Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowboy Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I'd like to think that free cups of coffee, meals, a pint or two or free entry is a sign that people running business are nice people capable of showing thanks. If I was running a chipper or a pub or a shop I know I'd have to deal with criminals at some point. And I know the guards would be involved. I'd like to think of myself as a generous person and the best way I could show thanks would be to give a free cup of coffee or a bag of chips. Whether this be a guard or someone who helped out.

I went into a shop and there was a girl trying to move rubbish out the door. Her arm was broken and I asked if I could help, she thanked me with a discount. The line comes when guards are expecting it. But there's always going to be gob****es.

At this point I'd like to bring attention to my traditional toast, "**** the begrudgers."

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

the GALL wrote: »
    they deserve the perks??????:confused::confused::confused::confused:
    because they dont get paid enough/ there under constant threat/ its a difficult job/the stress if a guard thinks like this he shouldn't be in the job they do a phsic test to check the can handle the pressures and if they can't handle the pressures give em a job as security in tescos..oh and they applied for the job they wern't forced into it

I understand all that, but i still think they deserve perks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

They definetly deserve the coffoe, coffoe, coffoe

they work so hard get paid so little

the op is just jealous:D

• Registered Users Posts: 40,861 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

yayamark wrote: »
    They definetly deserve the coffoe, coffoe, coffoe

they work so hard get paid so little

the op is just jealous:D

Seriously buddy we've been through this before. Spell the f*ckin word right.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Seriously buddy we've been through this before. Spell the f*ckin word right.

PSML

Only having a laugh i knew ud bite!

Best of luck in the cup game my players arent impressed with having to fly to aussie for a cup game.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,971 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I should have waded in here ages ago. I do alot of the purchasing for an electronics company in Dublin and I've been considering what 'perks' we can give to organisations such as the guards such as discounts etc. Why the guards? Well why not. As someone else said, it's good business sense. Thee are a crap load of them. If we can establish some incentive to get them to come into the stores that's potentially alot of business.

Oh and there was a uniformed guard in our main store the other day. I told the salesman to give him a 10% discount even though the guard never asked for it.

Shocking stuff.

eo980 wrote: »
    IOh and there was a uniformed guard in our main store the other day. I told the salesman to give him a 10% discount even though the guard never asked for it.

Shocking stuff.

Get ready to be lynched!

How dare u give the gardai perks look at all the free coffoe there getting already!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,971 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

yayamark wrote: »
    Get ready to be lynched!

How dare u give the gardai perks look at all the free coffoe there getting already!

I know, what am I thinking????!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

They start off with an addiction to caffeine, but give it time and the Gards will be shooting up in the streets snorting coke and escorting hookers left right and center.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Right, I have been reading this long enough so here's my 2c.

In my opinion, the general public are customers of the Gardai, sometimes we use or need their service.

I'm in I.T. and several large companies are my customers.

If I was give free services or products from a customer I would honestly see it as a bribe.

If Gardai receive something from one of their customers, i.e. a shop, it could be classed as a bribe.

In one job I had for instance, the company I worked for paid for my health insurance. That was a perk of the job.

In that job, I was also taken out by contractors that we used, and pretty much given unlimited free drink and food on those nights out. That imo was a bribe. Was I wrong to partake? Yes.

The thing with the Gardai, pretty much the entire country are their customers, hence why they ethically shouldn't accept gifts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Yes but you catch more flies with honey than vinegar.
    Not true. Set out a bowl of vinegar next summer and see how many flies you catch :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

A bloke I never got on with because he new I was with his wife before he even knew her, got into the gardai and met me one night in a nightclub and flashed his badge at me telling me he would be watching out for me,

I replied with.... What would you like me to report you for...

a) Using your badge without cause

b) Using your badge while intoxicated

c) Using your badge while off duty, were there is no need....

d) Garda intimidation.

....you choose?

