Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever/ do you suffer(ed) from depression!?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

There is a world of difference between being depressed and suffering from depression. its the name itself that leads to most of the most common misconceptions about this serious illness.

Alot of people think.. ah, hes got depression.. hes sad .. poor guy, hel snap out of it, lets take him to see a funny movie WRONG.

When Liverpool beatMan United 4 - 1 half the country was depressed.. they didnt suffer from depression, yet sadly, incompitent doctors will prescribe drugs to anyone in my view that are having a low few days.

Depression is when all you are greiving for your entire family that just got wiped out in a car crash and you are left with nobody in the world.. can you imagine that feeling? Well, take out the element of the dead family, they are mad alive and in great shape but you have that feeling of grief inside you that wont go away and can stay there for months on end.. thats depresion.

You could be in croke park with 80,000 people and cheering at a game, yet inside feel hollow and be absolutely all alone, you cant see depression on people, They can be the life of a party, laughing and making ewveryone laugh - and after the party when everyone goes home - cry.

Ive Bi Polar depression (Manic Depression) The Manic is refrence to one side of the mood condition "Mania" and obviously the depression being the other side and more harmful aspect of the disorder. The problem is with people that have this Bi polar (BP) is that they dont have a steady level of seratonin which is responsible for regulation mood, one day - even moment you feel like you have no care in the world, the greatest task is only a mole hill to cross, yet within days the same mole hill can be a mountain to far to cross.

There is no cure for BP Depression just control, the best anyone can do is control it through self awareness, Specialist Medical Monitering, Medication and cognative behavioural therapy.

The Greatest single difficulty with the illness in my opinion is the lack of knowledge with depression, Joe soaps think they know what its like to suffer from depression because if the perception that its "being sad" and because everyone gets sad makes us all think we are experts. The reality is that Depression has nothing to do with being sad, Depression is the feeling unsurmountable grief, agony and anguish.

The reason it kills so many young men is the culture we live in, young men dont know whats wrong with them and think they are weak and just soft and dont want to talk to anyone for fear of being considered a "pussy" This is very difficult to overcome and if a person with BP can get passed their adolesence and into a more mature age where they have the confidence to confide in people there is a better chance to get on the road to stability.

Ive suffered from Bi Polar depression since my teens, it was diagnosed when i was 23 shortly after i had my first serious considerations to commit suicide, although it was not a concerted effort, it was enough for me to finally seek help. That was just the beginning and much worse was to come, but acceptance is the first step.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Great post snyper, and so true about the difference between "being depressed" and "having depression".

Y'know, when I had depression, I didn't even feel "sad" per sé. Horrendously negative thoughts yes, no hope, the feeling nothing good would ever happen for me again, major lack of interest in stuff that previously held huge interest for me... then there was the physical side: indescribable exhaustion yet being unable to sleep, aches and heaviness everywhere - climbing the steps to the top deck of the bus was a monumental task, it used to finish me. Absolutely zero appetite - I got frighteningly thin.

All of this caused me great upset and anxiety all right, but "sadness" as a symptom of my depression - it wasn't really there...

Sometimes people actually don't feel anything when they have depression, just a "numbness"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Right, if I apologised to yous for looking at things or explaining things in the wrong way will yous accept? :pac:

Dudess, Orestes, Abigayle, Snow Monkey, Whoopsadaisydoodles and others : None of you's know me and so dont know what might be going through my mind every day. To be honest, when I started this thread I was half trying to delude myself that I have nothing worng with me anymore, I was trying to think as many non-depressed people think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That thought occurred to me just now - people with depression can often feel guilty for having it, they can wonder to themselves why the **** they're so miserable when their lives are pretty darn sweet. I was like that.

Sorry for getting cross with you...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I openly tell people i have depression, ive had people tell me to fcuk off and laugh when i tell them because the see me as Mr Fun Guy and sur hes a great laugh... but the inside tells different tale.

After the break up of a relationship of 8 years i had in July 07 it put me into an uncontrolable spiral downwards, people seen me as the guy that was "great craic" when i was out and ironocally pulled more women in the following 4 months than i did in me teens, because i seemed do upbeat and great craic.. problem was that between those "false highs" of nights out, drinking, sex and the craic, i was an empty shell, i lost 3 stone,locked myself into the toilet in work and would spend an hour crying - go on the internet, make funny posts, in a few more hours lock myself into the toilet to cry again and by october i had enough.. wont go into the details of what happened but i had a short sejour in hospital and was out from work for 3 months. Drinking is a demon when you are in this state, ive seen people fall into the same trap. You need to go cold turkey and grab the bull by the horns (i was going to say bite the bullet! :D) and get help. All the medicine, doctors and friends cant help if you dont want to help yourself.

