Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowboy Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Archytas wrote: »
    I normally stear well clear of this hell hole that boards calls "After Hours"... but an 8 page thread?

Thanks for gracing us with your dignified presence. I hope none of the commoner's muck stains your intellectual cloak. Etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

david1two3 wrote: »
    So quite plainly you advocate police violence, shame on you and dont bother trying to wriggle out of this one, people like you disgust me. The idea that you can hit someone because you are wise beyond your years and they are not old enough to watch you star in your first failed porn movie is so backward and stoneage as to be almost laughable if it wasnt so serious.

Shame on you trying to advocate pornography. Don't try and wriggle out of this one. People like you disgust me. Ted Bundy claimed porn drove him to kill, and here you are trying to suggest that we all star in porn movies, as if it's acceptable in society! tsk tsk

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

david1two3 wrote: »
    So quite plainly you advocate police violence, shame on you and dont bother trying to wriggle out of this one, people like you disgust me. As for my other points ,you obviously dont know how cops are pursuaded or not by the power they percieve others to hold. The man was a viloent thug and you by your comments ally yourself with his behaviour and to finish you off there was no slap mentioned, it was a truncheon. The idea that you can hit someone because you are wise beyond your years and they are not old enough to watch you star in your first failed porn movie is so backward and stoneage as to be almost laughable if it wasnt so serious.

When I was 15 I didn't give cheek to anyone older than me and that's called respect. If my dad thought I stepped out of line, I got a slap for myself and I didn't turn too bad at all.

There are too many young fellas and girls think they can say what they like to anyone and get away with it. Put that with drink or drugs and this is why there are so many public order problems all over the country involving young people. They have no respect which you portrayed in your message or are you going to say that you didn't say or do anything to get that slap.

I am not a great advocate of violence but I do know that sometimes violence has to be met with some small amount violence by our gardai. Take a look around you at the weekend and you will see.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

salonfire wrote: »
    It's corruption. I know of a garda getting into a high profile concert just by flashing their warrent card. How would people feel if politicians start accepting these perks? Probably be tribunals set up....

ya so??? I work at lots of concerts and stuff and we let guards (on and off duty) in for free because its always good to have a few gardai about if security accidentally hurt someone then the guards are proof of that.

They do a dangerous job so who cares what little trivial perks they get in their downtime???

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ask yourself this: Does it affect your day to day life?

If not, then why the fúck should you care if a cop gets a free cup of coffee?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

because I should be getting that free cup of coffee!

Off to Templemore with you then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0101/rta.html

another garda incident last night

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

utick wrote: »

that has **** all to do with this thread...now your just Garda bashing.Stay on topic....Oh wait,that is the topic!;)

Jesus. They deliberately knocked down someone. The bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

i never said they were going around looking for people to run over, but some hate the cops so much they will make it look like it was on purpose

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

you didn't make that very clear now did you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭mobby

i never said they were going around looking for people to run over, but some hate the cops so much they will make it look like it was on purpose

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

ok we're progeressing nicely here. where are we at now
    the irish police force get
    1. free coffee
    2. killed a guy in a cell for absolutely no reason.
    3. ran a guy over for absolutely no reason.
    4. eliminated dinasaurs from the earth paving the way for mammal domination
    5. at some point prosecuted the people posting on this thread.

hands up, who has authority issues

• Registered Users Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

TheNog wrote: »
    When I was 15 I didn't give cheek to anyone older than me and that's called respect. QUOTE]
    Kernel wrote: »
    Shame on you trying to advocate pornography. Don't try and wriggle out of this one. People like you disgust me. Ted Bundy claimed porn drove him to kill, and here you are trying to suggest that we all star in porn movies, as if it's acceptable in society! tsk tsk

I thought that a Garda formerly of waterford was found guilty of amateurish behaviour involving a phonebox and a bra and i think that Davind1two3 was explaining he wasnt old enough to view the ugly secne unfold in the media.

Psst is that u.

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

jetsonx wrote: »
    to give you another example:

I was in Dublin City Centre two weeks ago - patrol car parked outside an
    Abrakebabra. Then out comes one of the lads with two bags of food. He hops in the passenger seat, car pulls off the footpath and the driver puts blue lights on straight away. Now either one of two things happened a) they got an emergency call just there OR b) they were putting the lights on to get back to the station quicker and stuff themselves.

If it was incident "b" - it it really really annoying that they are harassing the general public everyday for petty things BUT when its comes to obeying the rules of their own organisation - they just flagrantly flout them.

