Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finally given up on the Sporting Emprium!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

He ended up all in with AK v 10's for about 150 pot - and he missed, he threw his hand into the muck got up - and then wanted to show me what he had - dealer wouldn't let him turn over his cards. then he got up and started sayin "i'm going to fcuk you(to the dealer)" - i reckon he said this about 20+ times as he was walkin backwards to the door - whoever was on the floor was tryin to be nice to him to get him to leave, he went out the door and came back in saying "i'm going to fcuk you" again about another 5 times - and then said i'm going to wait for you outside - he then came up to the table and said - "you russian dealer - i swear i'm going to fcuk you, i'm going fcukin kill you etc..." so then he was kicked out - and guy on floor said he was barred for life.

Wouldn't see that going on in the fitz - tell me again - why we all hate the fitz so much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭thenutpeddler

L O frickin L

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Wouldn't see that going on in the fitz - tell me again - why we all hate the fitz so much?

Yeah AK never seem to miss against my pairs in there:D

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Ace2007 wrote: »

I don't think it's a matter of hating the fitz so much, most people were just saying how they prefer the SE in terms of comfort. Personally I don't mind playing tourneys in the Fitz as they are up stairs but playing cash usually annoys me...the noise levels are the most annoying to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Fcuk, would of paid good money to see that :D if im correct that's him barred from every casino in Dublin now?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Yea the dealer was sayin that...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Macspower

Fcuk, would of paid good money to see that :D if im correct that's him barred from every casino in Dublin now?

please post these kind of beats in the appropriate thread

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

SWAR wrote: »
    I don't think it's a matter of hating the fitz so much, most people were just saying how they prefer the SE in terms of comfort. Personally I don't mind playing tourneys in the Fitz as they are up stairs but playing cash usually annoys me...the noise levels are the most annoying to me.

I prefer playing cash downstairs, and hate playing it upstairs actually. The noise is an unfortunate side effect of actually having people in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I'm with a lot of the guys saying they don't like the Fitz.

Don't get me wrong, the staff are friendly and considerate and listen to their customers, the food is amazing, dealers superb and tournies well structured. Just something about the place, maybe its the aesthetics, hard to place really.

Also, its a shame about the SE because it was a geniunely great place to play, but I can't say im not surprised.

Lol @ Ecktor though

Moneymaker wrote: »
    I'm with a lot of the guys saying they don't like the Fitz.

Don't get me wrong, the staff are friendly and considerate and listen to their customers, the food is amazing, dealers superb and tournies well structured. Just something about the place, maybe its the aesthetics, hard to place really.

Also, its a shame about the SE because it was a geniunely great place to play, but I can't say im not surprised.

Lol @ Ecktor though

What have those Romans ever done for us.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

5starpool wrote: »
    I prefer playing cash downstairs, and hate playing it upstairs actually. The noise is an unfortunate side effect of actually having people in there.
    What have those Romans ever done for us.....

You're on a roll, made me laugh twice :D

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

I think you actually took me up wrong Dom...I said I don't mind playing tourneys as they are up stairs...as for the cash, I never said anything about playing cash up stairs (well at least i didn't mean too if that's the way you took it up)....FWIW I have played cash upstairs and thought it was ok. The noise does comes from having people in there, but it also comes from having the gaming tables so close to the poker tables and the noise that generates when something happens.

I knew what you were saying John, just couldn't resist the smart comment. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Do the Fitz still have the two tables in the segmented room upstairs ? I used to love playing cash up their. This was many many moons ago.

Opr

There are still 2 or 3 tables on the balcony which I assume you are talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

babymaker6 wrote: »
    why dont the management of the SE just rent the poker room to
    somebody who can capatalize on the huge potential the poker room
    has to be profitable?

A better question is why would any TD with any credibility want to be involved in with the SE? They have no interest in allocating enough resources to poker. As a poker room manager you'd be better off banging your head against the wall.

Speaking from experience even when you're just renting the space there still needs to be some staff crossover or mutual interest between the poker room and the casino, so unless the higher level management change their attitude towards poker players you can just fugedaboudit imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

There are still 2 or 3 tables on the balcony which I assume you are talking about.

Yeah i always liked playing up their.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

semibluff wrote: »
    As for the cross sale from the poker to the house games, you completely under-value the importance of this. Alot of casino's run poker as a break-even or at a loss, to try and get bodies in the door for the house games. If there is a full house of poker players up stairs which results in 10% of them playing the house games, this would be deemed a result.

This is only true for casinos with very small poker rooms. When a casino has a poker room the size the Emporium has they should easily be turning over a low six figure profit annually from their poker room alone as long as they are not overstaffing it like a lot of poker rooms do. There is no way a casino that size should be looking to break even from poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

NickyOD wrote: »
    This is only true for casinos with very small poker rooms. When a casino has a poker room the size the Emporium has they should easily be turning over a low six figure profit annually from their poker room alone as long as they are not overstaffing it like a lot of poker rooms do. There is no way a casino that size should be looking to break even from poker.

