Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

unknown13 wrote: »
    The Ashes and Murray taking the cup back to Britain.

Which might sting a little if there had been a single Australian tennis player with any chance of winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Best chance Murray will have for a while to win a Major with Federer and Nadal out.Who's he playing in the semi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭ihavequestions

Best chance Murray will have for a while to win a Major with Federer and Nadal out.Who's he playing in the semi?

He played David Ferrer...and WON!!! :D:D:D

Final is on Sunday night Aussie time, so around 8.30am here I'd say! Murray V Djokovic, very hard to call! They are very evenly matched! I hope to God Murray can take home his first Grand Slam title!!!

He played David Ferrer...and WON!!! :D:D:D

Final is on Sunday night Aussie time, so around 8.30am here I'd say! Murray V Djokovic, very hard to call! They are very evenly matched! I hope to God Murray can take home his first Grand Slam title!!!

Good stuff,hope he wins it.Will be tough against Djokovic if he beat Federer(or Nadal not sure?) he must be on form.

The Ashes and Murray taking the cup back to Britain.

And if Murray wins it,the cup will be going back to Scotland,to be precise.

Good stuff,hope he wins it.Will be tough against Djokovic if he beat Federer(or Nadal not sure?) he must be on form.

True that! Djokovic beat Federer! Ferrer beat Nadal but Nadal was injured!

Luis Suarez has gone to Liverpool - looks like the new owners have a bit of cash on their hands.

Great player but the rest of the squad still needs improving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Liverpool rejected a bid from Chelsea for Torres too. Chelsea are weakening though it seems so it might be a bad move.

flyswatter wrote: »
    Liverpool rejected a bid from Chelsea for Torres too. Chelsea are weakening though it seems so it might be a bad move.

Seems as if Torres wants to go.Liverpool rejected a transfer request.

Well fair play to Djokovic he really deserved to win. I'm sad that Murray didn't win, but glad it was Djokovic who beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Mollikins

Well fair play to Djokovic he really deserved to win. I'm sad that Murray didn't win, but glad it was Djokovic who beat him.

Yay Djokovic!! :D
    Though I wouldn't have minded if Murray had won either.

Was it a good match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Woo Djokovic! Wiped that smug look off Murray's face...

Mollikins wrote: »
    Yay Djokovic!! :D
    Though I wouldn't have minded if Murray had won either.

Was it a good match?

It was a good match if you were a Djokovic supporter! He was playing the best I've seen him play in a while! He won in straight sets , 6-4 , 6-2, 6-3 , he destroyed Murray, so it wasn't very exciting. Murrays semi-final with Ferrer was way better! Murray made a lot of unforced errors which ultimately cost him the game! He had 4 double faults (i think) while Djokovic had none! The way Djokovic won the game sums up the story of the entire game, Murray hit the ball into the net on his return.

When Djokovic won he threw his arm bands, top, shoes, towel and racket into the crowd!!

It was a good match if you were a Djokovic supporter! He was playing the best I've seen him play in a while! He won in straight sets , 6-4 , 6-2, 6-3 , he destroyed Murray, so it wasn't very exciting. Murrays semi-final with Ferrer was way better! Murray made a lot of unforced errors which ultimately cost him the game! He had 4 double faults (i think) while Djokovic had none! The way Djokovic won the game sums up the story of the entire game, Murray hit the ball into the net on his return.

When Djokovic won he threw his arm bands, top, shoes, towel and racket into the crowd!!

Thanks for the link and the little summary ihavequestions. You saved my lazy arse the bother of looking for stuff. :o

I don't like matches that are too one-sided really. I prefer it when they are fighting it out. It's a pity Murray didn't do better.
    Djokovic had his shoulder fairly heavily strapped. Did it affect his game much do you think or was it just a precaution?

