Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thomas Cook Grafton Street store occupied by the workers

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭rejkin

Gardai got violent removing them this morning..useless scumbag c u n t s

Love the comments by either the guy filming or someone around them, complaining about unfair treatment by the gardai and that theres an 81/2 month pregnant woman in there, like thats going to make a difference,the pregnant women knew the risks and shes more an idiot herself for staying on after they where told they would be evicted forcefully if needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Oh god, that clip is painful to watch. I can't see the shouters but they sound like middle class pimpley faced teens. 'your suppposed to protect the peeeeeeeople' 'You're Roabottttsssss'
    They are Gardai ffs.

I am all for people getting what they deserve btw, but shouting and chanting like an idiot while calling the Gardai robots....

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    They broke the law. Why would you be happy to see the Gardaí turn a blind eye to these idiots. Double standards.

spot on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

Well that's 10 minutes of my life I'll never get back! Funny how the video and the quoted post above mention violence, but I didn't see any violence in the video....usual overreaction to try and drum up some support no doubt. Some of the comments from those behind the camera were class comedy though...like some idiot repeatedly stating that "this is a peaceful occupation"....urm, ok, so as long as you are peaceful, you can occupy any building you want regardless of the legality of your presence in that building?

P.S> nice to hear that people are using the pedestrian crossings properly even at that ungodly hour of the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

harsea8 wrote: »
    P.S> nice to hear that people are using the pedestrian crossings properly even at that ungodly hour of the morning!

That was actually only one guy walk back and forth with a sign.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

damoz wrote: »
    Can someone add a poll here to see exactly how much support the "workers" have. Im guessing by reading this thread that its a minority.

This is After Hours. noone has support for anything.

Back on topic, fair play to the workers. They took a stand for what they believed to be right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

the f*ckers are blocking my way in and out of work and making a bloody racket here, wish they'd STFU and go home

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

yes how dare they upload the actual law and a high court ruling. ironic you call the garda scum when it was the workers ignoring 2 high court rulings ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

are sinn fein or any republican groups involved in this protest? the guy on liveline today is using a lot of shinner-type language

• Registered Users Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭dotsman

That's funny. I didn't see any violence whatsoever. Maybe it was the $hit quality video (why don't anarchists ever invest in decent cameras if they want us to believe all their lies about garda violence). It's only a pity that the scum who were shouting abuse at the guards and creating a a disturbance weren't arrested as well.

"useless scumbag c u n t s " - That's a bit harsh. I'd more refer to them as fools who were just sucked in by the greed of the socialist workers party et al.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

lol @ Boyd Barrett and the rest of the Socialists jumping on board. They're trying to incite a 'socialist revolution'.

Hope they throw the book at Boyd Barrett. Its a shame he's a councillor in DL-Rathdown, hopefully people cope on to what he actually is rather than the chap who campaigns on the 'save our seasfront' platform.

yeah there are Sinn Fein people here with posters etc

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    yeah there are Sinn Fein people here with posters etc

yes, but are any of the protesters involved with Sinn Fein? Is there a republican background to this protest?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

mike kelly wrote: »
    are sinn fein or any republican groups involved in this protest? the guy on liveline today is using a lot of shinner-type language

Shinners and Joe the Red are our resident millitant Socialists. Though Joe is no longer resident... They'll basically protest about something your average 13 year old would, before they grow up.

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭needhelpguy

So they locked themselves in because they wanted more money in redundancy? What they were offered was way above what's legally required so I don't know why they are being so greedy. This protest was stupid. Fair play to the courts and the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

mike kelly wrote: »
    yes, but are any of the protesters involved with Sinn Fein? Is there a republican background to this protest?

I'm just waiting for Shinners to blame this on the BRITISH company... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭rasper

The only thing that Thomas Cook will understand is a loss in revenue due to bad publicity and the loss in morale with their remaining staff, I'm disheartened that their is a lot of animosity towards workers who were basically being shut down with no notice because thats what it looks like, when workers refuse to put up with this crap companies think twice about pulling it.
    Can't blame a person when their backs are to the wall

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

The guy on live line was suggesting that after 300 years of oppression and the potato famine the brits were now taking our travel agents!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,241 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

rasper wrote: »
    The only thing that Thomas Cook will understand is a loss in revenue due to bad publicity and the loss in morale with their remaining staff, I'm disheartened that their is a lot of animosity towards workers who were basically being shut down with no notice because thats what it looks like, when workers refuse to put up with this crap companies think twice about pulling it.

You can when they're being offered more than twice the going redundancy rate. And it was Thomas Cooks' "loss in revenue" that started the whole thing.

I'm all for fair treatment of workers, but I detest greed and what this shows is that greed exists on both sides of the fence.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ridiculous post.

In fact the publicity this protest gave to Thomas Cook was invaluable. I would never have checked their website if they hadn't started protesting. Just booked myself a tasty little one week break, by-passed the middle man, thanks very much.

I heard this was on BBC World News.

