Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭shefellover93

Mollikins wrote: »
    I never said it was boring. I said it was pointless! And that was a disappointing backlash attempt! :pac:

Tbh I only follow tennis because I have an obsession with Rafa Nadal. He's sooo dreamy. :p

Cricket is no more pointless than any other sport :pac: The money's good if you can make it as a pro. :cool:

That reason = poor :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

I have major tennis love too. I usually only really actually watch Wimbledonbecause the rest are on the the most akward times but I try to keep up to date on the goings on.

I obviously have a thing for pointless/boring sports:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Mollikins

Cricket is no more pointless than any other sport :pac: The money's good if you can make it as a pro. :cool:

That reason = poor :P
    I actually don't understand it at all so if you can explain it to me I might retract that statement about it being pointless! :p
    I have major tennis love too.
    Yay! Who is your favourite player?
    I usually only really actually watch Wimbledonbecause the rest are on the the most akward times but I try to keep up to date on the goings on.
    Yeah I know. I'm the same really. It's really hard to keep track of them when they are on in the middle of the night. Silly time zones. :pac:

I actually don't understand it at all so if you can explain it to me I might retract that statement about it being pointless! :p

Yay! Who is your favourite player?

Yeah I know. I'm the same really. It's really hard to keep track of them when they are on in the middle of the night. Silly time zones. :pac:

Even though I do watch cricket the odd time, I'll agree that it is totally pointless.

I can't really decide if I've got a favourite player. It's probably Federer or someone. I used to love Murray but I've started to hate him lately.:( I wouldn't say he's my favourite player but I usually love watching Lleyton Hewitt playing, even if he's way down in the rankings, I think he's in the 50s and I don't even remember him from when he was #1. I do hate Nadal though, there's just something about him that I don't like and I can't quite tell what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I never said it was boring. I said it was pointless!

Someone who follows it more closely might be able to correct me here but I believe the aim is to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭shefellover93

This is the main reason why it's not popular :p

Ok, might as well break it down :P

Field

Field - This is the full circular playing surface. Not to be mixed up with 'pitch'

Pitch - This is the 22 yard long dirt strip that the main action takes place on. Not to be mixed up with 'field'

The stumps - The stumps are the three wooden poles that the batsman stands in front of. These play a key role in how wickets are taken.

The boundary - This is a rope that goes around a pitch (like a sideline) that shows where the field ends.

The Umpire - Cricket's answer to a referee.

Positions:

Bowler - The guy who throws the ball to the batsmen, the one key difference between him and a pitcher is that bowlers must throw the ball with a straight arm, and the ball should hit the ground before reaching the batsman. Bowlers can be divided into two categories

Seam - This is when the bowler tries to use pace in order to get the batsman out

Spin - This is when the bowler causes the ball to move left or right when it hits the ground, tricking the batsman. Spin deliveries are slower in order to allow the ball to move off the ground.

The batsman - The batsman's aim is to make as many runs as possible without 'getting out'. Batsmen bat in pairs, with one on each end of the pitch.

The fielders - These are the guys who stand in the field. Their job is to stop the ball or catch it if it's in the air.

The wicketkeeper - He is the man, standing behind the batsman, who catches the ball if the batsman misses it. Because he stands behind the stumps the ball gets thrown back to him to stop any more 'runs' being scored.

Scoring:

Wicket - This means that a batsman has gotten out. By taking a wicket the fielding team ensures that that particular batsman may not bat again in the match. Each team has 10 wickets (one man may not bat on his own). This is often put after 'runs' on a score

Runs - Runs are basically another word for points. A batsman gets one run if he and his partner run to the opposite end of the 'pitch'. They get four runs if they hit the ball to the boundary and the ball touches the ground at any stage. If they hit the ball over the boundary without it hitting the ground at all, then they get 6 runs.

So when you see 147-6 on the score. That means that the batting team have scored 147 runs, but that 6 batsman have gotten out.

General Play

Delivery - Also known as a ball. This is the phase of play between the bowler throwing the ball, and the fielder getting it.

Over - An over is to a ball what a minute is to a second. There are 6 'balls' in an over. If there are 20 overs, that means 20x6 throws. The more overs then obviously, the longer the game, and the higher the score for the batting team.

Common Ways Batsmen 'Get Out'

Caught - As in baseball/rounders. If you hit the ball in the air and it gets caught you're out. If you catch the ball with one hand you still only get that batsman out, not the whole team

Bowled - This is when the throw from the bowlers hits the stumps, either directly, or if the batman accidentally deflects the ball towards them with hit bat.

