Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thomas Cook Grafton Street store occupied by the workers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

"Down with rich people. Up with the general sort of person!" Then off to Toners for some solidarity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Sweet Jesus look at the asortment of left wing luantics they have attracted on the streets, i dont ming them protesting but now thay have draged in every left wing middle class mommys boy nutjob to protest with them, get a job ye lazy articles(hippies) and have a wash while ye are at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭bossdrum

Why don't the greedy b***ards set up their own travel agents if they think it's so profitable.

These workers/socialists are all talk but never do anything for themselves and expect the risk takers to earn the same wage as employees who are always on the look out for an opportunity to skive off work.

A multinational would be crazy to set up here now.

bossdrum wrote: »
    Why don't the greedy b***ards set up their own travel agents if they think it's so profitable.

These workers/socialists are all talk but never do anything for themselves and expect the risk takers to earn the same wage as employees who are always on the look out for an opportunity to skive off work.

A multinational would be crazy to set up here now.

Here Here well said sir, these people seem to think that if you own a Buissness you must be raking it in when in fact most buissness are suffering at the moment, bunch of whinging women and left wing idiots who wouldnt know what a job was even if it hit them in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Here Here well said sir, these people seem to think that if you own a Buissness you must be raking it in

The group made a profit last year. They paid the chief 5 million STG as a bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Nodin wrote: »
    The group made a profit last year. They paid the chief 5 million STG as a bonus.

yes, the group made a profit, their irish operations are most likely making significant losses

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

and?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The CEO got a huge bonus because he helped engineer a merger that formed one of the largest travel firms in europe. They then rationalised (they closed 150 stores in the UK) and created a solid profitable well run company. If you want a CEO of that calibre then that is the sort of dosh you have to pay.

Besides, who goes to a travel agent these days, everyone books online don't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

yes, the group made a profit, their irish operations are most likely making significant losses?

They may be making a loss, but in the greater scheme of things its a drop in the ocean. In a multinational that large, theres always regional swings. In a year or two elsewhere could be down while here picks up. A few years back they lost their proverbial bollox in england while enjoying a record year here.
    and?

That doesn't strike you as an obscene amount of money to hand out in the light of others being made redundant.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I mean, why should they get a better payout when one of their chiefs can get 5 Million STG stuffed in his pocket......

For starters they are not entitled to a larger payout.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

They may be making a loss, but in the greater scheme of things its a drop in the ocean. In a multinational that large, theres always regional swings. In a year or two elsewhere could be down while here picks up. A few years back they lost their proverbial bollox in england while enjoying a record year here.

That doesn't strike you as an obscene amount of money to hand out in the light of others being made redundant.?

i don't see how what he was paid is relevant to this discussion?

if they're making a loss and choose to shut down the shops that's their prerogative, i don't get why they think it's acceptable for them to occupy the building or what they hope to achieve or why anyone would support them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

TheZohan wrote: »
    Maybe cringeworthy if you have a job, if you have just been told you are going to lose yours you'd do the same.
    Fair play to them for protesting. They want to work. It would be worse if they just sat on their arses being keyboard warriors complaining.

It's all too easy for these multinationals to come into the country and milk it for evey cent during the boom times they pack up and go when they feel like it.

They're doing their best to change things in real life.We could all learn a lesson from them.

They are protesting because they want more redundancy payment. It has nothing to do with wanting to work. If they were truly interested in wanting to work they would be doing something more productive such as sending out CVs. Its not doing their future job prospects any good occupying the building and defying a court order.

Where do you think the multinationals came from in the first place?? Mars?? They will goto where it is most efficient for them to be. This is the global economy we are a part of and have benefited greatly from.

They are not doing their best to change things. They are seeking more payment for themselves. Fin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Where do you think the multinationals came from in the first place?? Mars??

Are you 5? Because the above section of your post sounds like it.
    They will goto where it is most efficient for them to be. This is the global economy we are a part of and have benefited greatly from.

It's a tour operator, not a manufacturing plant.
    They are not doing their best to change things. They are seeking more payment for themselves. Fin

Some people are fighters, not walkovers. They are trying to get all they can, not just improved redundancy money. Fin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

It's still subject to cost and efficiency improvments, economies of scale and scope etc.
    Some people are fighters, not walkovers. They are trying to get all they can, not just improved redundancy money. Fin.

Trying to get all they can, which in this case is more than they deserve. Being a fighter isn't admirable in of itself, and not if you don't deserve what you're fighting for

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

i'd back them to the mother truckin hilt. too often, companies come up with half arsed excuses to bail.

