Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thomas Cook Grafton Street store occupied by the workers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

For loitering with the intent to irritate or for aiding and abetting the commission of a*seholery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I'm hoping now that they only get statutory, and that's more than they deserve

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭population

Have you got a specific charge in mind? Try quoting some legislation rather than venting rhetoric. And pick something could actually be successfully prosecuted...

Offences against the state

You cant be serious in suggesting that our financial services industry was dragged down by rhetoric and not by Criminal Negligence.

700 Million knocking back and forth between banks illegally to massage balance sheets at the end of each month sounds like something highly prosecutable to me.

Sorry to sideline from the Thomas Cook thing but there is a point here in that the previous poster had suggested that they would be feeling a bit more comfortable about the distribution of the law, once they see it distributed evenly. My two cents are that the Thomas Cook workers clearly broke the law, and so did a choice number of individuals in our banking sector. However prosecution wise, I know exactly who I expect to see pay the price for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

PCPhoto wrote: »
    aparently one of the pregnant women went into labour during the arrests and an ambulance had to be called.

I hope there was photographers there.

Ya, she was taken to the Coombe and had a baby girl this morning! Her partner went with her but has to appear along with the rest at the high court at 2pm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I'm hoping now that they only get statutory, and that's more than they deserve

Whats the statutory rate in prison, 50c a day I believe. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

its a sad day in ireland when ordinary workers are jailed for having a peaceful demo whilst the people who got us into this mess are probably teeing of on a golf course somewhere enjoying their vast pensions.
    Its even sadder to note people on here demanding blood from said employees whilst they themselves are forced to pay increased taxes, levies, etc because of these so called bankers and dont even bother to bat an eyelid.

Why isnt Sean fitzpatrick up in front of a judge?
    wtf is a judge doing sitting on a bank holiday?

This debacle really does prove the adage, "if you owe the bank an grand, they come round banging on your door, if you owe a million they bring you to dinner!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The most feared gang of thugs in the country are also the largest. My family have worked for years in different parts of the emergency services and worked close with the Gardai on occasion but found today hard to stomach. Is this what anyone who takes action can expect?

Solidarity to the workers today, to their families and supporters. You did yourselves proud and images of your banners and spirit were seen throughout Europe and further afield. Hopefully you'll inspire others to take similar actions.

The state being so willing to use its first line of defence against 30 women occupying a British travel-agents is a worrying sign.
    the criminal socialists have their way.

jesus christ.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,468 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

PrivateEye wrote: »
    The most feared gang of thugs in the country are also the largest. My family have worked for years in different parts of the emergency services and worked close with the Gardai on occasion but found today hard to stomach. Is this what anyone who takes action can expect?

Why are you blaming the Gardai when they were acting upon a court judgment requiring them to make the arrests?

If they did not act they would be guilty of applying double standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

is there a supplement fee for under occupancy for a four person cell? Is it full board?

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

On the issue of the Gardai - ridiculous to be blaming them for doing their jobs. What sorrt of crazy system would it be if each individual Garda could decide what laws he agreed with and which ones he would enforce.

On the issue of the High Court sitting and granting an injunction - it is not uncommon for a judge to have to be called in when the courts are not sitting in the case of injunctions - the whole point of them is speedy access to the law no matter when the time. Judges have been woken in the middle of the night.

The whole thing is ridiculous. They are being offered more than the statutory minimum redundancy when they have been working in a loss making branch while we are deep into a crippling recession. They need to get a grip on reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭damoz

Can someone add a poll here to see exactly how much support the "workers" have. Im guessing by reading this thread that its a minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

is there a supplement fee for under occupancy for a four person cell? Is it full board?

And does the Joy do price matching with Portlaoise.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Why exactly are we supposed to support them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

PrivateEye wrote: »

Solidarity to the workers today, to their families and supporters. You did yourselves proud and images of your banners and spirit were seen throughout Europe and further afield. Hopefully you'll inspire others to take similar actions.

The state being so willing to use its first line of defence against 30 women occupying a British travel-agents is a worrying sign.

jesus christ.

The sentiment was correct but neither the venue nor the numbers involved were right.
    We need 100,000 people in Merrion Square/Kildare street to get the message across to the 166 that the starting point with any job cuts is in the Dail and the public service.

For example I read the other day that the NCA cant do any more food price surveys in the North due to the Gov cut backs: The CEO of the NCA earned 186,000 last year

Some of the others are here:
    I found a list of the salaries of the CEO’s of Irish semi-states who were asked nicely last November to consider a 10% pay cut and some of them did. Here are some of the biggest. It almost appears that the worse your company is the more you get paid for having to deal with it.

dublin airport authority 698k
    esb 534k
    an post 414k
    coillte (trees) 409k
    health service executive 358k
    aviation authority 350k
    bord gais 300k
    bord na mona (turf) 300k
    vhi (health insurer) 297k
    lottery 276k
    rail procurement 268k
    cie (what do they do now?) 264k
    human rights commission 237k
    planning 220k
    roads authority 200k
    greyhounds 155k
    dublin transport office 136k

http://www.tribune.ie/article/2008/nov/16/who-is-answering-lenihans-patriotic-call/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

jees, Jimmy Kelly of Unite, what a f*cking twat!