Leg Before Wicket (LBW) - The idea behind this is simple. If you use a part of your body to stop the ball hitting the stumps then you're out LBW.

Run-out - This is if the fielding side hit the stumps while you're running to the opposite end. Wicketkeepers often stand beside the stumps to catch a loose throw and hit the stumps with the ball in their gloves.

Anything Else?

Off-side - A batsman stands side on (like a golfer hitting a shot) in order to swing the bat. The side that he faces is known as the off-side

Leg-side. This is the side that the batsman has his back to when facing a shot.

Run rate - How many runs a team get in an over on average

Half-century - When a batsman scores 50
    Century - When a batsman scores 100

With this you should be able to understand how the game of cricket works at a basic level. When you start to understand the basics then the other terms will be easy to learn. Try watching it for more then 30 seconds the next time it's on, and try to understand how the game works. With all its terms and complications, its actually a very simple game at a basic level.

And when you make the third ball lock multiball beings right?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Omg you said all the technical things but why leave out the fun, BEST parts of Cricket?!

The referee nearly always wears a funny hat, its like a sun hat. Well Ive only ever seen cricket matches played in the sun but its rather enjoyable to watch nonetheless

If someone is out or LBW the people will scream it so loud and its actually hilarious to listen too :L People in excruciating pain scream calmer :P

If someone makes an awful blunder like one the fielders has butterfingers and doesnt catch the ball it will be shown atleast 5 times on the big screen for everyone to look at :P They keep repeating it for ages because crickets such a slow moving game and they have so much time!

Oh and on skysports they normally have lovely mugshots of the players when they come on for their turn to bat, and sometimes they have a clip of their voice I think? Well they did once before Im almost certain..

So yea lads basically, watch cricket <3 I dont follow it properly or anything but I actually love sitting down and watching it , one of the msot enjoyable sports ever :L And I never think of how possible scores are like when the second team tries to beat the first teams score, I never know if they have enough balls (lawl) to do that so ya never know whos going to wi until theyve actually won.
    tl;dr WATCH CRICKET FOR THE LAWLSSSSSSSS :)

People in the crowd (most commonly at T20) dress up in funny costumes and some of them have hilarious signs/banners too which are always good for a laugh. And there's usually someone with a trumpet/musical instrument in the crowd.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

If you don't enjoy longer games of cricket, then the 20twenty version of the game tends to be more exciting for people who are new to watching the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

I really got into cricket 5-6 years ago when the Ashes was on. I used to think it was boring as hell but that was a brilliant event.

Then Sky Sports got the rights to pretty much all cricket on television so I couldn't watch it anymore. Just as I was starting to like it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I remember I was over at my friends house (who's english) and her older brother put on a game of cricket on tv and I let out a huge sigh. And then he was like 'YOU DONT LIKE CRICKET!' and I was like '...no. Hurling's way better'. And he was like 'hurling is crap....'. From that point on, I have never even tried to appreciate cricket :P /pointless life story.

Also, for all you tennis freaks like me, djokovic is the man!! :D I try to keep up to date with what happens in the grand slams but i only really ever have the time to watch wimbeldon and the french open :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Lads, Golf FTW!!!!!

I only watch t20 cricket/the world cup. Its was great going up to english people after and saying to them "were better at cricket than ye!!" :pac:

I really like Tennis too, usually follow the grand slams when they're on.

I used to play quite regularly from youth and throughout my teens. I have a decent enough first serve. :)

I was a member of my local club and I think I'll rejoin now that they've upgraded the courts.

I do hate Nadal though, there's just something about him that I don't like and I can't quite tell what it is.
    Nooooo!! How could you hate him? :(
    Someone who follows it more closely might be able to correct me here but I believe the aim is to win.
    :eek: Really?
    I had no idea! :pac:
    This is the main reason why it's not popular :p
    Jesus that must have taken you ages to type out!
    I'll have to actually watch cricket the next time it's on now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭ihavequestions

OMG did not realise tennis talk was going on in here!:eek:
    Also, for all you tennis freaks like me, djokovic is the man!! :D I try to keep up to date with what happens in the grand slams but i only really ever have the time to watch wimbeldon and the french open :(

Omg djokovic is so cute!!! He's like a nerdy tennis player , do you get what I mean!? He's not my favourite though... Murray takes that spot , very very closely followed by Federer, only because I feel sorry for Murray not having won a grand slam yet!
    I can't really decide if I've got a favourite player. It's probably Federer or someone. I used to love Murray but I've started to hate him lately.:( I wouldn't say he's my favourite player but I usually love watching Lleyton Hewitt playing, even if he's way down in the rankings, I think he's in the 50s and I don't even remember him from when he was #1. I do hate Nadal though, there's just something about him that I don't like and I can't quite tell what it is.

I know I feel the exact same way about Nadal...I just can't put my finger on what it is that makes me want to punch him in the face everytime I see him! How can you have started to hate Murray?? :eek: He does come accross as a bit of a prick at times but I looove him!!

Staying up tonight to watch the Murray game... C'mon Murray!! He said he's not feeling confident though :(

OMG did not realise tennis talk was going on in here!:eek:

Omg djokovic is so cute!!! He's like a nerdy tennis player , do you get what I mean!? He's not my favourite though... Murray takes that spot , very very closely followed by Federer, only because I feel sorry for Murray not having won a grand slam yet!

I know I feel the exact same way about Nadal...I just can't put my finger on what it is that makes me want to punch him in the face everytime I see him! How can you have started to hate Murray?? :eek: He does come accross as a bit of a prick at times but I looove him!!

Staying up tonight to watch the Murray game... C'mon Murray!! He said he's not feeling confident though :(
    I always think Nadal looks a bit like a drowned rat once he gets going. :o

I don't really know what it is about Murray, he used to be my favourite but I s'pose he just fell out of favour with me for the past while. I'm sure I'll like him again soon, I'm just waiting for it to hit me.

I basically love all of the top players (except Nadal): Soderling, Roddick, Berdych, Djokovich etc. etc. :)

I always think Nadal looks a bit like a drowned rat once he gets going. :o

I don't really know what it is about Murray, he used to be my favourite but I s'pose he just fell out of favour with me for the past while. I'm sure I'll like him again soon, I'm just waiting for it to hit me.

I basically love all of the top players (except Nadal): Soderling, Roddick, Berdych, Djokovich etc. etc. :)

Ya I hope you start liking Murray again soon! :P That is so true about Nadal, best example is Wimbedon final 08 i think it was when he played against Federer, he was completely drenched and Federer was calm and cool as per usual! ( I find the fact Nadal actually won irrevalent in this matter >_> )
    I like Murray, Federer, Djokovich, Roddick and Isner for being a complete legend after that epic match again Mahut!

Andy Gray - what a ledge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Chris Kamara for full time commentary please.

YES! Nadal is knocked out!!! Murray is through! C'mon Murray!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Chris Kamara for full time commentary please.
    I always thought he would be a class maths teacher :P
    "It's unbelievable jeff!!!" :D

So Henin has retired again. I wonder will she make another come back in another couple of years or if this is it this time. I always liked her so I'll be sad to see her go.

Haven't really been following the Australian Open the past few days but it looks like it's Ferrer v Murray and Djokovic v Federer for the semis.

I like Federer but I'm hoping for a Murray v Djokovic final.
    I'd like to see Clijsters winning but I don't really pay much attention to the womens tennis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

YES! Nadal is knocked out!!! Murray is through! C'mon Murray!!!

Nooo :eek: I can't stand Murray. And the BBC commentators do not help, they constantly imply he's English :rolleyes: Its really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Brilliant performance by Celtic tonight,4-0 to the hoops :)

Nooo :eek: I can't stand Murray. And the BBC commentators do not help, they constantly imply he's English :rolleyes: Its really annoying.

I love him.... :o That does really annoy me too though! It's like they are trying to take credit for what Scotland have produced!

Djokovic knocked out Federer, Ferrer knocked out Nadal, now things get really interesting!!!
    Ferrer V Murray on at 8.30am BBC2 for anyone who wants to watch it!
    I'm praying for a Murray v Djokovic final!

I love him.... :o That does really annoy me too though! It's like they are trying to take credit for what Scotland have produced!

Djokovic knocked out Federer, Ferrer knocked out Nadal, now things get really interesting!!!
    Ferrer V Murray on at 8.30am BBC2 for anyone who wants to watch it!
    I'm praying for a Murray v Djokovic final!

He might have been produced by Scotland in a way but I'm pretty sure most of his development was by foreign coaches in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I hope Murray wins this because January 2011 will be known as the month when the Brits came in and fleeced the Aussies. Being in Australia for the 06 Soccer world cup. I can safely say the Aussies are hands down the worst sports fans in the world. They are massive sore losers.

unknown13 wrote: »
    I hope Murray wins this because January 2011 will be known as the month when the Brits came in and fleeced the Aussies. Being in Australia for the 06 Soccer world cup. I can safely say the Aussies are hands down the worst sports fans in the world. They are massive sore losers.

What by beating Djokovic, the pride and joy of Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

What by beating Djokovic, the pride and joy of Australia?

The Ashes and Murray taking the cup back to Britain.