Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

If Tipp lose this game now, their team really is irredeemable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Wow, the momentum just keeps swinging back and forth in this match. I thought Kilkenny were more likely to run away with this, but it's a much more exciting match now than I ever could have expected.

Should be a nailbiting last ~10 minutes and added time..

Pity Shefflin went off early, wonder if it would have been more one sided with him on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Tragedy wrote: »
    Pity Shefflin went off early, wonder if it would have been more one sided with him on?

You wouldn't know. Some teams almost play better without their biggest player in these sort of matches, because they know they all have to up their game to compensate. Some just crumple without them.

Fair play to Tipperary, they've played amazingly today. I think the final score-line flatters them just a bit, but they thoroughly deserve the title.

All I can say is:

About fecking time :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

They should send a video of that match off to FIFA. Would teach them a thing or two about how to get the most out of a major final...

What a game :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Arcade Panda

There's going to be an unreal session in Nenagh tonight!! I'm so happy!! We WON!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Wow...did not see that one coming. But....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Shefflin wouldn't have made much of a difference imo, very few KK scores from play, which was the difference in the end. Delighted for Tipp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

G'wan the Tipp. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Great display by Tipp :)

But if I was a tipp supporter at that match, I'd be so pissed about the fencing.

When Limerick win an AI (no jokes please:P), I'd have only dreamed of running onto the pitch.
    Didn't feel the shivers I usually get from the crowds of people around hogan stand today.

Ah well.

Gwan Tipp!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Woo knew they could do it. **** yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

To beat Kilkenny is a huge achievement, but to beat them by 8 points...that's just fúcking unbelievable tbh!!!

DylanS09 wrote: »
    To beat Kilkenny is a huge achievement, but to beat them by 8 points...that's just fúcking unbelievable tbh!!!

I think KK just seemed to give up in the last few minutes. Well I think that anyways. Especially when Corbett, I think, got the last goal.
    You could see Rice just hitting over the last minute point seeing as it was worthless.

But really, credit to Kilkenny too. They really are an unbelievable team and have given us some matches to watch over the years. Wouldn't be surprised if they came back next year to win it out.

I'm rather disappointed to not witness a piece of history but Tipp deserved their win. Fair play! :)

Also Clare lost! gaaaaah! Everyone is gonna be depressed in school tomorrow now. Not in the mood for sour faces.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Shefflin wouldn't have made much of a difference imo, very few KK scores from play, which was the difference in the end. Delighted for Tipp

I'd disagree with this Shefflin is as much important a leader on that team as he is important for scoring. When he plays well others play well around him, hes just one of those gifted players that can make others look better too.

This is the only reasoning I can see for having him start the game, because otherwise whoever said him fit enough to play was nothing short of an idiot. It kinda shows a vulnerability in Kilkenny though, they do depend on Henry to lead them out of trouble.
    Im not saying if a 100% fit Shefflin was playing that KK would have won, but it would have made a big difference imo.

Fair play to Tipperary though, they exposed Kilkenny and were only 2 points short of hammering them.
    Cody to announce retirement maybe?

deise_girl wrote: »
    I'd disagree with this Shefflin is as much important a leader on that team as he is important for scoring. When he plays well others play well around him, hes just one of those gifted players that can make others look better too.

This is the only reasoning I can see for having him start the game, because otherwise whoever said him fit enough to play was nothing short of an idiot. It kinda shows a vulnerability in Kilkenny though, they do depend on Henry to lead them out of trouble.
    Im not saying if a 100% fit Shefflin was playing that KK would have won, but it would have made a big difference imo.

Fair play to Tipperary though, they exposed Kilkenny and were only 2 points short of hammering them.
    Cody to announce retirement maybe?

Cody said it himself, that a fit Shefflin would have made no difference.

It was a bad mistake starting Shefflin, when he went off it hurt KK. If he hadn't started, and KK knew that, it wouldn't have hurt them as much. Yes he is a leader, but there are other leaders in that team that could have stepped up to the mark. And it would have been a huge motivational tool as well for KK to do it for Henry!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Cody said it himself, that a fit Shefflin would have made no difference.