In the end I didnt, do anything. But did talk about the inncodent to a friend of mine a more senior Garda, and he said everything I said was correct and he wanted the blokes name. But I just left it at that, I think the fright of someone being able to contradict him and not be afraid of his power trip was enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

A total lack of respect for authority, not to mention his beloved :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

salonfire wrote: »
    Binmen are also public servants - should they get free perks as well?
    they go looking for christmas bonus, very annoying when they've missed about hlf the collections during the year.

plus the get first dibs on what people throw out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭david1two3

dbnavan wrote: »
    A bloke I never got on with because he new I was with his wife before he even knew her, got into the gardai and met me one night in a nightclub and flashed his badge at me telling me he would be watching out for me,

I replied with.... What would you like me to report you for...

a) Using your badge without cause

b) Using your badge while intoxicated

c) Using your badge while off duty, were there is no need....

d) Garda intimidation.

....you choose?

In the end I didnt, do anything. But did talk about the inncodent to a friend of mine a more senior Garda, and he said everything I said was correct and he wanted the blokes name. But I just left it at that, I think the fright of someone being able to contradict him and not be afraid of his power trip was enough.

top man ,when I was fifteen I had a truncheon from the sargeant in the station,what I then told him is unprintable and everyone in town got the same unedited version.The truncheon was used to protect his honour as I had made a rude noise in his direction

When I was eighteen the gard in the same joint was giving me the "do you know how serious it is to steal a car" as I was giving a statement.My reply was " you write down what I tell you and dont interrupt me again".

Neither of them ever bothered me again and as for the stolen car it was borrowed but when I crashed it the owner decided to lay false charges in the hope of getting the money somewhere.He turned up a week later with a new car, I dont know how.

An awful lot of people are afraid of these people when in fact if you stand up for your rights they wont bother trying it on with you at all, they work on a class system and if you behave below or above your position they have a tendency to bring it up or it will affect your general treatment .

They cant by and large operate without hating someone or some minority to hate where as if they behaved themselves properly they would have a much easier job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭paul666

david1two3 wrote: »
    top man ,when I was fifteen I had a truncheon from the sargeant in the station,what I then told him is unprintable and everyone in town got the same unedited version.The truncheon was used to protect his honour as I had made a rude noise in his direction

When I was eighteen the gard in the same joint was giving me the "do you know how serious it is to steal a car" as I was giving a statement.My reply was " you write down what I tell you and dont interrupt me again".

Neither of them ever bothered me again and as for the stolen car it was borrowed but when I crashed it the owner decided to lay false charges in the hope of getting the money somewhere.He turned up a week later with a new car, I dont know how.

An awful lot of people are afraid of these people when in fact if you stand up for your rights they wont bother trying it on with you at all, they work on a class system and if you behave below or above your position they have a tendency to bring it up or it will affect your general treatment .

They cant by and large operate without hating someone or some minority to hate where as if they behaved themselves properly they would have a much easier job.
    anto is that u bud

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Meh. F**kers do f**k all. My shed, and every other shed in the area gets robbed. What happens? We find out a month later that "your sheds may be robbed"...:rolleyes: ya don't f**king say:mad:

Whens the last time I saw one "on the beat"? Eight months ago. They sometimes pop by in their squad car, but usually only to goto a particular shop, and then you don't see them again for a week.

paul666 wrote: »
    anto is that u bud

If an it is I aint been told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Taradusk

My Tuppence worth.

If you have a complaint against a Guard for an alleged misuse of power or authority, please report it to the Ombudsman or his / her authorities. Then you will know if your complaint is valid.

If you have a complaint about bin men collecting gratuities at Christmas, report it to their supervisor or Local Authority.

If you have a complaint about a Solicitor, report it to the Law Society.

If you have a complaint against a Postman, report it to An Post.

If you have a complaint etc....etc .......etc ......etc ................... please report it for action rather than bitch about it here.

Everyone has so called complaint stories, however, its the Guards that get the brunt of it. We can all relate the Pub stories of "wait till I tell you about the Guard that stopped me, just out of Templemore, and what I told him to do".