Every time I see a Garda car with it's blues on I know that their chips must be getting cold. I was brought up to respect Gardai but exposure to Guards has led me to despise them, I have never been arrested but have had a lot of dealings with plenty of cops

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭colly10

Ye they get a few perks and id say the flashing lights in traffic have flock all to do with an emergency most of the time but still why would you envy them, the hours alone are bad enough to not want the job.
    Its fair enough offering them free breakfast rolls or whatever cause it gets them over to your shop more often. Take Texeco in Lucan for example, ye'd want to be nuts to try rob it cause they live there

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

All gardai get something free, they help places out that are full of trouble makers, the least they can do is give the gardai some food and coffee.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,992 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

People wouldn't be complaining if we all had free uniforms, free cars and free flashing blue lights. How's about it Bertie?:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    He doesn't really head to nightclubs that often any more but he definitely never pays into Coppers and has gotten in free elsewhere. I'm sure he has paid into many places though.

The free coffee and the train part are 100% true, I give you my word on that.

As a serving Garda do I not have a right to choose where I buy my lunch? And as such am I not entitled to use a premises that chooses to gove me a discount? The benefit to the premises is that while I buy said lunch I am physically in the premises. It has nothing to do with getting a better response when you call for help, its about having the physical presence of Gardai when they make said purchase.

Oh and dont forget that Gardai actually have to feed prisoners as well so the majority of times you see a Garda walking without paying is because its for a prisoner and the state has a tab with the premises.

As for clubs, Coppers is owned by ex Gardai and therefore they offer their former colleagues free entry while any other premises that does it has the advantage of knowing that your a Garda and can call on you should there be trouble. Its the same for bus drivers, any problems and they get you to deal with it. In exchange for my free travel I am essentially going back on duty for the duration of my travel.

Off duty Gardai get involved in arrests and detaining people all the time. Besides all that, if its so great being a Garda then sign up!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

As a serving Garda do I not have a right to choose where I buy my lunch? And as such am I not entitled to use a premises that chooses to gove me a discount? The benefit to the premises is that while I buy said lunch I am physically in the premises. It has nothing to do with getting a better response when you call for help, its about having the physical presence of Gardai when they make said purchase.

Oh and dont forget that Gardai actually have to feed prisoners as well so the majority of times you see a Garda walking without paying is because its for a prisoner and the state has a tab with the premises.

As for clubs, Coppers is owned by ex Gardai and therefore they offer their former colleagues free entry while any other premises that does it has the advantage of knowing that your a Garda and can call on you should there be trouble. Its the same for bus drivers, any problems and they get you to deal with it. In exchange for my free travel I am essentially going back on duty for the duration of my travel.

Off duty Gardai get involved in arrests and detaining people all the time. Besides all that, if its so great being a Garda then sign up!

Excellent and well made points, I'm with you. (I can't quite bring myself to just say QFT or +1)

(Edit; Digging up 2 month old threads makes you lose my support, bad Garda! :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Mmmmm, doughnuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,861 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Garda - "Can I've a quarter pounder with cheese, a battered sausage, chips and a bottle of coke please."

Mr. Macari - "Certainly. That'll be €11.20 please."

Garda - "Oh no just stick it on the state's tab there."

Mr. Macari - "Ahhhh another 'prisoner meal' eh?! *wink wink, nudge nudge."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Conversation Last night.....

Garda Friend: "Why dont you come up to my house for a few beers before we head out tonight?"

Me: "Yeah sure, will I get you a few cans?"

Garda Friend: "Nah its ok I got some in work today"

Me: "Got some in work??" a couple of seconds later I realise theres a few youngsters in Dublin goin without their cider last night!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

And you know this how? I was told, in the shop I worked in, to always give the Gardai an item or two gratis, in case there was ever an emergency that needed a quick response.

I'm not exactly certain why you quoted my post, I was merely clarifying something and didn't offer an opinion on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I'd just like to give everyone a heads up. If you get stopped in Rathmines by Brian from the Sex Cops division, DO NOT perform oral sex on him. He is not a member of the Gardaí. His badge is just a print out from the garda website pasted on to an ATM card. I don't think I'll ever wash the taste of failure out of my mouth.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Tago Mago wrote: »
    I'd just like to give everyone a heads up. If you get stopped in Rathmines by Brian from the Sex Cops division, DO NOT perform oral sex on him. He is not a member of the Gardaí. His badge is just a print out from the garda website pasted on to an ATM card. I don't think I'll ever wash the taste of failure out of my mouth.

I'll second that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

So in essence your offering 'protection' in exchange for goods/services/privileges received, good stuff glad to know, what a shame the Gardai arent paid enough to not be able to afford to buy lunch whilst on duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

So in essence your offering 'protection' in exchange for goods/services/privileges received, good stuff glad to know, what a shame the Gardai arent paid enough to not be able to afford to buy lunch whilst on duty.

So would you say you just didn't read what he said, or you *really, really* didn't read what he said? Just looking for your opinion... I'm torn between the two myself.

(not that it would make any difference if you had read it... Your strongly painted anti-garda colours shine through pretty strongly, the thread is irrelevant.)