for Euro, it's one of the best Irish beers, and certainly an amazing porter.
    blueshed wrote: »
    i was sitting beside the craft taps and in 70mins they only sold 4 pts of there own beer, my 2 porters and 2 red ales to two scottish lads.

I've never seen it that bad, but then again that pub attracts more of your "normal beer" drinkers, especially at this time of the year.

At least they still produce it though, this doesn't seem to put them off.

Was just down in the Hole In The Wall, had a few sneaky pints of Dark Arts

9 taps with crafty beers.

SN Pale Ale
    Crean's Lager
    Carrig Lager
    Kinnegar Limeburner
    Kinnegar Devil's Backbone
    Dark Arts

among them

Loads of different bottles too.

Lads, if you have a lady who loves Xmas, bring them to this boozer over the festivities, they do the place up lovely and the women love it.

I always do a bit of people watching down there in December, every group who walk in, the women always have this look on their face when the door opens and they look around --> :eek: "Ah isn't is gorgeous"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭blueshed

was also the same in the porterhouse, i was having a pint of the plain and most of the crowd seemed to be on the 12 pubs crawl and looking for bud, coors etc.

i went into Farringtons and had a pt of the Rascals ginger stout, very nice but seemed to have a bit more ginger than the sample i had from the batch that won the homebrew comp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Buried at sea is a cracking beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭tyler71

Out in Kinsale last night, one of the pubs had Blacks black IPA on tap, fantastic drink. Hope it tastes as good in bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭cruhoortwunk

Had a Kinnegar Rye Ginger ale in Black Sheep. Way too heavy on the ginger. I was trying to get a Ryebucket, didnt realise they had a different ginger rye one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I thought the O'Hara's DIPA was 4 for €8.50 today in the Dunnes and made the girl go check when she tried to charge me over 15 quid. I was wrong obviously and had held the queue up long enough so I just paid. I mean it's ok, but I could have gotten 3 Odells and something else for that :/ Sitting here drinking it, bitterly.

So to speak :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭The Drunken Destrier

Dungarvan Black Rock Stout. I forgot how delicious this is. Such an easy-drinking stout but not at all lacking in flavour.

I picked 6 beers to give to a guy who I know dabbles in Craft Beer from time to time.

O'Hara's Stout
    O'Hara's Irish Pale Ale
    Trouble Sabotage
    Trouble Dark Arts
    Clotworthy Dobbin
    Dungarvan Coppercoast

I think that's a decent selection from the current Irish brewers.

I know someone is going to come in and say Leann Follain or O'Hara's DIPA - but I don't think beers like that are for "starter" packs, which is what this is supposed to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,449 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

What did you think of it?
    Do I'm not a huge fan of Kriek beers. I can't really handle sours all that well.

This was definitely different to what I've tried before. It had a really nice flavour to it and wasn't overly sour tasting to me. Well worth a punt but if you're really into sours it might disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,825 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Last week - J.W Sweetman, Burgh quay, Dublin

House pale ale - I liked this a lot, 4 euro a pint, great value

House kolsch - 4.50 - now I have been to Koln several times, and this beer didn't seem like real kolsch to me. Maybe kolsch looks or tastes different due to the 20cl stange glasses?

I would not be in a hurry to re-order that kolsch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,043 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Do I'm not a huge fan of Kriek beers. I can't really handle sours all that well.

This was definitely different to what I've tried before. It had a really nice flavour to it and wasn't overly sour tasting to me. Well worth a punt but if you're really into sours it might disappoint.

I like my sours and found this plenty sour - problem was, I thought there wasn't much of anything else going on there. Tasted like sour cherry juice to me.
    I thought it lacked the complexity you get from the Lambic yeasts and the wood ageing. I only had a few sips and decided to open something else.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Heroditas wrote: »
    Yeah they seem to have a lot of stuff already lined up for merchandising.
    The official Rye River company name has only existed for a couple of months but from looking at the website, they have San Miguel as one of their brands. Ate they the Irish distributor for it? If so, they may have already had some capital to hand and also the know-how when it comes to merchandising and marketing.

I picked up some of their beers on Saturday night from my local Spar. Clever marketing, in that you could only buy them in 4 packs, so I picked up some of their Red Ale and some of their IPA, didn't bother with the Pilsner as lagers can be boring at the best of times, and even "craft" lagers tend not to have much going on.

Wasn't that impressed with them tbh. The Red was ok, there was a nice sweet malty roastiness to it but it had that earthy hop bitterness that you get in a lot of English Ales that I don't like. The IPA was totally forgettable, and not hoppy at all. Again the bitterness that I don't like was there along with an almost synthetic after taste.
    Only managed to have one of each on the Saturday. Had one of each last night and the Red did seem a little nicer, in that the bitterness seemed to have been less pronounced but I still wasn't impressed with the IPA.

The comments above I'd be very suspicious of this Brewery too. Just seems very slick for a start up, and the beers aren't that great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Rustbucket: rye flavour and hoppyness were nice enough. Overall it was ok/good but not one i would go for again.

Amber ella: where did the hops go? Not like the draught version i had a few months ago at all. Was it because it was a different batch for the bottle or maybe the aroma hops had gone from age. Very disapointed (only because i loved it before) still nice. Have more bottles to retested it.

Founders brekkie stout: very similar to mikkelers beer greek breakfast and i dont think i could tell them apart. Very like francison wells coffee porter too. All in all very good but tastes strongly like espresso which maybe not to others tastes.

adamski8 wrote: »
    Amber ella: where did the hops go? Not like the draught version i had a few months ago at all. Was it because it was a different batch for the bottle or maybe the aroma hops had gone from age. Very disapointed (only because i loved it before) still nice. Have more bottles to retested it.

I've only tried it in the bottles and I liked it, but not to the extent others seem to have. I'll have to try it on draught to really see what people meant.

The first Imperial IPA I ever tried was Brew Dog's Hardcore and this was before I had even tried any other strong IPA's. I liked it a bit, even though the strength made me wince a bit, at the time. I'm having one for the first time in a long while and I'm much more used to the strength. It's delicious. I've met back up with it after about year and can appreciate it more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Grayditch wrote: »
    The first Imperial IPA I ever tried was Brew Dog's Hardcore and this was before I had even tried any other strong IPA's. I liked it a bit, even though the strength made me wince a bit, at the time. I'm having one for the first time in a long while and I'm much more used to the strength. It's delicious. I've met back up with it after about year and can appreciate it more.

I was similar. I remember trying punkIPA for the first time and wondering how anyone could stomach it. Now its not hoppy enough:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It is interesting how your taste buds adjust over time. I started a thread a few years back pondering how people can stomach high abv beers.......high being anything north of 6%! Ha. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭ciaran76

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It is interesting how your taste buds adjust over time. I started a thread a few years back pondering how people can stomach high abv beers.......high being anything north of 6%! Ha. :)

I remember thinking SN Torpedo burned my lips and tongue the 1st time I had it and was disgusted that I bought it.

Months later I was practically gargling the stuff ( I'm not).

SN Torpedo was my breakthrough IPA. Even after not liking regular SN, and a few others, I picked up a Torpedo by accident, instead of a regular SN which I had intended on trying out a gain. Took a sip, from what must have been the right glass at the right temperature and a light went on.

That's not potpourri. Those are delicious hops!