Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thomas Cook Grafton Street store occupied by the workers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

I say starve them out! Sure theres only a few packs of biscuits and some tea in there anyway. And then give them fuck all for being so awkward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

fitz0 wrote: »
    I say starve them out! Sure theres only a few packs of biscuits and some tea in there anyway. And then give them fuck all for being so awkward.
    Most of them are probably entitled to 2 weeks, as per the law.
    Then again, those that were criminally trespassing could probably be fired for serious misconduct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

fitz0 wrote: »

Spot on old chap!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've watched and read all of this and subsequent links and I'm still confused what exactly they are protesting about.... being let go?? Is that it?

What do they want to see happen... Thomas Cook being forced to employ them forever or do they have a suggestion?

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

DeVore wrote: »
    I've watched and read all of this and subsequent links and I'm still confused what exactly they are protesting about.... being let go?? Is that it?
    DeV.

They just want more money... they think they are 'entitled'... because the company is making money still. Truth is, they are 'entitled' to 2 weeks per year, with a cap of 600. 1200 for for every year. Reminds me of that muppet from Fas with his 'entitled' to first class tickets!. This country needs to wake up.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Just imagine if this happened in Iraq, lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭Trampas

Part that annoyed me was the press highlighted that there are 2 pregnant women in the building.

What does it matter if there is 2 or 22 pregnant women in the building. Not as if they are been held against their wishes.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

They should leave. They lost their jobs, like so many people, they are nothing special in todays climate. As I stated, their packgae is healthy and they are just taking the piss at this stage.

They are living in fantasy land, the owners of Thomas Cook, who employed them, are closing down. There is nothing they can do. They can't force them to stay. Whatever happend to being the boss of a company? Nowadays you can't make a decisions about anything without the unions sticking their noses in.

If a supervisor wishes to change schedule, oh no, the union is not having it! You're fired? Oh noooo, can't have that! You only refused to do your job! (I refer to Dublin Bus)

I hope they lose. Badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I'm confused about the protest. Is it about how they were dismissed or the amount they're receiving?

If a company doesn't want to operate here anymore, there is nothing they can do.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Five weeks redundancy is fair enough, a lot of companies go bust and the staff are left waiting months for their statutory redundancy. They should be glad for what they're getting. It's not an ideal situation to find yourself in but it's happening to a lot of people at the moment and I don't know why they think they're so special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

Saw them on the news earlier all Freshly made up and looking rather relaxed...and how did the tv cameras get in there?? What kind of a lock in is that??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

5 weeks pay per year is 250% more than statute redundancy. They have nothing, not one thing, to complain about. Unions won't help. Protesting won't help, as they've gotten a far better deal than thousands of other redundant workers.

On a related topic, I'm writing a book about common sense. If this protest goes on long enough I'll give each of those idiots a copy. In fact, I'll give every AH frequenter a copy.

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭hatetherain!

They have now been served with a high court order ordering them to leave the building!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Confab wrote: »
    On a related topic, I'm writing a book about common sense. If this protest goes on long enough I'll give each of those idiots a copy. In fact, I'll give every AH frequenter a copy.
    ETA of it's release? Want to know when I can start pestering you for it.

(Holy ****, did I just use the word "pestering"?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

the sit-in was totally pointless, they were offered an incredibly generous redundancy package, and nothing they will do will get them a penny more, imo they should be only given statutory now after this attempted defamation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭population

I was asked to sign a petition there yesterday supporting them. When I said no, I was practically hopped on by one of the lads protesting, shouting at me about how their top man got 4 million of a bonus.

I probably should have just walked away but I was pissed off and decided to have it out with him. The one thing that jumped out at me was how little this guy even knew about the issue. Whenever I made a point or asked him a significant qs he sort of panicked and said I should talk to the staff because, and I QUOTE "they'd know more about it".

Now if I was to affiliate myself to a cause I would make bloody sure I knew all the ins and outs before I spat vitriol all over someone for not signing a petition.

