Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCG Projects are out!

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Heggy

Can I ask what you're using to check the files?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

papu wrote: »
    On a side note , The photorealistic rendering in Solidworks 06(07)? is Horrible..

Yep, an absolute pain in the b*llocks, literally. It has to be the most annoying thing to do! It takes ages aswell! We were completely fobbed off by our teacher on this aswell.

"Lads, its easy, we done it there at in-service not so long ago... All you have to do is apply the materials and click render...thats it"

"So then, sir, how do you apply the materials... what did ye actually learn at in-service?"

"Ah, lets see... *scratches head... starts clicking the mouse... nothing happens* ... I forget. Here. Do this see-saw model to get the hang of it and you'll be grand"

And that is all the help we got.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

Delta Kilo wrote: »
    Yep, an absolute pain in the b*llocks, literally. It has to be the most annoying thing to do! It takes ages aswell! We were completely fobbed off by our teacher on this aswell.

"Lads, its easy, we done it there at in-service not so long ago... All you have to do is apply the materials and click render...thats it"

"So then, sir, how do you apply the materials... what did ye actually learn at in-service?"

"Ah, lets see... *scratches head... starts clicking the mouse... nothing happens* ... I forget. Here. Do this see-saw model to get the hang of it and you'll be grand"

And that is all the help we got.

Working on Some stuff for our mock project last year i was using solidworks 08 , the PR rendering from that it lovely , so is the new 2009 Solidworks its Unbelieveable actually , Whatever were using in school 2006 or 2007 not sure is horrible , Everything I modeled first comes out BLUE , then change all those materials , fine... Then trying to render it without shadow is a nightmare , rendering at about 2000 x 1500 pixels takes over 3 mins a pop , and your not always garunteed the results you want..

Saying that , Nearly done , printer in school has run out of ink so looks like ima have to shell out for Printings :(

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Isaac702

Heggy wrote: »
    Can I ask what you're using to check the files?
    Well at first I just has a look in Notepad however I missed quite a lot as although there is some text alot of it is not viewable in this way.

The better way to do it is to go down the path of actually extracting the information. Solidworks uses Microsofts structured storage specifications. There are a number of tools that allow you to extract files from this format. Most of them are designed for files from Office however they usually will still work.
    When you have then extracted you can open each of them one at a time. The information is still the same however it is formatted better and so it is easier to find. The biography file is where the list of directories mentioned above is. Other files also appear to have the version of windows your computer is running in it.
    Note however this does not decode Solidworks proprietary files within the file so a lot of it still is not readable.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Isaac702 wrote: »
    Well at first I just has a look in Notepad however I missed quite a lot as although there is some text alot of it is not viewable in this way.

The better way to do it is to go down the path of actually extracting the information. Solidworks uses Microsofts structured storage specifications. There are a number of tools that allow you to extract files from this format. Most of them are designed for files from Office however they usually will still work.
    When you have then extracted you can open each of them one at a time. The information is still the same however it is formatted better and so it is easier to find. The biography file is where the list of directories mentioned above is. Other files also appear to have the version of windows your computer is running in it.
    Note however this does not decode Solidworks proprietary files within the file so a lot of it still is not readable.

Echo that one. But don't attempt to change anything. The file won't resave properly. You've been warned. And yes, there is a program availible to change every attribute under the sun and no, it ain't SolidWorks sadly. Its only availible to industry aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

I've got one or two portfolio pages left,then i'm done

Quite easy to change where the file was created as long as you have one from the PC in school,but yeah i don't wanna get in trouble :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Des23

I've been in school all day doing it. I've just been finishing up each pg. and rendering and colouring sketches. I did my output 3 again from scratch and its beautiful now!:D I just have to finish my first pg. of output 7 and I'm all done!

No more stupid project and we can all do some real tech drawing!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 paulie_k

i'm so going to get drunk on friday!

it will finally be over!:D

paulie_k wrote: »

Another thread, another day, but I hate that attitude with a passion. Its the only way people know how to celebrate...

Not a personal attack Paulie, just in general.... :(

it will finally be over!:D

Me too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 fecked

jst signed inta dis website seen dat u online dunno who ya r but luk im fecked 4 dis dcg project i need ta do a linear pattern 4my final piece oni prob is da pattern iz on a curved surface do u know r does anyone no how ta do dis. its gna b a series of holes 4 like a speaker housing so once im able to extrude cut a hole in da piece it shud b easy enuf HELP im beggin.

are the holes going to be tangental to the curved surface of simply poking straight through? if its straight through , make a plane infront of it then draw on that pane , if its 90* to the curved surface , click the surface then draw , then draw your hole and cut extrude it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 fecked

papu wrote: »
    are the holes going to be tangental to the curved surface of simply poking straight through? if its straight through , make a plane infront of it then draw on that pane , if its 90* to the curved surface , click the surface then draw , then draw your hole and cut extrude it.
    tangental or it wont look right i tried da plane ting allready tanx by da way

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

fecked wrote: »
    jst signed inta dis website seen dat u online dunno who ya r but luk im fecked 4 dis dcg project i need ta do a linear pattern 4my final piece oni prob is da pattern iz on a curved surface do u know r does anyone no how ta do dis. its gna b a series of holes 4 like a speaker housing so once im able to extrude cut a hole in da piece it shud b easy enuf HELP im beggin.