Not being profitable is not a half arsed excuse.
    maybe im wrong but right now im stuck in a similar dispute. if you dont know the details its hard to comment

Well there isn't much to dispute then.

Maybe cringeworthy if you have a job, if you have just been told you are going to lose yours you'd do the same.

No, I wouldn't, it's idiotic.
    It's all too easy for these multinationals to come into the country and milk it for evey cent during the boom times they pack up and go when they feel like it.

They aren't milking anything, without multinationals there would be very few jobs, and if they were required to stay here when the well runs dry, they rightly would never have come here originally and there never would have been any jobs in the first place, but for some inane reason, that would sate you and these workers. Bizarre.

They're doing their best to change things in real life.We could all learn a lesson from them.

lol \o/

It's essentially a retail shop though, they need people to come in off the streets and buy, it's clearly not happening.
    I've walked past the shop in College Green for the past 10 years and wondered how much longer it would be there, it always looked empty to me.
    It's not a profitable shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

Are you 5? Because the above section of your post sounds like it.

No I'm not 5 (yawn) just surprised that you believe Ireland should be the only country in the world where multinationals should operate.

Stop changing your argument. You said earlier they wanted to work. I was pointing out that if that was truly the case they are sure going about it the wrong way.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

So, were they arrested as per court orders or have the Guards turned a blind eye?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Five weeks per year is more than double the statutory minimum. A lot of people have to accept the minimum. Many others (e.g. people who were at the jobs for less than 2 years) will get nothing. So screw them tbh, I have no sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Step 1. Tear gas
    Step 2. Baton charge
    Step 3. ...
    Step 4. Profit !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 maggie797

as a manager I would be watching all these people very closely and I certainly would not give them a job if and when they do leave there sit in and start looking around for work. Managing a business is enough pressure at the moment without the extra worry of " difficult" staff.. I have heard thomas cook pulled out earlier then planned because of union issues?? dont know how true this is...but it would make me wonder.... 5 weeks is not a bad deal at all and I cant see what they are whinging at...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

So there's getting five weeks per year redunancy.
    Plus their 30 days notice since they were let go with immediate effect

Score!
    My sympathies for those that were desperate to continue as a travel agent but that's an excellent redunancy package for sure.
    Few companies in Ireland would match that.

Though my company exceeded it.
    But few companies would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

From The Irish Times: “One woman got a letter on Friday to say that she was being offered €109,000 redundancy and, if she did not accept it, she would only get statutory redundancy which is just €22,000. And they accuse us of dirty tactics,” he said.

Is it wise of the union to use actual figures like that?

maggie797 wrote: »
    as a manager I would be watching all these people very closely and I certainly would not give them a job if and when they do leave there sit in and start looking around for work. Managing a business is enough pressure at the moment without the extra worry of " difficult" staff.. I have heard thomas cook pulled out earlier then planned because of union issues?? dont know how true this is...but it would make me wonder.... 5 weeks is not a bad deal at all and I cant see what they are whinging at...

Yes exactly no employer will touch them with a barge pole if they apply for Jobs, they really are very very silly women, but i think they have been taken in by people with a agenda, most noteable the socialist nutters and other left wing lunatics.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

They should offer the first one out 6 weeks, the next 2 out 5 weeks, and anyone after that should get 2. See the chaos then!

Why does what the CEO make come into this? The store is not as profitable as it should be, the company owes you nothing more than the wage you receive, why should they continue to operate where they are operating at less than maximum profit?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Dave! wrote: »
    Step 1. Tear gas
    Step 2. Baton charge
    Step 3. ...
    Step 4. Profit !

The guards will have to book a power trip first :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

who do to theese people think they are , public sector workers

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i wonder will they do a dirty protest??....by smearing their fake tan on the walls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

that's what you'd call a smear campaign

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

its more than likely that the Gardai will mount a morning attack probably 5am or some silly hour or something - to avoid the press.

cant see them doing it at 11am or in daylight..... it's gonna get messy (I Think)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

PCPhoto wrote: »
    its more than likely that the Gardai will mount a morning attack probably 5am or some silly hour or something - to avoid the press.

cant see them doing it at 11am or in daylight..... it's gonna get messy (I Think)

The press will remain their overnight, knowing the boys in blue will strike at any moment.

Maybe they will rush in through the back, after first cutting all power and shooting in some teargas? :p