Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stuck Up Irish women who think they are hot

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    What I do want is a girl who can sink near as much as I can and act reasonably.

Why would that possibly matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

nesf wrote: »
    Why would that possibly matter?

Sober people dont enjoy being around merry drunk people. I certainly dont. Two drunken merry people will get along like a house on fire.

That I can understand, but surely someone who got drunk on less but drank slower would do the trick too? The idea of them needing to match you drink for drink just seems odd tbh. Unless you both are obsessive about whose round it is I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 pornstar IRL

I WANT ONE THAT GETS DRUNK ON 3 OR 4 DRINKS THEN PASSES OUT/GOES HOME IN A CAB,LEAVING ME TO GO ON THE PISS WITH THE LADS:) BUT YOU KNOW IF YOU DONT PULL,THERES P*SSY AT HOME:cool:

That I can understand, but surely someone who got drunk on less but drank slower would do the trick too? The idea of them needing to match you drink for drink just seems odd tbh. Unless you both are obsessive about whose round it is I suppose.

Thing with foreign women is, if they down the four drinks that would keep them happy drunk through the night at the same speed you down the four that we Irish barely regard as the starter menu, then it would be grand. But because they are around a load of people downing drink much faster than they are used to, it comes 11pm and they are faced with the propsect of not touching anohter drink until the place closes at 2:30. Hence, they get fcuked on two more beers.

I dont ever do rounds myself, nor do my mates, mainly because by drink 9 or so we start to forget who owes/bought what, and it only leads to arguements. Honestly unless buying for a girl what is the point in rounds, are people that lazy they cant get their own drink in? It was one of the main points on that Polish thread, that Poles dont get the irish concept of round buying. Sh1t, me neither, might as well head to my brethren in Gdansk so. If there are 43 or 4 of us we will get them in for the first 3/4 drinks, but thats it.
    I WANT ONE THAT GETS DRUNK ON 3 OR 4 DRINKS THEN PASSES OUT/GOES HOME IN A CAB,LEAVING ME TO GO ON THE PISS WITH THE LADS:) BUT YOU KNOW IF YOU DONT PULL,THERES P*SSY AT HOME:cool:

You have never tried to wake one, have you? :D Its like working in ICU ffs :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

The idea of them needing to match you drink for drink just seems odd tbh.

Thing with foreign women is, if they down the four drinks that would keep them happy drunk through the night at the same speed you down the four that we Irish barely regard as the starter menu, then it would be grand. But because they are around a load of people downing drink much faster than they are used to, it comes 11pm and they are faced with the propsect of not touching anohter drink until the place closes at 2:30. Hence, they get fcuked on two more beers.

Find yourself one with enough cop on to pace her drinking? I know what you're referring to though and it's very annoying when one person's drunkenness is very much out of sync with the groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

...It was one of the main points on that Polish thread, that Poles dont get the irish concept of round buying. Sh1t, me neither, might as well head to my brethren in Gdansk so. If there are 43 or 4 of us we will get them in for the first 3/4 drinks, but thats it.

T'was hardly a main point, it was mentioned in passing.

eo980 wrote: »
    T'was hardly a main point, it was mentioned in passing.

Maybe.

Is round buying something particular to certain regions? The only mate I have who ever suggests it is a short of money type i.e. someone who hopes details will get confused late on and a free drink or two will come about. Apart from that round buying is only something Ive seen on a 1 or 2 pints pub stop, not a major session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

elambra wrote: »
    ...yet another case of it last night, walking up the stairs of a certain bar in town and two slightly lower than average Irish girls (the types who are from the countryside and act lke real 'aul ones, gossiping etc. you know the type) are in front of me, one of them says to the other 'oh I love your dress' then turns around to me and said 'isn't her dress lovely?' I said 'yes it is' smiling, just to please them by saying something. I wasn't at all concentrating on looking at them, I just wanted to get back upstairs to my gf and her mates. As they were walking at a slower pace than me it ended up that I started to walk in between them. The one with the 'lovely dress' turns to say to the other one 'check out the little red bits on it' and ends up saying it to me by accident, so naturally I say 'what?' and she gives me a condecending look and lightly pushes me and says 'no you go on..' as if I had stopped to chat her up or something. The cheek of her I just wanted to say to her 'sorry love I wouldn't go near you I thought you were talking to me as you actually spoke in my direction'

Now normally I wouldn't care about things like this but I was sober, and I am just home for christmas, having lived abroad for the last 3.5 years, and I find that, whilst the standard of Irish women is very very low compared to nearly every country I have visited, they are the most stuck up and just think they are god's gift to the world when in fact a large amount of them are just unattractive (physically and personally) moany holes obsessed with british celebrities and food..