Just been on news saying that these "workers" have been treated disgracefully and that all they are doing is trying to get a "decent package"......so 5 weeks per year isn't a decent package? Seeing as most of the "workers" involved have over 10 years service, that a minimum of a years salary...that sounds pretty f*cking decent to me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Carlow52 wrote: »

dublin airport authority 698k
    esb 534k
    an post 414k
    coillte (trees) 409k
    health service executive 358k
    aviation authority 350k
    bord gais 300k
    bord na mona (turf) 300k
    vhi (health insurer) 297k
    lottery 276k
    rail procurement 268k
    cie (what do they do now?) 264k
    human rights commission 237k
    planning 220k
    roads authority 200k
    greyhounds 155k
    dublin transport office 136k

****in hell!

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

population wrote: »
    Offences against the state

You cant be serious in suggesting that our financial services industry was dragged down by rhetoric and not by Criminal Negligence.

700 Million knocking back and forth between banks illegally to massage balance sheets at the end of each month sounds like something highly prosecutable to me.

Sorry to sideline from the Thomas Cook thing but there is a point here in that the previous poster had suggested that they would be feeling a bit more comfortable about the distribution of the law, once they see it distributed evenly. My two cents are that the Thomas Cook workers clearly broke the law, and so did a choice number of individuals in our banking sector. However prosecution wise, I know exactly who I expect to see pay the price for it.

You just ignored my point completely. And I disagree with the underlined section. Without doubt serious wrong-doing was carried out by bankers. The illegality will take a lot longer to establish. The "hang 'em high" type of justice you're espousing is not the way to operate within the rule of law.

Thankfully we don't live in a place where politicians can call any citizens actions "offences against the state" and lock them up. A specific offence needs to be committed. So go read this and come back to me when you've picked a section you understand: http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/plweb-cgi/fastweb?state_id=1249387535&view=ag-view&docrank=37&numhitsfound=38&query_rule=%28%28$query3%29%29%3Alegtitle&query3=offences%20against%20the%20state&docid=3178&docdb=SIs&dbname=Acts&dbname=SIs&sorting=none&operator=and&TemplateName=hitlist.tmpl&setCookie=1

The offences against the State Acts cover violent subversion of the institutions of the State e.g. by the IRA down through the years. It covers shootings and bombings and the like.

To clarify I'd love to see any banker/developer who breached company law (or any other laws) sent to prison but it's nowhere near as simple as you make out. On the face of it all these people did was run their businesses very badly and make bad decisions. That shouldn't be worthy of jail should it?

However you're also referring to the Anglo money shuffling messing that went on. There's about 4 different investigations going on into that (Gardaí, ODCE, accountancy bodies, etc.) and if sufficient evidence is there, those people will face charges. It'll be slow though gathering a prosecution. Think how long it takes murder cases to come to court, where there's one weapon and one incident that was over in 10 minutes. This investigation involves trawling through thousands of pages of correspondence.

You'll see this week that justice can move just as quickly for the big guys. Liam Carroll's case in the Supreme Court today might result in all his companies being liquidated and massive personal guarantees being called in.

Another major developer Paddy Kelly is on the verge of personal bankruptcy due to the collapse of (among others) the Thomas Read pub chain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

harsea8 wrote: »
    jees, Jimmy Kelly of Unite, what a f*cking twat!

Just been on news saying that these "workers" have been treated disgracefully and that all they are doing is trying to get a "decent package"......so 5 weeks per year isn't a decent package? Seeing as most of the "workers" involved have over 10 years service, that a minimum of a years salary...that sounds pretty f*cking decent to me

I watched an RTE news report about this last evening which made no mention of a 5 week salary per year of redundancy package. If that is true then these people have absolutely no leg to stand on. There are plenty of people in Ireland at the moment getting the bare legal minimum so I have no sympathy for the Thomas cook workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Needless to mention this is the topic for discussion on Joe Duffy.
    Let slip the dogs of war...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭dimejinky99

Gardai got violent removing them this morning..useless scumbag c u n t s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

Great night-vision camera work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Haha, I think they were defeated, retards.

WTF do they think is going to be achieve by complaining to the garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

So tell us in your infinite wisdom, how do you remove people from somewhere that refuse to leave without resorting to being heavy handed?
    You go on as if the gardaí were taking pleasure in this task...I'll be the first to admit that I am far from a fan of AGS, but as I said yesterday, this is a very unenviable task but it's a task that they are obliged to carry out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Fair play to the guy on now telling it as it is, they were offered a good deal but they got greedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

SHANE SHANE SHANE SHANE SHANE SHANE .....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

The "outrage" over this incident is actually embarrassing and shows how pathetic and easy the public can be whipped up into a frenzy. "Blame the bankers!" etc :rolleyes:

Headline on the Indo website - "Tears and defiance as staff facing prison vow to fight on", my my that's unbiased

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

damoz wrote: »
    Can someone add a poll here to see exactly how much support the "workers" have. Im guessing by reading this thread that its a minority.
    And make it public so we can see how many one post wonders vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

While I commend almost anyone actually bothering to protest at the moment, I really don't see what these people are hoping to achieve. What do they think is going to happen? Thomas Cook says: Here's your jobs back?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

mobius42 wrote: »
    While I commend almost anyone actually bothering to protest at the moment, I really don't see what these people are hoping to achieve. What do they think is going to happen? Thomas Cook says: Here's your jobs back?

No they say 100K isn't enough redundancy they want 150K.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Little Miss Cutie

Did anyone hear that one of the women gave this birth this morning, after being arrested by AGS? It sounded like her partner works there as well and ways only allowed to the hospital for an hour - missed birth I assume!
    Honestly I doubt they will achieve much with the protest and she should have been resting at 9months pregnant!