The reason i am so open about it with people around me is to try and diminish the "shame" in it that it might just relate to some one ive said it to and help them come to the conclusion.. oh.. sh!t.. Brian has depression.. Perhaps its ok to get help..

Yea... snyper cries. Who'd believe it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Right, if I apologised to yous for looking at things or explaining things in the wrong way will yous accept? :pac:

Dudess, Orestes, Abigayle, Snow Monkey, Whoopsadaisydoodles and others : None of you's know me and so dont know what might be going through my mind every day. To be honest, when I started this thread I was half trying to delude myself that I have nothing worng with me anymore, I was trying to think as many non-depressed people think.

You dont have to apologise, I wasnt angry. More frustrated though. If you do feel depressed, do go to your doctor. You dont have to be living in poverty to be depressed, you only have to be human to qualify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

snyper wrote: »
    I openly tell people i have depression, ive had people tell me to fcuk off and laugh when i tell them because the see me as Mr Fun Guy and sur hes a great laugh... but the inside tells different tale.

After the break up of a relationship of 8 years i had in July 07 it put me into an uncontrolable spiral downwards, people seen me as the guy that was "great craic" when i was out and ironocally pulled more women in the following 4 months than i did in me teens, because i seemed do upbeat and great craic.. problem was that between those "false highs" of nights out, drinking, sex and the craic, i was an empty shell, i lost 3 stone,locked myself into the toilet in work and would spend an hour crying - go on the internet, make funny posts, in a few more hours lock myself into the toilet to cry again and by october i had enough.. wont go into the details of what happened but i had a short sejour in hospital and was out from work for 3 months. Drinking is a demon when you are in this state, ive seen people fall into the same trap. You need to go cold turkey and grab the bull by the horns (i was going to say bite the bullet! :D) and get help. All the medicine, doctors and friends cant help if you dont want to help yourself.

The reason i am so open about it with people around me is to try and diminish the "shame" in it that it might just relate to some one ive said it to and help them come to the conclusion.. oh.. sh!t.. Brian has depression.. Perhaps its ok to get help..

Yea... snyper cries. Who'd believe it!

Great post again Snyper, particularly the part in bold, I'm the same way myself an am open about it to people to try and remove the stigma associated with depression in this country. I don't bang on about it or use it as an excuse for my actions or anything, but if it comes up and is relevant I won't shy away from it or feel guilty about talking about it or anything.

Dudess wrote: »
    That thought occurred to me just now - people with depression can often feel guilty for having it, they can wonder to themselves why the **** they're so miserable when their lives are pretty darn sweet. I was like that.

Thats really it; its impossible to will yourself to appreciate or enjoy your life and it makes you feel guilty, does anybody else get that? I find it very frustrating

Yes, I know where you're coming from now man.

Sorry for losing my temper a bit, this is a fairly emotive topic for me for various reasons, my apologies

Dudess wrote: »

yeh I feel pretty crappy too but if you have a look at your arguments I guess you'll understand why we were getting defensice. And as above, it is normal for people to think, why the hell can't I be happy when my life is so good. I think like that alot which is why I know that it's not about material things, if it was, I would be a very happy person, inside and out.

Sorry that we were mean to you :)

I hope you feel better, it's nothing to be ashamed about

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ye, because of a girl of course. The alcohol made it better* :)

*Far worse.

You's are grand! :D

they see me as Mr Fun Guy and sur hes a great laugh... but the inside tells different tale.

This is me! I'm a fun loving happy go lucky positive person....on the outside.

You've described my feelings exactly, I don't think I could have put it into words the way you did. Funnily enough my family was wiped out in a car crash, go figure, but that just added to the illness I have had since my teens, I genuinely can say that while that makes me very very sad, I know if it hadn't happened, I would still suffer with depression!

Unfortunately though I don't tell people I suffer from depression, I feel like it means I would be viewed as less than perfect and I couldn't be having that, sad I know but that's part of the whole problem!

I feel good for reading this thread now, so thanks Disease Ridden for bringing the topic up in after hours!

You's are grand! :D

Tell that to my counsellor :pac:

orestes wrote: »
    Tell that to my counsellor :pac:

LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭lynsalot

Hi guys
    The reduced levels of seratonin are caused by a chemical imbalance. The brain input you talk about is reduced. So in effect when something happens that makes an average person happy, it produces good feelings in someone who suffers with depression but a depleted amount of seratonin. Any average person has slightly more good chemicals than bad chemicals. But with someone who suffers from clinical depression, there are more bad than good.

I have clinical depression. Which by definition is that outwardly things are fine. On paper things look good but you're still not thinking rationally.