Anyway, that's my rant over with, let me know your relavite opinion, and have a good christmas :-)

OP, if that's all it takes to get you hot and bothered then I feel sorry for you - what exactly was it about that situation that bothered you other than your own prejudiced opinion of it. I am male, Irish and I think that Irish girls are the sweetest, most attitude-free, insecure types of all.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Neither do I.

What I do want is a girl who can sink near as much as I can and act reasonably. With foreign women Ive found either

a- They attempt to drink like us and end up in a state

or

b- Drink too slowly while we neck our pints. Which results in us getting drunk/merry and them stone cold sober

Id regard example A as the "drunken idiot" more than an Irish girl who can go out, have 11 drinks and be in a good, conscious mood.

You're making the acute alcoholic nature of this country sound like the norm, and the rest of the world (for whom drinking isn't the only form of enjoyment) out to be wrong. Get real - it's pathetic to see the throngs of drunk men and women on our streets at the weekend. And someone who rarely drinks, or drinks moderately is not, in my humble opinion, automatic sh!tty boy/girlfriend material :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm with your friend on this one. For a myriad of reasons I haven't gone near an Irish woman in nearly 8 years. I have found a certain harshness in them. A certain, "the world owes me something", "daddies little princess" syndrome. While it's present in other cultures, it's seems more prevalent here. Every single one of my mates who has gone elsewhere has never gone back. Which is all good, as the Irish women wouldn't have a bar of us anyway.:D In any case it's better for the gene pool if Irish men and women avoid each other.
    +1 on your entire post Wibbs, you basically made all the points that I was going to make.

An Aussie ex-gf of mine working and living here said that she found Irish women to be either too-meek or totally OTT over-confident.

I remember a number of years ago walking down Grafton St. as Xmas with an ex of mine from Manchester when she leaned over to me and whispered in my ear "Why do all Irish women walk like they have a brick in their knickers?".

Personally I find that a lot of Irish women think they are irresistible to the opposite sex simply because they are in possession of a pair of breasts and female reproductive organs.

I also find Irish women incredibly distrustful and very unapproachable.

I think I better stop before I even get onto the subject of nails and hair!

In all fairness, and to counter myself, we Irish guys aren't a lot to write home about either. We can be very unfaithful and shallow as well as the usual problems with being a little too fond of the sup.

I found that when abroad, we Irish guys would mind our P's and Q's a lot more with foreign women in a social context.

Having said all that, as one previous poster said, it's probably best that Irish men and women don't like each other as it can only enrich the auld gene pool!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

man, I don't know if it was the brits or catholocism.. but something really ****ed us Irish up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Mordeth wrote: »
    man, I don't know if it was the brits or catholocism.. but something really ****ed us Irish up.
    Yes, drink.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

2 points of data extrapolated to cover a set of 2Million+ would lead to a very large margin of error.

Science-*zing* for teh w1n!

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

and this is why we shouldnt let irish men anywhere near us...

i mean... waht? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Big Ears wrote: »
    Of course kid shoes , how else is he meant to attract them .

I use sweets.