It was a bad mistake starting Shefflin, when he went off it hurt KK. If he hadn't started, and KK knew that, it wouldn't have hurt them as much. Yes he is a leader, but there are other leaders in that team that could have stepped up to the mark. And it would have been a huge motivational tool as well for KK to do it for Henry!

Ahh now I wouldnt listen to what Cody was saying, he'd look at saying Shefflins fitness made a difference in the game as making excuses and Cody never makes excuses! :pac:

And I know they talk about the amount of leaders on the Kilkenny team(Cha, Tommy Walsh, Richie Power etc) but truth is, Shefflin is the leader, the main one anyway. When hes not there other players have to step it up a lot to keep going(like Power was able to against Cork) but thats not always possible.
    No Im almost 100% that Kilkenny wouldnt have lost by as much with a fully fit Henry, he wouldnt have missed as many frees, he woulda scored from play and set up scores with his unreal workrate. :)

It makes you think though.. He'll go for his operation shortly but hes 31 now and with knee problems his career wont be going on much longer, be interesting to see what happens in the next 3 years for him..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

A friend of mine had this as her status on facebook, I thought it was pretty good.

"Curiosity didn't kill the cats... Tipp did"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

So good to see a Tipp win today! Yay! :)

In relation to the Shefflin debate.
    I think he would have made a major impact if he was playing.
    Tip didn't really pull away and gain that 9 point lead until the end with help from Corbett's late goal so it was always a 3/4/5 point game so if Shefflin's influence was there, anything could have happened.
    Richie Power missed a few free's that I believe Shefflin could have scored fully fit or not.
    And as deise said above, he is the leader.
    You could see that no-one really stood up to the plate when he went off. Cha Fitz and Brennan were taken off like. The hurlers you'd want to be up there leading the team.

No-one can say for definite whether KK would have won seeing as it's not possible but imo, it could have changed the game.
    Even if they had a fit Brian Hogan like...

But Tipp are the winners :) Shur like, this is it.

In relation to the Shefflin debate.
    I think he would have made a major impact if he was playing.
    Tip didn't really pull away and gain that 9 point lead until the end with help from Corbett's late goal so it was always a 3/4/5 point game so if Shefflin's influence was there, anything could have happened.
    Richie Power missed a few free's that I believe Shefflin could have scored fully fit or not.
    And as deise said above, he is the leader.
    You could see that no-one really stood up to the plate when he went off. Cha Fitz and Brennan were taken off like. The hurlers you'd want to be up there leading the team.

No-one can say for definite whether KK would have won seeing as it's not possible but imo, it could have changed the game.
    Even if they had a fit Brian Hogan like...

But Tipp are the winners :) Shur like, this is it.

No way Shefflin would have been a cert to score any frees. He could barely walk after 10 minutes. Playing him was a reckless decision and it cost them.

He was doing well at the beginning.
    And this was about if Shefflin was fit, would he have made an impact.
    If he was fit, he can score free's from most positions.

He was doing well at the beginning.
    And this was about if Shefflin was fit, would he have made an impact.
    If he was fit, he can score free's from most positions.

He hit a couple but I don't remember them being particulary testing (could be worng). The one difficult one he had he missed. Obviously a fit Shefflin would have had an impact though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

Seriously lads... why do Andorra even have a football team? They're not playing football :confused:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

We didn't play a lot of football ourselves either. There'll be snow-ball fights in hell before Aidan McGeady learns to play a decent pass.

6/6 - good start, plus Russia lost at home. That table has a nice look to it at the moment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

How was that not a penalty Doyle was wrestled to the ground!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

We didn't play a lot of football ourselves either. There'll be snow-ball fights in hell before Aidan McGeady learns to play a decent pass.

Fair point. It's just that Andorra were more interested in wasting time than playing football, hence why I'm wondering why they even bothered travelling/competing.

How was that not a penalty Doyle was wrestled to the ground!

Ref bottled it tbh - should have been a card and a penalty.

Fair point. It's just that Andorra were more interested in wasting time than playing football, hence why I'm wondering why they even bothered travelling/competing.

Ah, I know what you mean. They made the game very bad to watch. A friend of mine was at it, he spent most of the first half trying to get Niall Quinn's autograph instead of watching the action! :D They're playing because FIFA seem intent on getting a team from every nation on the planet. They should be more concerned about facilitating entertaining football that people actually want to (pay to) watch...