I would imagine that ppl in third world countries don't have the luxury to receive treatment for depression. Because their basic needs aren't being met, these are at the forefront. It's a bit like the rise in degenerative diseases. A century ago, ppls were dying from infectious diseases and didn't live long enough to get cancer etc. The levels of depression in 3rd world countries can't be measure because their basic needs aren't being met.

That's my opinion anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It is hugely frustrating and while you are focusing on that you get distracted from the root causes and you spent your time and engery on that digging yourself deeper rather then making even the smallest changes which can help.

Denial is a bitch when it comes to depression esp if a person seems to be functioning, but barely doing what you have to to get by isn't living and until we stop denying and wishing it was other wise we dont' make headway.

Synper is right about it being like grieving and the grief cycle of

http://changingminds.org/disciplines/change_management/kubler_ross/kubler_ross.htm
    Shock stage: Initial paralysis at hearing the bad news.
    Denial stage: Trying to avoid the inevitable.
    Anger stage: Frustrated outpouring of bottled-up emotion.
    Bargaining stage: Seeking in vain for a way out.
    Depression stage: Final realization of the inevitable.
    Testing stage: Seeking realistic solutions.
    Acceptance stage: Finally finding the way forward.

Grief isn't just about death, it is also loss and change and when we go through that some of use can start to suffer from depression.
    Suffer tbh doesn't fúcking cover it, ended up back on ssri last autumn for a while, round 3 with them but at least I knew what was up and was able
    to catch it early and try deal with the issues that had me that way.

There are good days and bad days, good distractions, bad distraction and
    days which you just run the clock out on and hope the next one will be better
    and if you are willing to try work at it when you are able on a good day
    you get there eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Welcome to my world.

Well this thread has gotten sufficiently ghey. So here is a picture of a [URL="[IMG]http://i40.tinypic.com/2072csg.jpg[/IMG]"]carburettor[/URL].... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Yeah I was diagnosed with clinical depression 3 years ago, after 9 years of constantly feeling like ****; it was my fault for not seeking help sooner I guess, but in saying that my 'treatment' has basically consisted of taking €100-a-month medication and being told that there are no professionals for me to talk to. The HSE's message to me is basically "F*CK YOU!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Nobody really has a monopoly on understanding depression except the person or individual concerned .Like for instance ,( and only one example )) the man who lost his two daughters at the Hillbourough disaster ,then next day had to see the pictures of them being crushed to death splashed all over the red tops would have every right to say he's depressed and who would deny him ? .That of course would be a different type of depression to somebody who has a chemical imbalance type depression .But but then the chemicals in the body will react to all kinds of horrible, terrible things in life ,such as that one mentioned .

I feel good for reading this thread now, so thanks Disease Ridden for bringing the topic up in after hours!

No bother! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

its cool man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

I suffer from depression and take an SSRI.
    It has changed my life! for the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭morning-glory

i'm surprised at the volume of people who say they have, but in saying that it is thought that we all suffer from depression at some point in our lives.

some people have to worry about whether or not they'll feel like they want to kill themselves the next day!
    Thats serious! we all suffer it at some stage but "clinical" depression is different!

I did the same and every one was like nahh, one guy was like nahh an you dont suffer from depression, and you dont need any help you just need a job...
    But when i turned, and told my friends, they where sort of surprised to say the least because I was always considered to be the hyper person, crazy person in the group.. super happy all the time...

but when i told them it was releaving and some what boosting to admit to my friends yeah ive got problems guys but im getting help it was like a big boost, helped so much...

Problem is we all wear mask's and try to safe face ...

I am the same. I become eager to please and entertain all when I'm angry inside. It's an awful anxious feeling at the end of the day alone! You have nobody you tried to please coming to cheer you up while your alone! :(

b28 wrote: »
    I am the same. I become eager to please and entertain all when I'm angry inside. It's an awful anxious feeling at the end of the day alone! You have nobody you tried to please coming to cheer you up while your alone! :(

I know how it feels man majority of us do... I found dance music a very good tool in keeping me happy :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,236 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Depression as a mood disorder, or some other condition defined by DSM IV? Source: http://www.mental-health-today.com/dep/dsm.htm

Other than this severe clinical condition, I would assume that all humans feel depressed during the course of their lives, consequently your question is moot for most? (and my java is very strong and I've drank way too much!:eek:)

Depression as a mood disorder, or some other condition defined by DSM IV? Source: http://www.mental-health-today.com/dep/dsm.htm

Other than this severe clinical condition, I would assume that all humans feel depressed during the course of their lives, consequently your question is moot for most? (and my java is very strong and I've drank way too much!:eek:)

I suffer manic depression.
    Mania you dont need to start a thread on as i expect very little people know what thats like! imagine going to work feeling though you have taken 3 e tablets!