At this stage in the game, I would use a texture. They look just as good really, try one of the composite plastics or something like that.

I had a curved surface in mine and I had to use a surface offset, thicken and a load of other surface features that took ages to do and was really a pain! Just use a texture.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

So glad this will be all over this time tomorrow, still have to put the final touches to one or two of my pages but that is it, still annoyed with the stupid topic we got but i guess that doesnt matter much now that its nearly over.
    Honest to god though the guy sitting beside me in class hasn't even started his assembly in part 4 yet, he only has the very first page, and the main freehand sketch of his docking station done. Can't wait to see our teacher's reaction tomorrow because he doesn't know how screwed this lad is yet! :D

Can't wait to see our teacher's reaction tomorrow because he doesn't know how screwed this lad is yet! :D

Yeah, the very same is happening in our class. I mean its obviously the students fault for not having their act together. Yet I can't help thinking that most of the lads who have sweet feck all done would probably be in far less of a precarious position had the teacher been actually checking everything we have done as the project progressed.

My teacher saw the vast majority of the projects (even output 1) for the very first time today. We have just been relying on eachother for help and advice. I feel my teacher is actually quite good for showing us what to do initially etc. but he didnt really stay on top of the lads who really needed it most.

Most of the lads who have nothing done are probably the same in every class aorund the country, they will only do something if they are dragged through it. While it is hard to blame the teacher for their laziness, if he had been checking everything regularly it wouldnt have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

True teacher could have checked up on us more and this lad wouldn't be so far behind, but still rest of the class got it done so its his own fault that he didn't.
    Honestly though this guy is a joke, on monday he had drawn a rectangle on solid works and had to ask me how to make it 3D :o

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

Des23 wrote: »
    My teacher saw the vast majority of the projects (even output 1) for the very first time today. We have just been relying on eachother for help and advice. I feel my teacher is actually quite good for showing us what to do initially etc. but he didnt really stay on top of the lads who really needed it most.

Fortunately my teacher has been keeping an eye on all the projects over the last few weeks.

I will be so relieved to get this over with.

Finished!!!
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

All done and dusted!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Paddy001

I'm finish since Tuesday, just glad the whole things over! Still alot of work to do with the paper now though!

Paddy001 wrote: »
    I'm finish since Tuesday, just glad the whole things over! Still alot of work to do with the paper now though!

Yeah our teacher said that we are probably still going to have to keep up the extra classes we were doing because of the project because we have so much of the geometry etc to do. We have only done conic sections, the obluiqe (sp?) plane, and intersecting surfaces, but none of these have been done to an exam standard so we will still have plenty of work to do on them aswell on the new areas of the course we still have left to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 thegr81

yeah who said timmy was going to be marked.. its a reference page not another page of the project.. im finished.. and its savage!!

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭slickmcvic

anyone brave enough to posrt up pix of yir work....seeen some great effforts in our place!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 paulie_k

no problem at all.

i'm sure whatever you did was much more enjoyable (sitting in with your mother watching the corrie omnibus) but i do agree, going out and socialising is a terrible thing.go back playing your xbox mate

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

So happy it's handed up and over with! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

no problem at all.

i'm sure whatever you did was much more enjoyable (sitting in with your mother watching the corrie omnibus) but i do agree, going out and socialising is a terrible thing.go back playing your xbox mate

WTF?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 eoinkk

Finished thank god!!!!!!! Does anyone tink dey got an A1 in it!!!!!! I hope i do nyway!!!!!! Regarding da drawing course. Are class is sorted! We hav every topic finished!!! Was it just me but did nyone else tink da mocks was really easy!!!!

no problem at all.

Actually gave up the Xbox. DJ-ing pays better, so does getting paid to do gigs, so does getting paid to play music, €250 an hour actually... Anyway, socialising is boring...
    anyone brave enough to posrt up pix of yir work....seeen some great effforts in our place!!

Bad idea. It will link you to your project and examiners do have the internet. Wait til September I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

slickmcvic wrote: »

Ill post it the 19th june, ie the day the marking of the projects is finished!

Thats if i remember and im sober enough!

Dont wana have it out in the public domain at the moment!