Just take your complaint to a conclusion or forget about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

the_syco wrote: »
    Meh. F**kers do f**k all. My shed, and every other shed in the area gets robbed. What happens? We find out a month later that "your sheds may be robbed"...:rolleyes: ya don't f**king say:mad:

Whens the last time I saw one "on the beat"? Eight months ago. They sometimes pop by in their squad car, but usually only to goto a particular shop, and then you don't see them again for a week.

Its not the guards fault that your shed was robbed or probably that you didn't have a proper lock on it.

Also not the guards fault that there are not enough gardai. Blame the government for that

david1two3 wrote: »

This comment is pure unintelligent tribble...

Also if at 15 you give cheek to anyone older than you then you deserve a slap which you probably did before giving more cheek. How can you think that you can disrespect a person without some sort of reaction?

Back on topic - If a shop wants to give a free coffee to a guard then there is no problem, if a guard flashes the badge on a bus or train there is again no problem. People here are trying to make a mountain out of a molehill.

If a person has a neighbour around to help with some heavy work, a cup of tea is offered or a sandwich or biscuits. If a workman such as a plumper or electrician again a cup of tea is offered. Its nice to be nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

TheNog wrote: »
    Back on topic - If a shop wants to give a free coffee to a guard then there is no problem, if a guard flashes the badge on a bus or train there is again no problem. People here are trying to make a mountain out of a molehill.

If a person has a neighbour around to help with some heavy work, a cup of tea is offered or a sandwich or biscuits. If a workman such as a plumper or electrician again a cup of tea is offered. Its nice to be nice.

Shops aren't doing it "to be nice", and there's no way in hell that Gardai should get free bus/train transport whilst off-duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Shops aren't doing it "to be nice", and there's no way in hell that Gardai should get free bus/train transport whilst off-duty.

AFAIK,officers in the Met get free bus and rail transport..

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Chalk meet cheese.
    Cheese meet chalk.

Have a nice life together.

why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Why not?? If you had a thing in your pocket giving you free public transport, wouldnt you use it? yes you certainly would, anyone questions them, they just have to say they are on plain clothes duty. If a shop wants to give out free products, its there choice, everyone here has been offered something free, i bet you didnt refuse it at first sight cause you werent allowed pay for it or leave it cause they wouldnt take your money, the world works by people looking after each other, get used to it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

I dont like some guards, I've found them to be powertipping assholes. I've found others to be as giving as they can given the situation.

I am not gonna take digs or gripe about anyone who takes a job to protect me and go toe to toe with criminals and thugs to try and keep this country operating in some sort of coherant fashion.

This comment is pure unintelligent tribble...

Also if at 15 you give cheek to anyone older than you then you deserve a slap which you probably did before giving more cheek. How can you think that you can disrespect a person without some sort of reaction?

So quite plainly you advocate police violence, shame on you and dont bother trying to wriggle out of this one, people like you disgust me. As for my other points ,you obviously dont know how cops are pursuaded or not by the power they percieve others to hold. The man was a viloent thug and you by your comments ally yourself with his behaviour and to finish you off there was no slap mentioned, it was a truncheon. The idea that you can hit someone because you are wise beyond your years and they are not old enough to watch you star in your first failed porn movie is so backward and stoneage as to be almost laughable if it wasnt so serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

I normally stear well clear of this hell hole that boards calls "After Hours"... but an 8 page thread? Where if you wanted to you could probably delete all except 4 or 5 posts as everything else is the same? Sign me up for that! I have to wade in here kicking and screaming...

Shock, horror - the gardai get free stuff. Really? Wow. So what? Does anyone actually believe that a free cup'o'tea is going to make a garda do his/her job any differently? Would it make you do your job differently? I don't think so. My GF's mother used to give the postman a few euro at christmas, everyone in the estate did. But with alot of the people moving out, the practice stopped. Did it change the postman's job? Nope - he still had to deliver letters to houses. Same with the gardai, they still have to go out to the calls that they are assigned.

I have to agree with an earlier poster - there are alot of paranoid people out here.