Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Mess

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,680 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

if any of you wordy ladies would like to finish my review, it only needs another 2500 words :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

I've just noticed that this is a 'sticky' called 'the mess', tee hee.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

Should I be worried that everyone seems to be getting called for interview in Human Genetics in Trinity, but not for medicine?? :(

(KNEW I should have put down HG on the CAO!)

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Jessibelle wrote: »
    Should I be worried that everyone seems to be getting called for interview in Human Genetics in Trinity, but not for medicine?? :(

(KNEW I should have put down HG on the CAO!)

They are different courses so you might not hear back for a while. I heard back from Pharmacy and Speech & Language, waaay before Physio. And the good thing is these were applications that were turned down. So no news is good news!!

Good news - passed total b!itch of an anatomy spot exam. Yays.

Larianne wrote: »
    They are different courses so you might not hear back for a while. I heard back from Pharmacy and Speech & Language, waaay before Physio. And the good thing is these were applications that were turned down. So no news is good news!!

Ta mrs :) just need to keep repeating, if I don't get it this year I'll get it next year....:rolleyes:

And fair fecks with the exam, I was looking at a mate's anatomy text for her Physio exams in RCSI over the weekend, and the level of detail was eep-some! :eek:

That's it. But you have worked really hard for it so fingers crossed for ya. And like I said if you haven't heard anything yet, it's a good sign. They'd have quite a number of mature student applicants to go through as they've a bigger allocation for them. They only usually give you a weeks notice for interview usually so prepare for that. And Pfft, who wants to do HG anyways! :D

Anatomy is easy enough for me. I like it so its easy to study (maybe minus the nerve roots!) But yeah, have to learn and retain an awful lot. The exam was sooo tough.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

Storm's-a-comin'!

http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDQ65002.shtml

I live in townsville!

DrIndy wrote: »
    Storm's-a-comin'!

I live in townsville!

:eek::eek::eek:
    remember if you wake up surrounded by small people follow the yellow brick road.... either that or you've passed out in the Paediatric wards again...:P

Storm's-a-comin'!

I live in townsville!

Man, that place never gets a break. It's either a tropical storm or floodings.

Take care now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Out of interest, was your spot the same as mine? Thorax and abdomen? Did you get emailed the results? I haven't heard anything, so maybe they're correcting them all completely separately...?

No, mine was lower limb. They were posted outside in the window in the Anatomy dept.

I was talking to a med today and he said half the class failed so I'm guessing the results may be up on the window now too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

No, mine was lower limb. They were posted outside in the window in the Anatomy dept.

I was talking to a med today and he said half the class failed so I'm guessing the results may be up on the window now too.

Cool, I'll check that out tomorrow, thanks.

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Cool, I'll check that out tomorrow, thanks.

I was wrong. soz about that. I thought he said he got them. Oops. Hopefully it won't be too long.

Exam timetable out! Eek!

So, in a fit of confidence I decided to spent this evening preparing for the interview I haven't gotten...yet :o. Now stuck on the verbalisation of how/why I want to do medicine without sounding like a million clichés. (I know why I want to do it, but I think telling them all the usual reasons and the feeling in my gut tells me so may send me to a gastreo specialist faster than into school :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭allsaintssue

Ha, I am so far removed from the interview stage but I always imagine my answers to interview questions when I'm bored!!!:rolleyes:
    To be totally honest I have no one reason for wanting to do medicine but I know without a shadow of a doubt that I don't want to do anything else. However I don't think this answer paints me as a particuarly good potential future doctor.

That's kind of like me, I know I want to do it, I even know why I want to do it, but the verbalisation of same tends to come out in a virtual vomit of clichés and ums and ahs and ehs... with occaisional empty fidgety spaces thrown in.... :D If only they'd let me explain through the medium of interpretive dance.....;)

Well the one biggest bit of advice I can give you is - be yourself in the interview. Forget about what people have told you to say... say how you feel and why you want to do it. Tell them like you tell your friends why you want to do Medicine. Yeah, obviously you want to do it to help people and that's okay to say that but back it up with other interests. And then bring in your work experience etc.

OOoh it's so exciting!! I've my fingers crossed ya for girls! For all my maturies. :)

Storm's-a-comin'!

I live in townsville!

Wonder did he survive. :)

Oh, and I hate Physiology. DIe die DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I did survive!

Struck south of me so no hurricane force winds but 200mm of rain fell the next 24 hours and flooded a lot of places!

I did survive!

Struck south of me so no hurricane force winds but 200mm of rain fell the next 24 hours and flooded a lot of places!

Phew! :)

Looking for a ball dress - tis quite annoying!

No interview in Trinity for me :( I never liked them anyways ;) (well until I rock my exams and get in the more conventional route... ) I'm getting all 'Gladiator-like', 'In this year or the next I will have my admissions...',

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭mrmeindl

Hey tallaght01 and folks the boardsmedics gmail has been hacked.

Jessibelle wrote: »
    No interview in Trinity for me :( I never liked them anyways ;) (well until I rock my exams and get in the more conventional route... ) I'm getting all 'Gladiator-like', 'In this year or the next I will have my admissions...',

Ah man. That's a pity. It will make you more determined though! ;)

Not everyone gets in the first time. I didn't. Just keep at it!

Just keep at it!

Tenacious is my middle name!

My parents have a cruel sense of humour ;)

Finished 1st year! \0/ :)

YAY!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Six and a half hours until my neuroscience exam.
    One and a half cans of redbull.
    One packet of McVities fruit shortcake.
    I can do this.....

I think. :o

Whatever gets you through but that made me laugh. :D

You'll be grand!

What is always told people in the years under me - "look at me - I'm a fecking eejit - I go boozing all the time and was always late for lectures - they let me through - why the hell would they stop you?"

If you make an honest effort at the medical exams - you'll fly them and even then surprise yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Six and a half hours until my neuroscience exam.
    One and a half cans of redbull.
    I can do this.....

I think. :o

we're all behind you!

hope it went well

• Registered Users Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Ah, the days of 20 cups of tea a day and endless carmel chocolate McVities.

I'd turn back the clock if I could..... mainly because I can't seem to get caramel chocolate McVities in Brisbane.