For the record I felt the staff were entitled to 6 weeks. Two weeks statuatory and 4 weeks for the stunt the company tried to pull by just shutting down without notice. They were owed a month in my eyes. 8 weeks however is taking the mickey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Sitting in a building for days?

Don't these people have jobs to go to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why don't the Gardaí enter and arrest them for trespassing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Video of todays solidarity picket.

Interesting to see the list of local businesses who have donated food and supplies to the workers, ranging from Dunnes Stores (Cause we all know they love a good strike :rolleyes:) to Burdocks Chipper, Superquinn to Vodafone. Fantastic to see.

A lot of people stuck around expecting the eviction of the workers, but truthfully I dont think it will even happen in daylight when they do it. The Thomas Cook workers are in great spirits and have the willpower to keep going.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm surprised that Thomas Cook was there as long as it was, there was rarely anyone in it.
    PrivateEye wrote: »
    Very interesting one.

It's really not.
    It's just cringeworthy.
    Interesting to see the list of local businesses who have donated food and supplies to the workers, ranging from Dunnes Stores (Cause we all know they love a good strike :rolleyes:) to Burdocks Chipper, Superquinn to Vodafone. Fantastic to see.

Why?
    A lot of people stuck around expecting the eviction of the workers, but truthfully I dont think it will even happen in daylight when they do it. The Thomas Cook workers are in great spirits and have the willpower to keep going.

Leave them in there, they'll get bored eventually imo. That or forcefully evict them, gobshites.

Bin lorry drivers, Buses and Taxis continually beeped their horns and stopped to get more information.

So they have the support of the usual crowd that bring the city to a standstill, I'm convinced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Seemed a bit "orchestrated" to me, all the usual types around.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭irishturkey

i'd back them to the mother truckin hilt. too often, companies come up with half arsed excuses to bail. maybe im wrong but right now im stuck in a similar dispute. if you dont know the details its hard to comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

the desperately low viewcounts of their youtube videos shows just how little people care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Why don't the Gardaí enter and arrest them for trespassing?

Thta's exactly what's going to happen in the next hour or so I'd say...be interesting to see if kid gloves are used and how pregnant women are to be removed from the premises.
    Not an enviable task...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

I dislike the Socialist workers party, they seem to get their claws into everything and anything that they might get some good publicity from.
    This sit in malarkey is pointless and is going to do nothing for the workers except maybe give Thomas Cook a black eye, and that just seems childish to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Video of todays solidarity picket.

Is this for real? Having a gob****e as your spokesperson will do you no favours. And what's with that ****ing moron with the pigs mask. Idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭35notout

Leave them there and let them bloody rot!

FFS Dell laid off 1900 workers yet they had the dignity to accept that economic factors made it unprofitable to operate in Limerick any more.

There are about 400,000 people on the dole - many of these who've recently lost their jobs, yet dont trespass and break the law.

Drop their redundancy to the statutory 2 weeks, charge them all with tresspass and fine them a massive amount for causing litter and traffic chaos.

Just shows the brains it takes to work in a travel agent......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yes, they should lie down and take it. I mean, why should they get a better payout when one of their chiefs can get 5 Million STG stuffed in his pocket......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

It's really not.
    It's just cringeworthy.

Maybe cringeworthy if you have a job, if you have just been told you are going to lose yours you'd do the same.
    Fair play to them for protesting. They want to work. It would be worse if they just sat on their arses being keyboard warriors complaining.
    Why?

Why not?

Leave them in there, they'll get bored eventually imo. That or forcefully evict them, gobshites.

They might get bored, but at least they're making a stand. They actually want to work.

So they have the support of the usual crowd that bring the city to a standstill, I'm convinced.

They have more than that, fair play to them.

It's all too easy for these multinationals to come into the country and milk it for evey cent during the boom times they pack up and go when they feel like it.

These protesters are doers IMO. Day after day you have people who post on this board complaining about everything yet all they do is write here.

They're doing their best to change things in real life.We could all learn a lesson from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

From my own point of view, full solidarity to them. My mother was by earlier on and said people are showing them fantastic support.If you're in town, swing by!

why? sounds like a disgrace to me tbh. what the hell are they expecting to happen?