And of course the gingerbread house. Irresistable to kids, the fools.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Lmao!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

All in general, but....
    a- Slovak women are the most beautiful in Europe
    Have to agree with you there, though the best looking women I have ever seen were mostly Italian or Greek. Latvia has it's fair share too. Iceland comes as a shock too(between them and Columbia apparently they have had more miss worlds. Weird but worth a trip, though beer is mad money).
    b- Czechs are hot, but proportionately not hugely more good looking than ours
    Better figures in general though.
    c- Mediterranean women are extremely tight with money, cant drink, and dress very poorly in this country
    Agree with the money part. The drink bit I'll come to later. The dress sense just doesn't work in our climate. That's a lot of it, but yep, I'll agree there. Irish women wear far too much makeup at a much younger age. Though some of the eastern europeans can really overdoo that one.
    d- Poles are proportionately equally attractive, perhaps even less so, than Irish women. Anyone who thinks all Polish women are stunning clearly hasnt worked with more than two of them.
    Very true. I have found them quite harsh to boot.
    e- English/Scottish women are technically the best, seeing as they love Irish men and can drink like we can
    Not so sure about that.
    f- Most continental European women are no craic for a session as they cant go more than 5/6 drinks without getting half unconscious (there is getting a girl drunk and up for it, and then there is a girl not used to drinking getting into a state whereby trying anything on is probably illegal). Yes, I am saying it. women who cant/dont enjoy a few drinks frankly bore the arse off me. Mainly because they get all uppity/shocked at how much me and my Irish friends are drinking.
    Mainly because we simply drink too damn much. A sloshed woman(or man) is very rarely attractive. Irish women's drinking ability is actually one of the things that puts me off them and a large part of our "culture" too. Too much revolving around the pub. The cafe culture here is largely non existent. The drink fuelled aggression common in any large Irish town on a saturday night is hardly worth celebrating. I've been on the rip in quite a few european cities and none of them come close to the crap you see hear. Indeed if you find yourself in a city in Europe and there are a bunch of overly drunk hotheads nearby, it's usually a very safe bet that they're Irish, British or Russian.
    edit- I replied to this post without reading the entire thread, and am shocked to see I am agreeing with WhiteWashMan.
    That's always a shock. Been there myself.:D
    Ignore everything I just said. Yeah, Irish women, all ugly hateful sluts etc etc. Every woman from France and Italy looks like a model and has a lethal personality.......
    As beauty is in the eye of the beholder, there is also an element you find attractive in a woman in general. I prefer darker women, so icy blondes, no matter how gorgeous they are objectively, don't do it for me. So the classic mediterranean look would float my boat more. The stereotypical pale Irish look doesn't really do it.
    DeVore wrote:
    2 points of data extrapolated to cover a set of 2Million+ would lead to a very large margin of error.

Science-*zing* for teh w1n!

DeV.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

You are not in a position to judge as you yourself are implying that you are better than the rest of us males. Your not.

I think Gauge is in a position to judge. He/she is going by what has been written in the thread. My male friends are the kindest, most thoughtful people I know, far removed from the vitriol and insecurity displayed in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

...yet another case of it last night, walking up the stairs of a certain bar in town and two slightly lower than average Irish girls (the types who are from the countryside and act lke real 'aul ones, gossiping etc. you know the type) are in front of me, one of them says to the other 'oh I love your dress' then turns around to me and said 'isn't her dress lovely?' I said 'yes it is' smiling, just to please them by saying something. I wasn't at all concentrating on looking at them, I just wanted to get back upstairs to my gf and her mates. As they were walking at a slower pace than me it ended up that I started to walk in between them. The one with the 'lovely dress' turns to say to the other one 'check out the little red bits on it' and ends up saying it to me by accident, so naturally I say 'what?' and she gives me a condecending look and lightly pushes me and says 'no you go on..' as if I had stopped to chat her up or something. The cheek of her I just wanted to say to her 'sorry love I wouldn't go near you I thought you were talking to me as you actually spoke in my direction'

Now normally I wouldn't care about things like this but I was sober, and I am just home for christmas, having lived abroad for the last 3.5 years, and I find that, whilst the standard of Irish women is very very low compared to nearly every country I have visited, they are the most stuck up and just think they are god's gift to the world when in fact a large amount of them are just unattractive (physically and personally) moany holes obsessed with British celebrities and food..

Anyway, that's my rant over with, let me know your relavite opinion, and have a good Christmas :-)

So what happened is, you've taken something that was said by some Irish girls, which was caused by a simple misunderstanding and blown it completely out of proportion to use it as justification to make inaccurate generalizations about Irish women. Is that about the Jist of it? Maybe you should relax a little, don't take everything to heart so much.