What wonders this will do for the Irish Economy:rolleyes:I'd say loads of companies are willing to invest in Ireland now with our workers genourously prepared to take 'just' 2 and a half times the statuatory requirement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

Seeing as the company is leaving Ireland, the "bad publicity" is likely to have very little effect on the companies revenue...remember that what might make headline news here, will get very little airtime (if any) elsewhere in Europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 holyjoe

the shop was scheduled to be closed at the end of the month and the workers knew it.
    they don't have any support because their protest makes a mockery of people who genuinely protest over unfair conditions in the work place.

The media trying to pretend they are freedom fighters is pathetic when their cause is so they can get an extra 3 weeks pay on top of an already generous package.

Also bear in mind these muppets are wasting OUR tax payers moneys on Garda resources and court case's etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I wonder how any of those men will feel about smashing the windows of a travel agents if they're at home with a case of the 'blue flu' by the end of the year.

The sight of Gardaí marching on the Public Sector demo in Febraury was laughable, and now even more so. You can't oppose something and protect it.

They're trying to incite a 'socialist revolution'.

I was there yesterday and the day before. I consider myself a socialist, but more importantly I've worked a variety of jobs in the services industry and across the board (even losing one not too long ago!) and recognise that after the public sector slashings, private sector workers were next. I seen this as a brave step in the right direction, and that a victory for Thomas Cook workers would've been a positive thing for all other workers in the industry in light of whats going to be a very hard few years.

My parents (firefighter, nurse) are not 'socialists' but were there at different times too offering their solidarity as workers. You don't have to be a socialist to support workers at a time like that.

--

On a sidenote, I see on Joe Higgins' website its being claimed the Gardai would not allow the pregnant womans husband to travel with her in the ambulance.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

themont85 wrote: »

What wonders this will do for the Irish Economy:rolleyes:I'd say loads of companies are willing to invest in Ireland now with our workers genourously prepared to take 'just' 2 and a half times the statuatory requirement.

i agree here, ireland isnt exactly attracting development anymore, part of this is down to greed of workers.

i know lads who got virtually nothing when they were let go, just a pat on the back and heres your stat redundancy.

is TC legally obliged to pay them more than the stat redundancy? i hope they withdraw their offer now and just give them the bare minimum.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭suckslikeafox

PrivateEye wrote: »
    On a sidenote, I see on Joe Higgins' website its being claimed the Gardai would not allow the pregnant womans husband to travel with her in the ambulance.

Ah well if Joe says it, it has to be true ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Are they not shutting all their high street branches in Ireland? So if all shut here, there will be no remaining staff who will have their morale affected.

Also I do not think they are worried about the bad publicity in Ireland seeing as they were making a loss in Ireland. It does suck that people are losing their jobs, but thousands and thousands have lost their jobs this year, myself included, and did not get a package offered to them like these workers did.

Looking for eight weeks for each year worked was a bit much in the current climate, and they way they went about it weakened any claim that they may have had imho.

I do not think the Gardai should be criticised for their part in this, all they were doing is following a high court order. I am sure if the high court had issued an order to the gardai to go and arrest the developer who owes 2.8 billion euro to various banks then they would have done so, but the gardai can only work off of what the high court orders in cases like these.

I do think it sent out a bad message that the High Courts can have a sitting at such short notice on a bank holiday weekend for a matter like this, but cannot deal with white collar criminals in such a speedy manner.

I wonder how any of those men will feel about smashing the windows of a travel agents if they're at home with a case of the 'blue flu' by the end of the year.

The sight of Gardaí marching on the Public Sector demo in Febraury was laughable, and now even more so. You can't oppose something and protect it.

Used to be travel agents, now just a property which is supposed to be vacant .

I was there yesterday and the day before. I consider myself a socialist, but more importantly I've worked a variety of jobs in the services industry and across the board (even losing one not too long ago!) and recognise that after the public sector slashings, private sector workers were next. I seen this as a brave step in the right direction, and that a victory for Thomas Cook workers would've been a positive thing for all other workers in the industry in light of whats going to be a very hard few years.

My parents (firefighter, nurse) are not 'socialists' but were there at different times too offering their solidarity as workers. You don't have to be a socialist to support workers at a time like that.

--

So you want a socialist revolution do you? All the tags on those videos have 'SWP' and 'revolution' in them. All the speeches I here from socialist figures are inflamatory and propose a banana republic with the 'workers' to the forefront.

Maybe she should have left the building previously and it wouldn't have happened. Instead she stayed like the rest of the greedy goones.

dloob wrote: »
    The guy on live line was suggesting that after 300 years of oppression and the potato famine the brits were now taking our travel agents!

he sounded like a shinner, have they infiltrated this protest?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Front page of todays hearld - 'Over the Top' garda storm Thomas cook... Typical Media - trying to be popular, they'll realise that theres not much sympathy out there for the protesters and row back on their coverage.

These protesters should be jailed for being in contemp of court and wasting garda resources

ooooh they all just left out the courts now outside bridewell making a racket