Agree, was just giving examples. Didnt mean that in regard to the emporium only breaking even.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

NickyOD wrote: »

I agree - The Sporting Emporium Poker room could make a substantial profit if it was given sustained support from the Management in terms of guarantees and promotions. The Irish Open satellites that had a guarantee got the numbers because of the guarantee.

The SE urgently needs a players committee to co-ordinate the views of players and to relay them to the SE management.

The Sporting Emporium needs to do something rather than continue the way it is going to get more poker players in the door & retain them.

There is no incentve for the occasional cash game player to continue playing the cash games as they have no chance of qualifying for the play off tournement. I posted a suggestion (via post no 24) about this on the thread
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055532145

I noticed recently that the SE poker room is not the only floor with reduced numbers because on most weekday nights there is a reduced number of people on the gaming floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I was talking to a lad in work who takes the odd drunken spin into the Sporting once every 6 weeks or so. He said he went in on Saturday at about 2am and he got a seat at the only cash table going. He's not used to playing on table one as he buys in quite shallow and was intimidated from the moment he sat down. He said he wont be going back again as he didnt enjoy losing his €100 like he normally does.

Losing the bread and butter cash game players is also going to be a huge loss to the Emporium and will further dent the flow of players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

LOL, I went in there a few weeks back for a cash game around 12 ish, havent been in a while. Before, normally there'd be a couple tables going at this time easily, from when I was a reg. There was one final tourney table going and the one staff member on duty looked at me as if I was I was just out of the looney bin when I asked "Any cash games on tonight?".

A half hearted "Maybe in an hour" response and I was off to the Fitz, which I dont like either like many others. It has that warehouse numbers feel about it.

I think what most people miss about the emporium is the comfort and intimacy it provided a year or two ago. The food was never any good but if its a meal your after go to a restaurant. Pity cause they have had some good staff slip through their hands due to the inadequacies of senior management who merely know how to digest reports rather than communicate with patrons.

Eggie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

EGGIE if its intimacy your looking for try a hooker.
    The fitz gets bashed alot in this thread laughable they make an effort with the players have best selection of games good reasonably priced food too.
    The emporium has nothing going for it now.
    You say if you want food go a restaurant what if u play adecent 5 6 hour session eating 3 day old sandwiches wouldnt be my thing why i stopped playing there the food rip SE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

sickpuppy wrote: »
    EGGIE if its intimacy your looking for try a hooker.

Mick your mixing intimacy up with discretion....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Lads why not list our grievences and ways to improve the poker floor rather than badger bait...

I would be interested in the idea of leasing the poker room if it was up for discussion as I believe if things were done right and customers were given what they wanted then it could be a success again..

During the recent IO sats when the poker room was getting 70 plus runners most of the people knocked out walked out of the room and away elsewhere to play cash.. That needs to be addressed so lets put our suggestions down in this thread..

In an ideal world here are some of my suggestions...

1) Recruit Luke Ivory
    2) Promotional tournys with money added, Celebrity scalp games, Sponsored Poker pro scalp games, Deeper structures, Guaranteed prize pools, dealer dealt free roll re buy tournys, change in age policy, change in dress code issue, inter casino cash game league team events, inter casino tourny team events, have fun in the cash games as well as the serious stuff ( put up a €20 or €50 bounty on a cash player at each table and try bust the mofo. Rotate this bounty every 20 minutes or every orbit. Try create a better atmosphere by making things a bit of fun ( ya wont feel as bad when ya do the loot )..make the 7 2 game compulsary in the €2 €5 cash game lol...)
    3) Food issue
    4) Free Parking (although I am suspicious how the clamper got to clamp 3 cars up the lane before the poker room got a call but thats just me being paranoid. )

Seriously though please add some suggestions.

Jay

Where would you offer free parking?

Also, leasing the poker floor would not allow you to change dress code or age policies I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Do they have a hair policy? I've quite a large Afro atm

But seriously do they still have that stupid crap where you have to give them your fingerprints when joining>?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Where would you offer free parking?

Also, leasing the poker floor would not allow you to change dress code or age policies I would imagine.

Still some great general suggestions in there Jay, are you looking for a change of career into the poker-room-manager business :)

Stephen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Free 'I've been Chiefed' T-shirts for all victims
    Fix the urinals to decrease splashback from those metal yokes that were designed for pubs in Mullingar
    Turn a blind nostril at smoking in the toilets.
    Run Sats to the Fitz end of months game, the Westbury end of Months, and eh the SE one if you like.
    Have a bad beat stall for BBJ to hang out during breaks . Charge Joe 2 Euros per story, This will increase the profitability of the poker floor by 400%
    Play a mocking trum pet sound over the mic whenever some chimp thinks it's cool to slowroll.
    The BBJ idea is the best one IMO, although the toilets would be my biggest request.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

With the food. The place is surrounded by eateries. I never knew why they couldn't do a deal with a few of them to provide proper food.

Also, a personal one: put the saturday tourney back to starting at 9.