Anyway, happy Christmas Everybody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

I hate everyone equally. Irish women, Polish women... Tadzhikistanian men. Everyone. I hate you all.

Merry Christmas everybody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Agreed with OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Now normally I wouldn't care about things like this but I was sober, and I am just home for christmas, having lived abroad for the last 3.5 years, and I find that, whilst the standard of Irish women is very very low compared to nearly every country I have visited, they are the most stuck up and just think they are god's gift to the world when in fact a large amount of them are just unattractive (physically and personally) moany holes obsessed with british celebrities and food..

Anyway, that's my rant over with, let me know your relavite opinion, and have a good christmas :-)

I have to agree with just about everything you said.

I have been single for just over a year myself though. I am not bothered chasing up. The only girls I have been with in the last year are ones I have managed to have a decent intelligent conversation with and it normally started in the daytime, in fact I can't remember one that didn't.

Last night I was out wfor a meal with work and one of the girls, who I have never been into, never gave a sign of or anything of the sort, was sitting beside me. I was chatting away and just complimented her on looking well (even though bad to say and all but she wasn't by any means out of this world and in actual fact I really fancy the other one I work with who is single, and was sitting on the other side of her)....

Anyway..........

She was all like - yeah, and rolled her eyes up diagonally.....

Get a grip.

Why couldn't she be happy to get attention like the lovely one beside her was who I really like?

See that's why I don't bother with idiots anymore. Whereas girls who actually have something interesting to say other than being selfish and full of vanity.

Jay D wrote: »

She was all like - yeah, and rolled her eyes up diagonally.....

Why couldn't she be happy to get attention like the lovely one beside her was who I really like?

A lot of people (both men and women) don't know how to take compliments, and so act as if they don't care when they get one. You can be sure she spent ages getting ready and was really nervous about what other people thought about how she looked so I really wouldn't take her reaction personally if I were you

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

St Bill wrote: »
    A lot of people (both men and women) don't know how to take compliments, and so act as if they don't care when they get one. You can be sure she spent ages getting ready and was really nervous about what other people thought about how she looked so I really wouldn't take her reaction personally if I were you

fs a psychologist lol

but I didn't take it personally, it was just the vibe about the table etc....

Good point though.

Jay D wrote: »
    fs a psychologist lol

That's Ms Psychologist to you :p

On Saturday night in town I had a pissed guy grope me at the bar. Later on the same evening a very drunk bloke grabbed his genitals as I walked past and leered right in my face.
    Waiting for a taxi to get home, two guys started roaring 'chat-up lines' across the road at my friend and I.

All were Irish. All were pissed and really annoying.

Thankfully not all Irish guys are the same. I've been with my Irish man for years and love his uniquely Irish sense of humour, his lack of vanity, his intelligence and the fact that we 'get' each other.

Not all Irish women are the same either and if you believe they are, yizzer more than welcome to take your lurve to our foreign sistas.

There's no muffin going on here, and as I earn more than my other half, I more than pay my way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

panda100 wrote: »
    Wheras Irish men are so kindly,lovely and considerate just like you. Your right,really us unattractive, moany holes should count oursleves lucky for every moment we are graced with an Irish males truly charming presence :rolleyes:
    I will go back to my heat magazine and finish eating my Toad in hole now
    Im a male and find that quite funny. keep up the good work, now cook my dinner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭spudster101

Well to be honest I think the whole confidence thing is taken a bit too far with some (I underlined some) Irish women. I dont care how hot ya are, ya eat, ya breath, ya sh**te, ya p**s just like me, well except for the p**sing part :D . I believe these type of women to be more likely than not extremely boring neways. Minding my own business last weekend in a busy bar buying a drink when a short blonde girl barged right in front of me. Must have been waiting 15 mins to be served. Seemingly I was hindering her mindless banter with her friends and told to get out of the way. Must confess, it was fun when I shoved her and her friends down the counter a bit and told her to have a little manners :D . In all fairness that behaviour is not acceptable. A rampant dog would be more civilized. Thats my bitter little tale and yes she was Irish and its only one case but iv experienced a lot more which were more subtle than that.
    I use sweets.

And of course the gingerbread house. Irresistable to kids, the fools.

Kids are suckers (excuse the pun) for those big lollipops :D