Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

unknown13 wrote: »
    Big weekend of sports ahead. International rules, Man City / Arsenal and in other sports

Will you be watching UFC tonight as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Will you be watching UFC tonight as well?

Don't know. I have training at 1 tomorrow

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh :D:D:D

Can't wait fot the rules test this evening!! FREE TICKETS!! :D:D:D

Well the international rules was a load of shíte tonight.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Big weekend of sports ahead. International rules, Man City / Arsenal and in other sports

And De La Salle vs Ballygunner in the Waterford county final :P
    Two teams hateeeee each other, last year they met Mullane got a straight red and if they had him for the extra time they woulda won, then Ballygunner went on to win the county title

This yea they met at the group stages and Ballygunner destroyed 'La Salle, but they both qualified so it meant nothing..
    They'll certainly be a few broken hurleys tomorrow though :D

deise_girl wrote: »
    And De La Salle vs Ballygunner in the Waterford county final :P
    Two teams hateeeee each other, last year they met Mullane got a straight red and if they had him for the extra time they woulda won, then Ballygunner went on to win the county title

This yea they met at the group stages and Ballygunner destroyed 'La Salle, but they both qualified so it meant nothing..
    They'll certainly be a few broken hurleys tomorrow though :D

We had the Football final here last week. Don't know when the Hurling is on though. The Club Hurling is primarily a one team affair in Dublin in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Well the international rules was a load of shíte tonight.

Was so sickened! Wtf like!! If they played the whole match like they did the last 3 minutes and upped defence a bit it all would have been graaaaaaaaaaand!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Tottenham were absolute awful today and Man United managed some how to win in the last minute :mad: :mad: :mad:.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Lads.

Ronan O'Gara is a class act :)

As I flicked by I saw the Aviva was practically empty for the match. I didn't watch the match, so I didn't see how well O Gara played. I am now waiting for the big fight to start down in Limerick.

O'Gara only came on for the last 15 minutes, but he did well. Sexton kicked a few decent balls for field position in the first half, but was below his best over-all. Unfortunately for Ireland (but fortunate for Sexton) we had so many poor players today that he didn't stand out for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

O'Gara only came on for the last 15 minutes, but he did well. Sexton kicked a few decent balls for field position in the first half, but was below his best over-all. Unfortunately for Ireland (but fortunate for Sexton) we had so many poor players today that he didn't stand out for it.

Sexton should be persisted with. Had nothing to work with all game. Buckley and Healy on the other hand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Sexton should be persisted with. Had nothing to work with all game. Buckley and Healy on the other hand...

Not many options to replace them though. I read the other day that John Hayes is 37, which is old in any sport, but especially rugby.

Jay P wrote: »
    Not many options to replace them though. I read the other day that John Hayes is 37, which is old in any sport, but especially rugby.

Christ no I didn't mean Hayes. He shouldn't ever be called on again. Court and Ross should be our starting props.

Court really impressed me when he came on. I still think there's a place for Mushy in the match-day squad, but he hasn't yet fulfilled the potential he showed a few years ago.

Agree I'd have either him or Healy on the bench (or both if 23 man squads are introduced at international level). Positives for Healy are that he covers loosehead with Court being able to switch to tighthead whereas Buckley has a greater impact off the bench.

Manchester derby in 25 minutes. Come on City. :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

De La Salle beat Sarsfields 0-22 to 2-15 extra time...
    Was an alright game.... Sarsfields should have won it out though, De La Salle did well to bring it to extra time.. Those goals were a joke, Brenner should be put down for them and some of those wides...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

Yeow! C'mon Sligo Rovers :D
    Ciarán Kelly is now my hero. I've never seen a goalie save FOUR penalties in a row before!

Damn, I'm just so delighted, I thought we were going to throw it away.
    I wish I was at the aviva right now!:P

Spurs -V- Arsenal tomorrow. Come on you Spurs.

Great game and comeback by Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Delighted for Spurs, it was an excellent comeback! United are winning 2-0, and Chelsea are currently 1-0 down to Birmingham. If it stays like this, United and Chelsea will be level on points (with Chelsea still top on goal difference). Keeping everything crossed.

It's a good time to be a City fan. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭ihavequestions

Murray Vs Federer at 2pm ! Going to be a brilliant match! C'mon Murray!! (I also love Federer but poor Murray deserves a win!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

Jaysis, the RTE panel weren't half harsh about Rooney tonight. Ok, so he missed some decent chances - but ye can't expect the chap to be bangin' them in first start he gets after being injured. He looked positive and confident in himself even after he missed some chances. Delighted to see him score the penalty. Only had to look at him before he took it and ye knew it was going in! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Delighted Spurs have qualified. It was a tough group in hindsight but we came through it pretty easily in the end.

flyswatter wrote: »
    Delighted Spurs have qualified. It was a tough group in hindsight but we came through it pretty easily in the end.

Pretty shíte game though. Also delighted since I am a Spurs fan.

Jaysis, the RTE panel weren't half harsh about Rooney tonight. Ok, so he missed some decent chances - but ye can't expect the chap to be bangin' them in first start he gets after being injured. He looked positive and confident in himself even after he missed some chances. Delighted to see him score the penalty. Only had to look at him before he took it and ye knew it was going in! :D

In fairness, he hasn't been banging any in except from the penalty spot, for several months.

Yeah pretty much, he went on a serious goal drought this year. Not a great year at all for Rooney. The big question will be; will he break 15 or even 10 goals this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

True enough, but I reckon we should be judging him on how he's doing now. Considering he's back from injury, like :)