I love it when they throw stuff into the crowd!
    I was waiting for him to take of his shorts and throw them in at the end... :o :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Waterford and Cork are in the Waterford Crystal Cup Final, next week.
    Waterford came form 11 points down at half time to beat Clare today, mental isnt the word :P

Im really hoping the match is in some eastern part of Cork coz then maybe, just maybe I could go :/
    Its defo not in Waterford coz the Final was in Waterford last year when they beat UCC..

But like, that was sucha cool match, though it woulda been cooler if I wasnt relying on twitter updates for the score >.<

But like yayy hurling \o/ Final next week then league hurling starts the week after!! :D:D

Mollikins wrote: »
    Thanks for the link and the little summary ihavequestions. You saved my lazy arse the bother of looking for stuff. :o

I don't like matches that are too one-sided really. I prefer it when they are fighting it out. It's a pity Murray didn't do better.
    Djokovic had his shoulder fairly heavily strapped. Did it affect his game much do you think or was it just a precaution?

I love it when they throw stuff into the crowd!
    I was waiting for him to take of his shorts and throw them in at the end... :o :pac:

No problem! I know I was waiting for that too haha! Ya it is a pity. Though he was really beating himself up during the match he looked so sad and was talking to himself! It must have been just a precaution cause it didn't affect the play as far as I or the BBC commentators could notice! His knee was strapped up too, must've been just precautions!

Bring on the French Open I say!

deise_girl wrote: »
    Waterford and Cork are in the Waterford Crystal Cup Final, next week.
    Waterford came form 11 points down at half time to beat Clare today, mental isnt the word :P

Im really hoping the match is in some eastern part of Cork coz then maybe, just maybe I could go :/
    Its defo not in Waterford coz the Final was in Waterford last year when they beat UCC..

But like, that was sucha cool match, though it woulda been cooler if I wasnt relying on twitter updates for the score >.<

But like yayy hurling \o/ Final next week then league hurling starts the week after!! :D:D
    Deise your enthusiasm for Waterford hurling makes me ashamed of my complete ignorance of it all. :o
    No problem! I know I was waiting for that too haha! Ya it is a pity. Though he was really beating himself up during the match he looked so sad and was talking to himself! It must have been just a precaution cause it didn't affect the play as far as I or the BBC commentators could notice! His knee was strapped up too, must've been just precautions!
    Lol he was talking to himself? Ah bless! :o
    I can't say I noticed his knee was strapped up tbh. I was too busy looking at his bare chest like! :pac:
    Bring on the French Open I say!
    Oooh I know! Tis Nadal's tournament sure. :D

And the Queens Club will probably be on around the same time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭shefellover93

First game of the season yesterday. Beat Cobh Ramblers 3-0 with some new trialists. Freezing my nads off but good fun all the same. Hopefully this season will go better for City then last!

Do you know why is it that the LOI runs in the summer season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Do you know why is it that the LOI runs in the summer season?

No, it is to give the clubs a better chance at doing something in the Champions League and UEFA cup qualifying stages.

That's the main reason, and to allow families bring their kids to the game without having to worry about school the next day and stuff (Also why the games are on a Friday night)

But not having to go upto the backarse of Connemara on a freezing windy night is always a bonus :pac:

Decided to continue my blog that I had running from the 2009 season.
    Clicky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

lol Torres

Namlub wrote: »
    lol Torres

lol Carrol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Staying up to watch the deadline day's conclusion. It's officially over now.

Very exciting, wondering has Harry managed to grab Charlie Adam!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12322784

Bahahahaha little late there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12322784

Bahahahaha little late there.

Who is it :confused:

Namlub wrote: »
    Who is it :confused:

I couldn't possibly comment.

I'm also not sure it'd even be a good idea for me for me to reveal his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Clare vs. Limerick hurling match today :D

Even if it is division 2! but meh. Exciting and I'm expecting a cracker!

Also my sister got picked for that GoGames at half time.. The family are disowning her bar my mother because she's representing Clare...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I haven't been at a Mayo game so far this year. This is not like me :confused: